HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of YHA London St Pauls London Hostel

36 Carter Lane, EC4V 5AB, London, England

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 71%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.93USD

Important Information

***Please note, we do not charge an additional temporary membership fee. Discounts are not available for members of YHA (England & Wales) or IYHF as part of this booking.***

*All bookings for more than 16 people will not be accepted by YHA and will be cancelled.*

Please note that our breakfast price is £5.75.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 71%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 78%

Showing 21-22 of 22 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: the staff was very helpfull and friendly, good ubication, clean.

Disliked: this hostel needs a big refurbishment, the bunck beds are a nightmare, very noisy (the windows are old and in my room one was not possible to close) the only socket in my room was burnt and not safe to use. not enought showers.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, didnt have to wait for shower....plenty of facilities, could do my laundry, great meals!! Great place to refresh between travels!!

Disliked: No power outlets in the room for charging phones/iPads etc.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was good; between the red and green/yellow lines.

Disliked: The showers were dirty. Pink mildew was growing that could have easily been scrubbed off with a cleaning once a month. Dorm beds were stacked like legos. Common room was kind of cramped. No kitchen.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion. Our cleaning rutine is very exhaustive and we do deep cleanings regularly, but London's hard water doesn't make it easy to keep scale at bay! We hope you had a nice stay apart from that and we hope to see you again sometime.

Regards,

Soledad
YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location is absolutely amazing. It's really easy to find. If you are travelling alone this could be a good choice since it's almost impossible to get lost since if you have found St. Paul's Cathedral you will also easily find the hostel. The people at the reception are very nice and were always helpful to answer any question I had. I didn't bring UK plug to charge my phone but it was no problem I could leave my phone at the reception to charge for free and pick it up later. Also, at the reception you can get multiple discount for many different attractions etc. Really worth it!

Disliked: The room is quite small. The shower is really simple could have been nicer. Also, the toilets are annoying because you can't trow in paper in the toilet and some people made a mistake with that so it became a mess in some toilets. The breakfast is okay for 5 pounds, however I think you can get better food if you just walk outside the hostel and within 5 minutes you can get your breakfast somewhere else. Since the room is so small and you are with 6 persons as in my case, the price is quite expensive relatively.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your positive feedback, it is very valuable to us. It is rewarding to know you found our hostel and service welcoming and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our breakfast is the only one in the area that offers all-you-can-eat for £4.99, but if you prefer to eat somewhere else, fair enough, there is plenty of choice around us as you probably saw!

We hope you visit us again on your next trip to London.

Regards,

Soledad
YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean, great location, good value for money

Disliked: The one picture one hostelbooker.com for the tripple bed room was misleading. They have three times stockbeds with very little space for the legs. The beds are designed like bunk beds so not to be recommended for tall persons

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion. It's good that people know most of our beds are triple bunk beds, which some guest find strange but some others find them very comfortable.
We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay anyway and we hope you visit us again in the future.

Regards,

Soledad
YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Convenient location in between Blackfriars and St. Pauls underground station. Close walk to St. Pauls Cathedral.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your positive feedback, it is very valuable to us. We hope we can see you in our hostel again soon.

Regards,

Soledad
YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: The best this about this hostel is the location which is just perfect - easy access to the City, Central London and Liverpool St area on foot. Tube station minutes away. The area is relatively safe.

Disliked: I'm not sure if it is the same for all rooms, but the hostel is extremely noisy (I was in Room 13). Also only one electrical socket for most of the rooms - this could be easily fixed. Also feel that bed lights, hooks etc could easily be provided.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I stayed at this hostel twice and on the first occassion my room was noisey as it was near where the trucks pull up. I advised the staff of this when checking out and they made sure for the next time that I had a much quieter room and this was well appreciated. The staff were helpful with suggestions on what to do and questions like where to change money. Facilities were good and so was the breakfast. Good location as well.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: *Anything* besides the bed cost you money. It felt like I was being ripped off constantly.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Central location.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability