We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn - Camden

Hostel | 48-50 Camden High Street, London, England NW1 OLT

86.2% Overall Rating

214 out of 258 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/08/2015)

Katherine Muzyka thinks…

"Super friendly staff, although you need your key card to get in at night through the bar and the bouncer was a bit of a jerk when ut took me a while to find my card in my purse. Everyone else was…"

Read all St. Christopher's Inn - Camden reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 7.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT NOTE: Please be aware that you must show a photo I.D when you arrive. We only accept Passports or a Driving License as I.D. Special Event Booking - London Olympics Please note this booking is being made during a special event in the city. Full prepayment will be made before arrival on the card you used to make the booking Any cancellations for bookings made for this period are non refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Smart Camden Inn Hostel
16.14 USD

Hostel 72.3% 1100 reviews
Access Camden
42.70 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Goldsmiths House
38.47 USD

Hostel 78.6% 248 reviews
PubLove @ The Exmouth Arms, Euston
19.99 USD

Hostel 82.5% 17 reviews
Access Euston
34.81 USD

Apartment 81.3% 18 reviews
Stay in Camden
40.78 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
YHA London Central
23.77 USD

Hostel 86.1% 892 reviews
New Market House
38.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.6% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.2%

Overall Rating

214 out of 258 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn - Camden'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
92.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 159 of 219 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Elina Veistonen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2011 Elina would recommend this property

Liked: Staff members were friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was nice and relaxed.

Disliked: Breakfast could have been better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

19 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was exellent, hostel was clean and staff were friendly. We sayed in a 6 person ensuite dorm and the room was also nice an spacious.

Disliked: The fire alarm went on one night and no one came to give us an information about it, not during the alarm or afterwards.It was little bit weird cause we didn't know should we go outside or stay in or what is happening. I went to a corridor to see what's going on and is the alarm serious business or not. I saw a guy there, but he didn't say anything to me, even though he was a member of a staff, which i noticed later on.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location close to a lot of bars and clubs. The hostels' bar is an ideal place to start your night out.

Disliked: The bathroom needed a serious cleaning but we could take a hot shower so that was alright. There was a lot of noise outside at night but we were warned about that so if you bring earplugs you should be fine. It's sad though that some guests do not respect the other guests sleep by walking in at 4 in the morning making a lot of noise and waking everybody up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredibly nice and helpful, and the room was nice and cosy.

Disliked: It was really cold from time to times, because the heating seemed to be off. But since I stayed in a 10-bed dorm, it got warmer as it began to fill up with more people. So it wasn't that much of a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefanie Prossinger

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

10 November 2011 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: The St. Christopher's Inn Camden is definitely one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Clean, spacious rooms, excellent location and amazing bar. More importantly though it's got a great vibe to it, a friendly and relaxed atmosphere and the most awesome staff ever. Thanx a million to the two Toms and Nick, u guys rock! I'll be back for sure and hopefully see some of you guys in Bad Gastein this winter ;-) Cheers, Steff

Disliked: Nothing, we had an absolutely wonderful stay!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar is awsome and the rooms have big bathrooms.

Disliked: No hot milk for breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roser Gomez

Alone

Partying / nightlife

03 October 2011 Roser would recommend this property

Liked: The price is ideal for young people that travel just for the weekend. The location is perfect, near Camden Town and Mornington Crescent Stations.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and Camden market is just down the street!

Disliked: one of the guys that worked there booked us a mini cab which is bad!!! When the main guy that runs it found out he was shocked and quickly booked us a "real" taxi

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very warm, friendly staff. The bar is pretty great for a hostel bar. The washing facilities were great, but the chillout room had a DVD player with only (scratched up & bootlegged) horror movies. As far as entertainment, there is plenty around the area for the younger 20-30 crowd. Take a right out of the door and Camden Station is at the fork. Left side of the fork is Camden Lock, Camden Lock Market, and it is generally a fun area to be around for the working class people, alternatives, and non-stuffy people in general. Bars are scattered everywhere.

Disliked: If your room is on the lower floors, you can hear the dance music playing in the bar downstairs.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Personell is extremely nice. The bar is very nice.

Disliked: The hostel is above the bar. Thus, it is loud (music till two in the night, very noisy clientele). If you´re seeking party holidays, then this is fine. If you want to explore London, and fancy an early sleep at nights then you´ll face difficulties. I guess with Oropax, one would be able to get some sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything, it was a great hostel in a great town.

Disliked: nothing at all.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to station and underground

Disliked: Need to sort out to problem with the entry card and couldn't tell if the place got cleaned up on a regular basis.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tamara penovi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 tamara would recommend this property

Liked: All what they say in their description is true. The Inn has a great atmosphere, rooms are clean and it's always nice just to go downstairs to hang out at the Belushi's bar or to stay in the chill out room.The staff is really friendly and helpful and the Inn is great. Breakfast is really nice too. Good electronic lockers for luggage in the Chill out room are a Plus. Hint: There are a lot of really cheap supermarkets and dinners right next to the Inn where you can buy pretty much anything, even if you have a really low budget.

Disliked: Nothing.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar, good rooms, helpfull staff, near the tube station.

Disliked: It's impossible to connect the wifi in the room, there isn't computers for guests to use. The hostel is far from the main atractions of the city and you need to take the underground to go everywhere.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its located in the downtown with an easy access of 2 underground stations, alot of pubs/bars just on walking distance. Location is perfect. But not the condition of rooms and especially toilets.

Disliked: Toilets, small sinks without mirrors

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great food with a fantastic discount for people staying at the hostel, funky and fun neighborhood, free breakfast is always a plus!

Disliked: Music could be loud in the evenings but a pair of earplugs take care of that no problem. Outlets are sparse so it's tricky to charge your phone.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The showers were nice and hot.

Disliked: I had a roommate who threw up all over the bathroom and staff did not clean it up. Only two out of three washing machines and dryers worked. The wifi did not work and staff did not try to address it. One young man, I think he was from South Africa, was very nice however.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere, great staff, great fun! Everything was easily accessible, Belushi's was right downstairs and so meals & drinks were easy to get.

Disliked: bathrooms were a bit small...nothing to really complain about!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, the rooms were spacious.

Disliked: the common room was kind of gross and badly lit in the basement, and the staff double as bartenders in the Belushi's Pub so it can be hard to get service. There isn't much in the way of facilities.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, safe and secure.

Disliked: A bit noisy so you need earplugs some nights. The noise is from bars on the camden High Street, not the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Cavanagh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool atmosphere in the bar, and the staff were all super friendly!! Also my 10 bed dorm was really spacious and the ensuites were well maintained. I had a really lovely stay here!

Disliked: Nothing, everything was just fine. :)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011

Liked: the location is close to morning crescent indeed, but i dont like the camden district actually, too overcrowded

Disliked: it is just not safe to live here, especially in the mixed dorm!! where guys are only with their boxers in the room, some of them chill out till late midnight, and others are waken when they back to the room and created loud noise not able to sleep at all due to the noise from bar down below, and there is no lift which means you have to carry your luggage all the way up to your room the facilities are not so clean actually

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff

Disliked: I won't hold this against the property or in my rating, but I couldn't find anywhere to charge my phone or iPod using a USB port. Also, I was erroneously told that you have to buy easybus tickets online. Not accurate as I found out when I left to go to the airport. Driver took 10 pounds in cash to Stansted Airport.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything about the property. Its in a good location and it was eary to find.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Staff who were extremely freindly very attentive and knowedgeable about the area and what was available looked after my and other guests every need! good location, Nice comfy bed with warm quilt which is not always the case in other hostals, no noise from people on floor above which ruined the stay at the last hostal. Great HOT shower at peak time of morning, having the En-suite washroom/shower makes a big difference.

Disliked: Nothing serious, chill out room was a bit seedy but I was never likely to use it much anyway. l little bit of road noise through night but they cant change camden traffic and the plumming from the washroom was a liitle noisy when guests arrived back at 3am but again it's clutching at staws a bit! I Would still reccommend this hostel over many i've stayed in all over London.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels