HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of St Christopher's Camden London Hostel

48-50 Camden High Street, Camden NW1, London, England

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 80%

Location 91%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 7.83USD

Important Information

IMPORTANT NOTE:
Please be aware that you must show a photo I.D when you arrive. We only accept Passports or a Driving License as I.D.

Special Event Booking - London Olympics Please note this booking is being made during a special event in the city. Full prepayment will be made before arrival on the card you used to make the booking Any cancellations for bookings made for this period are non refundable

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 80%

Location 91%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 86%

Showing 21-30 of 38 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Fantastic location and a nice bar downstairs

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello!

Thank you the review! We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Camden Belushi's Staff

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The only plus points were friendly staff and it had a nice bar!

Disliked: Booked a 6 bed private dorm they tried to separate us into 2 shared dorms! After an hour of negotiations the problem was finally resolved (not the welcome we expected). Key cards would not work despite changing them 3 time’s, showers were cold no matter what time of the day we tried….

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Chill-out-room, bar

Disliked: Shower

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Absolutely horrible in every way. We booked to stay at St. Christopher's Inn Camden location from Friday February 14th to Monday February 17th. The booking was made for four of us on Friday night and we made a separate booking for Saturday and Sunday night for six of us. This was done to ensure our beds would be together, on the same booking. We were wrong. When we arrived on Friday morning, we were told that the booking for Friday night was for one person (despite paying 101 pounds). After looking a little further, the receptionist was able to find that it was four people. Even though we had paid extra and booked all the beds together, we were told that they absolutely cannot accommodate the four of us in one room and instead we would be split up 3 and 1 for Friday night and 5 and 1 for Saturday and Sunday night. Without any attempts to fix this, the receptionist was convinced that this is the only we would be able to stay there. At this point we asked for a manager. The manager told us that she will work on the room situation and that she will try her best to accommodate us all in one room. It's hard to understand why this wasn't planned in advance, especially since their website showed 4 beds available in one room for Friday night and 6 for Saturday and Sunday. This was the main reason we stayed at the Camden location. If we wanted to be split up, we would have stayed in a location closer to the city and a lot cheaper. While we were waiting for the manager to sort things out, we decided to have breakfast at the hostel's pub, Belushi's. Two of our friends ordered Eggs Florentine. After waiting for our food for 25 minutes, the manager informs us that the 'chef' does not know how to make poached eggs and they have to switch their order. There were about six breakfast items on the menu and the chef could not even make at least two of them. An hour later when we finally received our breakfast, the manager comes back and lets us know that she was able to fit the four of us in one room for the Friday night but the six of us would be split up for Saturday and Sunday, 3 and 3. This was still unacceptable but a step up from the 5 and 1 that the receptionist claimed was the only solution.Finally we were able to check into our room. Aside from the fact that the room smelled disgusting, completely filthy and over crowded, there was only one cage available for the four of us with three clean beds. It turns out that the chef was staying in this room and they had asked him to switch rooms for the night to fit the four of us in there. Again, not sure why this wasn't planned in advance. The chef was asked to switch rooms, but all of his belongings stayed. We had to go back downstairs and ask for one of the beds to be cleaned and the four of us had to share one cage. Not wanting to sit in the filth of the room, we left for the day.Our two friends joined us on Saturday under a new reservation. Apparently it was too complicated for the hostel to check if at least three of us will stay in the same room, so we were forced to check out, pay for a locker to keep our belongings, and come back at 2 pm to check in. Ridiculous. When we arrived we found that indeed, 3 of us are staying in the same room and the other 3 will be in another room. The manager apologized for this mess up but did not offer any type of compensation for us having to pay more to ensure our beds are together and the major inconvenience. After having to ask, she offered free breakfast for the next two mornings. Needless to say, I will not be staying at any location of St. Christopher's and will certainly never recommend it to anyone else.


The property's response is

Hi Mahdis,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and feedback. We would firstly like to apologise for the inconveniences that occurred during your stay. There is no excuse for what happened and the trouble we caused you.
We hope you will allow us to redeem ourselves and come stay again and also not to be put off the rest of the St Christophers.
Once again, we are sorry your experience wasnt was good as it should have been and we hope you enjoyed London.
St Christophers Camden

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly staff, ok location

Disliked: The room was way to hot and it was not possible to turn the temperature down. The rooms were cramped and the showers dirty

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: I stayed in the female 6 bed room. Hairdryers provided. Everything was clean. Perfect atmosphere to meet other travelers or for party in bar downstairs. Cheap food. Great location, 15 min walk to oxford st.

Disliked: I actually don't prefer the shower, sink , toilet in the room. It's hard if your dorm mates are still sleeping to be brushing your teeth or blow drying your hair right in front of them. However there's private sink + toilet 1 floor down. Common room was way too small : 1 small couch, 2 high bar type tables\\stools. No wifi on 3rd floor.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location

Disliked: Few lockers available outside dorms; had to use a very small one and belongings barely fit.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: 25% discount for excellent food in bar

Disliked: tiny shower with a bit cold water

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Sick location! Loved the staff... Everyone was so friendly, best Xmas ever!! Shout out to bean, Dayan, Amber, Raymond and Jessie! Much love!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nice breakfast, secure,

Disliked: Creaky open bunk-beds

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability