HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

87.3% Overall Rating

959 out of 1008 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"Curtains on dorm beds and individual lights. Computers for internet use. Nice building"

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.51

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
78.24 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
31.43 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
The Black Lion
83.82 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
FRESH @ The Green Man, Paddington
18.42 USD

Hostel 77.0% 639 reviews
Brazen Backpackers
20.12 USD

Hostel 76.2% 562 reviews
Phoenix Hostel
21.79 USD

Hostel 91.0% 3034 reviews
Somerset Hotel
60.77 USD

Hotel 3 star 57.1% 4 reviews
Access Paddington
46.10 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

959 out of 1008 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 701 of 963 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything, the people I met were really nice. I liked the fact that during the night there was no noise.

Disliked: I don´t have anything to say because I really liked the place

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Milica Stojanovic

Alone

City break

06 May 2011 Milica would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean, on a very good location, the staff are very helpful and kind, so all these factors combined with London itself made my stay there worth remembering.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eduardo Guemes

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2011 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay!

Disliked: It's a little bit far from central London, but the tube connects you to everywhere.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jiri Maly

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 May 2011 Jiri would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet, good staff, bed curtains

Disliked: nothing special

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The WiFi is for free and working. Many online PCs are available for free. Central location. Friendly atmosphere, staff , guests. The building, rooms, ceilings, floors etc are really very pleasant, almost like in a luxury hotel, this is the Swiss Cottage giving the name to this part of London. Showers are OK. The hostel is clean, moreover guests get not the stress from compulsive cleaning services I had to suffer in other hostels. Microscopic, gender-separated toilets.

Disliked: A nice cozy little restaurant, a cozy pub BUT no real self-catering facilities, you have one microwave oven and can make your tea or Nescafe but e.g. forget about grilling fish or boiling water for cooking your rice or noodles; only one fridge , it is messy overloaded by too many plastic bags of guests. Toilets are ridiculously tiny, a (not dead) human body fits hardly in ... even ryanair toilets are more comfortable ! Nevertheless I would definitely book again at this hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Curtains round the beds was a great feature.

Disliked: Restaurant was closed for a group which meant we had to go searching for food.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I especially liked how the bunks had curtains around them so it was easier to sleep. Everything was safe, internet was fine, and the staff was really helpful.

Disliked: Nothing! It's a great place to stay, best hostel i've stayed in.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quaint hostel with a lovely eating area. Bathrooms were better than previous reviews suggested.

Disliked: Distance from main attractions, though the tube was fairly close.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bed, 'curtain' of bed, breakfast

Disliked: location, it was close to tube stop but still a bit far from attractions

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Petr Vaverka

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

27 March 2011 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: nicely done rooms. free wi-fi. bar in the basement. cool staff.

Disliked: not enough toilets and sinks. poor breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice staff, nice atmosphere, delicious food, clean beds, good location. *Thumbs up*

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YIHAN TANG

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2011 YIHAN would recommend this property

Liked: It's great to have curtains for each bed; the lockers under the bed can be pulled out to be a chair ^^ LOVE the hostel, best ever !!!

Disliked: NOTHING, it is really great

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet, no curfew and the conservatory

Disliked: Bar closed too early

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is so helpfulness and the place have a great location at 4 underground stations to the center.

Disliked: small room of breakfast

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed is clean and there are different activities every night.

Disliked: The closest washroom to my room is currently under construction. The location is a bit inconvenient, but still acceptable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: old and classical building with a lot of character. Nice living room with pool, sofas and organisated movie nights (with free popcorn). rooms were clean and safe. good breakfast is included!!

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building is amazingly beautiful and the neighbourhood is charming.

Disliked: Bathroom situation was terrible: one shower for 5 dorms (one being out of order), tiny sinks in the miniature toilet cubicals being the only place to brush your teeth. No hot water in the shower, water standing 3cm high on the floor, nearly no place to put your things... Really a pitty for it just could be the best hostel in London if they had decent bathroom facilities...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great - it was only about 5 minutes walk from the tube station an quite easy to find. It is within walking distance of Finchley Road station from where the Easybus, National Express and Terravision buses leave for Stansted and Luton Airport. The reception staff were incredibly helpful and welcoming from the moment I arrived. The beds were very comfortable and clean. The location is actually a lot closer to London's city centre than you would expect and it is very well connected by the tube. The lounge area was very comfortable to sit around in and the shower and toilet facilities were well maintained.

Disliked: The internet speed was quite slow but it's free.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

sam wilson

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011

Liked: very clean, really nice old building with heaps of character

Disliked: very noisy guests all the time, over crowded, can never even get a seat. not a good atmosphere for meeting people and they charged my a cancellation fee to my credit card whilst i was there, and had advised them already that i had received an email stating this obviously by mistake.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very big, the bathrooms are good and clean.

Disliked: They didn't tell us that we had to change rooms one day before our check out. So we left the hostel to sightsee and when we got back, our stuffs were at the reception, in a trash bag, including those things that were in the locker (they broke our padlock to get our things out of there). Also, the room for 8 is very small for so many people.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: showers and bathrooms were terrible, and the only sink in our room was always clogged. Be aware that 'free breakfast' means toast and cornflakes

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: historical building

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

25 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large, and clean

Disliked: Not too friendly

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staffs and environment

Disliked: nope

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Perkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The showers were clean and hot, and the beds were very comfortable! I was checking in late and someone even made sure to turn my bedside lamp on so that I could find it in the dark. Breakfast was delicious (toast, croissants, butter, jam, cereal with milk, juice, and REAL coffee) and the entire atmosphere of the hotel was great. The staff are wonderful too and really care that you have a good stay. Wish I could have stayed longer!

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels