We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of London Eye Hostel

Hostel | 73 Lambeth Walk, Lambeth, London, England SE11 6DX

73.1% Overall Rating

349 out of 530 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/07/2015)

"There was almost always a free shower and toilet. The 15-bed room I stayed in had a wall in between, so that it didn't feel like it was TOO packed. Cool people staying there! (some played guitar in the kitchen in the…"

Read all London Eye Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note your credit card will be pre authorised by the hotel at the time of your booking. ANY BOOKING WITH MORE THAN 5 BEDS WILL BE TREATED AS A GROUP BOOKING AND WILL BE MADE NON REFUNDABLE, NON AMENDABLE AND FULL AMOUNT OF THE BOOKING WILL BE CHARGED ON THE DAY OF BOOKING You do not have to be a member of any organisation to stay at The London Eye Hostel however; we do require that some form of valid photo identification is presented upon check in, preferably a Passport, I.D. card or driving license. Please note your credit card will be pre-authorised by the hotel at the time of your booking. In case the pre-authorisation fails, we shall contact you for alternative card details. This should be arranged within 24 hours of our email, otherwise the booking will be cancelled without a refund of the advance payment. IMPORTANT NOTE FOR THE OLYMPIC PERIODS 2012 Minimum Stay of 3 nights for the following dates: From 27th July to 12th August ; 27th August to 9th September Once booking is made, Hotel Management will process FULL PAYMENT of the total booking. All bookings are strictly non-refundable, non-amendable. In case the pre-authorisation fails, we shall contact you for alternative card details. This should be arranged within 24 hours of our email, otherwise the booking will be cancelled without a refund of the advance payment.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
20.27 USD

Hostel 77.8% 383 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
61.63 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews
The Horse & Stables Hostel
28.87 USD

Hostel 86.5% 63 reviews
The Walrus Waterloo
31.13 USD

Hostel 90.3% 1838 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
53.83 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
78.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Safestay
23.40 USD

Hostel 89.4% 251 reviews
Strand Continental
37.06 USD

Hostel 78.7% 314 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.1%

Overall Rating

349 out of 530 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'London Eye Hostel'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
76.8%
Value
73.6%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 382 of 474 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds all had curtains to ensure complete privacy while sleeping.

Disliked: some of the staff were not very friendly.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2010

Liked: pretty good location. Overall, it served the purpose and was about what you would expect form a hostel

Disliked: staff was not friendly. bathrooms were disgusting and really small. everytihng in general was very cramped.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

17 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the cheapest place in Central London, very good value for money

Disliked: needs a bit of cleaning

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2010

Liked: Close to center of London

Disliked: Only one toilet for one floor of guests (there were five rooms on the floor and our room had 15 people in it. The two showers were in working condition, but the included sink was "out of order" which left only one sink which was in the one bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

10 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great place to stay. The beds are a little small,but everyone is having privacy with little curtains for each bed. Amazing and safe location, staff was nice. Price is fair!

Disliked: 15 people in one room might be too much.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

10 October 2010

Liked: Its what I didn't like, which was everything.

Disliked: Nauseating odour throughout the hostel. Very dusty dorms - had an allergic bout of sneezing the moment I clambered up the bunk ladder (3 "storeys" high). No bulb in personal bed lamp; personal electric socket didn't work. Overcrowded, cramped dorm.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was my second stay at London Eye and I was happy to return.

Disliked: This time I was downstairs where the bathroom wasn't as clean and always seemed damp.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2010

Liked: i didn't really like anything about this hostel except for a few nice people i met there and complained with.

Disliked: i have heard that by london standards this hostel is okay, but i don't think that means that it deserves a good review due to some law of relativity. the dorms were ridiculously cramped. the first nite i was there i was put in the wrong bed and came home to find my stuff all over the floor and somebody else in my bed, and was made to move rooms in the middle of the nite. use of the computers was extremely overpriced. bathrooms were filthy. there were hardly any power points. you had to pay a deposit to use pots and pans. i cannot believe that this place can get away with charging the amount it does. it was the worst hostel i have ever stayed in.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

08 October 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: It was very very dirty. I'm usually not picky or anything but this place had not been cleaned for a WHILE. The dorms were horrible - fitting 15 people into a room isn't a problem at other hostels but it shouldn't be legal here. You can barely breathe in there; the air is so thick and it's almost foggy in there. Nothing good to say about the dorm rooms and absolutely nothing good to say about showers and toilets. he only good place was the big lounge roomc where you could watch movies. the breakfast was shit. if you wanna stay in london. find something else!! T

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very cheap, and had a great location.

Disliked: The dorms got very hot at night.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i really liked this place.. i guess i am going to try it again after all.. indeed, it was secure, the staff was good, there were nice people to meet and to chat with.. Internet is for free, and what i liked the most is the breakfast.. i mean for 11 pounds you get lot of facilities.. i recommand all of you guys to have at least one night in this hostel and ur not gonna regret at all!! ;) cheers!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location to some of the big attractions

Disliked: Bathrooms smelled and didn't seem very clean

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

27 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: privacy good

Disliked: No hot water on 2nd floor, lamp broken on bed

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

27 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: you get what you pay for.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Mark van Embden Andres

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2010

Liked: Sanitary conditions were very poor. Toilets smelled very bad, and the showers were dirty and cold. On top, personnel was rude and unkind.

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ahmad khaleel

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

23 September 2010 ahmad would recommend this property

Liked: tghe location , and it is secure

Disliked: ahmad left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

22 September 2010

Liked: Decent location, not too far from the tube station. Free Wifi.Curtains around the bed.

Disliked: I now know what a sardine in a can feels like! 15 beds (5 X 3 high bunk beds) in a TINY room. Virtually nowhere to put luggage. It felt very unsafe to leave anything in the room, no just expensive stuff. Bathrooms and toilets were not nice, they both smelled.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2010

Liked: BEDS: personal curtains and light.

Disliked: SHOWERS: very cramped shower cubicles which were often dirty. SPACE: rooms were cramped with beds (3-level high bunks) with very little room to place your bag. STAFF: ranged from good (the Asian lady) to appalling (Dedley). Staff members who were sarcastic, drunk and, at one point, naked, are not what I accept from a hostel. OVERBOOKING: on my final night the hostel had been overbooked with three guys being allocated the same bed. this involved waking a guy up at 1am for moving around of luggage.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, free WIFI

Disliked: Staff could be nicer. Problems of availibility by booking online

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2010

Liked: free wifi if you had your own computer, they had curtains around the beds so if you went to bed early you werent disturbed by the light

Disliked: staff werent that friendly, there was a group of people living there until they found jobs and a place to live who made it really uncomfortable and walked around like they owned the place. No hot showers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ofra BenEfraim

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

17 September 2010 Ofra would recommend this property

Liked: Great value, enough showers (not to be taken for granted). The breakfast is excellent.

Disliked: some of the bulbs were burnt.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2010

Liked: Clean sheets and a good duvet.The curtains and little lights in the bedroom were really good.

Disliked: Only 1 toilet for 20-30 people on a floor, which did not work...urgh The kitchen facilities were not good for cooking- not enough pottery, crockery and no sharp knives.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

12 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, and location were brilliant

Disliked: All but one of the staff were very friendly and helpful, but that one member of the staff team was enough to ruin the whole experience - he was very rude and sexist towards my female friends

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping

08 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, prize

Disliked: plastical table cloth

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Eloi Nobre

Alone

05 September 2010

Liked: Many days

Disliked: many days without hot water some staffs are very rude


See all London hostels
See all London hotels