HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

84.3% Overall Rating

980 out of 1031 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/06/2014)

Laura Marie Stephenson thinks…

"The building is gorgeous and has so much history and character. The rooms are spotless, beds comfy and there's plenty of toilet and shower facilities so you'll never struggle to find one! The new bar…"

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.63
  • Towel USD 2.54

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
100.93 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
31.81 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
FRESH @ The Green Man, Paddington
32.21 USD

Hostel 77.6% 669 reviews
Brazen Backpackers
25.45 USD

Hostel 69.4% 619 reviews
Phoenix Hostel
18.66 USD

Hostel 87.8% 3159 reviews
Access Paddington
46.65 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
32.06 USD

Hostel 77.3% 1837 reviews
Hyde Park Court Hotel
48.77 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

980 out of 1031 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
80.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 709 of 985 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

xing chen

Alone

City break

12 September 2011 xing would recommend this property

Liked: Really solid bunk beds that don't squeak, shake, or oscillate when you climb them or turn over. Good quality firm mattresses. Fresh new pillows.

Disliked: Tiny sinks in toilet cubicles, with soap holders right above the basins so you can't get your face close enough when brushing your teeth or rinsing your mouth, without bumping your nose into the dispenser or dripping water onto the floor. No shelf space to place toiletries in cubicles- good luck if you use contact lenses and need to clean them, and with balancing your contact lens case, caps, soap, and bottled solution along the edge of the sink. Shower floors that slope downwards from the area with the drainage hole, so that stagnant soapy water pools in the space where you're supposed to change and dry off. The card readers on the doors along the corridors and of my room door were malfunctioning, so the staff didn't issue me with a card at all. The guests in my room were told to prop open the doors with dustbins to get in and out, and since the bathrooms were located along another card-gated corridor from that of our room, we'd to prop open 3 doors each time, and wait for someone with access to the bathroom corridor to come along. Only stayed here for 1 night, fortunately.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, beautiful area and very safe. The tube station is about 2 mins from the hostel which is really handy. Free Wifi - even though the connection drops out every 10 mins which is quite annoying but at least its free. Not many hostels in London have free internet access. Beds have night lights and curtains so makes it very private. It has a common room and a bar which is really good.

Disliked: It could be cleaner! Bathrooms are very small, you will often be standing in a pool of water at the end of your shower. We had mice in our room! There was a small hole in one of the corners so two mice ran across the room at one stage! With the number of beds in each dorm it makes it very noisy, people coming and going all through the night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 September 2011

Liked: Cute hostel, good staff, good location

Disliked: Girls were coming in and out of our room ALL NIGHT LONG and the door would creak open and slam shut every time. No plugs in the bathroom I had access to. Lockers were teeny tiny. No space in room for luggage so suitcases were strewn everywhere. No hooks for towels.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Loreen Siegel

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 September 2011 Loreen would recommend this property

Liked: loved the living room to chill out, got free wifi... also what I have booked (8bed dorm) was not available at the moment I checked in they booked me in a single ensuite and I just had to pay for the 8 bed dorm- I really loved that they treated me as guest very obliging

Disliked: can´t say anything here

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ylva Knaevelsrud

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2011 Ylva would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access to bus and tube.

Disliked: It gets really hot at night because you can't open the windows properly.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and interior

Disliked: nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place! Beautiful old building, dorm beds are very private with the curtains and light - it's clearly been designed by a backpacker - very practical! Beautiful bar area (also with wi-fi access), good to chill out. Great place - would come back.

Disliked: Showers very clean but often out of order/ blocked. Hard to find anywhere private to skype. Internet often drops out (only for a second or two, but still a pain!)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and the price is reasonable

Disliked: sometimes it's a little noisy at night

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, decent bar downstairs and the lounge was very spacious and convenient. keep up the good work!

Disliked: somewhat isolated location in terms of historical sites and cultural hotspots, but a safe area and easily accessible by the underground

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere and bar

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great place close to central London. Cheap and cheerful with lots of character and beautiful features. Would definitely go back there!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

alessandro fabietti

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 August 2011 alessandro would recommend this property

Liked: it's a very good area well linked to all london funny things to do and to visit, internet is free, beds are comfortable for an hostel and the area is quiet

Disliked: bathrooms are small and rooms aren't cleaned very well but they're ok, there isn't a kitchen to cook like in all london's hostels

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kristian Samuelsen

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Kristian would recommend this property

Liked: There were curtains around each bed.

Disliked: Small showers, but it's not a big problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostile I stayed in while in Europe!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fagner Luiz Fernandes da Silva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

11 August 2011 Fagner Luiz would recommend this property

Liked: Despite i had been in a 28 bed room, i had good privacity. the hostel provided good services for free and staff always helpfull

Disliked: nothing to complain

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that there are lockers under the bed (bring your own lock); the breakfast was decent (toast, cereals, croissants, and apples); there was free wireless and free computer access; there were large common areas; there are curtains around the bed to keep out ambient light.

Disliked: I was in a basement room and the bathrooms and shower rooms were very small. There was not really adequate ventilation in the shower rooms, so they tend to get very humid and damp; it would be better if the individual shower rooms were combined into a large room so that they could air out and you could have more room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

María Calderón

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 María would recommend this property

Liked: free internet acces

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, staff very friendly

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARY HEERIN

Alone

City break

20 July 2011 MARY would recommend this property

Liked: A hostel with character, spacious lounge, free wi-fi, comfortable beds with curtains around, simple breakfast included.

Disliked: Bathroom is right outside of the dormitory door so lots of noise from hairdryers, banging doors, loudly singing and generally inconsiderate guests. Also not enough sinks in the bathroom - only two which were both occupied for half an hour for elaborate make up sessions.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lo staff è molto cordiale, la posizione non è male.

Disliked: I cessi non sono il massimo, i lavantini sono in miniatura. Le finestre delle camere sono di difficile movimentazione.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mario Antonio Pérez de Asco

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 Mario Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: THe place where the hostel is located, is a really nice neighborhood

Disliked: There is not enough space for palceing luggage

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dilyana Kadieva

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Dilyana would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the National Express Stop which was what I needed at 3 am! Close to the subway station too, not too far away from central London, quick and easy to reach. I was doing sightseeing one day and a show at Wembley the other - very convinient location to reach both! I liked the fact there were computers to use so I left my PC home and just used theirs! 14 beds is too many for a room no matter how spacious, but beds had curtains to give you privacy. It wasn't really bad, I only met a couple of the people in my room - I was out from early morning up to close to midnight - but they kept going in and out until very late - not too much of a sleep there. Of course, this is no faut of the hostel. Great value for money, as what I needed in London was a bed and a shower.

Disliked: Although there were some hooks, your stuff gets wet in the shower. Draining is bad, if you don't want to stand in a pool, don't get in barefeet! Showers are very clean though and get cleaned pretty often.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful property, close to tube, cleaner than average, quite good breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing but quite dear.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely building, very close to tube stations. Very sturdy bunk beds (which makes a nice change from other hostels!), with lots of space for luggage. Slept really well and would reccommend to others!

Disliked: The only downside would be the lack of toilets and sinks...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I spent a week here and it was overall a good value for the money.

Disliked: there is no self-catering kitchen!!! this is a big minus for people on a budget, especially on a long-term stay. also,i the wifi quality is VERY poor and goes down all the time. common room over-crowded, not a lot of bathrooms, and the showers were so small that you would always get all your stuff wet. the lockers are in a VERY uncomfortable position under the bottom bed. also, little atmosphere because everyone basically cares for oneself (staff included). but I guess this is because it is London.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels