HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage London Hostel

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 80%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 92%

Value 88%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking.



Special cancellation policy

“Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 80%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 92%

Value 88%

Showing 181-190 of 455 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: it is clean and has useful facilities. you can use the kitchen. free hot drinks in lounge and is has a beautiful atmosphere. 10mins to Camden town by bus and 25mins to central by tube via jubilee line(silver). it is a secure place. f

Disliked: 1pound extra for credit cards. although the tube line is good, it is a little far from central. (zone 2)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff and cheap food!

Disliked: Please turn on the heat, we were in a basement room where the inside was colder than the outside, only drawback but a major one!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Charming building, good bunks, clean and good showers & toilets.

Disliked: Some of the showers didn't work as supposed to.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Palmers Lodge Swiss Cottage is incredibly clean and I had iece of mind that my belongings were safe. Guests were respectful of one another when coming in and leaving at various hours of the night and morning. The staff were polite and helpful.

Disliked: The hostel itself was good. One long term resident guest made a lot of girls staying in the hostel quite uncomfortable with his unrelenting attentions. Not the most outgoing guests on the most part; some older travellers and school groups.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clearn. Nice architecture. Carpet in the room. Close to the tube. Individuar light on the bed.

Disliked: Little bit far from the city.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: location great for Swiss Cottage and the venue we needed to attend.

Disliked: good accomodation but one the the people asaring a little strange but as we were 2 together did not mind too much. but a solo person may have been slighlty nervous..........

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Palmers Lodge Swiss Cottage Team

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: This hostel is very economical! It has free wifi that reached to my room, a very clean and cmfortable bed, decent storage space (though not big enough for a large suitcase, but we found place near our beds for those), and a free breakfast! The showers and toilets are also clean.

Disliked: There was a mixup with the beds, as someone took my bed by accident, but the staff were very helpful and got us sorted out. The hostel is not that close to the center of London, being in zone 2, but a short Tube ride takes care of that.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate your opinion and we are happy to read that you had a good time at our hostel. The Palmers Lodge team would like to apologize again about the problem with the beds confussion. We really hope it didn't ruin your stay here. We would be happy to see you soon

Best regards,
The Palmers Lodge team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Character, bar, location, beds with lights and curtains

Disliked: Nothing - apart from the occassional ignorant asshole 'guest' crashing in late jabbering and making a noise.... but you get those assholes everywhere

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: So open and friendly. Everything is safe and secure and it's right near the underground. The wifi actually works too!!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The structure itself was quite charming, and the nearby Camden Market was a lot of fun. Bathrooms and bedrooms were clean.

Disliked: The location is atrocious; it's only close to Camden. The staff was completely unhelpful. There was no internet in the rooms, only VERY SLOW internet in the crowded common area where nobody spoke or enjoyed the company of others. I went in the off-season, so I can only imagine how crowded it is during the summer. This is one of those places that upcharges you for every tiny service offered. Most of the rooms were empty, but the staff still chose to pack us all into large group rooms. They could have let us have a bit more privacy for free, but they chose not to.

Check Availability