HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage London Hostel

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 81%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.88USD
  • Towel 1.96USD

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking.



Special cancellation policy

“Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 81%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 86%

Showing 181-127 of 127 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: This hostel is very economical! It has free wifi that reached to my room, a very clean and cmfortable bed, decent storage space (though not big enough for a large suitcase, but we found place near our beds for those), and a free breakfast! The showers and toilets are also clean.

Disliked: There was a mixup with the beds, as someone took my bed by accident, but the staff were very helpful and got us sorted out. The hostel is not that close to the center of London, being in zone 2, but a short Tube ride takes care of that.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate your opinion and we are happy to read that you had a good time at our hostel. The Palmers Lodge team would like to apologize again about the problem with the beds confussion. We really hope it didn't ruin your stay here. We would be happy to see you soon

Best regards,
The Palmers Lodge team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Character, bar, location, beds with lights and curtains

Disliked: Nothing - apart from the occassional ignorant asshole 'guest' crashing in late jabbering and making a noise.... but you get those assholes everywhere

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: So open and friendly. Everything is safe and secure and it's right near the underground. The wifi actually works too!!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The structure itself was quite charming, and the nearby Camden Market was a lot of fun. Bathrooms and bedrooms were clean.

Disliked: The location is atrocious; it's only close to Camden. The staff was completely unhelpful. There was no internet in the rooms, only VERY SLOW internet in the crowded common area where nobody spoke or enjoyed the company of others. I went in the off-season, so I can only imagine how crowded it is during the summer. This is one of those places that upcharges you for every tiny service offered. Most of the rooms were empty, but the staff still chose to pack us all into large group rooms. They could have let us have a bit more privacy for free, but they chose not to.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: All is good!! :) Particularly like the curtains around the bed.

Disliked: I know its for the sake of not wasting water..but showering can be a tad annoying because you have to press on the valve every 3-5 seconds...

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Really enjoyed my stay the hostel is amazing !!

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location of this hostel was great (if you are happy to navigate the tube). Curtains around every bunk bed was a great addition for extra privacy, and the bathrooms were kept very clean.

Disliked: There wasn't a lot of 'public' space for its size; the lounge was generally quite full. This is not a problem if you don't plan to spend much time at the hostel other than sleeping!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice proper beds. Even though it was a 28 bed dorm, the room was very big and the curtains basically meant you weren't really aware of the sheer number of people in the room. Bathroom was alright and security was high.

Disliked: The shower. Having to push the button repeatedly when washing hair is annoying. Also, the staff was not helpful. When I checked in they did not inform me where anything was.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Spacious and very clean

Disliked: 1 pound charge for payments with cards

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Palmers Lodge is a great hostle, the room was big and clean, the staff was friendly and explained everything you wanted to know and the breakfast was much better than in other hostles. Furthermore it is great that you can use free internet.

Disliked: nothing... everyting was fine ;)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability