HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank

Hostel | 121 Borough High Street, London, England SE1 1HR

82.7% Overall Rating

197 out of 234 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

Marine Mahler thinks…

"I came to see the Carnival with some friends who live here and we all end up every night at the pub downstairs with the pub of people dancing. It was superb. The hostel was more than what I expect.…"

Read all St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 27.59
  • Towel USD 8.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT NOTE: Please be aware that you must show a photo I.D when you arrive. We only accept Passports or a Driving License as I.D. Thank you for your co-operation. AGE OF 18 YEARS OF AGE must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed the bars or pubs. Thank you for your co-operation. Special Event Booking - London Olympics Please note this booking is being made during a special event in the city. Full prepayment will be made before arrival on the card you used to make the booking Any cancellations for bookings made for this period are non refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn-Village
20.93 USD

Hostel 84.8% 1006 reviews
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
16.23 USD

Hostel 74.2% 1433 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
29.05 USD

Hostel 82.4% 262 reviews
Restup London
23.21 USD

Hostel 77.1% 408 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
68.97 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Safestay
38.95 USD

Hostel 88.0% 223 reviews
YHA London St Paul's
32.46 USD

Hostel 83.2% 324 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
80.33 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.8% 51 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

197 out of 234 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 154 of 191 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gregoire Oswald

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 November 2013 Gregoire would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent stay!

Disliked: Gregoire left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarra Glasing

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

07 November 2013 Sarra would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Really closed to the centre, great people, nice staff and a good pub downstairs.

Disliked: Nothing. Best hostel so far I have been

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Harriet Macdonald

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 October 2013

Liked: It is clean, you can appreciate while you lie awake in room1 and the walls are so thin if I yelled downstairs for a request I'm pretty sure they would hear.. If they can hear anything overtheir cranked up amps..

Disliked: 1:30 am and room 1 is front row seat to the wailing competition downstairs.. Tunes like "wish I was far away from here" man... In room1 we were singing along with that one!! The nice guy downstairs reasurred me that at 2am they closed so the gig would be over. But seriously for anyone like myself who are trying to sleep before a 5am start on set.. This is not the place for you. I will not come back unless I fancy a free gig in a lying position.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and friendly staff

Disliked: no possibility for earlier check-in

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Pena

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

16 September 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good, the closest hostel to London Bridge and at a fair price. The facilities are the newest I've seen in a hostel, with electronic card access to rooms and halls. There's wifi in the rooms! Something most hostels don't have. Overall, it looks like someone with money invested in this hostel with new and decently designed facilities/processes and expected profits in the long term with fair prices.

Disliked: The reception is on a different building (although only 2 min walk away), and they charge extra for use of lockers while waiting for the checkin.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2013

Liked: Spacious eight bed dorm.

Disliked: Reception is down the road at another location.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anton Salduskin

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 May 2013 Anton would recommend this property

Liked: Its location

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, good hostel, excellent location and good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION, WHEELED BOXES FOR LUGGAGE UNDER THE BEDS, VERY NICE BREAKFAST AREA AT PUB, WARM RADIATORS, WI FI ACCESS, CARD KEYS WORK WELL BETTER THAN CODES

Disliked: TINY AND BASIC BUT MANAGABLE SHOWERS, NOISE MAY BE AN ISSUE FOR SOME PEOPLE

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shaun Tetley

Alone

Business / conference

21 December 2012 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really helpful and quite quiet at night

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

09 December 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: that was the filthiest place i have ever seen.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, rooms very clean and showers were always hot and powerful

Disliked: Noise from the bar below was very loud and went on till late at night so didn't make for a great nights sleep.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy bed! Free breakfast buffet!

Disliked: Bathrooms weren't very clean.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The fact there was two pubs.

Disliked: The wifi in the room had a time limit.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El hostal es limpio y está bastante céntrico y bien comunicado (metro Borough y London Bridge a pocos pasos). Las habitaciones son muy grandes y hay mucho espacio.

Disliked: La recepción y todas las facilidades estan en el otro hostal (village) que esta a unos 50 metros de este hostal. No cuesta mucho ir hasta alla pero bueno... El staff no es todo lo amable que pudiera ser, necesitaba un teléfono para hacer una llamada urgente y el telefono público del hostal estaba estropeado, me mandó a hacer la llamada al cibercafé al final de la calle (su telefono funcionaba bien). Es un detalle tonto pero no me gustó.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 September 2012

Liked: There was a cinema room in the other location about five minutes walk and a microwave oven and kettle. Rooftop patio at the other location with views of the shard. Good pub entertainment.

Disliked: There was no kitchen. No air conditioning so the windows were open all night, which meant it was impossible to sleep because of the pub noise and the street noise. Fire alarm went off on the second night, and the staff insisted we all leave even when it stopped going off. This was about 4am. The fire brigade didnt show up so I assume it was some sort of drill at our expense. Maybe they wanted an excuse to go into the rooms. Or fancied someone and didnt know which room they were in. Or were covering up a mistake. The drinks in the pub downstairs were eye wateringly expensive, must be the olympics. Five pounds for a glass (not a pint) of Duvel.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

29 August 2012

Liked: The staff were awesome at helping me out. The bar was also great.

Disliked: The rooms were far, far too hot. Our entire room (not all in my group-people from all over the world) ended up just tossing, turning and talking all night because the room was so insanely hot. Also the hallways were far too tight to even fit a suitcase up, which was a big problem. The bathrooms were also very gross and the shower looked like it was not cleaned in a while.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012

Liked: There was wifi available in my room upstairs. Gret food and drink deals with the pub underneath. A decent breakfast served at the associated hostel slightly down the road.

Disliked: The room I stayed in was quite loud as it was directly over the pub, but that is almost par for the course. There appeared to be no kitchen. There was one small and cramped toilet/shower combo on my floor which got dirty quite quickly after several people used it. this is amongst 3 large dorms on this floor.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

FABIO MASSIMO BASSAN

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 July 2012 FABIO MASSIMO would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel st. cristopher inn is very good for youth, I like dhe location and the value for money.

Disliked: It's no enough clean and there's a lack of bathroom in each stair.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Bartolo Antonio Ballinas Escobar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012

Liked: Location was great

Disliked: no kitchen and not enough badroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

IVAN ROZAS GOMEZ

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 July 2012 IVAN would recommend this property

Liked: Location perfect, nice staff. Esti of the bar was very nice.

Disliked: Demasiado calor en los baños, y demasiadas pocas duchas, la única pega.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patryk Rzymyszkiewicz

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 June 2012 Patryk would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean.

Disliked: A bar downstairs makes it a bit noise out there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was fantastic

Disliked: Bathrooms could have been cleaned a little more regularly

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pub right under the hostel is great, nice staff, good food with nice discount and amazing live bands playing during our stay there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

michele fontefrancesco

Alone

Business / conference

11 June 2012 michele would recommend this property

Liked: its position in zone1 of the tube made my stay particularly easy -since i had to be in the very centre of london for work during this period in london. the price, moreover, has been great. to be able to spend 10 quid a night in london is sort of incredible

Disliked: noise. more than the busy streets around london bridge what i found really annoying is the rumbling sounds of the pub downstairs (owned by the hostel itself). in particular it was too loud the music from the pub that made to sleep very very difficult before midnight


See all London hostels
See all London hotels