We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank

Hostel | 121 Borough High Street, London, England SE1 1HR

85.8% Overall Rating

203 out of 241 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/06/2015)

"Incredibly cheap for central London. and breakfast include. basic but for the price great value"

Read all St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 26.53
  • Towel USD 7.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT NOTE: Please be aware that you must show a photo I.D when you arrive. We only accept Passports or a Driving License as I.D. Thank you for your co-operation. AGE OF 18 YEARS OF AGE must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed the bars or pubs. Thank you for your co-operation. Special Event Booking - London Olympics Please note this booking is being made during a special event in the city. Full prepayment will be made before arrival on the card you used to make the booking Any cancellations for bookings made for this period are non refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn-Village
20.13 USD

Hostel 86.6% 1028 reviews
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
10.92 USD

Hostel 71.1% 1466 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
18.57 USD

Hostel 82.2% 275 reviews
Restup London
18.73 USD

Hostel 84.9% 472 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
46.04 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Safestay
23.41 USD

Hostel 89.4% 251 reviews
YHA London St Paul's
34.33 USD

Hostel 82.7% 329 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
61.64 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.8%

Overall Rating

203 out of 241 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
88.0%
Value
82.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 157 of 198 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was fantastic

Disliked: Bathrooms could have been cleaned a little more regularly

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pub right under the hostel is great, nice staff, good food with nice discount and amazing live bands playing during our stay there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

michele fontefrancesco

Alone

Business / conference

11 June 2012 michele would recommend this property

Liked: its position in zone1 of the tube made my stay particularly easy -since i had to be in the very centre of london for work during this period in london. the price, moreover, has been great. to be able to spend 10 quid a night in london is sort of incredible

Disliked: noise. more than the busy streets around london bridge what i found really annoying is the rumbling sounds of the pub downstairs (owned by the hostel itself). in particular it was too loud the music from the pub that made to sleep very very difficult before midnight

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean, Helpful staff

Disliked: Very small washbasins

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Glover

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 May 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful. The location was perfect for my needs. The lockers in the rooms were very secure (cages on wheels located under each set of bunk beds), the water from the showers was consistently warm, the breakfast was fairly good (choice of 2 cereals, several types of bread for toast, several flavours of jam, an orange drink (not real orange juice) and instant coffee or tea. My room-mates were all courteous, and tried to be as quiet as possible as they came and went at different hours.

Disliked: Borough High Street is VERY busy. The first night, party-goers were loud and boisterous right up until 3 a.m. right underneath our street-facing window. The second night, the restaurant across the street decided to do all-night renovations; banging hammers, and making all kinds of noise throughout the entire night. I couldn't believe it. (Not really the hostel's fault, however)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, the heat and the safety, big lockers in the rooms

Disliked: There is no place to stay outside the rooms so it very unconfortable if your roomates are sleeping and you dont want to, no wifi in the roms just in the hall, reception one block from the hostel

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -----

Disliked: You couldn´t really get to know people! Too less showers and toilets Noisy lockers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very near Globe and other stuff. Underground and bus stop are very near. Very good prices!

Disliked: I didn't know you have to go to the Village to have breakfast (it is only a minute away, but still).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was extremely clean.

Disliked: London Bridge station is a bit far from everything. Had to change tube trains. The proprety doesn't have a kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Munshaw

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff who went out of their way to accomidate me - thanks you guys! :-)

Disliked: None.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Margot Möller

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Margot would recommend this property

Liked: I particularly liked the location. It's in just the right part of town, very close to the Tate Modern and a nice riverside walk away from the rest of the main sights. If I had had more time, I would've wondered around more in the Borough are Southwark area, I especially liked the Borough Market. The breakfast was also quite nice, a selection of cereal, toast with jam, coffee, tea, juice. I found it nice. The staff was helpful and nice, but at times they seemed to be carried away, distracted. They wanted to portray a very cool hip easygoing spirit, but seemed a bit careless instead.

Disliked: The room was quite small. In Eastern Europe I've stayed in a double room the same size for a lower price, but this one was for 8 people. Oh well. The whole experience was quite crammed, apart from the pub where they served breakfast, that was very nice. Also, the bathrooms were weird - I mean, two taps per sink, one for hot and one for cold water, but none for warm water? Really?

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beds, staff!!!!, location

Disliked: shower to small

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Esteban Etcheverry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2011 Esteban would recommend this property

Liked: Hay lugares para guardar de manera seguro los objetos personales. Es bastante organizado y los baños están casi siempre en buenas condiciones. La ubicación es muy buena.

Disliked: Un poco molesto el ruido del bar que está abajo, pero en general bien.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yi-Tai Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2011 Yi-Tai would recommend this property

Liked: save money

Disliked: seperaed houses

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast and they had an easy way of outchecking

Disliked: the noise of the people that were from the bar under us that stood down on the street for our room. since the windows were not very isolating we almost coujld hear their conversations. and the internet of the hostel was really slow.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its Central and Underground was Not to far

Disliked: Breakfast was just toast

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Peter Steffensen

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 October 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, good location just 5 minute walk from London Bridge Station and easy access to/from Liverpool Station, which makes travel to Stansted Airport easy (and as far as I could see, also from Heathrow and Gatwick (don't know about Luton))

Disliked: There's no cooking facilities, just a microwave owen... If you're a traveller on a budget, that might be something to consider (although you can get a decent meal from one of the many small cafés/restaurants for 3-4£ so not a big problem) Lot of noise from the downstairs pub.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the bar that was beside the hostel was really good to meet people

Disliked: the bathroom,, too small and not so clean

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place.

Disliked: I would like a kitchen to be perfect.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, clean and not too noisy.

Disliked: Unfortunately we shared room with people that had to get up in the middle of the night, so we did not get a full nights sleep during our stay, but that is just bad luck

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean linen, clean bathrooms, nice and helpful staff.

Disliked: noise from the bar below late at night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mitchell Durward

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 Mitchell would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. I arrived at 3am in the morning and the receptionist was really helpful at getting me checked in. The luggage lockers were cheap, and I could use them even though I'd only stayed there one night (I've been denied elsewhere because of this), The bed was quite comfortable, which I desperately needed after 21 hours of flying.

Disliked: Nothing. Wasn't there long enough to truly find out what the atmosphere was like.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Zoia Filipova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Zoia would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and helpful staff, possess all minimum needed for the daily comfort.

Disliked: everything was fine

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donna Hewish

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Donna would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere

Disliked: Nill


See all London hostels
See all London hotels