We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

86.6% Overall Rating

1036 out of 1091 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/07/2015)

"very clean esp the bathroom!! and liked the restaurant. and location was good for me. cuz it was pretty close to primrosehill which is the most beautiful place in London."

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.01
  • Towel USD 2.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
85.64 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
27.00 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
PubLove @ The Green Man, Paddington
29.57 USD

Hostel 73.7% 705 reviews
Phoenix Hostel
26.47 USD

Hostel 80.9% 3373 reviews
Access Paddington
37.96 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
29.43 USD

Hostel 84.2% 1880 reviews
Hyde Park Court Hotel
60.34 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
The Nayland Hotel
61.24 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.6%

Overall Rating

1036 out of 1091 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 742 of 1044 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Pancratz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 December 2011 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Offers free internet and a lot of areas to lounge around. Free breakfast was nice as well. Many more services included then even local hotels!

Disliked: With any hostel, it is hard to get a very restful sleep when you are sleeping in a dorm style room because of people constantly exiting and entering. If you can afford it, a more private room might make your night more restful.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan Kershaw

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 December 2011 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful Victorian building. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Curtains around the bed and individual lamps & lockers for each bed. Great location close to 2 tube stations and local amenities including shopping centre, pubs, restaurants, cinema. look forward to staying again.

Disliked: No catering for coeliacs ( gluten and wheat free diet ) On our last night, 1 guest was in and out of the room continually until 3.30am and every time the door opened or closed it banged shut, however this was out of the staff's control.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best value for money. I'd even rather crash there than in a fancy hotel because you do meet interesting people.

Disliked: nothing to dislike. As I said, it is probably one of the best hostels in the worlds biggest cities.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

04 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, helpful staff,easy access to public transport.good facilities

Disliked: showers out of order bottom floor

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and building.

Disliked: Not enough room to put luggage, wet towels etc. No other complaints.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was great, beds had courtains so we could have privacy and each bed had its own lamp, so when a guest came in during the night nobody would wake up.

Disliked: There was no bathroom in the room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything as described, clean, easy location

Disliked: we booked a 6 person room and when we got there we were told we were in a 12 person room - nobody had informed us of this even though we booked well in advance. We were not able to move to another room as it was fully booked but if we had been informed 2 weeks before when we booked it we would have gone somewhere else. All we were offered was a 10% discount which is the same price as a 12 person room as we had paid more for the 6 bed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Business / conference

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely and full of character. the staff were fantastic. The facilities were excellent.

Disliked: Its in London!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy and safe to get to and right near the Tube, it is a bit out of the city, but being right off the tube well made up for that! There is an M & S grocery store near by, subway and McDonalds for when you need something on the cheap. The restaurant and bar inside were nice too.

Disliked: It's a bit out of downtown, and not much right near it. The dorm for 21 females is on the 3rd floor so be ready to lug your luggage, but the locked boxes under the bed were awesome!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nyssa Olness

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2011 Nyssa would recommend this property

Liked: At first I did not enjoy the property due to being very sick. Thanks to the help of the staff and long-term visitors, I was able to get referred to a free hospital. After all of this, everyone at the property exceeded my expectations. I have never been to London and the front desk staff was extremely helpful. I even tried out the bar downstairs, and although small, there is a great atmosphere from the staff. It appeared to me that every person on staff enjoyed their jobs and were willing to go out of their way to help. I even left my camera there on my way back to the states and they were able to do everything in their power to get it back to me. This is more than I could've ever asked from a hostel. I am beyond overjoyed that I stayed here.

Disliked: The bathrooms on the main floor do not smell nice. I did see them get cleaned quite often, but it's hard to keep a smell down when they are so small and used frequently. Otherwise, I have no complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As soon as I arrived I was welcomed with a friendly and helpful staff member. The place was well maintained with the bathrooms being regularly cleaned. The hostel is a 5 min walk from the tube station and a quick trip into town.

Disliked: The only down side would be a couple of noisy roommates, which the hostel had no control over.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

YAN XU

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 November 2011 YAN would recommend this property

Liked: Nice building, helpful and friendly staff, bed curtains, need a card to enter the room, lots of toilets

Disliked: not very clean shower

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, reasonably priced, and spacious facilities

Disliked: Very noisy. Noise from reception and lounge til 2am, and then again before 7am. Loud family came in at midnight, making a lot of noise, and left at 3am, again making a lot of noise

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janusz Kozubal

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Janusz would recommend this property

Liked: Czysto, miło, i bezstresowo, to ten rodzaj hostelu znany nam dobrze kiedyś pod nazwą schronisk PTSM jednak w wydaniu doskonałym. Grupa znajomych będzie się tu czuła doskonale, zwłaszcza, że centrum Londynu niedaleko a dostęp z lotnisk, stacji i przystanków wszelakich jest bezproblemowy. Do dyspozycji też mikrofala, lodówka opiekacz więc samodzielnie można dobrze zjeść. Śniadanie kontynentalne co chyba bywalcy wiedzą oznacza dość prosty posiłek jednak bez ograniczeń ilościowych daje solidną bazę do wędrowania. Mi lekko dokuczała małość miejsca w mojej kabinie sypialnej, jednak ogromna powierzchnia rekreacyjna wspólna rekompensuje to w zupełności.

Disliked: Przy pełnej obsadzie miejsc brakuje troszkę foteli i krzeseł w części wspólnej.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable, friendly atmosphere and free internet.

Disliked: Could have been a little more conveniently located, but it was just a short Tube ride away from the city center.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Inger Schiel-Madsen

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 November 2011 Inger would recommend this property

Liked: the curtain on the beds are a very good idea

Disliked: you are not allowed to drink your own alcohol

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lori Wetton

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011 Lori would recommend this property

Liked: Very traditional decor, homely feeling.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Radi Serafimov

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011 Radi would recommend this property

Liked: This is maybe my 5th time to stay in the Palmer's Lodge and I'm still loving it. Great atmosphere - living room with the big TV, PSP, free Internet and Wi-Fi, as well as the reasonably-priced tiny pub with the great terrace is really a great place to meet people from all over the world. Beds are comfy. Rooms - big and clean. Showers enough and also clean. Breakfast is typical continental with fruits, croissant, butter, jams, toast, milk, oatmeal and cornflakes, as well as coffee/tea and juice.

Disliked: Toilets are a bit small and not always clean, but nothing extremely bad there. Location could be a bit far from the city, but there are 2 Tube stations withing 5 minutes walking time, so nothing to be scared of.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david eric TRUSSELL

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2011 david eric would recommend this property

Liked: THIS HOSTEL IS THE DREAMS OF ALL OUR HEARTS I LIKE THE LOVE OF IT ALL HIGHLY RECOMMENDABLE TOP OF THE WORLDS OK DET

Disliked: I LOVE THE PLACE I HAVE NO DISLIKES OK DET

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location, just a few minutes walk to the tube station. The curtains around the bunks were brilliant for some privacy.

Disliked: The bathrooms on the floor I was on could do wtih one main sink and mirror rather than the tiny ones in each cubicle,they were impossible to use. The 12 bed ensuite room isn't great, if booking just go for the 12 bed room cos you'll be kept away all night and early each morning with people using the bathroom!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable beds, spacious room, clean rooms toilets and showers

Disliked: wifi keeps dropping out nothing else

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really excellent. great value.

Disliked: wifi only in lounge.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Character, atmosphere, cleanliness, customer service. Excellent value for money. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable. The chapel bar has a fantastic ambience.

Disliked: 3 minor issues: Breakfast coffee was watery and unpalatable. Keycard had to be re-charged at the front desk almost every time I needed to use it. The beer on offer at the bar could be a bit more, erm, let's say "adventerous". for £19/bed per night, these all can be easily forgiven, however, and I was very impressed overall.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free Breaky and free internet..

Disliked: lots of school group come through why i was there

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carola Bieniek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

02 October 2011 Carola would recommend this property

Liked: Palmers Lodge Swiss Cottage is exactly what they're offering on their website: "Live the detail. We are passionate about details in every sense- security, cleanliness, bed design, decor, advice." Getting there from Vic coach station took barely 30 minutes. Check-in at 2.30 in the afternoon was no problem. The room I was staying in has 8 beds with assigned lockers, sockets (yup, 3 of them) in every bed, night lights and curtains to get some privacy in the bed. There are plenty of showers on the floor. Bathrooms are cleaned 4 times a day which of course doesn't make them eat-from-the-floor clean but clean enough to feel comfortable walking barefoot throughout most of the hostel. There's free Wi-Fi in the public areas as well as six PCs for public use (no charge there, either). There's also a TV including DVD player and Nintendo Wii. You'll find a bar in the basement that also serves a couple of basic dinner options. All in all staying at this 19th century estate near Hamstead Heath was a great kick-off for my London visit. With an international crowd that includes everyone from German students on a class trip to 40-somethings in town for a seminar to your classic Australian and American backpackers this place makes you feel right at home.

Disliked: Only two things to complain about - and neither of them is really a dealbreaker: 1. The WiFi keeps cutting out every few minutes (but only for 5 seconds or so) so you want to make sure anything you're working on is properly safed on your computer. 2. The breakfast is most basic continental: coffee / tea, juice, cereal, milk, toast, croissant, butter / spread and jam. But it's free. So what were you expecting?


See all London hostels
See all London hotels