HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

85.3% Overall Rating

994 out of 1046 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/09/2014)

Clara Schilizzi thinks…

"The location was good to get into London and no hassle going to and from airports. The place was nice and clean and staff were very helpful."

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.30
  • Towel USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
96.56 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
30.43 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
FRESH @ The Green Man, Paddington
19.46 USD

Hostel 68.9% 682 reviews
Brazen Backpackers
21.10 USD

Hostel 65.7% 642 reviews
The Bell House
25.95 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Phoenix Hostel
22.72 USD

Hostel 96.2% 3235 reviews
Access Paddington
44.63 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
25.40 USD

Hostel 77.5% 1850 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.3%

Overall Rating

994 out of 1046 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
82.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 715 of 999 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lo staff è molto cordiale, la posizione non è male.

Disliked: I cessi non sono il massimo, i lavantini sono in miniatura. Le finestre delle camere sono di difficile movimentazione.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mario Antonio Pérez de Asco

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 Mario Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: THe place where the hostel is located, is a really nice neighborhood

Disliked: There is not enough space for palceing luggage

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dilyana Kadieva

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Dilyana would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the National Express Stop which was what I needed at 3 am! Close to the subway station too, not too far away from central London, quick and easy to reach. I was doing sightseeing one day and a show at Wembley the other - very convinient location to reach both! I liked the fact there were computers to use so I left my PC home and just used theirs! 14 beds is too many for a room no matter how spacious, but beds had curtains to give you privacy. It wasn't really bad, I only met a couple of the people in my room - I was out from early morning up to close to midnight - but they kept going in and out until very late - not too much of a sleep there. Of course, this is no faut of the hostel. Great value for money, as what I needed in London was a bed and a shower.

Disliked: Although there were some hooks, your stuff gets wet in the shower. Draining is bad, if you don't want to stand in a pool, don't get in barefeet! Showers are very clean though and get cleaned pretty often.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful property, close to tube, cleaner than average, quite good breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing but quite dear.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely building, very close to tube stations. Very sturdy bunk beds (which makes a nice change from other hostels!), with lots of space for luggage. Slept really well and would reccommend to others!

Disliked: The only downside would be the lack of toilets and sinks...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I spent a week here and it was overall a good value for the money.

Disliked: there is no self-catering kitchen!!! this is a big minus for people on a budget, especially on a long-term stay. also,i the wifi quality is VERY poor and goes down all the time. common room over-crowded, not a lot of bathrooms, and the showers were so small that you would always get all your stuff wet. the lockers are in a VERY uncomfortable position under the bottom bed. also, little atmosphere because everyone basically cares for oneself (staff included). but I guess this is because it is London.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sun Eun Kim

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Sun Eun would recommend this property

Liked: clean and all staffs are kind. breakfast is good too.

Disliked: I'm nor sure

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pi-ting Hsu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

05 July 2011 Pi-ting would recommend this property

Liked: the bathrooms are very clean. You do a good job to maintain the cleanness.

Disliked: Nothing. I like everything.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bit bare

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: housed in a spacious old manor, just a little outside the busy area of London, also within 5 min walking distance of metro and easybus stop to airport, very convenient!

Disliked: bathrooms were a little small and cramped, not a lot of ventilation but the rest of the place was spacious and homely

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Aino Salonen

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 July 2011 Aino would recommend this property

Liked: All in all it was really a nice hostel.

Disliked: In the showers there was only cold water and one shower was out of order in the downstairs.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fine

Disliked: fine

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Wyatt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

28 June 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel offers everything you need plus more! It truely is a hostel that thinks it is a hotel. The breakfast was good and the restaurant was very reasonably priced. The dorms were very good and the privacy curtains are now a luxury I want for every hostel I stay in!

Disliked: Nothing! Even though it was a hostel there is nothing I could complain about!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast :)

Disliked: shower room too small.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Charlotte Chuter

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

21 June 2011 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: tasteful decoration-more than just beds and drab colors

Disliked: bathroom facilities close together

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pål Johan Høiland Hagtvet

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 June 2011 Pål Johan Høiland would recommend this property

Liked: It was like sleeping in a pirate ship! Lots of farting men making noises, hot, wood and little privacy. And the room often swayed, but that was my own mistake.

Disliked: It was like sleeping in a pirate ship...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jacob Ewing

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2011 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was good for a hostel, and all you could eat. There was a nice bar area and a nice common area. Free wi-fi, and free computers as well. Staff was really nice. It was a good stay.

Disliked: Laundry was a little expensive, and the food in the restaurant/bar wasn't stellar.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Thompson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: I found the location very convenient to bus and tube stops. I like being outside of London proper but still close enough for short tube journeys and on the route for the 13 nightbus.

Disliked: It was perhaps a bit TOO quiet. Not really a good place to meet people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: feeling pretty safe here, dont have any disturbance at night, i was able to have a good night's sleep where i didnt have at other hostels like the curtain around the bed very much, which creates sth like your private space in room like the free breakfast here, particularly the croissants!!

Disliked: not really, except one day i wanna order the full english breakfast but they only allow group to have so i was pretty disapointed would live here again if i got another chance!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Georgiy Zubrov

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

15 June 2011 Georgiy would recommend this property

Liked: Nice old building. Own bar.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike for 15 pounds a night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The character of the place is absolutely amazing. I could go on and on just about the building itself- I love old houses/buildings and this beautiful mansion just made me so happy. I felt more like I was staying in a fancy hotel than a hostel. The beds were so fun, I stayed in both the 21-bed female only and the 12-bed female only-- the 21-bed is in the attic, the 12-bed on a lower floor, with better curtains and of course more quiet. Loved the staff, very friendly and accommodating even when I was grumpy one morning. Five computers with free internet, did not usually have to wait. Clean enough. Lockers were a decent size for me, but I only had a carryon's worth of stuff.

Disliked: The showers are awful. They're awkward stalls, so you don't have much place to put your soap, absolutely nowhere to put your towel or clothes so they'll stay dry, and no matter what when you walk in you're standing in a puddle of someone else's dirty shower water because the floors are too flat to drain properly. Also, the 21-bed attic room is only accessible via walking through a bathroom, which didn't bother me in particular but might make others uncomfortable. Central London only accessible via tube or bus, so maybe not good for a first-time visitor or someone on a very tight budget.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to meet young people, although there were a couple of weird old people there. Fairly clean and breakfast was decent

Disliked: Showers were a bit on the small side and slightly untidy

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Refurbished victorian hall, very spacey and chic. The facilities are great, with a big lounge, free internet, own restaurant and pub, and nice surroundings. Very comfortable in general, many young people in general.

Disliked: Toilets and showers are small, but you're not going to spend much time there. Since collective rooms are big (28 people), noisy people may disturb your sleep. Location isn't the best (a little far from the center, and about half an hour from Piccadilly), but Jubilee Line stops right there and can take you to most attractions. Found a disgusting bedbug one night, so cleaniness of the collective rooms should be improved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent atmosphere and good large tv common room and bar so great for chilling out.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place, friendly and helpful staff, good atmosphere.Highly recommended!

Disliked: The shower and toilet need a reshape/remodeling. All in all it's a very good place and that was the only shortcoming.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels