HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage London Hostel

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 81%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.93USD
  • Towel 1.98USD

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking.



Special cancellation policy

“Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 81%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 86%

Showing 191-133 of 133 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: All of the staff were really lovely and helpful, whether we wanted access to the female-only bathrooms, wanted recommendations on day tours to go to, or needed help getting a taxi to Heathrow early in the morning. Breakfast is simple, but provided! And the location, although not exactly in the center of the city, is easy to get to via the Tube and not far from the main sites at all. Free tea (!!!), multiple computers in the TV lounge, and movies + tons of people hanging out every night make for a very social environment.

Disliked: Staying in the 28-person room was OK, but not the most comfortable. A malodorous foot smell pervaded the room for a day or so, and there is usually some noise from people waking up, snoring, or going about their business at all times of day (get noise-canceling headphones or an ability to sleep through anything). Also, bring your own locks. The lockers were big enough to store backpacks in.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you had what sounds like a really enjoyable time at our hostel. Apologies for the smelly room-mate, unfortunately that's something we couldn't do much about. The 28 bed dorm usually gets the best guest reviews despite if its size..

The Palmers Lodge Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Friendly and courteous team members. Building had character. Private room was clean and cozy.

Disliked: No complaint about the hostel itself. Disappointed in the lack of courtesy and late night banging around and noises coming from adjacent room. Very inconsiderate.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Ols school feel of the place is nice. Plus bunk beds have curtains.

Disliked: Rooms are a lil dark though, and wifi doesn't reach the rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything was very clean and staff were friendly

Disliked: Slightly overpriced for what it was

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you for your review. We are happy to learn that you found everything to your satisfaction. Our hostel offers a higher standard of quality that the average youth hostel with no hidden extra charges. Also, you can get ridiculous low rates when you book our accommodation in advance.

The Palmers Lodge Team

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is very helpful and friendly, free internet, even PCs and a large lounge. Very clean!

Disliked: It's very expensive for a 21 bed dorm!!! There are big TV screens in the lounge and breakfast room which seems to be typical for England but it creates not such a nice atmosphere! The two really bad things were two nights without sleep in this hostel! The first night I stayed in a room next to the bar which was - exceptionally - open until 4 am! It was enormously loud! When I complained to the staff they were sorry about it and told me that it was just this night. The second night I stayed next to a German school class and they were just annoyingly loud all night. The next day they had to leave the building because a lot more people had complained about them! So, this ruined my stay as I desperately needed sleep! Besides that, the hostel is good, just make sure not to sleep next to the bar!!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you for your honest review. We are glad to read that you liked the hostel and all the facilities. We would like to apologise for the noise during the first night of your stay -should you wish to come back and stay with us please get in touch so we can give you a free dorm upgrade!

The Palmers Lodge Team

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great community room!

Disliked: The large accomodation rooms are in the attic!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to learn that you liked the atmosphere at our hostel. Our largest (21) female dorm is on the third floor (converted attic) all the other large dorms are dotted around the property -including ground, 1st and second floors. Should guests wish to change dorms for any reason, our staff is happy to assist.

The Palmers Lodge Team

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating


12 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: They offered good and friendly services for their guests and the rooms r very good!!!Althought they r bunk beds ,really stable and private with curtains!!!Although there r 20s beds in the room ,everyone was very quiet and chat at the public area!!!I really recommend people to stay here if u come to London !!!Btw..free Wifi and breakfast r excellent!!!!^^

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

Many thanks for your positive review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt very well looked after our staff. We hope to see you back sometime soon!

The Palmers lodge Team

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping

Liked: Atmosphere. Friendliness.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice place, very nice people!!! Many computers with internet for free at disposal. Great breakfast.

Disliked: No access to internet wifi in the rooms, but great signal in the loby. Small place to keep the logage but still very secure.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Palmers Lodge Swiss Cottage. We offer free storage facilities for large suitcases in addition to the large drawer under each bed and you will be glad to know that are currently looking to offer Wi-Fi in the rooms.

The Palmers lodge Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Loved the set up of the beds in my dorm (21 bed female). Individual non-bunk beds with curtains all the way around and a fixed wooden partition on one side. Reading light and powerpoint for every bed. Showers and toilets were cleaned regularly. Free breakfast. Great areas to sit. Pretty damn good!

Disliked: Only some of the other guests...

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you for your review. We are very glad to read that you liked our 21 bed dorm :) Sorry about the room-mates, next time let us know, perhaps we could have moved you to another dorm, we can do that when the hostel is not super busy.


The Palmers Lodge Team

Check Availability