We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of YHA London St Paul's

Hostel | 36 Carter Lane, London, England EC4V 5AB

84.2% Overall Rating

279 out of 323 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/05/2014)

Janine Teichfuss thinks…

"- nice old building in a great and central part of London - a lot of space everywhere"

Read all YHA London St Paul's reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.10

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via HostelBookers for more than 16 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
22.56 USD

Hostel 80.1% 261 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
24.18 USD

Hostel 82.7% 234 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-Village
19.31 USD

Hostel 85.0% 1004 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
60.86 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
16.23 USD

Hostel 74.2% 1433 reviews
Strand Continental
40.57 USD

Hostel 74.1% 298 reviews
Stay In Holborn Guest House
48.15 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 15 reviews
The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.02 USD

Hostel 88.5% 44 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.2%

Overall Rating

279 out of 323 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA London St Paul's'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
87.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 203 of 269 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Clemencia Naranjo Correa

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 January 2012 Clemencia would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Location, Location

Disliked: It does not have a lift!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Walker

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 December 2011 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location and great value. Lovely property and friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing - although we did somehow take the wrong St Paul's exit and missed the brown signs which made it a little difficult to find!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in an excellent location; my friends and I walked practically everywhere while sightseeing. The staff were friendly and helpful and a list of London events/gigs etc. was written on the wall which was helpful.

Disliked: There was only one shower to share in our area of the hostel which definately was insufficient. Also in the 6-share room there are 2 bunks each of which have 3 beds on top of eachother at right angles. Tall people would have a lot of difficulty sleeping in them.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing to dislike

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Business / conference
City break
Visiting friends or family

05 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: No kitchen! Size of the room.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 November 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Crappy beds, no lockers

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very good and the private triple room was very basic but clean. Staff was helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Toilets were quite dirty and smell was awful. 3 pounds extra fee per person per night was disappointment, should be mentioned clearer on the web page.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, perfect for a night out in central. Had a sink and mirror in the room which was great for getting ready. Bed linen was good for a hostel. Easy to come and go.

Disliked: Some of the toilets were blocked or had no paper, but others were fine. We were charged an extra £3 on arrival that we were not told about.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, nearby tubestation

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

michela simoncini

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 michela would recommend this property

Liked: The Location

Disliked: The huge amount of stairs and the loss of a lifter. You have to climb all the stairs with suitcases. So bad :-/

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed here before, i like the location and staff on front desk always kind and helpful, giving personal service. I wuld staay here again, as I'm familiar with the location, despite remarks below.

Disliked: Dark rooms, lack of views, but most of all the service in the dining areas, it has never been good. no smiles, no attempts to make me welcome. surely a smile is not difficult. Also it's often not terribly clean, my room wasn't taken care of and the sink was filthy, I was there for 2 nights. surely not necessary.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

nkoni sumara

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 nkoni would recommend this property

Liked: The situation in London. In the middle of the City, dead on we but has its share of advantages. Very safe neighboorhood

Disliked: The showers werent at all nice. Bad built. If you like to spent quality time under the shower, don't choose this hostel. (valable for dormitories)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 October 2011

Liked: The staff was helpful, polite and did their job well in every way. Talked with many of them during my stay. In addition, also the location in the City is convenient.

Disliked: The bed (or rather matchbox) was too small for me (188cm) to sleep in. Plus it made me itch, don't wanna know why. The toilets didn't work well, and there was only boiling hot water coming from the tab.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and Staff

Disliked: Lack of power sockets in my room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 September 2011

Liked: The location is fantastic and the staff vey friendly.

Disliked: The showers are clean but old and you don´t have a good hook for hanging your clothes. About the rooms, sorry but in these days each person need a socket for their personal devices. Charge your mobile or laptop is war.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed and room were very clean, there were no spiders or other insects.

Disliked: Arriving at the hostel, the receptionist told that we had to pay 3 pounds per person when not having a membership for this hostel communitiy or something, that was dissapointing to hear, because we didnt read that on the site. Despite the cleanless of the room, there was a not fresh smell at the room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, bar and food available.

Disliked: Cleanliness. Dated property. No mixed dorms and our group was mixed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

sramkova michaela

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 August 2011

Liked: good location

Disliked: small beds

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent, right next to St. Paul's Cathedral and walking distance from the Tate Modern.

Disliked: Being right next to St. Paul's cathedral is also a hindrance - the bells don't stop ringing in the night!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Toilets. showers not great

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rita Orsi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Rita would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, just in the core of the City. During the night there isn't much noise... only St.Paul's Cathedral's Bells (which is pretty pleasant) The place is quite clean, the staff is really helpful.

Disliked: Unfortunately I had a problem at my knee and in the hostel there isn't a lift... so... carrying luggages to the first floor... how hard!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

sarah blanchet

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 July 2011 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Good location etc...

Disliked: We had a very bad experience because of a mistake in the booking, it is not very clear if it was the fault of the hostel or hostelbookers : we booked for two nights for 2 private rooms and were booked for one private room only. That spoilt our short stay as we could not feel relaxed not knowing where we would sleep fir half of us. We created a big fuss and the staff found a solution and was very good at that, but ended up having to be relocated twice in different places. The staff whose fault it was probably not was very very good and we ended up not being homeless but our night walk on Friday night did not happen which was a shame. Overall, being optimistic people, we enjoyed our stay. But hostelbookers should be very careful about the information sent and how it is received. About following question : we did not look around the hostel so don't know if hostelbookers was promoted or not

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was quite nice. The room was big enough. The bed was comfortable. 24h reception - good!

Disliked: The staff weren't that nice.. :// I had to clime up all the way to the highest room with my large luggage, no elevator, no help by the staff.. In the room there where nothing to sit on! The church bell was ringing very laudly. I met nice people at my room, BUT in the lounge area (where the computer etc are) was impossible to meet anyone:( The same price as the YHA London Central, and compering to that, St Paul's wasn't worth the price... (I had to even pay £3 extra in St Paul's, but not in London Central..)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

AQUILES TESCARI NETO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011 AQUILES would recommend this property

Liked: At the reception, there was a girl, very polite, Francesca! She was of help with information! The location is near St. Paul. You may find food at very low price nearby!

Disliked: Nothing in particular

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Jenkins

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

12 June 2011 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, comfortable. Sink in the room!

Disliked: Nothing


See all London hostels
See all London hotels