We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage

Hostel | 40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England NW3 5LB

85.1% Overall Rating

1012 out of 1065 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/03/2015)

"Clean with good space, nice lounge and bar areas with strong wifi and tea/coffee. Dorms are warm and comfortable and the hostel is very close to the Underground. Good showers, helpful staff."

Read all Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.69
  • Towel USD 2.23

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that from the 3rd of March 2014 we will be doing refurbishment works in the Bar and Restaurant areas so there will be some minor disruptions. We will still be offering the service as normal and the works should be complete by the 26th of March 2014 A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Special cancellation policy “Please note that reservations for the night of the 31st December 2012 will be subject to a no-cancellation policy.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

La Gaffe
81.75 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Access Maidavale
22.99 USD

Apartment 87.0% 11 reviews
PubLove @ The Green Man, Paddington
22.28 USD

Hostel 70.1% 691 reviews
Phoenix Hostel
13.38 USD

Hostel 92.6% 3333 reviews
Access Paddington
33.44 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
15.09 USD

Hostel 84.6% 1863 reviews
Hyde Park Court Hotel
50.16 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
The Nayland Hotel
43.85 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

1012 out of 1065 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge-Swiss Cottage'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 724 of 1018 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david eric TRUSSELL

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2011 david eric would recommend this property

Liked: THIS HOSTEL IS THE DREAMS OF ALL OUR HEARTS I LIKE THE LOVE OF IT ALL HIGHLY RECOMMENDABLE TOP OF THE WORLDS OK DET

Disliked: I LOVE THE PLACE I HAVE NO DISLIKES OK DET

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location, just a few minutes walk to the tube station. The curtains around the bunks were brilliant for some privacy.

Disliked: The bathrooms on the floor I was on could do wtih one main sink and mirror rather than the tiny ones in each cubicle,they were impossible to use. The 12 bed ensuite room isn't great, if booking just go for the 12 bed room cos you'll be kept away all night and early each morning with people using the bathroom!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable beds, spacious room, clean rooms toilets and showers

Disliked: wifi keeps dropping out nothing else

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really excellent. great value.

Disliked: wifi only in lounge.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Character, atmosphere, cleanliness, customer service. Excellent value for money. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable. The chapel bar has a fantastic ambience.

Disliked: 3 minor issues: Breakfast coffee was watery and unpalatable. Keycard had to be re-charged at the front desk almost every time I needed to use it. The beer on offer at the bar could be a bit more, erm, let's say "adventerous". for £19/bed per night, these all can be easily forgiven, however, and I was very impressed overall.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free Breaky and free internet..

Disliked: lots of school group come through why i was there

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carola Bieniek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

02 October 2011 Carola would recommend this property

Liked: Palmers Lodge Swiss Cottage is exactly what they're offering on their website: "Live the detail. We are passionate about details in every sense- security, cleanliness, bed design, decor, advice." Getting there from Vic coach station took barely 30 minutes. Check-in at 2.30 in the afternoon was no problem. The room I was staying in has 8 beds with assigned lockers, sockets (yup, 3 of them) in every bed, night lights and curtains to get some privacy in the bed. There are plenty of showers on the floor. Bathrooms are cleaned 4 times a day which of course doesn't make them eat-from-the-floor clean but clean enough to feel comfortable walking barefoot throughout most of the hostel. There's free Wi-Fi in the public areas as well as six PCs for public use (no charge there, either). There's also a TV including DVD player and Nintendo Wii. You'll find a bar in the basement that also serves a couple of basic dinner options. All in all staying at this 19th century estate near Hamstead Heath was a great kick-off for my London visit. With an international crowd that includes everyone from German students on a class trip to 40-somethings in town for a seminar to your classic Australian and American backpackers this place makes you feel right at home.

Disliked: Only two things to complain about - and neither of them is really a dealbreaker: 1. The WiFi keeps cutting out every few minutes (but only for 5 seconds or so) so you want to make sure anything you're working on is properly safed on your computer. 2. The breakfast is most basic continental: coffee / tea, juice, cereal, milk, toast, croissant, butter / spread and jam. But it's free. So what were you expecting?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cool looking building, free wifi and movie nights. Good breakfast.

Disliked: No kitchen to use as they had a restaurant, but the restaurant prices were lower than any other hotel/hostel I've been to with a restaurant (and cheaper than most outside places). Still too expensive for poor little me.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jin ZHOU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2011 Jin would recommend this property

Liked: Well organised youth hostel and friendly staff and service.

Disliked: I did't get stayed the double bed on the graph. The one I booked is en-suit 12 female.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sara Caffaro

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is a Victorian house, so it's very evocative. We stayed in a female dorm with wood beds and red drapes everywhere, it looked like staying in some English old colleges.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything it's fine

Disliked: No recycle. If you want to cook by yourself, avoiding their restaurant, forget it. No big plate, worst microwave I've never seen, no salt during lunch time.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Individual curtains on beds are fantastic for sleeping

Disliked: the bed curtains made it easier for people to hide away in the dorm so there wasn't a very friendly vibe going on in the room, but outside everyone was happy

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ardak Berdibekov

Alone

Relaxation/spa

14 September 2011 Ardak would recommend this property

Liked: Very very clean compared to other hostels where I have stayed before. Staff is very kind, especially german girl :) 5 computers with internet. Wi-fi etc. very good.

Disliked: You can hear every step of walking people in a room, cause the floor is wooden :(

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and helpful stuff, nice atmosphere, comfortable bed with curtains, clean, I really like the loung

Disliked: small showers and not well ventilated

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

KORNKANOK WATCHARATHAMRONGKUL

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

12 September 2011 KORNKANOK would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is nice. All staffs are friendly. Bedrooms are OK, a lot of beds in one room but you have space for yourself.

Disliked: This hostel has less toilets and bath room. I think it's not enough for all of traveler. In the kitchen has only microwave and fridge.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

xing chen

Alone

City break

12 September 2011 xing would recommend this property

Liked: Really solid bunk beds that don't squeak, shake, or oscillate when you climb them or turn over. Good quality firm mattresses. Fresh new pillows.

Disliked: Tiny sinks in toilet cubicles, with soap holders right above the basins so you can't get your face close enough when brushing your teeth or rinsing your mouth, without bumping your nose into the dispenser or dripping water onto the floor. No shelf space to place toiletries in cubicles- good luck if you use contact lenses and need to clean them, and with balancing your contact lens case, caps, soap, and bottled solution along the edge of the sink. Shower floors that slope downwards from the area with the drainage hole, so that stagnant soapy water pools in the space where you're supposed to change and dry off. The card readers on the doors along the corridors and of my room door were malfunctioning, so the staff didn't issue me with a card at all. The guests in my room were told to prop open the doors with dustbins to get in and out, and since the bathrooms were located along another card-gated corridor from that of our room, we'd to prop open 3 doors each time, and wait for someone with access to the bathroom corridor to come along. Only stayed here for 1 night, fortunately.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, beautiful area and very safe. The tube station is about 2 mins from the hostel which is really handy. Free Wifi - even though the connection drops out every 10 mins which is quite annoying but at least its free. Not many hostels in London have free internet access. Beds have night lights and curtains so makes it very private. It has a common room and a bar which is really good.

Disliked: It could be cleaner! Bathrooms are very small, you will often be standing in a pool of water at the end of your shower. We had mice in our room! There was a small hole in one of the corners so two mice ran across the room at one stage! With the number of beds in each dorm it makes it very noisy, people coming and going all through the night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 September 2011

Liked: Cute hostel, good staff, good location

Disliked: Girls were coming in and out of our room ALL NIGHT LONG and the door would creak open and slam shut every time. No plugs in the bathroom I had access to. Lockers were teeny tiny. No space in room for luggage so suitcases were strewn everywhere. No hooks for towels.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Loreen Siegel

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 September 2011 Loreen would recommend this property

Liked: loved the living room to chill out, got free wifi... also what I have booked (8bed dorm) was not available at the moment I checked in they booked me in a single ensuite and I just had to pay for the 8 bed dorm- I really loved that they treated me as guest very obliging

Disliked: can´t say anything here

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ylva Knaevelsrud

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2011 Ylva would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access to bus and tube.

Disliked: It gets really hot at night because you can't open the windows properly.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and interior

Disliked: nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place! Beautiful old building, dorm beds are very private with the curtains and light - it's clearly been designed by a backpacker - very practical! Beautiful bar area (also with wi-fi access), good to chill out. Great place - would come back.

Disliked: Showers very clean but often out of order/ blocked. Hard to find anywhere private to skype. Internet often drops out (only for a second or two, but still a pain!)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and the price is reasonable

Disliked: sometimes it's a little noisy at night

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, decent bar downstairs and the lounge was very spacious and convenient. keep up the good work!

Disliked: somewhat isolated location in terms of historical sites and cultural hotspots, but a safe area and easily accessible by the underground

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere and bar

Disliked: -


See all London hostels
See all London hotels