HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of MEININGER London Hyde Park London Hostel

at Baden Powell House, 65-67 Queen's Gate, London, England

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 81%

Location 96%

Safety 90%

Staff 84%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 8.33USD

Important Information

Earliest check in time is 3pm on arrival date for all Meininger properties. Of course guests can arrive before 3pm and leave their bags in our luggage room if required.


Special cancellation & payment conditions 2016/2017:

25.03.2016 - 28.03.2016
05.05.2016 - 08.05.2016
13.05.2016 - 16.05.2016
29.12.2016 - 02.01.2017

Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.
If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.

***********
10.06.2016 - 12.06.2016
25.11.2016 - 27.11.2016
02.12.2016 - 04.12.2016
09.12.2016 - 11.12.2016

Cancellations received 0 to 7 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 6 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.
If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.
************

Room bookings for groups of 12 persons and above:

The deadline for free cancellations is 60 days before the day of arrival for group bookings on the basis of multi-bed rooms. For groups on the basis of single and double rooms, the deadline for free cancellations is 45 days before the day of arrival. These deadlines also apply if the Contract is concluded within the respective deadline. On cancellation after these deadlines, cancellation charges are payable on the following terms:

a) From 59 days (group booking on the basis of multi-bed rooms) or 44 days (group booking on the basis of single and double rooms) to 30 days prior to arrival, 30 percent of the agreed booking price is payable.
b) 29 to 10 days prior to arrival: 50 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
c) 9 to 1 day(s) prior to arrival: 80 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
d) In the event of a cancellation on the day of arrival or non-utilisation of the service, 90 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
e) If the number of persons falls by more than ten percent within these deadlines, the above cancellation charges for the cancelled persons will apply accordingly. Up to ten percent of the number of persons may be cancelled free of charge up to one day prior to arrival.
Unless otherwise agreed, for groups of twelve persons or more a payment of 10 percent of the total booking price shall be due immediately on confirmation of the booking. Unless otherwise agreed, the remaining amount will be due no later than four weeks prior to arrival without the Hotel issuing a separate payment reminder. In the case of group bookings booked less than eight weeks prior to arrival, the first advance payment of 10 percent shall not apply and the total booking price will be due in full in advance immediately on confirmation of the booking.

***************
Booked catering services may be cancelled free of charge up to eight days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 percent of the agreed price will be payable.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 81%

Location 96%

Safety 90%

Staff 84%

Value 84%

Showing 61-70 of 84 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location. Clean rooms.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello there, thank you very much for your feedback. Hope to see you soon in one of our hotels! Greetings from your Meininger team.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The location was brilliant 5 minute walk from Gloucester road tube station. Local amenities, friendly staff and free wifi.

Disliked: The room I was staying in was not very clean - bedding was stained and the bathroom was tiny and had a funny smell about it.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your feedback! We know that cleaning and hygiene are very important to our guest, so we are also giving it extra attention. Hope to see you soon again. Greetings from your Meininger London team.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff. Casual atmosphere. Good facilities. Very clean. Great location. Welcoming.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for you nice feedback. Hope to see you again at Meininger London! :-)
Greetings for your Meininger team

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Brilliant location, very nice and modern hostel. Friendly staff and secure feeling in the hostel.

Disliked: Every now and then the restrooms were a bit unclean. 6th floor rooms noisy because of the wind; didn't bother me too much but heard another resident complaining about it.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello there, thank you for your positive feedback. Also good of course to hear your remark concerning the restrooms because it will definitely help us to improve! And we started some refurbishments in our hotel and new windows are being installed at the moment to offer more confort to our guests. So all good news! Hope to see you soon in one of our hotels across Europe. Cheers from Meininger London

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: It was clean and tide and the staff were very helpful.

Disliked: The clientele were rather young for me.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for you comment! Hope to see you soon in one of our hotels across Europe and don't forget to mention your previous reservation when you book with us to get a 5% discount on accomodation and breakfast. Greetings from Meininger London.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: So close to the natural history museum!!! Very central location, nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Room was very dry.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

thank you for your comment.

Nice, that you like our hotel's location and the atmosphere ;-)
We hope you enjoyed your stay and we would be pleased to welcome you again!
Kind Regards,
Your MEININGER Team London

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was close to the tube stations and other attractions. Wi-fi worked great in the lobby and there was plenty of room with comfortable seating in the lobby as well.

Disliked: Almost too many things to list. MOST of the staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. The property charges for EVERYTHING; locks, local telephone calls, printing, towels, etc. and besides charging for all of these items they also require a substantial deposit as well. Don't be deceived by the pictures of the bathrooms on the property's site. The bathrooms are FILTHY and TINY, there isn't enough room for a person to even turn around within this small hole. The shower is almost on top of the toilet! Also, I don't believe these rooms are cleaned on a daily basis. The bathroom felt disgusting everyday we were there and didn't appear to be cleaned at all during our entire stay spanning a total of 5 days. Additionally, the water that came out of the bathroom sinks (meant for brushing teeth) wasn't drinkable water. Lastly, during our stay there was an incident where an adult male was placed in a room filled will young girls (under the age of 13) because the staff was not doing there job properly. It was specifically requested that there only be females in this room prior to booking, yet the staff did not care enough to carry out such a simple task. I would NEVER recommend this property to anyone staying in London.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice place

Disliked: little dirty

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good value for money, very helpful staff. Extremely clean with plenty of hot water and clean towels

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Its a great hostel. Clean rooms and clean bathrooms.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability