We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of MEININGER London Hyde Park

Hostel | 65-67 Queens Gate, London, England SW7 5JS

87.5% Overall Rating

1074 out of 1173 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/05/2015)

"The room is tidy & clean. It's a good stay if you prefer a simple accommodation."

Read all MEININGER London Hyde Park reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 9.13

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE! Special cancellation & payment conditions: CXL 7 Rooms - Cancellations received 0 to 7 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 6 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.

CXL 21 Rooms - Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.

BOOKING FOR GROUPS OF 12 OR MORE
1. Bookings for groups of 12 or more: cancellations made by the guest respectively on the part of the intermediary person or organisation are free of charge up to 60 days before expected arrival. For cancellations made within 60 days prior to arrival, the following cancellation fees apply; these fees also apply for bookings made within 60 days of expected arrival:

a) For cancellations made 59 to 30 days before expected arrival, 30 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
b) For cancellations made 29 to 10 days before expected arrival, 50 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
c) For cancellations made 9 to 1 day(s) before expected arrival, 90 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
d) Guests who either cancel on the day of their expected arrival or simply do not show up will be charged the agreed-upon total price in full.

Above cancellation conditions also apply if the number of persons is reduced at least 10 per cent within this period of time. A reduction of less than 10 per cent is free of charge until 1 day prior to arrival.

2. Booked meals can be cancelled free of charge until 8 days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 per cent of the agreed-upon total price applies.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Acacia Hostel
23.22 USD

Hostel 64.3% 491 reviews
Stay In Chelsea
25.15 USD

Guesthouse 67.1% 29 reviews
Astor Hyde Park
27.86 USD

Hostel 86.9% 731 reviews
Curzon House Hotel
43.34 USD

Hotel 82.6% 38 reviews
Evelyn Gardens Halls
27.86 USD

Hostel 86.3% 58 reviews
Anwar house
38.31 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.7% 199 reviews
YHA London Earls Court
27.86 USD

Hostel 77.7% 130 reviews
37 collingham place
21.67 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.3% 55 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

1074 out of 1173 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'MEININGER London Hyde Park'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 756 of 882 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room is tidy & clean. It's a good stay if you prefer a simple accommodation.

Disliked: The toilet is quite small.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dmytro Stasevych

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2015 Dmytro would recommend this property

Liked: I really like location of Meininger hotel, there are situated a several great museums and parks! You can rent a bicycle, special parking is opossite the hotel. And of course it's so close to London underground!

Disliked: Dmytro left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have to stay in London often, and this for me is the best hostel in the capital (I'm also aware that I will make getting a bed there at short notice harder by leaving this review :)) It's the only hostel I've stayed at that hasn't made me feel degraded in some way. The standards of hygiene are excellent and you somehow never feel the press of other people too much. You're also very aware of the standards of quality-control that belong to a chain ensure. It also feels 24-hour, which is a bonus - there's a lobby you can sit in, drinks machines etc. If you'd like to stay in a hotel but can only afford a hostel, this is the next best thing.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect!

Disliked: Really Small place to shower

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lynn Phillips

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2015 Lynn would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff, location, facilities. We were treated perfectly from start to finish. Very friendly atmosphere all round. Breakfast was lovely. Would definitely return....... Hopefully soon ??

Disliked: Lynn left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfy beds

Disliked: A little far from the tube

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location can't be beat, and the Meininger reputation promises exceptional quality of stay, particularly for the price.

Disliked: There was only one elevator in a 6-floor building, which can mean slow waits sometimes.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Afzal Abdul Aziz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2015 Afzal would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Good location,

Disliked: small bathroom, a bit pricy

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness and efficiency.

Disliked: Nothing serious comes to mind.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

29 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bright and cleaniness

Disliked: showering facilities

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient, reasonably priced, modern.

Disliked: The shared bathroom, too small.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was really clean and well organized! There was 24/7 staff that were eager to help with whatever came up. The rooms were spacious and very new looking.

Disliked: The bathrooms were very small, like smaller than an airplane bathroom! Showering was nearly impossible, and it was very uncomfortable to share that small of a bathroom with 12 other people.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lu Fang

Alone

Events / festivals

14 September 2014 Lu would recommend this property

Liked: the location is good, there is a cycle docking station just in front of the gate, near to queen's gate of hyde park and underground station

Disliked: very few sockets, i slept in the up-mid bed ,there are no socket for me.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Kelly McLeod

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2014

Liked: The bed was comfortable and the room had a comfortable amount of space.

Disliked: The bathrooms were filthy and smelled like urine. The shove too many people in a room.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Thinking of this cheap price, the location is really ideal, and atmosphere is really great.

Disliked: bathroom is kind of small.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, location facilities

Disliked: Because it was so large, it was a bit sterile

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mark Slusher

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Showers and rooms were clean.

Disliked: The individual shower stalls were a bit small which made it difficult to change inside.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kamil Dybicz

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Kamil would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and fair price was main criteria while choosing this hostel.

Disliked: Small bathrooms, additionally paid breakfast, no kettle in the room.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Alessandra Borges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2014

Liked: Very good location. The bed is also good.

Disliked: The bathroom is too small and not clean!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all of the above. especially the helpful reception staff.

Disliked: nothing really though a kettle for tea and coffee making would have been nice

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erika Lennartsson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

15 July 2014 Erika would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location

Disliked: Tha stuff wasn't very friendly

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 July 2014

Liked: I didn't get enough of a chance to see

Disliked: There are several major complaints here which all contributed to the worst experience I have had with a hotel in my life. These concern: room cancelled without consent, failure of staff to rectify this, hotel unstaffed, poor security, lack of care for customers, failure of staff to contact management when needed, failure of hotel management to effectively address the issues. I ended up sleeping on the streets as a result of this. The night before arrival, I had a late flight, so slept at the at the airport, and then arrived at the hotel the next morning tired and in need of a shower. Upon arrival, I was told that there was nowhere for me to shower, but I could use a public bathroom to freshen up. It was a kind cleaning lady who spoke little English who suggested that I could use a disabled toilet, which would allow more privacy. However, reception staff informed me that this was not a facility for "normal" people such as myself. I am an experienced traveller and have never before not been able to take a shower in a hostel, even in hostels where dorms have ensuite bathrooms. An example of them putting rules before service. I met my mother at the hostel and said that I wasn't happy and wondered if I should stay somewhere else. I discussed this with reception, who explained that the hotel's policy was that I would still have to pay the full price if I cancelled. With this in mind, I decided to keep the bed, paid the full amount, and received a receipt which clearly states that this is for one night's accommodation. At no point, was I told verbally or in writing that the room was cancelled. The receptionist even commented that once I saw my room, I would be much happier, obviously suggesting that she did not consider the reservation cancelled. I left my bags at the hotel and then went about my day, seeing friends just outside London. I returned to the hotel at around 20.10. There was nobody on reception and no note to say how to contact someone or when someone would be back. The key for the luggage area was on full display so that people could get their bags from the luggage room. As this hotel has had complaints in the past regarding security of the luggage room, with promises from management that this would be rectified, I was surprised to see the key out on full display. On her return, about 30 minutes later, before attending to waiting customers, the receptionist took and ate some chocolate from the vending machine - she neither apologised for or explained her lengthy absence. She then told me quite curtly that my reservation had been cancelled. I showed her the receipt which clearly states that it is for one nights accommodation. But despite all evidence, she insisted that it was for a cancellation, and shrugged her shoulders and said "you have a phone, there's plenty of hostels around here". She then turned to a friend to discuss a football match.... She didn't apologise, and refused to contact a manager. Only after I insisted did she go online to look at alternative accommodation (it should be their responsibility, legally, to provide alternative accommodation in this case). However, she refused to contact any of them to check if there was a free room, and given her hostile behaviour, and my tiredness, I had no choice in this situation but to leave, with all my belongings with no accommodation. While I am not making assumptions about the character of this receptionist, I felt she certainly was ill-equipped to deal with this situation. Sadly, there was no available hostels locally. I spent roughly 4 hours looking for somewhere to sleep, but there were no available rooms that night anywhere. I ended up sleeping on the street. As yet, I have had no apology from the hotel. They also refused to refund my deposit and called me rude.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Claude Tremblay

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 July 2014 Claude would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Size of the room, small lockers, few small showers

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michelle Loneragan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2014 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great location, wifi, common room lots of lounges were great

Disliked: Price of drinks vending machine

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Javier Marcelo Naldjian

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Javier Marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: Muy cómoda la habitación. Todo prolijo. Muy buen servicio. Excelente el recepcionista Alexandre que nos ayudó con información. Lo recomiendo.

Disliked: El baño no estaba reluciente, pero era compartido y en eso la culpa la tiene también la gente que no cuida. Pero es mínimo.

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels