HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage London Hostel

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 87%

Location 90%

Safety 88%

Staff 94%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.06USD
  • Towel 2.35USD

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking.



Special cancellation policy

“Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 87%

Location 90%

Safety 88%

Staff 94%

Value 88%

Showing 161-159 of 159 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: clean, good facilities

Disliked: they close the bathrooms for cleaning at 10am everyday, it's kind of annoying when you are still trying to get ready

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: - location is close to the underground for easy access to the rest of the city

Disliked: - hard to find because it's hidden behind a commercial district- wifi is intermittent, hard to access on phone or tablet. Better to just use the computers in the lounge, however there are usually line-ups for the computers in the evening.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's a good place, good bed, good shower and offer a good dinner with a good price

Disliked: th breakfast is weak

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Clean, and very comfy beds!

Disliked: You need to buy lockers if you want to be totaly sure it's not accessible to others.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Safety. Didn't let people in who didn't need to be there. I liked that. Had staff that came in the room and tidied. Showers/bathrooms were kept very clean.

Disliked: Room I stayed in was cramped. Very small strip of floor. Messy people in the room, left their stuff all over the room. Loud, came in at all hours and didn't talk quietly. Very rude but that's what happens when you share rooms with people you don't know, remember to bring ear plugs/headphones to block out nuisances. Last night I was staying, a huge group of children were out in the hallway at 1 AM screaming and yelling. No attempt was made to quiet them. Staff was pretty unfriendly towards me.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: clean, near undergound, breakfast included

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Showers/Bathrooms kept very very clean. Staff made beds (if you don't have your stuff all over your bed). Safety was very important and monitored, I never felt unsafe. I liked the people staying in the room with us. Room was pretty spacious. STayed on third floor. Wifi was pretty spotty up there, though.Continental breakfast was good, loved the croissants. The building is gorgeous. In a great area and close to the tube. Easy to get around.

Disliked: First night I checked in, my assigned bed was occupied by someone else. So I just chose a bed closer to the person I was travelling with. Next day, there was a note on my bed, asking me to speak with reception, which I did immediately. Spoke with the gentleman at the desk and I was informed that I wasn't in my assigned bed. I was aware and said that someone was in my assigned bed so I took what I could find. He said that was okay, that he would reflect this change in the computer and I shouldn't face any other issues. That very night, some girl checked in at 3 am and apparently was assigned the bed I was sleeping in. The guy working reception woke me up by shining a flashlight in my face, asking to see my card. They give a card at check in with room/bed assignments written on it. Anyway, he talked to me like I was an idiot, asking me if I realized what bed I was in. I explained the mix up from earlier in the day, he didn't seem to know that was going on. The next morning, I was AGAIN bothered by the housekeeper making beds because according to her knowledge, I wasn't supposed to be in that bed. She had to call down and be informed by reception what was going on. Staff should really pass on unusual occurences to the oncoming shifts. It was a huge hassle. Mainly, I was really annoyed at being woken up in the middle of the night like that and bothered about it by staff more than once.Kitchen staff was INCREDIBLY unfriendly and unhelpful. No clear instructions on how to deal with the restaurant. We sat at the table while the waiter/cook/? walked by us numerous times ignoring us. We seemed clearly confused as to the set up but not one person offered a greeting or what the place was about. When we finally got his attention, he explained that you order in the bar and bring him a ticket, it'd be nice to have a sign stating this, would've saved us the confusion! What we ordered was pretty gross, but I guess you get what you pay for. Staff was all in all quite unfriendly. Only the housekeepers had personality and warmth. Everyone else came off as bored and unwelcoming. I try not to complain and if I'm usually left to my own devices, I don't mind a place. If I have questions, I expect to be treated with some respect and have a positive attitude from staff, it just didn't feel that way here. :( You're made to feel like you're inconveniencing them. They couldn't even be bothered to smile. It made me dread dealing with them.I loved London, and definitely intend to return in the near future but probably will opt for a different place to stay.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere and character of the hostel, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff members, facilities and services, and the safety and security at the hostel.

Disliked: Darkness (no light) in the MOST part of the bedroom, unfriendly and unwelcoming attitude of the chef (with spectacles) in the restaurant and the black male at the reception of the hostel, and the average level of cleanliness in the bedroom and other parts of the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice historic place, good staff, nice breakfast, good beds. I like the place.

Disliked: location is just a little out for walking into town, but the tube is right there.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Literally really impressed with this hostel! All of the above ie Atmos, friendliness of staff, location, cleanliness were top notch!

Disliked: My hangover!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability