HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

85.7% Overall Rating

986 out of 1037 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/08/2014)

"Buena ubicacion, tenes Supermercado abierto 24hs, y estaciones de metro a pocas cuadras staff masculino predispuesto a ayudar en cualquier momento el desayuno tiene buen horario variedad y calidad.. dentro de lo"

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.50
  • Towel USD 2.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
99.18 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
31.26 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
FRESH @ The Green Man, Paddington
16.67 USD

Hostel 73.5% 676 reviews
Brazen Backpackers
25.84 USD

Hostel 63.9% 633 reviews
Phoenix Hostel
18.34 USD

Hostel 90.3% 3179 reviews
Access Paddington
45.84 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
29.76 USD

Hostel 76.5% 1841 reviews
Hyde Park Court Hotel
43.76 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.7%

Overall Rating

986 out of 1037 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
80.0%
Value
80.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 710 of 992 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andre Gustavo Silva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 October 2010 Andre Gustavo would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff

Disliked: The Location

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

kate walker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2010 kate would recommend this property

Liked: good vibe. comfortable. best hostel i've stayed at in london by far.I';ve already booked to stay again

Disliked: no hot water in the morning. but when i showered later in the day there was plenty so it's not a big deal

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

21 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice old building in a good and safe area.

Disliked: Don't clean all the toilets at the same time!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andre Gustavo Silva

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2010 Andre Gustavo would recommend this property

Liked: The great support of the staff.

Disliked: They don't have a oven.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was fantastic! In the bedrooms, you had you own light, own powerpoints and own locker. Free breakfast every morning was more than satisfactory. It had a great bar and beer garden, and entertainment organised every night. The staff were very friendly.

Disliked: Bit out of the way, but well worth it!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maria Kaule

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Work / volunteering

19 October 2010 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is beautiful! I liked that you can bring your own food and warm it up in the kitchen!I also liked that you can surf in the internet for free and that you can safe your luggage in the hostel and when you check out!

Disliked: the staff was sometimes unfriendly and that there were sometimes problems with my keycard!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the friendly staff, they were very helpful especially giving us advice on things to do and see in London. The hostel was very well maintained and cleaned which was lovely. I would definately suggest this hostel to my friends.

Disliked: The older customers made it a little harder to have fun and meet new people. However that is what you get for going to a more expensive and adult hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Wray

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2010 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: This was a beautiful property. We were a bit worried at first, booking out of the city centre. But the tube station is a 30 second walk and takes you to the centre of London within just a few minutes. The hostel was beautiful - the building was a beautiful victorian home and the rooms were spacious. The beds had their own little curtain and a box for your luggage. They even have an outdoor lock box for your luggage if you want to explore and come back for your bags later. It was perfect for a couple of days.

Disliked: Ashley left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Seok Mey Khong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2010 Seok Mey would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is great...

Disliked: Room not so clean, locker also old

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claudia Trimbur-Pagel

As a family with children

City break

26 September 2010 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: great place to stay at london !

Disliked: a little bit noisy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ray Parr

Alone

19 September 2010 Ray would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful and the hostel was well kept, bathrooms were clean etc.

Disliked: There where a lot of young school kids here for class trip, so it was hard to meet people that were not underage. People dont seems to talk that much, to busy on facebook.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joao Pedro Moreira Costa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2010 Joao Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent structure (restaurant, quiet rooms, laundry, clean restrooms), staff is really helpful and friendly, there's a pub inside the hostel with cheap drinks, breakfast is awesome and lasts longer (til 10 PM), there's a metro station with a 3 minute walk and lots of places to buy food and other facilities around.

Disliked: It's not the best place to meet people to have fun. There were some school groups of 16-18 years people, with teachers and stuff.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Shopping

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Double bed dorms are excellent - loads of privacy and cheap for London. Free parking and internet are both massive benefits.

Disliked: The location isn't central (bank on it taking about 20min to get here from the West End) but then the facilities more than make up for its location.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel, i have stayed at loads of hostels in london and this is for sure the best! Super clean, plus had a great breakfast included! Even though this hostel isn't as central as others it is really close to good transport links. Would highly recommend this hostel to fellow travellers!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

12 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the internet service, the dorms, the house, the atmosphere

Disliked: teh noise from the street and the light from the windows

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2010

Liked: it was in a nice old manor

Disliked: about as much atmosphere and fun as a wet rag. no-one talks to each other. wouldn't recommend it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful and friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benoit Grenon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2010 Benoit would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people and really nice typical British atmosphere an the dorms are gorgeous.

Disliked: Nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Rolfe

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping

31 August 2010 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: This place was amazing, wonderful atmosphere, excellent facilities and even though we was in a mixed dorm of 24, we didnt hear anyone else and the beds are so comfortable, the breakfast was yummy and the staff was so helpful and friendly.I reccomend this to everyone and i will be definitely coming back....

Disliked: Nothing I can think off

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Lin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2010 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly located - 5 minutes to Swiss Cottage and Finchley station (which is just next to O2 plenty to do!) - great atmosphere if you are after a "calm" night perhaps due to a lot of traveling and needing a good night's rest, this place is perfect. There's a comfortable big lounge where people just watch TV or use their laptops. Free wifi was great! I took the 21-bed room at the attic - it was interesting and modest but clean and comfortable no less! I like the idea of the having curtains, lamp and plug extensions to each bed!

Disliked: May need to think of a more effective system to allocate beds for the 21-bedder as the bed number i was given was taken by someone else, whose bed was taken by someone else (and the list goes on). Then the girl who was given my bed arrived middle of the night and was completely lost. But we managed to find her a spare bed in the end, so ended well!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly friendly and helpful staff. Great place for people traveling alone to meet other people. I ended up doing all my sighseeing with people I met there.

Disliked: Overbooked the beds. I got back to my room late night to discover someone in my bed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good place to stay for the money it cost. There were a lot of bathrooms and someone was always cleaning them. Also, I like how there are curtains on every bed, which creates more privacy.

Disliked: Out of the 3 staff members I dealt with, only one of them was nice. The other 2 needed an attitude check and were not very welcoming.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

angelo wellens

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

25 August 2010 angelo would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: lot of noise from the bar

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

julien lefaucheux

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2010 julien would recommend this property

Liked: Les rencontres , le cadre , le bar.

Disliked: Le petit déjeuner.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tzu-Wen Lee

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2010 Tzu-Wen would recommend this property

Liked: good place!

Disliked: Tzu-Wen left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels