HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of New Cross Inn Hostel

Hostel | 323a New Cross Road, London, England SE14 6AS

72.1% Overall Rating

427 out of 648 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/03/2014)

Anca Leucon thinks…

"The bed sheets were clean and even though I paid for a mixed room (a bit less), I was put in a single-sex room. The room was on the second floor, so even if it was a Friday and there was a gag…"

Read all New Cross Inn Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

AGE RESTRICTIONS We do not accept customers under 18 years old and over 40 years old. Age must be stated on the HostelBookers reservation form. We reserve the right to refuse your accommodation at any stage according to the manager's discretion. * We do not issue refunds once you have completed the check-in procedures. * Photo ID needs to be produced upon check-in. We require 48 hours notice for a cancellation. If you do not give us 48 hours notice you will be charged in full.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Journeys Greenwich West Hostel
18.11 USD

Hostel 73.1% 217 reviews
Goddis Lodge
37.31 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 55.8% 11 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Greenwich
18.08 USD

Hostel 71.9% 276 reviews
YHA London Thameside
24.88 USD

Hostel 79.9% 176 reviews
FRESH @ The Great Eastern, Docklands
14.91 USD

Hostel 77.4% 400 reviews
Peckham Lodge
40.91 USD

Guesthouse 73.9% 170 reviews
Qbic London City
48.92 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.4% 4 reviews
City Hotel
87.89 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.0% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.1%

Overall Rating

427 out of 648 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'New Cross Inn Hostel'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 403 of 538 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2010

Liked: breakfast was ok, but the staff serving it weren't very friendly. when our room leaked we were moved straight away, which was helpful.

Disliked: there was a really bad smell in our room when we arrived. the bed was damp. the ceiling was stained. the next night our ceiling leaked and caused the bed and floor to be soaked through. the shower wasn't very good as you had to hold the shower head while washing. loud music was played until 3.30am on the first night we stayed. the location was ok but did take a while to get to if you were coming from piccadilly/ euston area, so not ideal if you have a lot of luggage or convenient if you want to do a lot of sightseeing in central london.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 August 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: unsecure, dirty, poor faulites

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Monika Kubickova

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2010 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: nice people, good equipment

Disliked: the breakfast was everyday the same meal

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Andrea Mayer

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2010

Liked: the staff was very friendly

Disliked: The rooms were dirty, the mattresses were old and very uncomfortable, it was very loud at night as there is a pub downstairs which is open until 4 am or so on weekends.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun environment. I had the best time and felt safe. Didn't have to worry about my safety.

Disliked: Showers didn't always work

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2010

Liked: that it was cheap and close to my school.

Disliked: there vas dirty carpets and some kind of bugs.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 July 2010

Liked: Goodfacilities and nice staff.

Disliked: The neighbourhood isn't so save and it takes a while to get to Londen centre. There is 24/7 loud traffic sounds and music from the pub.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

21 July 2010

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful. Beds clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Very loud communal space. Several toilets not working. Bathrooms not very clean. Only one power point in the room I was in.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2010

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Way too noisy, small small kitchen, no laundry, bad breakfast held in bar, can feel springs in bed, no shower head the water comes out of a tube

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

14 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the substation.

Disliked: It was quite dirty since i don´t think they cleand our room although we were there 5 days... There was only HOT water in the shower on second floor. The breakfast was cornflakes and toast you could put marmelade on. Nothing to drink axept coffee and tee (juice, cold water... )

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Belen Gonzalez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2010 Belen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff ;)

Disliked: Belen left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

12 July 2010

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: The worst thing about New Cross Inn was how dirty it was - the bathrooms were hot, stuffy, and just always felt slimy. The showers were barely large enough to fit in, and had no water pressure at all. Even after showering you still felt disgusting, and the bedrooms didn't help. The beds were lumpy and you could feel the springs in your back, the pillows were about half an inch think (bring your own!) and the blankets felt like they had never been washed. Another thing - the location was terrible. The hostel was in the ghetto of London, and the people who hung out at the bar downstairs looked like druggies. Stay in Victoria or Kensington instead - going from New Cross to the main parts of London took about 30-50 minutes one way and was just a huge waste of time.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

06 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relatively cleanFriendly staffGood kitchen facilities

Disliked: Noisy Showers were broken Computer was slow and USB ports didn't work Breakfast wasn't worth getting up for Other guests were noisy and inconsiderate THE WATER WAS TURNED OFF EVERY NIGHT

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

06 July 2010

Liked: it was cheap, they provided a good breakfast that was included in the already low price

Disliked: we had some issues with cleanliness and hygiene: none of the showers were working properly, for exaple one only ran boiling hot water, one only ice cold. The water didnt go down in the showers either. Some of the toilets didnt flush down and in some toilets there was no water running from the taps. Madrasses in the beds were dirty in some of the beds. All of us didnt get towels unlike promised on the websites. One person in our company had brought a towel with her and that was taken from the bedroom, probably by accident, and we never got that back. The hostel gave us one of their towels instead though.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mizuho Abe

Alone

04 July 2010 Mizuho would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and very helpful, and other people were nice as well.

Disliked: Shower and tap weren't working properly.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap location with shops and restaurants. Some what close to a "overground" station.

Disliked: Not very clean in the toilets.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 June 2010

Liked: cheap/ location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very characteristic place, i enyoyed staying there. Lovely staff, nice and vibrant athmosphere with young people. There's a cool bar under the hostel with programmes. I would recommend it to others.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Staff were helpful and even though they'd ran out of private twin rooms which we had booked they still gave us a 4 bed dorm all to ourself. Very pleased!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jürgen Krieger

06 June 2010

Liked: Good location in near the town center

Disliked: Jürgen left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly place, very cheap, nice and helpful staff, good train and overground connection, cool bar next door

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Andrea Bucci

25 May 2010 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: I love to live in old decadent typical english house!

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you need a place cheap this is it. It was basic and clean. It is above a bar that hosts hardcore music if you are into it. The tube station is newly opened and that should make it more accessible but I did make it there by overground train.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was small and interesting place, where lived very great people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels