HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

84.3% Overall Rating

980 out of 1031 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/06/2014)

Laura Marie Stephenson thinks…

"The building is gorgeous and has so much history and character. The rooms are spotless, beds comfy and there's plenty of toilet and shower facilities so you'll never struggle to find one! The new bar…"

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.64
  • Towel USD 2.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
101.04 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
31.84 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
FRESH @ The Green Man, Paddington
22.06 USD

Hostel 74.7% 668 reviews
Brazen Backpackers
25.47 USD

Hostel 67.0% 618 reviews
Phoenix Hostel
18.68 USD

Hostel 87.8% 3159 reviews
Access Paddington
46.70 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
32.09 USD

Hostel 77.3% 1837 reviews
Hyde Park Court Hotel
48.82 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.3%

Overall Rating

980 out of 1030 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
82.4%
Value
81.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 709 of 985 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

11 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed my time at the Palmers Lodge-Swiss, great staff, great building, friendly other people

Disliked: Eating dishes could be a bit bigger

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff and comfortable rooms. lots of character and the curtains arounds the beds offered lots of privacy. nice to have free internet and the bar downstairs was a great way to unwind at the end of a long day.

Disliked: bathrooms were really small, but very clean (as was the rest of the property!).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The management team is strong and the staff is energetic is my first impression. The hostel is very clean and safe. Breadfast is okay.

Disliked: I have booked in a 12 female ensuite & the washing basin in the toilet is way too small, I have to go outside & use the shared one to wash my face. No electric plugs for hair dryer near the makeup mirror. Not enough sockets to recharge phone or camera etc in room however, no such problem in another room on my 3rd week check-in. It's good that those room for female should have a good size mirror for use. I usually go down to the shared bathroom oppo to B02 in the basement for my makeup despite i was on the 2/F. The night shift guy is way to cold to answer question and very much indeed unwelcoming. The rest of the staff are terrific especially Ms Kate who answers our request immediately when i asked for an additional blanket and in my 2nd check-in, she's so caring! A grave difference from the night shift guy.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Athmosfere, excelent location!

Disliked: Only stayed one night, so NOTHING actually to cmplain about!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location just outside the city center. It had everything a great hostel should have: perfect atmosphere, great bar/resturant... free breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kate Walshe

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2010 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: It was ok. Was clean and comfortable, breakfast was good.

Disliked: Bathrooms weren't the best, nowhere to get cchanged. Dorms had too many people and were very noisy so didn't get much sleep. Location was very boring, had to catch very expensive underground everywhere as it was far from the centre.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big hostel but it has a cosy feel to it. Dorm beds are made more private by curtains. Also staff are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Showers could do with a refurb.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 November 2010

Liked: nothing much

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ayana Hill

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 November 2010 Ayana would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the vintage feel of the place, and the quiet yet not creepy location that was also relatively close to a tube station. I just felt really comfortable and safe there!

Disliked: I can't think of anything!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

kate walker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

25 November 2010

Liked: not much

Disliked: the showers are awful, they're so tiny & stuffy you feel dirtier & sweatier after having one. Get some ventilation happening or atleast cut a hole in the top or bottom of the door to let in some air. Oh & breakfast is crap

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sandile Percival Ntombela

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

25 November 2010 Sandile Percival would recommend this property

Liked: the area it is located on , some of the facilities like vendor machines and coffee machine the internet access.

Disliked: the cleaning system that we must take our luggage out on Tuesday @ 11:00 it not so on and the cleaning staff was pushing my clothes around as i am trying to get dressed coming from the shower !! man when i pay for the service i need to use it when i need to i had to dress in front of the laddies as they did not give me the privacy that not good at all .

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

24 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi and inexpensive laptop safes.

Disliked: People turning the light on in the middle of the night. Also people tend to piss on the floor in the bathroom.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2010

Liked: the bar and restaurant, very large as well lots of room.

Disliked: very noisy, i was in the basement next to the kitchen and above i could hear every foot step, knock on door and every garbled conversation, but it was an old building so....

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Julia Woodward

Alone

21 November 2010 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the curtains on each bunk, the reading lights, and he amazing authentic atmosphere.

Disliked: The room smelled absolutely terrible! This was not the most fun hostel I have ever stayed at and there were no tours or pubcrawls. The location is good if you can afford the bus or tube everyday, but difficult for walking.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were incredibly friendly. the lounge area is big and cozy, as is the restaurant, with a nice outdoor area too. free breakfast is an added bonus! lockers in rooms and curtains around beds added security and privacy.

Disliked: a couple of faulty showers

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

18 November 2010

Liked: I liked that this hostel had free Internet access.

Disliked: This hostel was far from central London. It's not even on the central London map! Having massive dorms only available to one sex is boring, and not condusive to meeting peope. Also, I don't consider a microwave "cooking facilities"

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ultra comfortable, clean, quiet, relatively central, spacious.A champagne hostel on a beer budget.Lovely beds with lots of added touches for privacy and security.

Disliked: Not a complaint to be had.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, good character, good privacy, nice staffeasy commute form stansted

Disliked: a little cramped - rooms can get very crowded bathrooms are for both men and women!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is just a few minutes from the Tube, uses key cards to get into hallways and rooms (very safe), has super comfy beds with curtains to close for privacy, computers and free wifi for those who bring their own, good continental breakfast, super helpful and friendly staff, and it was clean. This will definitely be where I stay on return visits to London!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was impressed the speed of booking in and the friendly staff at the reception. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable with lovely white sheets. Showers and toilets were very clean and considering this hostel is open twenty four hours a day it was quiet during the night on the evening I stayed there. I shared a room with eleven other people and because of the curtains around each bed this gave each person their own privacy within the room. I was surprised to find a selection of foods on offer for breakfast, as I had only expected toast and a drink to be available. I am a single woman in my fifties but I personally feel this type of hostel will suit all ages and it is very convenient for the tube. I am planning another visit to London shortly and I will be most definitely staying at this hostel. I cannot recommend it enough to any person who wants to stay in London on a budget but likes to feel the place they stay in is clean and welcoming…well Palmers Lodge offers this and much more!

Disliked: Just the majority of young people in the lounge in the evening were at their laptops and having virtual conversations without interacting within their own peers or other travellers in the room. It is so sad to travel and miss the opportunity of communicating face to face with other like minded people and perhaps missing some potential friends for the future.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice building, friendly staff, not too wild, and the bar/patio are very cute.

Disliked: They did not have my last night's stay in their system, so I had to move rooms (to a less-ideal room) and was out of a room for a few hours in the middle of the day. Also, the locker drawers are not big enought for even the smallest suitcase.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Yi Hsuan LIN

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping

02 November 2010 Yi Hsuan would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff and the location is really nice~It is close to the downtown and right in front of the hostel there is a bus stop. The only bad thing is about the noise. Sometimes it is hard to sleep before the train stops...

Disliked: It is close to the rail road that sometimes it is a little bit noisy~

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cynthia Lourenco Tach

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2010 Cynthia would recommend this property

Liked: Its really a good place, completly safe. Really recomended for other who also wants a comfortable and safe place to stay.

Disliked: No sinks outside of the shower. JUst inside of the shower and too small. Just it. Oh dont forget a slippers when going to take a shower.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andre Gustavo Silva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 October 2010 Andre Gustavo would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff

Disliked: The Location


See all London hostels
See all London hotels