We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn - Camden

Hostel | 48-50 Camden High Street, London, England NW1 OLT

83.4% Overall Rating

209 out of 251 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/03/2015)

"Good value, informal, designed for travellers in mind, helpful staff, nice ramshackle decor but in a clean and well maintained way."

Read all St. Christopher's Inn - Camden reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 7.47

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT NOTE: Please be aware that you must show a photo I.D when you arrive. We only accept Passports or a Driving License as I.D. Special Event Booking - London Olympics Please note this booking is being made during a special event in the city. Full prepayment will be made before arrival on the card you used to make the booking Any cancellations for bookings made for this period are non refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Access Camden
40.61 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Goldsmiths House
37.34 USD

Hostel 78.6% 248 reviews
PubLove @ The Exmouth Arms, Euston
22.40 USD

Hostel 89.5% 3 reviews
Access Euston
33.60 USD

Apartment 81.3% 18 reviews
Stay in Camden
26.14 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
YHA London Central
26.15 USD

Hostel 85.8% 884 reviews
New Market House
49.78 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.6% 3 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
26.88 USD

Hostel 86.5% 472 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.4%

Overall Rating

209 out of 251 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn - Camden'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
82.4%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 153 of 213 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

20 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed is comfort .staff is friendly.

Disliked: Tha basin in the bathroom too small. Bar music is good but for first floor room are little loud !

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value, informal, designed for travellers in mind, helpful staff, nice ramshackle decor but in a clean and well maintained way.

Disliked: If you want to actually sleep during your stay, avoid booking a room for Friday or Saturday nights. The nightclub below the rooms is extremely loud and makes the whole building thump and vibrate with heavy bass music til 2am. Sunday to Thursday is fine though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alex Wright

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2015 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff and a great pub under hostel popular with the fine people of London. Had a good amountof fun.

Disliked: a little loud due to being atop a bar but very forgiveable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just awesome! Would have loved to stay much longer... Best greetings to the lovely staff members!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent, and the atmosphere was really nice and friendly. Hostel room was also very nice with toilet and shower ensuite.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Friebel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great. Very close to all the pubs and markets. I loved Camden. It's also close to the tube station. It was very cheap as well, and there was a lot of space in the room to put your luggage.

Disliked: When I had to check out at 6am to catch a flight, there was no one at the reception even if I told them about my flight the night before and it was supposed to have a 24hour reception.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chill out room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 March 2014

Liked: The only plus points were friendly staff and it had a nice bar!

Disliked: Booked a 6 bed private dorm they tried to separate us into 2 shared dorms! After an hour of negotiations the problem was finally resolved (not the welcome we expected). Key cards would not work despite changing them 3 time’s, showers were cold no matter what time of the day we tried….

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felix Mara

Alone

Business / conference

07 March 2014 Felix would recommend this property

Liked: Generous spaces Good facilities Clean

Disliked: Felix left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Craig Costine

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

05 March 2014 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location and a nice bar downstairs

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chill-out-room, bar

Disliked: Shower

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mahdis Kamali

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Absolutely horrible in every way. We booked to stay at St. Christopher's Inn Camden location from Friday February 14th to Monday February 17th. The booking was made for four of us on Friday night and we made a separate booking for Saturday and Sunday night for six of us. This was done to ensure our beds would be together, on the same booking. We were wrong. When we arrived on Friday morning, we were told that the booking for Friday night was for one person (despite paying 101 pounds). After looking a little further, the receptionist was able to find that it was four people. Even though we had paid extra and booked all the beds together, we were told that they absolutely cannot accommodate the four of us in one room and instead we would be split up 3 and 1 for Friday night and 5 and 1 for Saturday and Sunday night. Without any attempts to fix this, the receptionist was convinced that this is the only we would be able to stay there. At this point we asked for a manager. The manager told us that she will work on the room situation and that she will try her best to accommodate us all in one room. It's hard to understand why this wasn't planned in advance, especially since their website showed 4 beds available in one room for Friday night and 6 for Saturday and Sunday. This was the main reason we stayed at the Camden location. If we wanted to be split up, we would have stayed in a location closer to the city and a lot cheaper. While we were waiting for the manager to sort things out, we decided to have breakfast at the hostel's pub, Belushi's. Two of our friends ordered Eggs Florentine. After waiting for our food for 25 minutes, the manager informs us that the 'chef' does not know how to make poached eggs and they have to switch their order. There were about six breakfast items on the menu and the chef could not even make at least two of them. An hour later when we finally received our breakfast, the manager comes back and lets us know that she was able to fit the four of us in one room for the Friday night but the six of us would be split up for Saturday and Sunday, 3 and 3. This was still unacceptable but a step up from the 5 and 1 that the receptionist claimed was the only solution. Finally we were able to check into our room. Aside from the fact that the room smelled disgusting, completely filthy and over crowded, there was only one cage available for the four of us with three clean beds. It turns out that the chef was staying in this room and they had asked him to switch rooms for the night to fit the four of us in there. Again, not sure why this wasn't planned in advance. The chef was asked to switch rooms, but all of his belongings stayed. We had to go back downstairs and ask for one of the beds to be cleaned and the four of us had to share one cage. Not wanting to sit in the filth of the room, we left for the day. Our two friends joined us on Saturday under a new reservation. Apparently it was too complicated for the hostel to check if at least three of us will stay in the same room, so we were forced to check out, pay for a locker to keep our belongings, and come back at 2 pm to check in. Ridiculous. When we arrived we found that indeed, 3 of us are staying in the same room and the other 3 will be in another room. The manager apologized for this mess up but did not offer any type of compensation for us having to pay more to ensure our beds are together and the major inconvenience. After having to ask, she offered free breakfast for the next two mornings. Needless to say, I will not be staying at any location of St. Christopher's and will certainly never recommend it to anyone else.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 January 2014

Liked: Friendly staff, ok location

Disliked: The room was way to hot and it was not possible to turn the temperature down. The rooms were cramped and the showers dirty

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in the female 6 bed room. Hairdryers provided. Everything was clean. Perfect atmosphere to meet other travelers or for party in bar downstairs. Cheap food. Great location, 15 min walk to oxford st.

Disliked: I actually don't prefer the shower, sink , toilet in the room. It's hard if your dorm mates are still sleeping to be brushing your teeth or blow drying your hair right in front of them. However there's private sink + toilet 1 floor down. Common room was way too small : 1 small couch, 2 high bar type tables\stools. No wifi on 3rd floor.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Few lockers available outside dorms; had to use a very small one and belongings barely fit.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michal Lewandowski

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: 25% discount for excellent food in bar

Disliked: tiny shower with a bit cold water

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sick location! Loved the staff... Everyone was so friendly, best Xmas ever!! Shout out to bean, Dayan, Amber, Raymond and Jessie! Much love!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Phil MacDonald

Alone

City break

28 October 2013 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: Nice breakfast, secure,

Disliked: Creaky open bunk-beds

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, even at 1:30 in the night when we arrived. free linen, free wifi. nice pub downstairs

Disliked: included breakfast only from 7 to 9

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Kelly Van Os

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Laundry was disgusting, two washing machines were out of order and the laundry looked like it had not been cleaned in months

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, friendly staff

Disliked: breakfast could be improved a little

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: absolutely nice people there, the quarter is probably ther best in london, very symphatic music bar, comfortable beds.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, near to tube and Camden centre.

Disliked: No guest kitchen. Have to pay for lockers.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013

Liked: Good location with fine facilities.

Disliked: Staff is always busy handling orders from the pub and hardly answers the questions made. Some of them are not informed how the booking on Hostelbookers work and charged the reservation again.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels