We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

87.2% Overall Rating

1038 out of 1093 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2015)

"We stayed in the 18 bed dorm and it was very nice. All the people in the dorm were very nice and it was quiet in the evenings. Each bunk had a plug socket and reading lamp along with a locker, just remember to bring a…"

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.02
  • Towel USD 2.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
85.82 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
28.52 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
PubLove @ The Green Man, Paddington
17.15 USD

Hostel 73.7% 705 reviews
Phoenix Hostel
15.60 USD

Hostel 80.6% 3374 reviews
Access Paddington
38.04 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
23.76 USD

Hostel 84.7% 1881 reviews
Hyde Park Court Hotel
60.46 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
The Nayland Hotel
51.49 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

1038 out of 1093 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 744 of 1046 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quaint hostel with a lovely eating area. Bathrooms were better than previous reviews suggested.

Disliked: Distance from main attractions, though the tube was fairly close.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bed, 'curtain' of bed, breakfast

Disliked: location, it was close to tube stop but still a bit far from attractions

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Petr Vaverka

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

27 March 2011 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: nicely done rooms. free wi-fi. bar in the basement. cool staff.

Disliked: not enough toilets and sinks. poor breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice staff, nice atmosphere, delicious food, clean beds, good location. *Thumbs up*

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YIHAN TANG

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2011 YIHAN would recommend this property

Liked: It's great to have curtains for each bed; the lockers under the bed can be pulled out to be a chair ^^ LOVE the hostel, best ever !!!

Disliked: NOTHING, it is really great

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet, no curfew and the conservatory

Disliked: Bar closed too early

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is so helpfulness and the place have a great location at 4 underground stations to the center.

Disliked: small room of breakfast

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed is clean and there are different activities every night.

Disliked: The closest washroom to my room is currently under construction. The location is a bit inconvenient, but still acceptable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: old and classical building with a lot of character. Nice living room with pool, sofas and organisated movie nights (with free popcorn). rooms were clean and safe. good breakfast is included!!

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building is amazingly beautiful and the neighbourhood is charming.

Disliked: Bathroom situation was terrible: one shower for 5 dorms (one being out of order), tiny sinks in the miniature toilet cubicals being the only place to brush your teeth. No hot water in the shower, water standing 3cm high on the floor, nearly no place to put your things... Really a pitty for it just could be the best hostel in London if they had decent bathroom facilities...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great - it was only about 5 minutes walk from the tube station an quite easy to find. It is within walking distance of Finchley Road station from where the Easybus, National Express and Terravision buses leave for Stansted and Luton Airport. The reception staff were incredibly helpful and welcoming from the moment I arrived. The beds were very comfortable and clean. The location is actually a lot closer to London's city centre than you would expect and it is very well connected by the tube. The lounge area was very comfortable to sit around in and the shower and toilet facilities were well maintained.

Disliked: The internet speed was quite slow but it's free.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

sam wilson

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011

Liked: very clean, really nice old building with heaps of character

Disliked: very noisy guests all the time, over crowded, can never even get a seat. not a good atmosphere for meeting people and they charged my a cancellation fee to my credit card whilst i was there, and had advised them already that i had received an email stating this obviously by mistake.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very big, the bathrooms are good and clean.

Disliked: They didn't tell us that we had to change rooms one day before our check out. So we left the hostel to sightsee and when we got back, our stuffs were at the reception, in a trash bag, including those things that were in the locker (they broke our padlock to get our things out of there). Also, the room for 8 is very small for so many people.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: showers and bathrooms were terrible, and the only sink in our room was always clogged. Be aware that 'free breakfast' means toast and cornflakes

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: historical building

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

25 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large, and clean

Disliked: Not too friendly

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staffs and environment

Disliked: nope

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Perkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The showers were clean and hot, and the beds were very comfortable! I was checking in late and someone even made sure to turn my bedside lamp on so that I could find it in the dark. Breakfast was delicious (toast, croissants, butter, jam, cereal with milk, juice, and REAL coffee) and the entire atmosphere of the hotel was great. The staff are wonderful too and really care that you have a good stay. Wish I could have stayed longer!

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly. On the day of check in, despite arriving early, I was able to use all the facilities and have breakfast. On the day of check out, I was still able to use their facilities and could keep my baggage locked up until I was ready to get my train in the evening.

Disliked: The showers were very small and there was only a tiny area of the shower room that didn't get wet - made it a bit tricky to get dressed after showering. but the showers were very clean!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere, good location

Disliked: only very small washbasins on the second floor

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right next to underground on the Jubilee line which was always running even on weekends when some of the other lines were shut down for construction.Bus stop less than 1 minute away.Any store you need is just a walk away on Finchley Rd.London zoo is just a 10 minute walk and makes a great day out.Central London is 5-10 minutes on tube.Hostel is quite at night if you need a good nights sleep after a hectic day in the city and the curtains around the beds make for great privacy and also each bed has a night lamp if you want to read.Locker at the end of each bed for your valuables.Bring your own padlock.Free breakfast which I was very happy with.The use of the computers for internet which you can use at any time if they are free.Showers were nice and water was always warm.Everybody here keeps to themselves and minds their own business.I,m going back to London in two weeks time and I,m already booked in to stay there again.

Disliked: Cleaning ladies who were very good and work hard,could change the bedsheets a little more often.There supposed to change them every 3 days which is fair but my bed was only changed once in 10 days and the music is always blaring in the bar which used turn me off going in there.Must be getting old.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GARY HEAD

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 February 2011 GARY would recommend this property

Liked: It was only a two minute walk from the tube, minutes from central London

Disliked: Street noise because the windows are old

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

09 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: yes

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people either at the bar or the lounge. Most of the staff were very friendly.

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hellen Norman

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 February 2011 Hellen would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, and despite being just down the hall from people talking loudly and playing music, the dorm was very quiet. I'm a lightl sleeper, so that was really important to me. beds were comfy, too, and the idea of having curtains around each bed is genius! I wish more hostels did it!

Disliked: Not a major gripe, but the bathrooms are cleaned at 7,30am, just when I needed to get a shower. I had to wait or traipse upstairs in my nightwear, not ideal!


See all London hostels
See all London hotels