We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of YHA London St Paul's

Hostel | 36 Carter Lane, London, England EC4V 5AB

82.7% Overall Rating

284 out of 329 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/12/2014)

Raymond Atkinson thinks…

"Hostel conveniently located to central London, staff went out of their way to be helpful and service first class. Bit disappointed toilet flush not adequate and previous users ablutions in…"

Read all YHA London St Paul's reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.17

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

***Please note, we do not charge an additional temporary membership fee. Discounts are not available for members of YHA (England & Wales) or IYHF as part of this booking.*** *All bookings for more than 16 people will not be accepted by YHA and will be cancelled.* From 1st of April our standard breakfast price will increase from £4.99 to £5.25

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
21.63 USD

Hostel 82.5% 274 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
23.18 USD

Hostel 85.8% 241 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-Village
21.63 USD

Hostel 86.6% 1028 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
69.24 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
14.00 USD

Hostel 71.5% 1465 reviews
Strand Continental
36.95 USD

Hostel 78.7% 314 reviews
The Horse & Stables Hostel
28.78 USD

Hostel 88.6% 62 reviews
The Walrus Waterloo
31.04 USD

Hostel 91.2% 1836 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

284 out of 329 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA London St Paul's'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
88.0%
Value
81.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 206 of 275 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel was absolutely ideal for my trip as I was working on Strand and had a lovely walk each morning along Fleet Street. Being so close to the cathedral was lovely too, the view from our window was superb. I slept well each night despite the bells, and everything was clean. Other travellers were courteous and quiet at night.

Disliked: The bells of the cathedral do ring every 15 minutes and although that didn't bother me as I'm a heavy sleeper, it would definitely bother others. In the first room I was in, the noise of the bells was very loud but then I moved to a single room for 2 nights at the opposite side of the building and the noise was much fainter, so ask for a room facing Carter Lane rather than facing the cathedral if you think you will have trouble sleeping. The hostel also lacked atmosphere and people here weren't as friendly as in other hostels for some reason. I went to London Central a few days later and found people much chattier and more sociable with one another - the room layouts at St Paul's didn't help in a way. At London Central the beds are more grouped together so you tend to say hi when you see people come in etc.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

SRILATHA NAIK

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 January 2012 SRILATHA would recommend this property

Liked: Location - close enough to get in to the city by bus within 20 minutes - on main bus route to Londons King cross station

Disliked: No bedside lights , so if someone wanted to read , the main lights had to be turned on.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pete Smallwood

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2012 Pete would recommend this property

Liked: It was warm, comfortable, and secure. There were plenty of showers and toilets. Good value for money, and a good location, close to St Paul's Cathedral, and local cafes and restaurants.

Disliked: The beds were strangely set up, so that it was a bit of a pain getting up and down to the top bunk if the lower bunks were occupied, but I soon got used to it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Clemencia Naranjo Correa

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 January 2012 Clemencia would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Location, Location

Disliked: It does not have a lift!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Walker

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 December 2011 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location and great value. Lovely property and friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing - although we did somehow take the wrong St Paul's exit and missed the brown signs which made it a little difficult to find!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in an excellent location; my friends and I walked practically everywhere while sightseeing. The staff were friendly and helpful and a list of London events/gigs etc. was written on the wall which was helpful.

Disliked: There was only one shower to share in our area of the hostel which definately was insufficient. Also in the 6-share room there are 2 bunks each of which have 3 beds on top of eachother at right angles. Tall people would have a lot of difficulty sleeping in them.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing to dislike

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Business / conference
City break
Visiting friends or family

05 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: No kitchen! Size of the room.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 November 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Crappy beds, no lockers

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very good and the private triple room was very basic but clean. Staff was helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Toilets were quite dirty and smell was awful. 3 pounds extra fee per person per night was disappointment, should be mentioned clearer on the web page.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, perfect for a night out in central. Had a sink and mirror in the room which was great for getting ready. Bed linen was good for a hostel. Easy to come and go.

Disliked: Some of the toilets were blocked or had no paper, but others were fine. We were charged an extra £3 on arrival that we were not told about.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, nearby tubestation

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

michela simoncini

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 michela would recommend this property

Liked: The Location

Disliked: The huge amount of stairs and the loss of a lifter. You have to climb all the stairs with suitcases. So bad :-/

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed here before, i like the location and staff on front desk always kind and helpful, giving personal service. I wuld staay here again, as I'm familiar with the location, despite remarks below.

Disliked: Dark rooms, lack of views, but most of all the service in the dining areas, it has never been good. no smiles, no attempts to make me welcome. surely a smile is not difficult. Also it's often not terribly clean, my room wasn't taken care of and the sink was filthy, I was there for 2 nights. surely not necessary.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

nkoni sumara

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 nkoni would recommend this property

Liked: The situation in London. In the middle of the City, dead on we but has its share of advantages. Very safe neighboorhood

Disliked: The showers werent at all nice. Bad built. If you like to spent quality time under the shower, don't choose this hostel. (valable for dormitories)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 October 2011

Liked: The staff was helpful, polite and did their job well in every way. Talked with many of them during my stay. In addition, also the location in the City is convenient.

Disliked: The bed (or rather matchbox) was too small for me (188cm) to sleep in. Plus it made me itch, don't wanna know why. The toilets didn't work well, and there was only boiling hot water coming from the tab.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and Staff

Disliked: Lack of power sockets in my room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 September 2011

Liked: The location is fantastic and the staff vey friendly.

Disliked: The showers are clean but old and you don´t have a good hook for hanging your clothes. About the rooms, sorry but in these days each person need a socket for their personal devices. Charge your mobile or laptop is war.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed and room were very clean, there were no spiders or other insects.

Disliked: Arriving at the hostel, the receptionist told that we had to pay 3 pounds per person when not having a membership for this hostel communitiy or something, that was dissapointing to hear, because we didnt read that on the site. Despite the cleanless of the room, there was a not fresh smell at the room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, bar and food available.

Disliked: Cleanliness. Dated property. No mixed dorms and our group was mixed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

sramkova michaela

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 August 2011

Liked: good location

Disliked: small beds

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent, right next to St. Paul's Cathedral and walking distance from the Tate Modern.

Disliked: Being right next to St. Paul's cathedral is also a hindrance - the bells don't stop ringing in the night!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Toilets. showers not great

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rita Orsi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Rita would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, just in the core of the City. During the night there isn't much noise... only St.Paul's Cathedral's Bells (which is pretty pleasant) The place is quite clean, the staff is really helpful.

Disliked: Unfortunately I had a problem at my knee and in the hostel there isn't a lift... so... carrying luggages to the first floor... how hard!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

sarah blanchet

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 July 2011 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Good location etc...

Disliked: We had a very bad experience because of a mistake in the booking, it is not very clear if it was the fault of the hostel or hostelbookers : we booked for two nights for 2 private rooms and were booked for one private room only. That spoilt our short stay as we could not feel relaxed not knowing where we would sleep fir half of us. We created a big fuss and the staff found a solution and was very good at that, but ended up having to be relocated twice in different places. The staff whose fault it was probably not was very very good and we ended up not being homeless but our night walk on Friday night did not happen which was a shame. Overall, being optimistic people, we enjoyed our stay. But hostelbookers should be very careful about the information sent and how it is received. About following question : we did not look around the hostel so don't know if hostelbookers was promoted or not


See all London hostels
See all London hotels