We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn - Greenwich

Hostel | 189 Greenwich High Road, London, England SE10 8JA

72.8% Overall Rating

224 out of 277 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/08/2014)

"The Hostel conditions is very safety. The room is clean. The personnel is very helpful and friendly, everybody smile. Especially I distinguish one girl named Kayla. Shy works very hard, like a little bee and emits a…"

Read all St. Christopher's Inn - Greenwich reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.14

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Important note: Special Event Booking - London Olympics Please note this booking is being made during a special event in the city. Full prepayment will be made before arrival on the card you used to make the booking Any cancellations for bookings made for this period are non refundable. Please be aware that you must show a photo I.D when you arrive. We only accept Passports or a Driving License as I.D. Guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Fewer than 18s are not allowed the bars or pubs.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Venture Hostel
14.64 USD

Hostel 72.0% 220 reviews
FRESH @ The Great Eastern, Docklands
14.64 USD

Hostel 80.0% 402 reviews
New Cross Inn Hostel
22.80 USD

Hostel 72.1% 648 reviews
Goddis Lodge
36.64 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 55.8% 11 reviews
YHA London Thameside
24.43 USD

Hostel 80.1% 177 reviews
The Antigallican Hotel
22.80 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.3% 171 reviews
Mortham Cottage
50.81 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Peckham Lodge
32.03 USD

Guesthouse 73.9% 170 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.8%

Overall Rating

224 out of 277 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn - Greenwich'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
75.2%
Value
74.4%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 201 of 223 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel conditions is very safety. The room is clean. The personnel is very helpful and friendly, everybody smile. Especially I distinguish one girl named Kayla. Shy works very hard, like a little bee and emits a positive energy all the time. Good choice to anybody. Thank you guys.

Disliked: -

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leadie Flowers

Alone

Business / conference

18 August 2014 Leadie would recommend this property

Liked: The room I was in was very up to date with a light and outlet at each bed.

Disliked: The room I was in was right over the bar and noisy. But they did state there was a bar and I had earplugs to counter the possibility.

The property's response is...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Phillip Boyack

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014

Liked: Good value, very easy to find once you have a zone 2 oyster card. The manager checked me in and was very welcoming, almost to the point where I wondered what was going on.

Disliked: For some reason in the UK they don't put temperature control on the showers, and this is no exception. Temperature was erratic at best, painfully hot at worst. There's no guest kitchen either, just a microwave and a kettle in the dingy basement common room. They don't advertise one, but I always expect one anyway so this was a disappointment.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sina Booth

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 Sina would recommend this property

Liked: Nice pub, Belushis, down stairs. Close to supermarkets. Affordable. Train station is right there. Decent breakfast.

Disliked: Our room was really hot, especially at night. There was a window and a plug in fan but it didn't help.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesca Dobing

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 June 2014 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good amenities in rooms - all beds had individual lights and plug sockets including usb outlets. Also there was plenty of space in the lockable compartments under the beds. Good value for money too.

Disliked: The only common area was a small, basement room. There was no kitchen, it had a kettle and microwave, but no sink or fridge. It was a little noisy as the rooms are directly over a pub, but it's not too bad, especially if you have earplugs.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michelle Stanley

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 June 2014

Liked: Great location at a good price - it is a little far from the city, but easy connections and for the price, worth it. Once you get a zone 1-3 travel card you are sorted! The bar was good, decent prices and good atmosphere, and everything was quite clean.

Disliked: Our room was so hot both in the night and all day, it was totally unbearable. We couldn't sleep past 6am because it was just awful. A few people complained who weren't in our room, so I guess it is a common problem. I understand London doesn't always hit +25 degrees in a day, but it needs to be fixed before I would ever stay there again!!

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

18 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Smoking area at the back with table and chairs

Disliked: Very noisy bar, staff is rude and not helpful. Dishonest: Your receive an email saying you will receive 10% off your next booking if you check in online. After checking in online you receive a new email with only 5% discount and ONLY if you book on their own website.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Farryn Crawford

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 March 2014 Farryn would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing if you were looking to stay in Greenwich, the price was also fantastic for London. Breakfast was good although i was leaving just after 7am and the breakfast started then and had to wait to get let into pub to grab some quickly which was slightly inconvenient! Love that its above a pub would def stay here if on a party weekend. great plugs and lights next to bed

Disliked: would be nice to have lockers with locks on them as i didn't have my own. there was mildew marks on the roof. pub noise can be a little annoying if you want to sleep before 12pm/1am. showers were awkward, nice but small box area and door for cubical is close to shower so makes hard work of getting yourself in there and organized. nowhere to put clothes etc in the bathroom while you use the sink and mirror.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michal Kus

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 January 2014 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: hostel is kept clean, good breakfast, helpfull staff, great location in Greenwich next to the train station

Disliked: more electric sockets in the room

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean and safe. The beds are very comfy & the under bed cae lockers are excellent. The room card swipe cards are also good.

Disliked: When I arrived I was told that I had to pay the full amount and was told that Hostel Bookers are not taken my booking payment, and they never do. I had to show them the booking confirmation to prove this. When I stayed before in October & November they had the right amount.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Eleanor Wood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2013 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really good - very helpful and friendly

Disliked: Eleanor left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

03 December 2013

Liked: Price

Disliked: Toilet smell downstairs in the pub. We stayed in a shared 6 bed dorm. There was fungus on the wall. There was no chair nor table in the room. Not even a single hanger. Just 2 showers per floor, not ventilated, smelling, dirty, fungus... and not any place for your towel or clothes. All the plates, glasses and cutlery- if they were available-were super dirty.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for the money and in a calm but accessible area.

Disliked: Shower temperature couldn't be regulated (only very very hot water available).

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very kind and accommodating to problems with our room such as people in the wrong beds causing the sheets to need to be changed upon request three times in our two night stay and our key cards becoming partially deactivated for no apparent reason.

Disliked: I did not appreciate the loud music that made it nearly impossible to fall asleep until long after two in the morning. I also felt that because there is no kitchen offered the food service should stay open later to accommodate the guests.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Handy to train station and tourist attractions in the Greenwich area. Good bar downstairs and god value for money

Disliked: Showers aren't very hot

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The proximity to Greenwich station. The local area of Greenwich is lovely to visit, with museums, parks, supermarkets, post office, bank and library. It is not as close to central London as one could imagine, travel time all depends on the frequency of the trains to London. It is what is to be expected for the price of the hostel.

Disliked: No wi-fi in bedrooms. Wi-fi was only available in the pub on the ground level. Rooms were too hot in summer. There is no air-conditioning, and the air was very stuffy, made it difficult to sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

27 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: By far, the BEST hostel I have ever stayed in in London, and for sure, I've stayed in some horrendous ones! Rooms are not overcrowded with 4-storey bunks, bedding is clean and comfy, staff are GREAT. I don't usually bother with reviews, but this place is so good, and economical, that I just had to tell the world! Oh, and food is fantastic too!

Disliked: Um, struggling to find any negativities, but I guess the only grumble would be them10am checkout - just far toooooo early for this night owl!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Emily Sinadinos

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013

Liked: Not much. It's right next to the rail station, which is nice.

Disliked: Terrible wifi, terrible showers (crazy temperatures), kitchen closes early for a hostel (9PM) and bar closes at midnight. This wouldn't be a problem if wifi worked in the rooms and if there were more than 2 electrical outlets in an 8 bed room. Staff were not friendly. They seemed annoyed with us every time we tried to talk to them or order something from the bar.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Nice location: food, stores, parks, etc all within walking distance. - Food which ins't cheap, but very tasty. You receive discount vouchers! - Surprisingly cleaner than expected. (Some reviews here are too harsh!) - The rooms are above a bar, which means good atmosphere.

Disliked: - The rooms are above a bar, you can ask for earplugs. It can get noisy until late. (Not a problem for me) - No kitchen.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ogugua anowi

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa

03 April 2013 ogugua would recommend this property

Liked: coolness

Disliked: ogugua left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location (very close to DLR), price, pub downstairs.

Disliked: Crowdy bathrooms, smell of the rooms, one staff member.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lucy Fletcher

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2013 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: The chill out room

Disliked: Loud music until 2am

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: interesting hostel,good bunch of people,nice location,friendly staff

Disliked: no kitchen facilities,only a kettle for coffee and tea

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rates and location very close to underground

Disliked: There was no heat overnight and the sheets were quite worn out

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, fun bustling atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels