We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

84.8% Overall Rating

996 out of 1048 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/11/2014)

"I value cleanliness and a quiet nights sleep over a party atmosphere at times, and that's exactly why I chose palmers lodge again. Location is not in central London, but it is close to Camden, which is great for…"

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.30
  • Towel USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
96.56 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
34.49 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
PubLove @ The Green Man, Paddington
16.23 USD

Hostel 68.5% 683 reviews
The Bell House
24.33 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Phoenix Hostel
14.61 USD

Hostel 94.9% 3239 reviews
Access Paddington
46.66 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
20.45 USD

Hostel 78.2% 1851 reviews
Hyde Park Court Hotel
30.43 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

996 out of 1048 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
80.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 717 of 1001 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent atmosphere and good large tv common room and bar so great for chilling out.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place, friendly and helpful staff, good atmosphere.Highly recommended!

Disliked: The shower and toilet need a reshape/remodeling. All in all it's a very good place and that was the only shortcoming.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Loraine O'Hagan

Alone

Business / conference

28 May 2011 Loraine would recommend this property

Liked: i REALLY LIKED THE SECURE LOCKER BENEATH THE BED AND THE PRIVACY OF CURTAINS AROUND THE BED

Disliked: tHAT THE SHOWERS WERE OVFTEN NOT USEABLE AS THERE WAS A CLEANING SIGN THERE, tHIS WAS IN THE EVENING AND AGAIN IN THE MORNING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendy Staff

Disliked: No kitchen to cook your own food.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Dresser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2011 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel i have ever been to, very friendly people and a great atmosphere to come back to after a long day of site seeing.

Disliked: I could only stay 2 days =/

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

PAUL JONES

Alone

Events / festivals

17 May 2011 PAUL would recommend this property

Liked: clean beds, curtins and reading light were good touch.....breakfast was good.......I'd stay again! :)

Disliked: nothing really

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun place

Disliked: Not very clean.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Brendan Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2011 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, big, old cottagey place.

Disliked: Nothing, it's ok.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to a tube station, making it easy to navigate around the city. It was very receptive to our comings and goings at all hours.

Disliked: The internet was a hassel. It would kick in and out, but I believe that was mostly due to high traffic. Some of the other guests were less than courtious to everyone else and that impeded our enjoyment a bit.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anthony van Dijk

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 May 2011 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very good price.

Disliked: The breakfast was a bit early.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If the socket can be near every bad (especially top two) then will be better

Disliked: The bath room did not have the cover so the water come out and wet my clothes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

colin mcdonald

Alone

City break

13 May 2011 colin would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money, friendly helpful staff, free computer use and Wi fi. Well done !

Disliked: Thought the beer could have been a little cheaper

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Karin Otzen

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2011 Karin would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the quality of the building, rooms and beds. Some of the showers were quite small but all in all they were clean and that is for me the most important. Nice bar/restaurant in the basement. A bit far from London city centre but quite close to two different tube stations. Also close to the bus to/from Stansted airport.

Disliked: N/A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Iain Cosgrove

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 May 2011 Iain would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere

Disliked: The room was very warm.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. I liked the fact that there was no noise during the night.

Disliked: I don´t have anything to say because I really liked the property.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything, the people I met were really nice. I liked the fact that during the night there was no noise.

Disliked: I don´t have anything to say because I really liked the place

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Milica Stojanovic

Alone

City break

06 May 2011 Milica would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean, on a very good location, the staff are very helpful and kind, so all these factors combined with London itself made my stay there worth remembering.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eduardo Guemes

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2011 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay!

Disliked: It's a little bit far from central London, but the tube connects you to everywhere.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jiri Maly

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 May 2011 Jiri would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet, good staff, bed curtains

Disliked: nothing special

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The WiFi is for free and working. Many online PCs are available for free. Central location. Friendly atmosphere, staff , guests. The building, rooms, ceilings, floors etc are really very pleasant, almost like in a luxury hotel, this is the Swiss Cottage giving the name to this part of London. Showers are OK. The hostel is clean, moreover guests get not the stress from compulsive cleaning services I had to suffer in other hostels. Microscopic, gender-separated toilets.

Disliked: A nice cozy little restaurant, a cozy pub BUT no real self-catering facilities, you have one microwave oven and can make your tea or Nescafe but e.g. forget about grilling fish or boiling water for cooking your rice or noodles; only one fridge , it is messy overloaded by too many plastic bags of guests. Toilets are ridiculously tiny, a (not dead) human body fits hardly in ... even ryanair toilets are more comfortable ! Nevertheless I would definitely book again at this hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Curtains round the beds was a great feature.

Disliked: Restaurant was closed for a group which meant we had to go searching for food.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I especially liked how the bunks had curtains around them so it was easier to sleep. Everything was safe, internet was fine, and the staff was really helpful.

Disliked: Nothing! It's a great place to stay, best hostel i've stayed in.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quaint hostel with a lovely eating area. Bathrooms were better than previous reviews suggested.

Disliked: Distance from main attractions, though the tube was fairly close.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bed, 'curtain' of bed, breakfast

Disliked: location, it was close to tube stop but still a bit far from attractions


See all London hostels
See all London hotels