HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of MEININGER London Hyde Park London

Hostel

at Baden Powell House, 65-67 Queen's Gate, London, England

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 82%

Location 95%

Safety 91%

Staff 85%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 9.16USD

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE!

Special cancellation & payment conditions:

CXL 7 Rooms - Cancellations received 0 to 7 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 6 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable. <br />
<br />
CXL 21 Rooms - Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable. <br />
<br />
BOOKING FOR GROUPS OF 12 OR MORE <br />
1. Bookings for groups of 12 or more: cancellations made by the guest respectively on the part of the intermediary person or organisation are free of charge up to 60 days before expected arrival. For cancellations made within 60 days prior to arrival, the following cancellation fees apply; these fees also apply for bookings made within 60 days of expected arrival: <br />
<br />
a) For cancellations made 59 to 30 days before expected arrival, 30 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due. <br />
b) For cancellations made 29 to 10 days before expected arrival, 50 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due. <br />
c) For cancellations made 9 to 1 day(s) before expected arrival, 90 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due. <br />
d) Guests who either cancel on the day of their expected arrival or simply do not show up will be charged the agreed-upon total price in full. <br />
<br />
Above cancellation conditions also apply if the number of persons is reduced at least 10 per cent within this period of time. A reduction of less than 10 per cent is free of charge until 1 day prior to arrival. <br />
<br />
2. Booked meals can be cancelled free of charge until 8 days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 per cent of the agreed-upon total price applies. <br />

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 82%

Location 95%

Safety 91%

Staff 85%

Value 84%

Showing 61-70 of 111 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff. Casual atmosphere. Good facilities. Very clean. Great location. Welcoming.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for you nice feedback. Hope to see you again at Meininger London! :-)
Greetings for your Meininger team

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Brilliant location, very nice and modern hostel. Friendly staff and secure feeling in the hostel.

Disliked: Every now and then the restrooms were a bit unclean. 6th floor rooms noisy because of the wind; didn't bother me too much but heard another resident complaining about it.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello there, thank you for your positive feedback. Also good of course to hear your remark concerning the restrooms because it will definitely help us to improve! And we started some refurbishments in our hotel and new windows are being installed at the moment to offer more confort to our guests. So all good news! Hope to see you soon in one of our hotels across Europe. Cheers from Meininger London

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: It was clean and tide and the staff were very helpful.

Disliked: The clientele were rather young for me.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for you comment! Hope to see you soon in one of our hotels across Europe and don't forget to mention your previous reservation when you book with us to get a 5% discount on accomodation and breakfast. Greetings from Meininger London.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: So close to the natural history museum!!! Very central location, nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Room was very dry.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

thank you for your comment.

Nice, that you like our hotel's location and the atmosphere ;-)
We hope you enjoyed your stay and we would be pleased to welcome you again!
Kind Regards,
Your MEININGER Team London

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was close to the tube stations and other attractions. Wi-fi worked great in the lobby and there was plenty of room with comfortable seating in the lobby as well.

Disliked: Almost too many things to list. MOST of the staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. The property charges for EVERYTHING; locks, local telephone calls, printing, towels, etc. and besides charging for all of these items they also require a substantial deposit as well. Don't be deceived by the pictures of the bathrooms on the property's site. The bathrooms are FILTHY and TINY, there isn't enough room for a person to even turn around within this small hole. The shower is almost on top of the toilet! Also, I don't believe these rooms are cleaned on a daily basis. The bathroom felt disgusting everyday we were there and didn't appear to be cleaned at all during our entire stay spanning a total of 5 days. Additionally, the water that came out of the bathroom sinks (meant for brushing teeth) wasn't drinkable water. Lastly, during our stay there was an incident where an adult male was placed in a room filled will young girls (under the age of 13) because the staff was not doing there job properly. It was specifically requested that there only be females in this room prior to booking, yet the staff did not care enough to carry out such a simple task. I would NEVER recommend this property to anyone staying in London.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice place

Disliked: little dirty

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good value for money, very helpful staff. Extremely clean with plenty of hot water and clean towels

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Its a great hostel. Clean rooms and clean bathrooms.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Amazing location/neighborhood, nice cozy atmosphere, helpful staff. There even was free shower gel in the shower. I would definitely prefer it again in the future.

Disliked: I arrived before check in time and I was not allowed to take a shower.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was amazing! And the staff was really helpful :) it felt really safe and easy going.

Disliked: The bathroom was really tiny and the shower nob was coming out of the wall, so overall the whole showering experience wasn't the best.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability