HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

87.3% Overall Rating

959 out of 1008 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"Curtains on dorm beds and individual lights. Computers for internet use. Nice building"

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
78.31 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
31.46 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
The Black Lion
83.89 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
FRESH @ The Green Man, Paddington
16.78 USD

Hostel 78.5% 640 reviews
Brazen Backpackers
16.78 USD

Hostel 76.8% 564 reviews
Phoenix Hostel
18.46 USD

Hostel 90.9% 3044 reviews
Somerset Hotel
60.82 USD

Hotel 3 star 57.1% 4 reviews
Access Paddington
46.14 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

959 out of 1008 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 701 of 963 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 November 2010

Liked: nothing much

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ayana Hill

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 November 2010 Ayana would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the vintage feel of the place, and the quiet yet not creepy location that was also relatively close to a tube station. I just felt really comfortable and safe there!

Disliked: I can't think of anything!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

kate walker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

25 November 2010

Liked: not much

Disliked: the showers are awful, they're so tiny & stuffy you feel dirtier & sweatier after having one. Get some ventilation happening or atleast cut a hole in the top or bottom of the door to let in some air. Oh & breakfast is crap

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sandile Percival Ntombela

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

25 November 2010 Sandile Percival would recommend this property

Liked: the area it is located on , some of the facilities like vendor machines and coffee machine the internet access.

Disliked: the cleaning system that we must take our luggage out on Tuesday @ 11:00 it not so on and the cleaning staff was pushing my clothes around as i am trying to get dressed coming from the shower !! man when i pay for the service i need to use it when i need to i had to dress in front of the laddies as they did not give me the privacy that not good at all .

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

24 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi and inexpensive laptop safes.

Disliked: People turning the light on in the middle of the night. Also people tend to piss on the floor in the bathroom.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2010

Liked: the bar and restaurant, very large as well lots of room.

Disliked: very noisy, i was in the basement next to the kitchen and above i could hear every foot step, knock on door and every garbled conversation, but it was an old building so....

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Julia Woodward

Alone

21 November 2010 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the curtains on each bunk, the reading lights, and he amazing authentic atmosphere.

Disliked: The room smelled absolutely terrible! This was not the most fun hostel I have ever stayed at and there were no tours or pubcrawls. The location is good if you can afford the bus or tube everyday, but difficult for walking.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were incredibly friendly. the lounge area is big and cozy, as is the restaurant, with a nice outdoor area too. free breakfast is an added bonus! lockers in rooms and curtains around beds added security and privacy.

Disliked: a couple of faulty showers

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

18 November 2010

Liked: I liked that this hostel had free Internet access.

Disliked: This hostel was far from central London. It's not even on the central London map! Having massive dorms only available to one sex is boring, and not condusive to meeting peope. Also, I don't consider a microwave "cooking facilities"

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ultra comfortable, clean, quiet, relatively central, spacious.A champagne hostel on a beer budget.Lovely beds with lots of added touches for privacy and security.

Disliked: Not a complaint to be had.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, good character, good privacy, nice staffeasy commute form stansted

Disliked: a little cramped - rooms can get very crowded bathrooms are for both men and women!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is just a few minutes from the Tube, uses key cards to get into hallways and rooms (very safe), has super comfy beds with curtains to close for privacy, computers and free wifi for those who bring their own, good continental breakfast, super helpful and friendly staff, and it was clean. This will definitely be where I stay on return visits to London!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was impressed the speed of booking in and the friendly staff at the reception. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable with lovely white sheets. Showers and toilets were very clean and considering this hostel is open twenty four hours a day it was quiet during the night on the evening I stayed there. I shared a room with eleven other people and because of the curtains around each bed this gave each person their own privacy within the room. I was surprised to find a selection of foods on offer for breakfast, as I had only expected toast and a drink to be available. I am a single woman in my fifties but I personally feel this type of hostel will suit all ages and it is very convenient for the tube. I am planning another visit to London shortly and I will be most definitely staying at this hostel. I cannot recommend it enough to any person who wants to stay in London on a budget but likes to feel the place they stay in is clean and welcoming…well Palmers Lodge offers this and much more!

Disliked: Just the majority of young people in the lounge in the evening were at their laptops and having virtual conversations without interacting within their own peers or other travellers in the room. It is so sad to travel and miss the opportunity of communicating face to face with other like minded people and perhaps missing some potential friends for the future.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice building, friendly staff, not too wild, and the bar/patio are very cute.

Disliked: They did not have my last night's stay in their system, so I had to move rooms (to a less-ideal room) and was out of a room for a few hours in the middle of the day. Also, the locker drawers are not big enought for even the smallest suitcase.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Yi Hsuan LIN

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping

02 November 2010 Yi Hsuan would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff and the location is really nice~It is close to the downtown and right in front of the hostel there is a bus stop. The only bad thing is about the noise. Sometimes it is hard to sleep before the train stops...

Disliked: It is close to the rail road that sometimes it is a little bit noisy~

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cynthia Lourenco Tach

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2010 Cynthia would recommend this property

Liked: Its really a good place, completly safe. Really recomended for other who also wants a comfortable and safe place to stay.

Disliked: No sinks outside of the shower. JUst inside of the shower and too small. Just it. Oh dont forget a slippers when going to take a shower.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andre Gustavo Silva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 October 2010 Andre Gustavo would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff

Disliked: The Location

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

kate walker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2010 kate would recommend this property

Liked: good vibe. comfortable. best hostel i've stayed at in london by far.I';ve already booked to stay again

Disliked: no hot water in the morning. but when i showered later in the day there was plenty so it's not a big deal

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

21 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice old building in a good and safe area.

Disliked: Don't clean all the toilets at the same time!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andre Gustavo Silva

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2010 Andre Gustavo would recommend this property

Liked: The great support of the staff.

Disliked: They don't have a oven.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was fantastic! In the bedrooms, you had you own light, own powerpoints and own locker. Free breakfast every morning was more than satisfactory. It had a great bar and beer garden, and entertainment organised every night. The staff were very friendly.

Disliked: Bit out of the way, but well worth it!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maria Kaule

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Work / volunteering

19 October 2010 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is beautiful! I liked that you can bring your own food and warm it up in the kitchen!I also liked that you can surf in the internet for free and that you can safe your luggage in the hostel and when you check out!

Disliked: the staff was sometimes unfriendly and that there were sometimes problems with my keycard!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the friendly staff, they were very helpful especially giving us advice on things to do and see in London. The hostel was very well maintained and cleaned which was lovely. I would definately suggest this hostel to my friends.

Disliked: The older customers made it a little harder to have fun and meet new people. However that is what you get for going to a more expensive and adult hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Wray

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2010 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: This was a beautiful property. We were a bit worried at first, booking out of the city centre. But the tube station is a 30 second walk and takes you to the centre of London within just a few minutes. The hostel was beautiful - the building was a beautiful victorian home and the rooms were spacious. The beds had their own little curtain and a box for your luggage. They even have an outdoor lock box for your luggage if you want to explore and come back for your bags later. It was perfect for a couple of days.

Disliked: Ashley left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Seok Mey Khong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2010 Seok Mey would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is great...

Disliked: Room not so clean, locker also old


See all London hostels
See all London hotels