HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn - Camden

Hostel | 48-50 Camden High Street, London, England NW1 OLT

80.0% Overall Rating

203 out of 245 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2014)

"Location was excellent, and the atmosphere was really nice and friendly. Hostel room was also very nice with toilet and shower ensuite."

Read all St. Christopher's Inn - Camden reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.30

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT NOTE: Please be aware that you must show a photo I.D when you arrive. We only accept Passports or a Driving License as I.D. Special Event Booking - London Olympics Please note this booking is being made during a special event in the city. Full prepayment will be made before arrival on the card you used to make the booking Any cancellations for bookings made for this period are non refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Smart Camden Inn
19.90 USD

Hostel 66.6% 1089 reviews
Access Camden
48.12 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Goldsmiths House
60.90 USD

Hostel 77.3% 246 reviews
Access Euston
41.49 USD

Apartment 81.3% 18 reviews
Stay in Camden
43.98 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
YHA London Central
31.53 USD

Hostel 93.1% 868 reviews
New Market House
45.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.6% 3 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
24.89 USD

Hostel 88.7% 464 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.0%

Overall Rating

203 out of 245 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn - Camden'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 148 of 206 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and the friendly atomosphere of staff and other travellers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, friendly, well located.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Sopp

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Super great location between the tube stations, heaps of great food and pubs around the area and awesome discounts at the bar. Shower and locker facilities great.

Disliked: Downstairs lounge is a bit lacking and no kitchen facilities really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patricia Gut

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: The location could not have been better; it is so close to Camden Town Markets which I absolutely adored! The people I met while staying there made my experience so wonderful. The staff was soooooo great I cannot wait to go back in May as it felt like home after only a few days. The rooms were cleaned everyday including new sheets everytime a new person came in. The beer is cheap and the food is great. Aussies are taking over and I don't mind in the least bit; friendliest people ever!

Disliked: Patricia left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2012

Liked: Good location for the Camden area Close to tube stations, easy access to central London Lockers available which was convenient Breakfast was good

Disliked: Noisy - both from the bar underneath and the street noise Rooms/bathrooms not very clean even after a 'deep clean' Wifi only in bar and downstairs in chillout room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable bed and great location in Camden

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. The room I was in (6 bed dorm) was pretty spacious too, which was nice, plenty of space for bags, to move around, etc. Also - nice sized lockable baskets below the bunks. Very easy/convenient to find as a newcomer to London.

Disliked: The day after making my booking I was contacted to say that they couldn't place me in the all female dorm I had booked but would discount my stay. My stay was discounted by 1GBP, which seemed a little ridiculous, more like a token gesture. Very loud at night, don't expect to fall asleep before 2am. The ensuite shower room was tiny--there was no room to put clothes so that they didn't get wet, there was no way to turn the shower on before getting in without having the entire outside floor become drenched and the water was freezing for the first 3-5 minutes of the water running. The bunks in my dorm were incredibly squeaky. I had the misfortune of having someone who tossed and turned all night sleeping above me which meant there was a constant loud squeaking sound and shaking bunk all night, but that's the risk with sleeping in a dorm!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was wonderful. The staff went out of their way to ensure everything was looked after (especially the cleaning crew who attended the rooms everyday around noon). The hostel is located above a really fun pub, the bar acts as reception, and upon arrival, when my room wasn't ready, I was offered a free drink while I waited, which I feel reflects awesome customer service (thanks Thomas!) The Common/Lounge Room in the basement was a great place to hangout on nights in to watch movies, or make use of the free Wi-Fi. This is also where the electronic lockers are stored, I felt my valuables were secure here and the Locker Company offers $500 insurance cover for stolen items. I was in a 6-bed dorm, and was lucky enough to have 5 roommates who understood consideration for fellow travellers when coming home at early hours of the morning!

Disliked: The Wi-Fi was a little unreliable, and kept cutting out. However the staff offered to re-set to modem multiple times, it still required a lot of patience to connect!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the entire hostel bar staff and friends, met great people in our 5 nights there and over Christmas festivities, spacious, and comfy, I miss it already! Great location with the Camden Markets, various cuisines, clubs, bars and tube close by. Belushi's bar has good food and drinks.

Disliked: One setting showers were weird but ours was not that bad, it usually heated up after the second push and it doesn't even matter much, the hostel was just so much fun. Others complain about noise but that's to be expected from a hostel bar, I barely heard music from my room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helle Nissen

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

12 December 2011 Helle would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and with shower and toilet inside the dormitory room, so no need to go through hall ways to get there. I really appreciated, that the clean sheets was already on the bed when I came, and that I didn't need to take them off when leaving. Very easy. The beds was very good quality compared to other hostels in the same area. All in all a very pleasant experience

Disliked: If there had been a kitchen with cooking gear it would have been even better :)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

07 December 2011

Liked: Location was good. close to tube. Camden Town is very cool. Discount drinks at bar. The girl working the morning during breakfast was very nice.

Disliked: Beds were like concrete slabs. Road is noisy but that is expected in Camden. Black mould in washroom. Very expensive booked a six bed dorm was put in eight bed, the price is the same as a private ensuite double bed hotel room just a short tube ride from downtown London. However if you are used to hostels im sure this will suffice.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 December 2011

Liked: Rates were reasonable and location was okay.

Disliked: Bathroom wasn't cleaned while we were there and it smelt, more of a party hostel with inconsiderate dorm mates.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Lena Modvig

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2011

Liked: The location is very good. The staff was always friendly and eager to help.

Disliked: No hot water in our room for 3 out of four days. Thed kept promising us it would be fixed the next day, then the next day again... The rooms were small, not very clean and lacked atmosphere. The windows didn´t close (in December) and we had to get a member of the staff up to drill them shut in the middle of the night.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

neil hopes

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

05 December 2011 neil would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: the shower was incredibly cold!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Elina Veistonen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2011 Elina would recommend this property

Liked: Staff members were friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was nice and relaxed.

Disliked: Breakfast could have been better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

19 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was exellent, hostel was clean and staff were friendly. We sayed in a 6 person ensuite dorm and the room was also nice an spacious.

Disliked: The fire alarm went on one night and no one came to give us an information about it, not during the alarm or afterwards.It was little bit weird cause we didn't know should we go outside or stay in or what is happening. I went to a corridor to see what's going on and is the alarm serious business or not. I saw a guy there, but he didn't say anything to me, even though he was a member of a staff, which i noticed later on.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location close to a lot of bars and clubs. The hostels' bar is an ideal place to start your night out.

Disliked: The bathroom needed a serious cleaning but we could take a hot shower so that was alright. There was a lot of noise outside at night but we were warned about that so if you bring earplugs you should be fine. It's sad though that some guests do not respect the other guests sleep by walking in at 4 in the morning making a lot of noise and waking everybody up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredibly nice and helpful, and the room was nice and cosy.

Disliked: It was really cold from time to times, because the heating seemed to be off. But since I stayed in a 10-bed dorm, it got warmer as it began to fill up with more people. So it wasn't that much of a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefanie Prossinger

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

10 November 2011 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: The St. Christopher's Inn Camden is definitely one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Clean, spacious rooms, excellent location and amazing bar. More importantly though it's got a great vibe to it, a friendly and relaxed atmosphere and the most awesome staff ever. Thanx a million to the two Toms and Nick, u guys rock! I'll be back for sure and hopefully see some of you guys in Bad Gastein this winter ;-) Cheers, Steff

Disliked: Nothing, we had an absolutely wonderful stay!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar is awsome and the rooms have big bathrooms.

Disliked: No hot milk for breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roser Gomez

Alone

Partying / nightlife

03 October 2011 Roser would recommend this property

Liked: The price is ideal for young people that travel just for the weekend. The location is perfect, near Camden Town and Mornington Crescent Stations.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and Camden market is just down the street!

Disliked: one of the guys that worked there booked us a mini cab which is bad!!! When the main guy that runs it found out he was shocked and quickly booked us a "real" taxi

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very warm, friendly staff. The bar is pretty great for a hostel bar. The washing facilities were great, but the chillout room had a DVD player with only (scratched up & bootlegged) horror movies. As far as entertainment, there is plenty around the area for the younger 20-30 crowd. Take a right out of the door and Camden Station is at the fork. Left side of the fork is Camden Lock, Camden Lock Market, and it is generally a fun area to be around for the working class people, alternatives, and non-stuffy people in general. Bars are scattered everywhere.

Disliked: If your room is on the lower floors, you can hear the dance music playing in the bar downstairs.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Personell is extremely nice. The bar is very nice.

Disliked: The hostel is above the bar. Thus, it is loud (music till two in the night, very noisy clientele). If you´re seeking party holidays, then this is fine. If you want to explore London, and fancy an early sleep at nights then you´ll face difficulties. I guess with Oropax, one would be able to get some sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything, it was a great hostel in a great town.

Disliked: nothing at all.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels