HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage London Hostel

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 84%

Location 90%

Safety 91%

Staff 92%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.72USD
  • Towel 1.91USD

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking.



Special cancellation policy

“Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 84%

Location 90%

Safety 91%

Staff 92%

Value 87%

Showing 141-97 of 97 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly staff. Accommodation was clean and comfortable. Very grateful for the free wifi. For a first time hostel visitor, this was a great introduction. I would highly recommend to anyone else.

Disliked: n/a

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: The building is beautiful, the breakfast is great and the room we stayed was clean and comfy beds. Though it was an attic, so standing up was tricky.

Disliked: I don't like the fact that the luggage room is outside the building. The check-in is at 14:00 and we got there pretty early having to leave our suitcase and backpack in a small cabin outside, which key was given to anyone asking for it. They didn't even asked our name to check if we were really staying there, just gave us the key. Bring a locker with you so you can secure the bags to a metal cords they have in the luggage room.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello.

thank you for your comment. We'll be bringing the luggage room inside the building soon to improve our security. Meanwhile, we have lockers available next to reception, and a new system for attaching your bag in the luggage room.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I liked the interiors, they are wooden and they tried to keep the old feeling of the structure.

Disliked: Expensive for an hostel, no personal plugs on bad, the breakfast was nothing special, the staff was average.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello.

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you didn't enjoyed some aspects of our hostel as most guests do. Our free breakfast (one of the last in London) is similar to other paid ones - and you can upgrade it for £2, which makes it cheaper than a normal London hostel breakfast.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: cleaness of the bathrooms and toilets, self-service breaksfast

Disliked: the location of some bed

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Its very clean, very Helpful staff, Good facilities and warm atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very clean and good vibe

Disliked: location

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, friendly staff. Beds very comfy and excellent value for money. Considering staying when u do London Marathon next year.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Poor shower facilities, breakfast very average, very noisy

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The fantastically clean and functional bathrooms!! Our entire 9 person family booked out one room, it was just a perfect way to have an affordable stay in London. The tube was an easy walk from the hostel and in 15-20 minutes we could be in central London. Everything was super.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The on-site bar was a great feature, and made it easy to meet new people. Also, the bed curtains were wonderful and the beds themselves were comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful, and I felt very secure in this hostel.

Disliked: You can occasionally be hard pressed to find a power outlet if the common room is busy. Also, the hostel is far enough from central London that if you need to take a taxi back after tube hours, it can be expensive.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello.

Thank you for your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time, check our information board where you can see all nightbuses coming from central london to us: from picadilly it will take less than 30 minutes and from Camden Town less than 15 minutes. See you next time!

Check Availability