HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of MEININGER London Hyde Park

Hostel | 65-67 Queens Gate, London, England SW7 5JS

84.2% Overall Rating

1054 out of 1151 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/07/2014)

Javier Marcelo Naldjian thinks…

"Muy cómoda la habitación. Todo prolijo. Muy buen servicio. Excelente el recepcionista Alexandre que nos ayudó con información. Lo recomiendo."

Read all MEININGER London Hyde Park reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 9.79

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE! Special cancellation & payment conditions: CXL 7 Rooms - Cancellations received 0 to 7 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 6 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.

CXL 21 Rooms - Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.

BOOKING FOR GROUPS OF 12 OR MORE
1. Bookings for groups of 12 or more: cancellations made by the guest respectively on the part of the intermediary person or organisation are free of charge up to 60 days before expected arrival. For cancellations made within 60 days prior to arrival, the following cancellation fees apply; these fees also apply for bookings made within 60 days of expected arrival:

a) For cancellations made 59 to 30 days before expected arrival, 30 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
b) For cancellations made 29 to 10 days before expected arrival, 50 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
c) For cancellations made 9 to 1 day(s) before expected arrival, 90 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
d) Guests who either cancel on the day of their expected arrival or simply do not show up will be charged the agreed-upon total price in full.

Above cancellation conditions also apply if the number of persons is reduced at least 10 per cent within this period of time. A reduction of less than 10 per cent is free of charge until 1 day prior to arrival.

2. Booked meals can be cancelled free of charge until 8 days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 per cent of the agreed-upon total price applies.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Acacia Hostel
24.89 USD

Hostel 64.8% 466 reviews
Stay In Chelsea
24.89 USD

Guesthouse 68.6% 27 reviews
Astor Hyde Park
38.17 USD

Hostel 87.9% 720 reviews
Curzon House Hotel
36.92 USD

Hotel 80.7% 34 reviews
Evelyn Gardens Halls
46.47 USD

Hostel 86.1% 56 reviews
Anwar house
24.48 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.7% 191 reviews
YHA London Earls Court
24.89 USD

Hostel 78.4% 126 reviews
37 collingham place
21.69 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 79.2% 50 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.2%

Overall Rating

1054 out of 1151 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'MEININGER London Hyde Park'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
82.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 741 of 860 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, location facilities

Disliked: Because it was so large, it was a bit sterile

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mark Slusher

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Showers and rooms were clean.

Disliked: The individual shower stalls were a bit small which made it difficult to change inside.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kamil Dybicz

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Kamil would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and fair price was main criteria while choosing this hostel.

Disliked: Small bathrooms, additionally paid breakfast, no kettle in the room.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Alessandra Borges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2014

Liked: Very good location. The bed is also good.

Disliked: The bathroom is too small and not clean!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all of the above. especially the helpful reception staff.

Disliked: nothing really though a kettle for tea and coffee making would have been nice

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erika Lennartsson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

15 July 2014 Erika would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location

Disliked: Tha stuff wasn't very friendly

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 July 2014

Liked: I didn't get enough of a chance to see

Disliked: There are several major complaints here which all contributed to the worst experience I have had with a hotel in my life. These concern: room cancelled without consent, failure of staff to rectify this, hotel unstaffed, poor security, lack of care for customers, failure of staff to contact management when needed, failure of hotel management to effectively address the issues. I ended up sleeping on the streets as a result of this. The night before arrival, I had a late flight, so slept at the at the airport, and then arrived at the hotel the next morning tired and in need of a shower. Upon arrival, I was told that there was nowhere for me to shower, but I could use a public bathroom to freshen up. It was a kind cleaning lady who spoke little English who suggested that I could use a disabled toilet, which would allow more privacy. However, reception staff informed me that this was not a facility for "normal" people such as myself. I am an experienced traveller and have never before not been able to take a shower in a hostel, even in hostels where dorms have ensuite bathrooms. An example of them putting rules before service. I met my mother at the hostel and said that I wasn't happy and wondered if I should stay somewhere else. I discussed this with reception, who explained that the hotel's policy was that I would still have to pay the full price if I cancelled. With this in mind, I decided to keep the bed, paid the full amount, and received a receipt which clearly states that this is for one night's accommodation. At no point, was I told verbally or in writing that the room was cancelled. The receptionist even commented that once I saw my room, I would be much happier, obviously suggesting that she did not consider the reservation cancelled. I left my bags at the hotel and then went about my day, seeing friends just outside London. I returned to the hotel at around 20.10. There was nobody on reception and no note to say how to contact someone or when someone would be back. The key for the luggage area was on full display so that people could get their bags from the luggage room. As this hotel has had complaints in the past regarding security of the luggage room, with promises from management that this would be rectified, I was surprised to see the key out on full display. On her return, about 30 minutes later, before attending to waiting customers, the receptionist took and ate some chocolate from the vending machine - she neither apologised for or explained her lengthy absence. She then told me quite curtly that my reservation had been cancelled. I showed her the receipt which clearly states that it is for one nights accommodation. But despite all evidence, she insisted that it was for a cancellation, and shrugged her shoulders and said "you have a phone, there's plenty of hostels around here". She then turned to a friend to discuss a football match.... She didn't apologise, and refused to contact a manager. Only after I insisted did she go online to look at alternative accommodation (it should be their responsibility, legally, to provide alternative accommodation in this case). However, she refused to contact any of them to check if there was a free room, and given her hostile behaviour, and my tiredness, I had no choice in this situation but to leave, with all my belongings with no accommodation. While I am not making assumptions about the character of this receptionist, I felt she certainly was ill-equipped to deal with this situation. Sadly, there was no available hostels locally. I spent roughly 4 hours looking for somewhere to sleep, but there were no available rooms that night anywhere. I ended up sleeping on the street. As yet, I have had no apology from the hotel. They also refused to refund my deposit and called me rude.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Claude Tremblay

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 July 2014 Claude would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Size of the room, small lockers, few small showers

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michelle Loneragan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2014 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great location, wifi, common room lots of lounges were great

Disliked: Price of drinks vending machine

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Javier Marcelo Naldjian

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Javier Marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: Muy cómoda la habitación. Todo prolijo. Muy buen servicio. Excelente el recepcionista Alexandre que nos ayudó con información. Lo recomiendo.

Disliked: El baño no estaba reluciente, pero era compartido y en eso la culpa la tiene también la gente que no cuida. Pero es mínimo.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014

Liked: The location was beautiful and safe.

Disliked: The staff was extremely rude!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aradhna Tandon

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

16 June 2014 Aradhna would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very conveniently located. The staff was very helpful. The rooms are nice and clean. We were put in a 6 bed dorm. The place had excellent wifi connection as well

Disliked: Aradhna left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Luiza Suciu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 June 2014 Luiza would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and helpful, the room and bed linens were clean. Great location!

Disliked: The bathrooms are particularly small, in addition there were no hooks to hang your stuff up so it would get all wet.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Rogers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Not a lot

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, close to attractions, underground station is nearby, plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. Definitely recommending this spot for others!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location location to West London and Hyde Park

Disliked: slooooooooow internet and no self catering facilities.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liliam Faraon

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 May 2014 Liliam would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, clean bedrooms and perfect location!

Disliked: Liliam left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice neighborhood, close to small shops, safe etc

Disliked: Pretty satisfied to be honest, maybe just a tad too expensive for a non party far from club hostel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sara Stevens

Alone

Business / conference

28 April 2014 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy seating and beds; no corridor noise; large windows in lounge and dining room overlooking busy London hassle and bustle; wealthier more luxurious part of London; hostel, shops, restaurants and cafés near to Tube station

Disliked: Toilet, sink and shower in a tiny cubicle in the corner of the room. Shower hard to turn off fully. Tricky getting dressed and keeping clothes dry as there was no where to hang clothes in there. Glad everyone was asleep when I used it (I didn't hear another person use it until my alarm went off) because I would have felt self conscious spending time putting make up on in there too. Only one set of alternative public toilets in the building. Still worth staying there despite these things.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Hill

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

17 April 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: T

Disliked: Ty

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Timothy Hayes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, wifi etc, decent bed, really good location (I know I mentioned that), well priced.

Disliked: Shower is pretty dodgey but it is what it is. I stayed here for a night once before and came back so that says it all really - met a couple of really nice people there too who we're studying in Paris and I met up with them there :)

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent, and the staff very nice

Disliked: The toilet in the rooms were much too small, its impossible to take a shower without getting all the floor wet

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 24 hour service desk, friendly staff, convenient location, clean

Disliked: No kitchen (at least that I knew of)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Congreve

Alone

Business / conference

03 April 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: It has ample space to move around and not overcrowded in any way. I would recommend it and will undoubtedly return.

Disliked: Not much I can say here..

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: VERY friendly staff, clean rooms, good Breakfast. We had a double room and it was on the backside, so it was really quiet.

Disliked: The shower is very tiny, the curtains sticks to your body, but for a few days it is absolutly ok.

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels