HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of YHA London St Pauls London Hostel

36 Carter Lane, EC4V 5AB, London, England

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 71%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.83USD

Important Information

***Please note, we do not charge an additional temporary membership fee. Discounts are not available for members of YHA (England & Wales) or IYHF as part of this booking.***

*All bookings for more than 16 people will not be accepted by YHA and will be cancelled.*

Please note that our breakfast price is £5.75.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 71%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 78%

Showing 1-10 of 22 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Location, security

Disliked: Smelly carpets

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments.

Kind regards,
Ben Platt
Deputy Hostel Manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Ive been 13 years coming to London to work many times needing to stay in hostels even few months until I find a bit proper room.. Ive been in more than 20 different hostels indeed.. Im chef between other disciplines & I do restaurants reviews in terms of guest services & Health&Safety.. I can say that this hostel is BEST EVER in London for anybody in fact YHA in general is something great for every single detail

Disliked: only thing can be a problem like everywhere is some people but is not a problem in here because the rules are respected thanks to the prestige of the philosophy of YHA

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our hostel. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here.

Kind regards,

Leigh
Duty Manager

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Just location

Disliked: Everything: cleanliness, beds, space, facilities, smell, lack of car park.


The property's response is

Thank you for leaving a review.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Roughly 25m from the front steps of St Paul's cathedral, and what a view!Large, private room with double bed (plus an extra bunk, oddly) which was reasonably comfy, and our own bathroom.

Disliked: Slight noise from the road, but staying the the centre of the city, that's to be expected.Our shower was sadly cold, but I imagine that was a one-off occurrence.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for leaving a review.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Extreemly good location, helpful staff.

Disliked: My greatest problems were the slow internet and not enough plug. I can not charge my phone in the room and it was a hadache for me.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Hostel conveniently located to central London, staff went out of their way to be helpful and service first class. Bit disappointed toilet flush not adequate and previous users ablutions in bowl.Cleaners could have been a bit more diligent as mess on toilet floor remained after cleaning. Hostel quiet and no rowdy late night revellers. Eating facilities very good as was food vavailable. Room good and clean. Bedding excellent as good as a hotel.

Disliked: State of toilets

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were really helpful.

Disliked: I didn't like that there was an extra cost for wifi and it was quite a high price in my opinion especially when most places in London have free wifi. The water pressure in the shower was too high and made showering painful. I saw a mouse cross the floor in the lounge which although the premises is in London is still unacceptable. As a traveller in her twenties I found it difficult sharing space with older travellers and young children who don't have quite the same etiquette as backpackers but that is of course something this hostel promotes and is just not the kind of place i will stay in, in the future.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: - nice old building in a great and central part of London- a lot of space everywhere

Disliked: - weird stacked bunk beds- no cooking facilities- they mixed up my booked room (male vs female)- safety problems


The property's response is

Hi,
Thank you for your review, we're pleased to here that you liked the old building and the central location. We are not sure what you exactly meant with the mixed up room, because all the YHA hostels do have seperate rooms for males/females. However, if there should happen a mistake, do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Kind regards,
Reception

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean and well located

Disliked: toilets

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Timo,

thank you for your review, we take pride in our very central location.
Our toilets are basic but well mantained and cleaned on a daily basis. Overall we hope you enjoyed your stay. Thank you

Sabrina @ St Paul's

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I felt safe and comfortable. I also liked that there was a receptionist 24hrs a day, if you have a problem in the middle of the night there will always be someone there.

Disliked: There are no powerpoints in the rooms so I had to go downstairs to charge my phone.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Emily,

thank you for your review, the hostel is located in one of the safest areas in London and we think it's important to provide assistance to our guests 24/7.
There is at least 1 socket in every room and we now offer fr multi socket adaptors so that everybody in the room can charge their electric items at the same time.

Thank you

Sabrina

Check Availability