HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank

Hostel | 121 Borough High Street, London, England SE1 1HR

86.9% Overall Rating

192 out of 227 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2014)

Jillian Spicer thinks…

"Good location, friendly staff, good food and drink deals at a few pubs. Close to the tubes and bus lines. Beds were decent, had a good nights sleep but you need ear plugs or the noise of the pub and…"

Read all St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 28.58
  • Towel USD 8.41

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT NOTE: Please be aware that you must show a photo I.D when you arrive. We only accept Passports or a Driving License as I.D. Thank you for your co-operation. AGE OF 18 YEARS OF AGE must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed the bars or pubs. Thank you for your co-operation. Special Event Booking - London Olympics Please note this booking is being made during a special event in the city. Full prepayment will be made before arrival on the card you used to make the booking Any cancellations for bookings made for this period are non refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn-Village
14.96 USD

Hostel 80.0% 963 reviews
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
16.80 USD

Hostel 84.8% 1396 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
16.64 USD

Hostel 82.7% 258 reviews
London Bridge Apartment
134.16 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Restup London
18.49 USD

Hostel 77.6% 318 reviews
Monument Street Serviced Apartment
98.60 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The Bridge Hotel
54.64 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Safestay
31.94 USD

Hostel 87.3% 205 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

192 out of 227 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 146 of 182 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION, WHEELED BOXES FOR LUGGAGE UNDER THE BEDS, VERY NICE BREAKFAST AREA AT PUB, WARM RADIATORS, WI FI ACCESS, CARD KEYS WORK WELL BETTER THAN CODES

Disliked: TINY AND BASIC BUT MANAGABLE SHOWERS, NOISE MAY BE AN ISSUE FOR SOME PEOPLE

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shaun Tetley

Alone

Business / conference

21 December 2012 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really helpful and quite quiet at night

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

09 December 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: that was the filthiest place i have ever seen.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, rooms very clean and showers were always hot and powerful

Disliked: Noise from the bar below was very loud and went on till late at night so didn't make for a great nights sleep.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy bed! Free breakfast buffet!

Disliked: Bathrooms weren't very clean.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The fact there was two pubs.

Disliked: The wifi in the room had a time limit.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El hostal es limpio y está bastante céntrico y bien comunicado (metro Borough y London Bridge a pocos pasos). Las habitaciones son muy grandes y hay mucho espacio.

Disliked: La recepción y todas las facilidades estan en el otro hostal (village) que esta a unos 50 metros de este hostal. No cuesta mucho ir hasta alla pero bueno... El staff no es todo lo amable que pudiera ser, necesitaba un teléfono para hacer una llamada urgente y el telefono público del hostal estaba estropeado, me mandó a hacer la llamada al cibercafé al final de la calle (su telefono funcionaba bien). Es un detalle tonto pero no me gustó.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 September 2012

Liked: There was a cinema room in the other location about five minutes walk and a microwave oven and kettle. Rooftop patio at the other location with views of the shard. Good pub entertainment.

Disliked: There was no kitchen. No air conditioning so the windows were open all night, which meant it was impossible to sleep because of the pub noise and the street noise. Fire alarm went off on the second night, and the staff insisted we all leave even when it stopped going off. This was about 4am. The fire brigade didnt show up so I assume it was some sort of drill at our expense. Maybe they wanted an excuse to go into the rooms. Or fancied someone and didnt know which room they were in. Or were covering up a mistake. The drinks in the pub downstairs were eye wateringly expensive, must be the olympics. Five pounds for a glass (not a pint) of Duvel.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

29 August 2012

Liked: The staff were awesome at helping me out. The bar was also great.

Disliked: The rooms were far, far too hot. Our entire room (not all in my group-people from all over the world) ended up just tossing, turning and talking all night because the room was so insanely hot. Also the hallways were far too tight to even fit a suitcase up, which was a big problem. The bathrooms were also very gross and the shower looked like it was not cleaned in a while.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012

Liked: There was wifi available in my room upstairs. Gret food and drink deals with the pub underneath. A decent breakfast served at the associated hostel slightly down the road.

Disliked: The room I stayed in was quite loud as it was directly over the pub, but that is almost par for the course. There appeared to be no kitchen. There was one small and cramped toilet/shower combo on my floor which got dirty quite quickly after several people used it. this is amongst 3 large dorms on this floor.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

FABIO MASSIMO BASSAN

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 July 2012 FABIO MASSIMO would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel st. cristopher inn is very good for youth, I like dhe location and the value for money.

Disliked: It's no enough clean and there's a lack of bathroom in each stair.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Bartolo Antonio Ballinas Escobar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012

Liked: Location was great

Disliked: no kitchen and not enough badroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

IVAN ROZAS GOMEZ

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 July 2012 IVAN would recommend this property

Liked: Location perfect, nice staff. Esti of the bar was very nice.

Disliked: Demasiado calor en los baños, y demasiadas pocas duchas, la única pega.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patryk Rzymyszkiewicz

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 June 2012 Patryk would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean.

Disliked: A bar downstairs makes it a bit noise out there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was fantastic

Disliked: Bathrooms could have been cleaned a little more regularly

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pub right under the hostel is great, nice staff, good food with nice discount and amazing live bands playing during our stay there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

michele fontefrancesco

Alone

Business / conference

11 June 2012 michele would recommend this property

Liked: its position in zone1 of the tube made my stay particularly easy -since i had to be in the very centre of london for work during this period in london. the price, moreover, has been great. to be able to spend 10 quid a night in london is sort of incredible

Disliked: noise. more than the busy streets around london bridge what i found really annoying is the rumbling sounds of the pub downstairs (owned by the hostel itself). in particular it was too loud the music from the pub that made to sleep very very difficult before midnight

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean, Helpful staff

Disliked: Very small washbasins

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Glover

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 May 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful. The location was perfect for my needs. The lockers in the rooms were very secure (cages on wheels located under each set of bunk beds), the water from the showers was consistently warm, the breakfast was fairly good (choice of 2 cereals, several types of bread for toast, several flavours of jam, an orange drink (not real orange juice) and instant coffee or tea. My room-mates were all courteous, and tried to be as quiet as possible as they came and went at different hours.

Disliked: Borough High Street is VERY busy. The first night, party-goers were loud and boisterous right up until 3 a.m. right underneath our street-facing window. The second night, the restaurant across the street decided to do all-night renovations; banging hammers, and making all kinds of noise throughout the entire night. I couldn't believe it. (Not really the hostel's fault, however)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, the heat and the safety, big lockers in the rooms

Disliked: There is no place to stay outside the rooms so it very unconfortable if your roomates are sleeping and you dont want to, no wifi in the roms just in the hall, reception one block from the hostel

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -----

Disliked: You couldn´t really get to know people! Too less showers and toilets Noisy lockers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very near Globe and other stuff. Underground and bus stop are very near. Very good prices!

Disliked: I didn't know you have to go to the Village to have breakfast (it is only a minute away, but still).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was extremely clean.

Disliked: London Bridge station is a bit far from everything. Had to change tube trains. The proprety doesn't have a kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Munshaw

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff who went out of their way to accomidate me - thanks you guys! :-)

Disliked: None.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Margot Möller

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Margot would recommend this property

Liked: I particularly liked the location. It's in just the right part of town, very close to the Tate Modern and a nice riverside walk away from the rest of the main sights. If I had had more time, I would've wondered around more in the Borough are Southwark area, I especially liked the Borough Market. The breakfast was also quite nice, a selection of cereal, toast with jam, coffee, tea, juice. I found it nice. The staff was helpful and nice, but at times they seemed to be carried away, distracted. They wanted to portray a very cool hip easygoing spirit, but seemed a bit careless instead.

Disliked: The room was quite small. In Eastern Europe I've stayed in a double room the same size for a lower price, but this one was for 8 people. Oh well. The whole experience was quite crammed, apart from the pub where they served breakfast, that was very nice. Also, the bathrooms were weird - I mean, two taps per sink, one for hot and one for cold water, but none for warm water? Really?


See all London hostels
See all London hotels