HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of MEININGER London Hyde Park London Hostel

at Baden Powell House, 65-67 Queen's Gate, London, England

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 81%

Location 96%

Safety 90%

Staff 84%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 8.29USD

Important Information

Earliest check in time is 3pm on arrival date for all Meininger properties. Of course guests can arrive before 3pm and leave their bags in our luggage room if required.


Special cancellation & payment conditions 2016/2017:

25.03.2016 - 28.03.2016
05.05.2016 - 08.05.2016
13.05.2016 - 16.05.2016
29.12.2016 - 02.01.2017

Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.
If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.

***********
10.06.2016 - 12.06.2016
25.11.2016 - 27.11.2016
02.12.2016 - 04.12.2016
09.12.2016 - 11.12.2016

Cancellations received 0 to 7 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 6 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.
If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.
************

Room bookings for groups of 12 persons and above:

The deadline for free cancellations is 60 days before the day of arrival for group bookings on the basis of multi-bed rooms. For groups on the basis of single and double rooms, the deadline for free cancellations is 45 days before the day of arrival. These deadlines also apply if the Contract is concluded within the respective deadline. On cancellation after these deadlines, cancellation charges are payable on the following terms:

a) From 59 days (group booking on the basis of multi-bed rooms) or 44 days (group booking on the basis of single and double rooms) to 30 days prior to arrival, 30 percent of the agreed booking price is payable.
b) 29 to 10 days prior to arrival: 50 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
c) 9 to 1 day(s) prior to arrival: 80 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
d) In the event of a cancellation on the day of arrival or non-utilisation of the service, 90 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
e) If the number of persons falls by more than ten percent within these deadlines, the above cancellation charges for the cancelled persons will apply accordingly. Up to ten percent of the number of persons may be cancelled free of charge up to one day prior to arrival.
Unless otherwise agreed, for groups of twelve persons or more a payment of 10 percent of the total booking price shall be due immediately on confirmation of the booking. Unless otherwise agreed, the remaining amount will be due no later than four weeks prior to arrival without the Hotel issuing a separate payment reminder. In the case of group bookings booked less than eight weeks prior to arrival, the first advance payment of 10 percent shall not apply and the total booking price will be due in full in advance immediately on confirmation of the booking.

***************
Booked catering services may be cancelled free of charge up to eight days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 percent of the agreed price will be payable.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 81%

Location 96%

Safety 90%

Staff 84%

Value 84%

Showing 41-50 of 84 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location

Disliked: Size of the room, small lockers, few small showers

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

thank you for this comment. We really appreciate it!
We are happy that you liked our hotels location and enjoyed your stay.
Looking forward to meeting you again!

Your MEININGER Team London

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean, great location, wifi, common room lots of lounges were great

Disliked: Price of drinks vending machine

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Michelle,

thank you for this helpful comment.
We are happy, that you enjoyed the location and liked the cleanliness and our lounges (and the WIFI :-)

Looking forward to meeting you again soon!
Your MEININGER Hotel

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I didn't get enough of a chance to see

Disliked: There are several major complaints here which all contributed to the worst experience I have had with a hotel in my life. These concern: room cancelled without consent, failure of staff to rectify this, hotel unstaffed, poor security, lack of care for customers, failure of staff to contact management when needed, failure of hotel management to effectively address the issues. I ended up sleeping on the streets as a result of this. The night before arrival, I had a late flight, so slept at the at the airport, and then arrived at the hotel the next morning tired and in need of a shower. Upon arrival, I was told that there was nowhere for me to shower, but I could use a public bathroom to freshen up. It was a kind cleaning lady who spoke little English who suggested that I could use a disabled toilet, which would allow more privacy. However, reception staff informed me that this was not a facility for "normal" people such as myself. I am an experienced traveller and have never before not been able to take a shower in a hostel, even in hostels where dorms have ensuite bathrooms. An example of them putting rules before service. I met my mother at the hostel and said that I wasn't happy and wondered if I should stay somewhere else. I discussed this with reception, who explained that the hotel's policy was that I would still have to pay the full price if I cancelled. With this in mind, I decided to keep the bed, paid the full amount, and received a receipt which clearly states that this is for one night's accommodation. At no point, was I told verbally or in writing that the room was cancelled. The receptionist even commented that once I saw my room, I would be much happier, obviously suggesting that she did not consider the reservation cancelled. I left my bags at the hotel and then went about my day, seeing friends just outside London. I returned to the hotel at around 20.10. There was nobody on reception and no note to say how to contact someone or when someone would be back. The key for the luggage area was on full display so that people could get their bags from the luggage room. As this hotel has had complaints in the past regarding security of the luggage room, with promises from management that this would be rectified, I was surprised to see the key out on full display.On her return, about 30 minutes later, before attending to waiting customers, the receptionist took and ate some chocolate from the vending machine - she neither apologised for or explained her lengthy absence. She then told me quite curtly that my reservation had been cancelled. I showed her the receipt which clearly states that it is for one nights accommodation. But despite all evidence, she insisted that it was for a cancellation, and shrugged her shoulders and said "you have a phone, there's plenty of hostels around here". She then turned to a friend to discuss a football match....She didn't apologise, and refused to contact a manager. Only after I insisted did she go online to look at alternative accommodation (it should be their responsibility, legally, to provide alternative accommodation in this case). However, she refused to contact any of them to check if there was a free room, and given her hostile behaviour, and my tiredness, I had no choice in this situation but to leave, with all my belongings with no accommodation. While I am not making assumptions about the character of this receptionist, I felt she certainly was ill-equipped to deal with this situation. Sadly, there was no available hostels locally. I spent roughly 4 hours looking for somewhere to sleep, but there were no available rooms that night anywhere. I ended up sleeping on the street.As yet, I have had no apology from the hotel. They also refused to refund my deposit and called me rude.


The property's response is

Dear Sir or Madam,

We are sorry that your visit was not as expected but as explained in a number of private emails to you your presentation of what happened is not correct.

Regards

Meininger Management

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was beautiful and safe.

Disliked: The staff was extremely rude!


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this comment.
Nice to hear, that you liked our hotel's location. We have to excuse us for you not feeling welcomed and well treated by our staff.
We nevertheless hope to welcome you again to convince you with good MEININGER-Service!

Regards,
Your MEININGER Team London

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Muy cómoda la habitación. Todo prolijo. Muy buen servicio. Excelente el recepcionista Alexandre que nos ayudó con información. Lo recomiendo.

Disliked: El baño no estaba reluciente, pero era compartido y en eso la culpa la tiene también la gente que no cuida. Pero es mínimo.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment. We really appreciate that!
Looking forward to meeting you again soon:-)

Your MEININGER Team London

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The place was very conveniently located. The staff was very helpful. The rooms are nice and clean. We were put in a 6 bed dorm. The place had excellent wifi connection as well

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Aradhna,

thank you very much for this nice review:-)
We are proud that you liked our central location, our friendly staff and the rooms.
We looking forward to welcome you again in one of our MEININGER Hotels!
Your MEININGER Team London

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff was really friendly and helpful, the room and bed linens were clean. Great location!

Disliked: The bathrooms are particularly small, in addition there were no hooks to hang your stuff up so it would get all wet.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

thank you for this nice review!

We are happy and proud that you liked our hotel's location and the "helpful and friendly staff" :-)

We would be happy to see you again here in London!
Your MEININGER TEAM

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good

Disliked: Not a lot

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear William,

thanks for your review. We really appreciate that!
Hope to see you again soon :-)

Your MEININGER Team London

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Central location, close to attractions, underground station is nearby, plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. Definitely recommending this spot for others!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Christina,

thanks a lot for this nice comment! We really appreciate that and looking forward to see you again soon!
Cheers,
Your MEININGER Team London

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: location location to West London and Hyde Park

Disliked: slooooooooow internet and no self catering facilities.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability