HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage London Hostel

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 82%

Location 90%

Safety 88%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.33USD
  • Towel 2.11USD

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking.



Special cancellation policy

“Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 82%

Location 90%

Safety 88%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

Showing 151-134 of 134 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: This was a nice and quiet hostel. I was inbetween houses and went to stay here because of the reviews and it lived up to my expectations. I had a comfortable stay and the curtain beds rock! Privacy and darkness = for a dorm room.

Disliked: Smelly beer halls

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice place with lots of nice people. The inside pub is restrict to guests (or at least it looks like it) so it is the best place to know some people. Avoid the lobby room with the zombies and their computers / mobiles.

Disliked: The laundry room has only 2 machines, so will have to wait till any of them are free.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Beautiful building. Great spacious common room. Free (basic) breakfast. Lot of extra services available (events, ticket booking, cash machine indoors).

Disliked: Not enough space in the 6 girls dorm to store stuff. You had to bring your own lock. Only two sinks in the girls bathroom (but four showers and toilets). Luggage room was actually a little hut outside the building, a big come and go- didn't really feel safe leaving my luggage there on my last day.

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fairly clean

Disliked: This is a massive hostel. Very cramped. The dorm rooms are incredibly uncomfortable. Hundreds of people stay in this hostel at once. On my second morning, there were 200+ children scrambling about the hostel.The staff do not care about any of the patrons. There is an attitude of rudeness.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Free cups of tea ha!

Disliked: I don't understand all the hype with this hostel.. The rooms are dark and dingy, there isn't enough toilets or showers, there's school groups everywhere, breakfast is average, staff who can't really be bothered, barely any atmosphere.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Safe and quiet, comfortable bed

Disliked: Breakfast was OK, but the selection was a bit scarse...

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I love the facility and decoration! like Paradise

Disliked: there is no elevator to the attic room. if you have luggage, that is a difficult to move it up toward there

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Worthy of its high rating from what I could see. Just a quick o/n but more than served its purpose. Lounge is comfy & relaxed, WiFi worked fine, and building has so much more character than hotel chain. A good nights sleep

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location. Good facilities.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice building, good atmosphere. cleaningladies are working really hard to keep the place clean ( toilets and showers are cleaned several times a day / I was really satisfied with the hygiene!) Subways less then 5 min walk. Curtain on your bunk for privacy . I was happy to find a calm public in the hostel, its not a party-hotel/ I hope it stays this way! 3nights-stay without problems.

Disliked: I had to take a semi- cold shower ones: but it was rush-houre, it think the boiler couldn't follow. But it happened only ones!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability