We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

88.9% Overall Rating

1019 out of 1072 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/04/2015)

Gavin Turner thinks…

"The building has victorian character, is situated literally 2 minutes from Swiss cottage underground. Although I was tired and travelling alone, so didn't feel like using the lounge, there were…"

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.83
  • Towel USD 2.28

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
83.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
23.49 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
PubLove @ The Green Man, Paddington
18.21 USD

Hostel 69.4% 695 reviews
Phoenix Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 88.0% 3347 reviews
Access Paddington
37.02 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
14.35 USD

Hostel 85.0% 1866 reviews
Hyde Park Court Hotel
58.84 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
The Nayland Hotel
44.79 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

1019 out of 1072 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 728 of 1025 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staffs and environment

Disliked: nope

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Perkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The showers were clean and hot, and the beds were very comfortable! I was checking in late and someone even made sure to turn my bedside lamp on so that I could find it in the dark. Breakfast was delicious (toast, croissants, butter, jam, cereal with milk, juice, and REAL coffee) and the entire atmosphere of the hotel was great. The staff are wonderful too and really care that you have a good stay. Wish I could have stayed longer!

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly. On the day of check in, despite arriving early, I was able to use all the facilities and have breakfast. On the day of check out, I was still able to use their facilities and could keep my baggage locked up until I was ready to get my train in the evening.

Disliked: The showers were very small and there was only a tiny area of the shower room that didn't get wet - made it a bit tricky to get dressed after showering. but the showers were very clean!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere, good location

Disliked: only very small washbasins on the second floor

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right next to underground on the Jubilee line which was always running even on weekends when some of the other lines were shut down for construction.Bus stop less than 1 minute away.Any store you need is just a walk away on Finchley Rd.London zoo is just a 10 minute walk and makes a great day out.Central London is 5-10 minutes on tube.Hostel is quite at night if you need a good nights sleep after a hectic day in the city and the curtains around the beds make for great privacy and also each bed has a night lamp if you want to read.Locker at the end of each bed for your valuables.Bring your own padlock.Free breakfast which I was very happy with.The use of the computers for internet which you can use at any time if they are free.Showers were nice and water was always warm.Everybody here keeps to themselves and minds their own business.I,m going back to London in two weeks time and I,m already booked in to stay there again.

Disliked: Cleaning ladies who were very good and work hard,could change the bedsheets a little more often.There supposed to change them every 3 days which is fair but my bed was only changed once in 10 days and the music is always blaring in the bar which used turn me off going in there.Must be getting old.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GARY HEAD

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 February 2011 GARY would recommend this property

Liked: It was only a two minute walk from the tube, minutes from central London

Disliked: Street noise because the windows are old

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

09 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: yes

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people either at the bar or the lounge. Most of the staff were very friendly.

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hellen Norman

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 February 2011 Hellen would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, and despite being just down the hall from people talking loudly and playing music, the dorm was very quiet. I'm a lightl sleeper, so that was really important to me. beds were comfy, too, and the idea of having curtains around each bed is genius! I wish more hostels did it!

Disliked: Not a major gripe, but the bathrooms are cleaned at 7,30am, just when I needed to get a shower. I had to wait or traipse upstairs in my nightwear, not ideal!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 February 2011

Liked: The shower was very nice.

Disliked: The bed had very narrow ladder and the locker haven´t got padlock and seems to me ridicules to pay for padlock 2,50 if you using tha bed just for 1 night like me that shoud be including price and give me mine own padlock with the chipcard.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. So clean and friendly! I had a very bad sleep on the first night because of a girl snoring so loud and I went to reception and they gave me a private room for the night and ear plugs. They were willing to do whatever it took to make my stay enjoyable! Great value for Money!!!

Disliked: Nothing, all was pretty good!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff. Very clean

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Murat Tapik

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2011 Murat would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely one of the best hostel in Europe. Very good looking building, just 3 minutes away from tube station. Free wi-fi and free computers as well. Average breakfast. Toilets and showers are clean above average. Fun during nights in the main hall watching movies. It was nearly full during January as well so recommend u to book in advance. I highly recommend this hostel to anyone.

Disliked: Lockers are not big enough to fit a 56 x 45 x35 hand baggage.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: private space, although very small.

Disliked: unstable hot water. (wither too hot or too cold)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It`is in a nice place, near the underground and several bus stops, besides being near of a lot of services like restaurants, pharmacy, news agents e etc... The place is clean and the staff is friendly. The prices are good, specially when compared with other hostels in London that are more expensive and do not offer so much facilities.

Disliked: The property is great. It`s a XIX century mansion with all the details on the ground, ceiling, walls, chandelliers, doors and windows. It is important to tell that this hostel has his own bar, what makes a great option when you want to drink or share with friends but is not likely to go outside.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked pretty much everything! they have computers with internet to use if you don´t have your own and the staff was great, i loved the curtains on the beds for extra privacy

Disliked: i wish it had a kitchen to use!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Che-Wei Hu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2010 Che-Wei would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast (juice, coffee, cereals, toast and croissant with jam and butter..)you can eat whatever you want! I always ate a lot in the morning and skip my lunch to save money in London! Curtain and personal reading light on each bed - providing privacy! Free wifi- even it can be slow... (6pm - 10pm)

Disliked: no particular disliking here, maybe everyone just use internet downstairs after dinner without talking to each other seemed odd to me?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

19 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People are really nice. You will have a nice shared moment.

Disliked: Baths are too small, and not many.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sanna Larsson

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 December 2010 Sanna would recommend this property

Liked: Close to subway, felt very safe to walk the short distance alone at night, also a night bus pass by. Perfect with curtains and safe under bed, and the rooms were not cold thou it was really cold outside. Shared a 14-bed female room, was no problem at all. Breakfast is ok, rolls and toast, jam, milk etc. Would stay here again!

Disliked: The extraluscious girl underneath rocked the bed while moving around at night, and also spread her stuff all over the floor leaving no space for me, but thats not the hostels fault...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

11 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed my time at the Palmers Lodge-Swiss, great staff, great building, friendly other people

Disliked: Eating dishes could be a bit bigger

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff and comfortable rooms. lots of character and the curtains arounds the beds offered lots of privacy. nice to have free internet and the bar downstairs was a great way to unwind at the end of a long day.

Disliked: bathrooms were really small, but very clean (as was the rest of the property!).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The management team is strong and the staff is energetic is my first impression. The hostel is very clean and safe. Breadfast is okay.

Disliked: I have booked in a 12 female ensuite & the washing basin in the toilet is way too small, I have to go outside & use the shared one to wash my face. No electric plugs for hair dryer near the makeup mirror. Not enough sockets to recharge phone or camera etc in room however, no such problem in another room on my 3rd week check-in. It's good that those room for female should have a good size mirror for use. I usually go down to the shared bathroom oppo to B02 in the basement for my makeup despite i was on the 2/F. The night shift guy is way to cold to answer question and very much indeed unwelcoming. The rest of the staff are terrific especially Ms Kate who answers our request immediately when i asked for an additional blanket and in my 2nd check-in, she's so caring! A grave difference from the night shift guy.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Athmosfere, excelent location!

Disliked: Only stayed one night, so NOTHING actually to cmplain about!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location just outside the city center. It had everything a great hostel should have: perfect atmosphere, great bar/resturant... free breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels