HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage London

Hostel

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 89%

Location 92%

Safety 87%

Staff 94%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.97USD
  • Towel 2.32USD

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking.



Special cancellation policy

“Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 89%

Location 92%

Safety 87%

Staff 94%

Value 88%

Showing 141-150 of 171 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: We only needed a clean and comfortable bed to crash in, as we're UK base and drove in for the night. Free parking near London center a big bonus and there was plenty of space! Everything worked for me! Very friendly staff and helpful. We stayed in a 6-bunk mix room. The bed was comfortable. Room quiet. Shared toilet plentiful and clean. Bar quirky. Lounge airy and comfortable. I liked it that there were residents of all ages and not just the young backpackers as residents. I would be back should I need a place to crash.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Not far from the subway and town was quiet and peaceful. People were kind and breakfast was nice. Curtains on each bed make me feel it is private place.

Disliked: Some rooms were old and packed. One room even had two floors that makes people in 1st floor feel uncomfortable. Sometimes wifi did not work. Not enough shower rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the helpfulness of the staff and the security measures in place, such as card entry to floors and bedrooms. The property also had architectural character.

Disliked: The room I stayed in was a converted attic, so the ceiling was low and slanted, which prevented people on the top bunk sitting up in bed. Also, in the room I stayed was a structural beam that fairly blocked entry to the door. One could walk around it, but at night in the dark, a person could easily walk into it and get hurt.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Not bad.

Disliked: Low celling ; cracked head!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: This was a nice and quiet hostel. I was inbetween houses and went to stay here because of the reviews and it lived up to my expectations. I had a comfortable stay and the curtain beds rock! Privacy and darkness = for a dorm room.

Disliked: Smelly beer halls

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice place with lots of nice people. The inside pub is restrict to guests (or at least it looks like it) so it is the best place to know some people. Avoid the lobby room with the zombies and their computers / mobiles.

Disliked: The laundry room has only 2 machines, so will have to wait till any of them are free.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Beautiful building. Great spacious common room. Free (basic) breakfast. Lot of extra services available (events, ticket booking, cash machine indoors).

Disliked: Not enough space in the 6 girls dorm to store stuff. You had to bring your own lock. Only two sinks in the girls bathroom (but four showers and toilets). Luggage room was actually a little hut outside the building, a big come and go- didn't really feel safe leaving my luggage there on my last day.

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fairly clean

Disliked: This is a massive hostel. Very cramped. The dorm rooms are incredibly uncomfortable. Hundreds of people stay in this hostel at once. On my second morning, there were 200+ children scrambling about the hostel.The staff do not care about any of the patrons. There is an attitude of rudeness.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Free cups of tea ha!

Disliked: I don't understand all the hype with this hostel.. The rooms are dark and dingy, there isn't enough toilets or showers, there's school groups everywhere, breakfast is average, staff who can't really be bothered, barely any atmosphere.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Safe and quiet, comfortable bed

Disliked: Breakfast was OK, but the selection was a bit scarse...

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability