HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of London Eye Hostel

Hostel | 73 Lambeth Walk, Lambeth, London, England SE11 6DX

65.4% Overall Rating

336 out of 514 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

Bethany Walravens thinks…

"Excellent staff and an all round great feel to the hostel. The staff were absolutely incredible, telling us what to do in the area, and were great to have a laugh with. Whilst breakfast was simple,…"

Read all London Eye Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note your credit card will be pre authorised by the hotel at the time of your booking. ANY BOOKING WITH MORE THAN 5 BEDS WILL BE TREATED AS A GROUP BOOKING AND WILL BE MADE NON REFUNDABLE, NON AMENDABLE AND FULL AMOUNT OF THE BOOKING WILL BE CHARGED ON THE DAY OF BOOKING You do not have to be a member of any organisation to stay at The London Eye Hostel however; we do require that some form of valid photo identification is presented upon check in, preferably a Passport, I.D. card or driving license. Please note your credit card will be pre-authorised by the hotel at the time of your booking. In case the pre-authorisation fails, we shall contact you for alternative card details. This should be arranged within 24 hours of our email, otherwise the booking will be cancelled without a refund of the advance payment. IMPORTANT NOTE FOR THE OLYMPIC PERIODS 2012 Minimum Stay of 3 nights for the following dates: From 27th July to 12th August ; 27th August to 9th September Once booking is made, Hotel Management will process FULL PAYMENT of the total booking. All bookings are strictly non-refundable, non-amendable. In case the pre-authorisation fails, we shall contact you for alternative card details. This should be arranged within 24 hours of our email, otherwise the booking will be cancelled without a refund of the advance payment.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
19.90 USD

Hostel 81.1% 369 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
65.55 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 49 reviews
The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.70 USD

Hostel 89.8% 40 reviews
The Walrus Waterloo
29.04 USD

Hostel 88.1% 1790 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
57.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
82.97 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Safestay
39.83 USD

Hostel 87.3% 219 reviews
Strand Continental
41.49 USD

Hostel 72.6% 297 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.4%

Overall Rating

336 out of 514 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'London Eye Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
55.2%
Staff
68.8%
Value
68.0%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 369 of 458 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Power sockets within the bed

Disliked: Just one bassin for about 40-50 People

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 November 2010

Liked: location and avalibility

Disliked: too crowded, 15 beds per small room! understand london but don't understand this degree of greed! other thing: booked bed in 12 people room but been put to 15. little difference still to meany!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Ouramdane Medjnoun

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2010 Ouramdane would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness of the rooms.Toilets and electric sockets most of the time broken.

Disliked: People working in the proprety should know every thing about London to be able to assist people who choose to stay in your hostel. Many of my inquiries were left without answers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a 'NEST'! away from Home;, cleanliness,safe and secure.

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noise

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice place to stay considering the low price.

Disliked: Location is not a great.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

30 October 2010

Liked: great staff!

Disliked: poor kitchen

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

27 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice and friendly staff. It was clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are confortable and the staff is friendly.

Disliked: The beds are comfortable but the hight between the beds is to low.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break

22 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, nice place

Disliked: Crowded rooms, only one toillet on the floor, bathroom did not have working sink (it was out of order the whole time!)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quite clean place, helpful staff

Disliked: not so good location, not very easy to find, low temperature in the bedroom, only one bathroom for about 30 people, breakfast is useless.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2010

Liked: The living room

Disliked: The dormrooms are too small for so many people:up to 15p in a very small room, there wasn´t even space enough to walk, you had to jump in between the bags of the people in the dark when you went to sleep. The beds are VERY small. Though the location isn´t far from the London Eye, it is not very close neither. Breakfast is free but served way too early for being at holidays (7 to 9 in the morning) and if you want to sleep some more you get no breakfast at all... All in all it wasn´t very comfortable and next time I´ll go to other place.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds all had curtains to ensure complete privacy while sleeping.

Disliked: some of the staff were not very friendly.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2010

Liked: pretty good location. Overall, it served the purpose and was about what you would expect form a hostel

Disliked: staff was not friendly. bathrooms were disgusting and really small. everytihng in general was very cramped.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

17 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the cheapest place in Central London, very good value for money

Disliked: needs a bit of cleaning

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2010

Liked: Close to center of London

Disliked: Only one toilet for one floor of guests (there were five rooms on the floor and our room had 15 people in it. The two showers were in working condition, but the included sink was "out of order" which left only one sink which was in the one bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

10 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great place to stay. The beds are a little small,but everyone is having privacy with little curtains for each bed. Amazing and safe location, staff was nice. Price is fair!

Disliked: 15 people in one room might be too much.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

10 October 2010

Liked: Its what I didn't like, which was everything.

Disliked: Nauseating odour throughout the hostel. Very dusty dorms - had an allergic bout of sneezing the moment I clambered up the bunk ladder (3 "storeys" high). No bulb in personal bed lamp; personal electric socket didn't work. Overcrowded, cramped dorm.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was my second stay at London Eye and I was happy to return.

Disliked: This time I was downstairs where the bathroom wasn't as clean and always seemed damp.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2010

Liked: i didn't really like anything about this hostel except for a few nice people i met there and complained with.

Disliked: i have heard that by london standards this hostel is okay, but i don't think that means that it deserves a good review due to some law of relativity. the dorms were ridiculously cramped. the first nite i was there i was put in the wrong bed and came home to find my stuff all over the floor and somebody else in my bed, and was made to move rooms in the middle of the nite. use of the computers was extremely overpriced. bathrooms were filthy. there were hardly any power points. you had to pay a deposit to use pots and pans. i cannot believe that this place can get away with charging the amount it does. it was the worst hostel i have ever stayed in.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

08 October 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: It was very very dirty. I'm usually not picky or anything but this place had not been cleaned for a WHILE. The dorms were horrible - fitting 15 people into a room isn't a problem at other hostels but it shouldn't be legal here. You can barely breathe in there; the air is so thick and it's almost foggy in there. Nothing good to say about the dorm rooms and absolutely nothing good to say about showers and toilets. he only good place was the big lounge roomc where you could watch movies. the breakfast was shit. if you wanna stay in london. find something else!! T

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very cheap, and had a great location.

Disliked: The dorms got very hot at night.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i really liked this place.. i guess i am going to try it again after all.. indeed, it was secure, the staff was good, there were nice people to meet and to chat with.. Internet is for free, and what i liked the most is the breakfast.. i mean for 11 pounds you get lot of facilities.. i recommand all of you guys to have at least one night in this hostel and ur not gonna regret at all!! ;) cheers!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location to some of the big attractions

Disliked: Bathrooms smelled and didn't seem very clean

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

27 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: privacy good

Disliked: No hot water on 2nd floor, lamp broken on bed


See all London hostels
See all London hotels