HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of MEININGER London Hyde Park London Hostel

at Baden Powell House, 65-67 Queen's Gate, London, England

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 82%

Location 95%

Safety 91%

Staff 85%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 9.24USD

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE!
Earliest check in time is 3pm on arrival date for all Meininger properties. Of course guests can arrive before 3pm and leave their bags in our luggage room if required.


Special cancellation & payment conditions 2016/2017:

25.03.2016 - 28.03.2016
05.05.2016 - 08.05.2016
13.05.2016 - 16.05.2016
29.12.2016 - 02.01.2017

Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.
If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.

***********
10.06.2016 - 12.06.2016
25.11.2016 - 27.11.2016
02.12.2016 - 04.12.2016
09.12.2016 - 11.12.2016

Cancellations received 0 to 7 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 7 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.
If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.
************

BOOKING FOR GROUPS OF 12 OR MORE
1. Bookings for groups of 12 or more: cancellations made by the guest respectively on the part of the intermediary person or organisation are free of charge up to 60 days before expected arrival. For cancellations made within 60 days prior to arrival, the following cancellation fees apply; these fees also apply for bookings made within 60 days of expected arrival:

a) For cancellations made 59 to 30 days before expected arrival, 30 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
b) For cancellations made 29 to 10 days before expected arrival, 50 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
c) For cancellations made 9 to 1 day(s) before expected arrival, 90 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
d) Guests who either cancel on the day of their expected arrival or simply do not show up will be charged the agreed-upon
total price in full.

Above cancellation conditions also apply if the number of persons is reduced at least 10 per cent within this period of time. A
reduction of less than 10 per cent is free of charge until 1 day prior to arrival.

2. Booked meals can be cancelled free of charge until 8 days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 per cent of the
agreed-upon total price applies.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 82%

Location 95%

Safety 91%

Staff 85%

Value 84%

Showing 11-20 of 100 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location was amazing for access to central London and the underground. I chose this hostel because I had an early morning flight leaving Heathrow and it cut a bit of time off the trip to their airport.

Disliked: I chose a dorm room with a private ensuite. While the room was very nice, I found the bathroom quite claustrophobic and uncomfortable to manoeuvre in (it was clean though with good water temperature and pressure!).I also found the lockers were a bit too narrow to store my pack (i had to empty the bag and store my belongings separately) and some of the lock components were broken such that you couldn't actually attach a lock to them.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Meininger Hotel London Hyde Park!

we apologise for any inconveniences during your stay and are thankfull for your feedback. at the moment we are very busy with refurbishments and improvements in the room like better acces to the bathroom aswell.

we hope you still enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in our hotel to exceed your expectations.

kind regards,

Your Meininger Team.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping

Liked: Excellent location. Nice lobby for hanging out.

Disliked: The staff hasn't changed sheets on my bed when someone left, I had to complain about it and change them myself. This also happened to someone else in my room (12 people room). The breakfast could be cheaper/smaller but free. Also, in our room there was a guest behaving badly, even after number of people complaining, the staff didn't do anything about it.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Meininger Hotel London Hyde Park!

we apologise for any inconveniences during your stay. at this point we cannot reverse time and make up for this but we are very thankfull for sending us your feedback so we can and will improve our service in the future.

we hope you still enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in our hotel to exceed your expectations.

kind regards,

Your Meininger Team.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Family Holiday, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good environment.

Disliked: Weak wifi connection in room.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Meininger Hotel London Hyde Park!

we apologise for any inconveniences with connecting with wifi, we are working on this and will be improving the connection in the future!

we hope you still enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in our hotel to exceed your expectations.

kind regards,

Your Meininger Team.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was pretty convenient

Disliked: shower was quiet dirty as not enough cleaners or perhaps too many people are using a shower and limited toilets. also at the time when I was there the lift was broke so walking up 6 floors wasn't pleasant experience.


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Meininger London Hyde Park,
we are very sorry for the inconvenience during your stay with the elevator for example.

nevertheless with your feedback about the amount of toilets/showers and how they are cleaned we will be able to improve our hotel for in the future so we are very thankfull for this remark and hope we can welcome you back in our hotel another time and exceed your expectations!

best regards,

Your Meininger Team

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the rooms and bathrooms in the rooms are clean

Disliked: there was a renovation works going on in the hostel, the top floor was covered with dirt from the works all the timethere were not enough sockets in the dorm, there are no bathrooms outside of the rooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest, thank you for your review. We apologise for the inconvenience of the refurbishment works - this is to create bigger bathroom space as well as sockets and lights for each bed. We hope that we create a nicer atmosphere and comfort and would be happy to welcome you again!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Clean, quiet.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the lovely review - we hope to see you again soon! Your Meininger Team!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The room is tidy & clean.It's a good stay if you prefer a simple accommodation.

Disliked: The toilet is quite small.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Meininger London Hyde Park. We are currently taking the time to refurbish the bathrooms which will see them become bigger in time for your next stay in London, should you choose to stay with us again.

We hope to see you soon,

The Meininger Team.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really like location of Meininger hotel, there are situated a several great museums and parks!You can rent a bicycle, special parking is opossite the hotel.And of course it's so close to London underground!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Meininger London Hyde Park. We really appreciate your comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in London.

We hope to see you soon!

The Meininger Team.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: I have to stay in London often, and this for me is the best hostel in the capital (I'm also aware that I will make getting a bed there at short notice harder by leaving this review :)) It's the only hostel I've stayed at that hasn't made me feel degraded in some way. The standards of hygiene are excellent and you somehow never feel the press of other people too much. You're also very aware of the standards of quality-control that belong to a chain ensure. It also feels 24-hour, which is a bonus - there's a lobby you can sit in, drinks machines etc. If you'd like to stay in a hotel but can only afford a hostel, this is the next best thing.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello there!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts after your stay at Meininger London.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed staying with us! It's great to read all your positive feedback about the cleanliness and so on.
We would love to welcome you back again in 2015!

Your Meininger team in London.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location is perfect!

Disliked: Really Small place to shower

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello there!

Thank you very much for writing a comment after your recent stay at Meininger London!

We are happy to hear that overall you had a good stay with us. We are just starting to renovate our bathrooms to improve comfort for our guests. As you can understand, this is quite a long process to get all the work done.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Your Meininger team in London.

Check Availability