HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn - Greenwich

Hostel | 189 Greenwich High Road, London, England SE10 8JA

73.4% Overall Rating

219 out of 270 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/03/2014)

Farryn Crawford thinks…

"The location was amazing if you were looking to stay in Greenwich, the price was also fantastic for London. Breakfast was good although i was leaving just after 7am and the breakfast started then and…"

Read all St. Christopher's Inn - Greenwich reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.36

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Important note: Special Event Booking - London Olympics Please note this booking is being made during a special event in the city. Full prepayment will be made before arrival on the card you used to make the booking Any cancellations for bookings made for this period are non refundable. Please be aware that you must show a photo I.D when you arrive. We only accept Passports or a Driving License as I.D. Guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Fewer than 18s are not allowed the bars or pubs.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Journeys Greenwich West Hostel
16.50 USD

Hostel 70.5% 197 reviews
FRESH @ The Great Eastern, Docklands
15.03 USD

Hostel 82.9% 365 reviews
Lanterns Court Apartment
56.43 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
New Cross Inn Hostel
20.06 USD

Hostel 68.3% 643 reviews
Seacon Tower Apartment
83.60 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Discovery Dock Apartment
58.10 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Goddis Lodge
37.62 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 56.7% 7 reviews
YHA London Thameside
21.74 USD

Hostel 82.4% 170 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.4%

Overall Rating

219 out of 270 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn - Greenwich'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
78.4%
Value
75.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 194 of 216 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Farryn Crawford

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 March 2014 Farryn would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing if you were looking to stay in Greenwich, the price was also fantastic for London. Breakfast was good although i was leaving just after 7am and the breakfast started then and had to wait to get let into pub to grab some quickly which was slightly inconvenient! Love that its above a pub would def stay here if on a party weekend. great plugs and lights next to bed

Disliked: would be nice to have lockers with locks on them as i didn't have my own. there was mildew marks on the roof. pub noise can be a little annoying if you want to sleep before 12pm/1am. showers were awkward, nice but small box area and door for cubical is close to shower so makes hard work of getting yourself in there and organized. nowhere to put clothes etc in the bathroom while you use the sink and mirror.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michal Kus

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 January 2014 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: hostel is kept clean, good breakfast, helpfull staff, great location in Greenwich next to the train station

Disliked: more electric sockets in the room

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean and safe. The beds are very comfy & the under bed cae lockers are excellent. The room card swipe cards are also good.

Disliked: When I arrived I was told that I had to pay the full amount and was told that Hostel Bookers are not taken my booking payment, and they never do. I had to show them the booking confirmation to prove this. When I stayed before in October & November they had the right amount.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Eleanor Wood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2013 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really good - very helpful and friendly

Disliked: Eleanor left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

03 December 2013

Liked: Price

Disliked: Toilet smell downstairs in the pub. We stayed in a shared 6 bed dorm. There was fungus on the wall. There was no chair nor table in the room. Not even a single hanger. Just 2 showers per floor, not ventilated, smelling, dirty, fungus... and not any place for your towel or clothes. All the plates, glasses and cutlery- if they were available-were super dirty.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for the money and in a calm but accessible area.

Disliked: Shower temperature couldn't be regulated (only very very hot water available).

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very kind and accommodating to problems with our room such as people in the wrong beds causing the sheets to need to be changed upon request three times in our two night stay and our key cards becoming partially deactivated for no apparent reason.

Disliked: I did not appreciate the loud music that made it nearly impossible to fall asleep until long after two in the morning. I also felt that because there is no kitchen offered the food service should stay open later to accommodate the guests.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Handy to train station and tourist attractions in the Greenwich area. Good bar downstairs and god value for money

Disliked: Showers aren't very hot

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The proximity to Greenwich station. The local area of Greenwich is lovely to visit, with museums, parks, supermarkets, post office, bank and library. It is not as close to central London as one could imagine, travel time all depends on the frequency of the trains to London. It is what is to be expected for the price of the hostel.

Disliked: No wi-fi in bedrooms. Wi-fi was only available in the pub on the ground level. Rooms were too hot in summer. There is no air-conditioning, and the air was very stuffy, made it difficult to sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

27 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: By far, the BEST hostel I have ever stayed in in London, and for sure, I've stayed in some horrendous ones! Rooms are not overcrowded with 4-storey bunks, bedding is clean and comfy, staff are GREAT. I don't usually bother with reviews, but this place is so good, and economical, that I just had to tell the world! Oh, and food is fantastic too!

Disliked: Um, struggling to find any negativities, but I guess the only grumble would be them10am checkout - just far toooooo early for this night owl!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Emily Sinadinos

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013

Liked: Not much. It's right next to the rail station, which is nice.

Disliked: Terrible wifi, terrible showers (crazy temperatures), kitchen closes early for a hostel (9PM) and bar closes at midnight. This wouldn't be a problem if wifi worked in the rooms and if there were more than 2 electrical outlets in an 8 bed room. Staff were not friendly. They seemed annoyed with us every time we tried to talk to them or order something from the bar.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Nice location: food, stores, parks, etc all within walking distance. - Food which ins't cheap, but very tasty. You receive discount vouchers! - Surprisingly cleaner than expected. (Some reviews here are too harsh!) - The rooms are above a bar, which means good atmosphere.

Disliked: - The rooms are above a bar, you can ask for earplugs. It can get noisy until late. (Not a problem for me) - No kitchen.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ogugua anowi

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa

03 April 2013 ogugua would recommend this property

Liked: coolness

Disliked: ogugua left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location (very close to DLR), price, pub downstairs.

Disliked: Crowdy bathrooms, smell of the rooms, one staff member.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lucy Fletcher

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2013 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: The chill out room

Disliked: Loud music until 2am

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: interesting hostel,good bunch of people,nice location,friendly staff

Disliked: no kitchen facilities,only a kettle for coffee and tea

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rates and location very close to underground

Disliked: There was no heat overnight and the sheets were quite worn out

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, fun bustling atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and discount offers in the pub under the hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

tayseer abdallah

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2012 tayseer would recommend this property

Liked: stuff are good..great location.. fair bar offers

Disliked: showers and toilets are not very clean..breakfast is very simple..no microwave or fridge.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

02 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location in Greenwich, next to the train station and walking distance to the sites of Greenwich.

Disliked: Facilities were good but not like the rest of the st Christopher's inns I've stayed in (ie beds with curtains, personal lights and power points).

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2012

Liked: Almost nothing.

Disliked: The hostel is very dirty! They barely ever clean the bathrooms. In the room they normally do not clean the beds until they are requested to. So for example they allocated me one of the beds in the 8 dorm room and when I got there it looked like being used so I had to call them to clean it. And that happened to some other people that checked in following days. If you need to leave luggage before check-in or after check-out they only have paid for lockers! All other hostels offer this service for free. The showers are very bad, you need to press a button to get the water running and after that the water runs for only 10 seconds and first 4 seconds is quite cold, only last couple of seconds is warm. Then you have to repeat same process and the temperature will vary in same manner, so it's quite painful having a shower. The bunk beds are not sturdy, if the person above/below moves a bit the whole bed shakes quite a lot (I found other places at same price in London which have much better bunk beds). I don't feel it's particularly safe either - for example somebody in my dorm lost their locker (which is like a cage under the bed) key and asked a member of the staff to break the lock. The staff did that without even checking with other people that the things in the locker really belonged to the guy asking this... this is quite concerning I think. The location is not so great, unless you really want to stay in Greenwich, otherwise is quite far from central London.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Calleja

Alone

Business / conference
City break

17 October 2012 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: staff very friendly and helpfull. cheap and central location

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Funny atmosphere and a cool bar downstairs!

Disliked: Not that clean.. with so many people living there, cleaning the toilets sometimes not even once a day it's definitely not enough.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Katherine Ashdown

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2012

Liked: The location was great for transport, very close to Greenwich DLR - good for us as we had a nice early start and had to get out to London City Airport. Also like having the bar with meals downstairs - even though we personally didn't get to take advantage of it. Having the lockers under the beds was good for storage, you need to bring your own locks of course. Breakfast is available in the bar from 7am.

Disliked: Didn't really have the chance to dislike much - we were really only there to sleep, we got there late and got up early. The only thing that I thought may have been an issue was the website does advertise 24hr reception - when we checked in I asked the guy at the front desk and was told it wasn't manned 24hrs but could just leave the room key in the box, you just don't get the GBP1.00 deposit back - no biggie, as when we left there at 6am there was a guy there anyway.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels