HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of MEININGER London Hyde Park London Hostel

at Baden Powell House, 65-67 Queen's Gate, London, England

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 82%

Location 95%

Safety 91%

Staff 85%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 9.24USD

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE!
Earliest check in time is 3pm on arrival date for all Meininger properties. Of course guests can arrive before 3pm and leave their bags in our luggage room if required.


Special cancellation & payment conditions 2016/2017:

25.03.2016 - 28.03.2016
05.05.2016 - 08.05.2016
13.05.2016 - 16.05.2016
29.12.2016 - 02.01.2017

Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.
If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.

***********
10.06.2016 - 12.06.2016
25.11.2016 - 27.11.2016
02.12.2016 - 04.12.2016
09.12.2016 - 11.12.2016

Cancellations received 0 to 7 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 7 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.
If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.
************

BOOKING FOR GROUPS OF 12 OR MORE
1. Bookings for groups of 12 or more: cancellations made by the guest respectively on the part of the intermediary person or organisation are free of charge up to 60 days before expected arrival. For cancellations made within 60 days prior to arrival, the following cancellation fees apply; these fees also apply for bookings made within 60 days of expected arrival:

a) For cancellations made 59 to 30 days before expected arrival, 30 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
b) For cancellations made 29 to 10 days before expected arrival, 50 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
c) For cancellations made 9 to 1 day(s) before expected arrival, 90 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
d) Guests who either cancel on the day of their expected arrival or simply do not show up will be charged the agreed-upon
total price in full.

Above cancellation conditions also apply if the number of persons is reduced at least 10 per cent within this period of time. A
reduction of less than 10 per cent is free of charge until 1 day prior to arrival.

2. Booked meals can be cancelled free of charge until 8 days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 per cent of the
agreed-upon total price applies.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 82%

Location 95%

Safety 91%

Staff 85%

Value 84%

Showing 41-50 of 100 reviews

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I didn't get enough of a chance to see

Disliked: There are several major complaints here which all contributed to the worst experience I have had with a hotel in my life. These concern: room cancelled without consent, failure of staff to rectify this, hotel unstaffed, poor security, lack of care for customers, failure of staff to contact management when needed, failure of hotel management to effectively address the issues. I ended up sleeping on the streets as a result of this. The night before arrival, I had a late flight, so slept at the at the airport, and then arrived at the hotel the next morning tired and in need of a shower. Upon arrival, I was told that there was nowhere for me to shower, but I could use a public bathroom to freshen up. It was a kind cleaning lady who spoke little English who suggested that I could use a disabled toilet, which would allow more privacy. However, reception staff informed me that this was not a facility for "normal" people such as myself. I am an experienced traveller and have never before not been able to take a shower in a hostel, even in hostels where dorms have ensuite bathrooms. An example of them putting rules before service. I met my mother at the hostel and said that I wasn't happy and wondered if I should stay somewhere else. I discussed this with reception, who explained that the hotel's policy was that I would still have to pay the full price if I cancelled. With this in mind, I decided to keep the bed, paid the full amount, and received a receipt which clearly states that this is for one night's accommodation. At no point, was I told verbally or in writing that the room was cancelled. The receptionist even commented that once I saw my room, I would be much happier, obviously suggesting that she did not consider the reservation cancelled. I left my bags at the hotel and then went about my day, seeing friends just outside London. I returned to the hotel at around 20.10. There was nobody on reception and no note to say how to contact someone or when someone would be back. The key for the luggage area was on full display so that people could get their bags from the luggage room. As this hotel has had complaints in the past regarding security of the luggage room, with promises from management that this would be rectified, I was surprised to see the key out on full display.On her return, about 30 minutes later, before attending to waiting customers, the receptionist took and ate some chocolate from the vending machine - she neither apologised for or explained her lengthy absence. She then told me quite curtly that my reservation had been cancelled. I showed her the receipt which clearly states that it is for one nights accommodation. But despite all evidence, she insisted that it was for a cancellation, and shrugged her shoulders and said "you have a phone, there's plenty of hostels around here". She then turned to a friend to discuss a football match....She didn't apologise, and refused to contact a manager. Only after I insisted did she go online to look at alternative accommodation (it should be their responsibility, legally, to provide alternative accommodation in this case). However, she refused to contact any of them to check if there was a free room, and given her hostile behaviour, and my tiredness, I had no choice in this situation but to leave, with all my belongings with no accommodation. While I am not making assumptions about the character of this receptionist, I felt she certainly was ill-equipped to deal with this situation. Sadly, there was no available hostels locally. I spent roughly 4 hours looking for somewhere to sleep, but there were no available rooms that night anywhere. I ended up sleeping on the street.As yet, I have had no apology from the hotel. They also refused to refund my deposit and called me rude.


The property's response is

Dear Sir or Madam,

We are sorry that your visit was not as expected but as explained in a number of private emails to you your presentation of what happened is not correct.

Regards

Meininger Management

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was beautiful and safe.

Disliked: The staff was extremely rude!


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this comment.
Nice to hear, that you liked our hotel's location. We have to excuse us for you not feeling welcomed and well treated by our staff.
We nevertheless hope to welcome you again to convince you with good MEININGER-Service!

Regards,
Your MEININGER Team London

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Muy cómoda la habitación. Todo prolijo. Muy buen servicio. Excelente el recepcionista Alexandre que nos ayudó con información. Lo recomiendo.

Disliked: El baño no estaba reluciente, pero era compartido y en eso la culpa la tiene también la gente que no cuida. Pero es mínimo.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment. We really appreciate that!
Looking forward to meeting you again soon:-)

Your MEININGER Team London

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The place was very conveniently located. The staff was very helpful. The rooms are nice and clean. We were put in a 6 bed dorm. The place had excellent wifi connection as well

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Aradhna,

thank you very much for this nice review:-)
We are proud that you liked our central location, our friendly staff and the rooms.
We looking forward to welcome you again in one of our MEININGER Hotels!
Your MEININGER Team London

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff was really friendly and helpful, the room and bed linens were clean. Great location!

Disliked: The bathrooms are particularly small, in addition there were no hooks to hang your stuff up so it would get all wet.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

thank you for this nice review!

We are happy and proud that you liked our hotel's location and the "helpful and friendly staff" :-)

We would be happy to see you again here in London!
Your MEININGER TEAM

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good

Disliked: Not a lot

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear William,

thanks for your review. We really appreciate that!
Hope to see you again soon :-)

Your MEININGER Team London

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Central location, close to attractions, underground station is nearby, plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. Definitely recommending this spot for others!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Christina,

thanks a lot for this nice comment! We really appreciate that and looking forward to see you again soon!
Cheers,
Your MEININGER Team London

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: location location to West London and Hyde Park

Disliked: slooooooooow internet and no self catering facilities.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very helpful staff, clean bedrooms and perfect location!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

thank you for this nice comment :-)

Nice to hear that you liked our friendly staff and the hotel's location!

We hope to see you again soon!
Your MEININGER Team London

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Comfy seating and beds; no corridor noise; large windows in lounge and dining room overlooking busy London hassle and bustle; wealthier more luxurious part of London; hostel, shops, restaurants and cafés near to Tube station

Disliked: Toilet, sink and shower in a tiny cubicle in the corner of the room. Shower hard to turn off fully. Tricky getting dressed and keeping clothes dry as there was no where to hang clothes in there. Glad everyone was asleep when I used it (I didn't hear another person use it until my alarm went off) because I would have felt self conscious spending time putting make up on in there too. Only one set of alternative public toilets in the building. Still worth staying there despite these things.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Sara,

thank you for your detailed review :-)
Nice to hear, that you liked our hotel's location and enjoyed your stay except of the bathrooms.
We nevertheless hope you'll come back to us soon!

Cheers,
Your MEININGER Team London

Check Availability