HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn - Camden

Hostel | 48-50 Camden High Street, London, England NW1 OLT

79.0% Overall Rating

202 out of 244 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/05/2014)

Victoria Friebel thinks…

"the location is great. Very close to all the pubs and markets. I loved Camden. It's also close to the tube station. It was very cheap as well, and there was a lot of space in the room to put your…"

Read all St. Christopher's Inn - Camden reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.51

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT NOTE: Please be aware that you must show a photo I.D when you arrive. We only accept Passports or a Driving License as I.D. Special Event Booking - London Olympics Please note this booking is being made during a special event in the city. Full prepayment will be made before arrival on the card you used to make the booking Any cancellations for bookings made for this period are non refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Smart Camden Inn
25.50 USD

Hostel 71.4% 1086 reviews
Access Camden
49.34 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Goldsmiths House
62.44 USD

Hostel 78.4% 244 reviews
Access Euston
42.53 USD

Apartment 81.3% 18 reviews
Stay in Camden
45.08 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
YHA London Central
40.83 USD

Hostel 93.3% 863 reviews
New Market House
42.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.6% 3 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
44.23 USD

Hostel 88.7% 464 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.0%

Overall Rating

202 out of 244 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn - Camden'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
85.6%
Value
77.6%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 147 of 205 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was used to really mediocre places in London and I thought it was the rule but I was nicely surprised by this hostel! I stayed in a 6 and a 8 beds-room. The rooms are spacious enough to put all your stuff, especially the 6 bedroom: there are some kind of big boxes you can lock (if you've got a locker) under the bed. It's big enough to fit a suitcase and I found it quite safe, even without a locker, because you have to roll it out completely and then open it if you want to steal anything from it which takes a bit of time. Besides these boxes, you've got a lot of floor space. If you're really worried about your belongings, there is a locker room downstairs where you can store your things for a small fee (about 2 pounds for 12 hours for a medium locker which could fit my travel bag, a small backpack and random stuff). In many backpackers, they write that even if you paid for a locker, the hostel can not be held responsible for any theft... But here, your belongings are insured up to 500 pounds! In some rooms, the toilets are outside, which I like best because it's less noisy, in others they're inside but the shower and sink are always inside, which is convenient. The bar is easily reachable from the rooms, the breakfast lasts after check-in, when in other places it ends earlier and you can't sleep till the last minute etc. And even if the bar and the backpackers are joint, the bar customers who are not staying at the backpackers can't access it, making you safer. Besides, the staff members are really friendly and take their job seriously, which is not always the case in London hostels.

Disliked: The biggest problem is the music coming from the bar. If you're on the second floor, it's fine, you won't hear anything but if you're on the first floor, you'll hear a lot of noise and sometimes, you can even tell which song is on! The music stops at Midnight on weekdays so if you're not an early sleeper, it's bearable (the music is not too loud so you can still be in your room doing your things without feeling too much bothered). However, during the weekend it lasts till 2am I think... The other things are minor dislikes: I found it weird to have the reception at the bar with the bartenders being also the receptionists! During the day, it works well but in the evening, it's slightly awkward. The bartenders seem to prioritize the reception over the drinks but still: if it's crowded, you might wait a bit before they notice you and you think twice before asking something. For example, I came at 10pm, checked in and realized the window of my room was broken which is a real problem when it's cold outside! But everyone in the room knew how busy the bar was so we thought it was too much of a pain to go to the reception and ask for something to be done about this. The thing is: I'm sure the staff would have tried to help and the reception is 24 hours... But we felt they were not really available for this kind of problem.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matt dell

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

12 November 2012 matt would recommend this property

Liked: we had a great stay, within walking distance to the roundhouse, camden market and an awesome blues bar across the street. great friendly environment. awesome little room downstairs to chill out in after you've smashed the bars !!

Disliked: a little short staffed possibly, but otherwise fantastic.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 October 2012

Liked: Location, staff, cleanliness of beds, safety

Disliked: Chill out room, overheated rooms, breakfast, no precaution about the extremely loud music during the weekends.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexander Mattias

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in Camden, near a lot of pubs and a great music scene. The staff was very friendly, the hostel bar was very cozy, Comfortable beds with lockers underneath for a safe trip. I left my guitar in the room unsupervised for 4 days and had no problems. good showers. easy to access by tube and bus at all hours!

Disliked: There wasn't anything I disliked, a little pricey but worth it!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

amanda jane hunter

Alone

Events / festivals

30 September 2012 amanda jane would recommend this property

Liked: Ideally placed for attending gigs,great value.

Disliked: I have stayed here a couple of times in mixed dorms,this time I was in a female dorm & the facilities were not as good,the light didn't work properly in the loo & when having a shower it was difficult not to bang your elbows on the walls cos the cubicle was so narrow.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2012

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: This location is very noisy, the bar is directly below the rooms and is open until 2am Friday and Saturday with a very loud DJ. The music can be felt in the rooms upstairs making it hard to sleep, it is a mystery why they gave the DJ when there are possibly 10 people in the bar.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

LUCAS ALMEIDA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012

Liked: i didn't like the bedroom,

Disliked: LUCAS left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap acommodation in expensive London. Right in the heart of the outstanding Camden Town area.

Disliked: Quite noisy during the night!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

liza veenboer

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 September 2012 liza would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, nice looking rooms

Disliked: The noise at night

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: the noise at night

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Evers

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 July 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff, top location, enough room in the 6 bed dorm, great under-the-bed lockers, simple breakfast. Despite being a party hostel, we were not at all bothered by noise from downstairs.

Disliked: bunk beds are a little squeaky and shaky, so that I kept waking up when the other person turned around. There was NO HOOK in the shower to hang your towel/ clothes. Actually, technically there was one, but it was taken by the rack! This hostel is a bit on the commercial side (it's a chain), and it's a party hostel, but that is very well known. Toilet didn't flush easily (probably needs a repair)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: L'accueil y est très agréable, il y a une ambiance géniale entre les voyageurs au sein de l'auberge ainsi qu'au bar; et le quartier vaut vraiment le détour !

Disliked: Rien du tout. Tout était parfait.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carolin Schneider

Alone

Events / festivals

28 June 2012 Carolin would recommend this property

Liked: Super Preis in einer tollen Lage, inbesondere für kurze Trips um abends ins Koko zu gehen ist das Hostel super geeignet.

Disliked: Das Frühstück war nichts besonderes, es reicht aber zum Sattwerden bzw. bei dem Hostelpreis kann man auch noch einige Pfund ausgeben und woanders frühstücken.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alia Opperman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012

Liked: Close to a tube station and only a few stops from London's mains sights

Disliked: The staff was not helpful or friendly for that matter, the 'chill room' was closed because they were painting therefor there was no access to the microwave and when it was open in stank really badly and only one of the washing machines was working.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caherine Butler

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 Caherine would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay. Friendly staff. Clean, comfortable beds. Good location, close to two tube stations

Disliked: Caherine left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bed was surprisingly comfortable. safe storage for my stuff, brought a lock and it worked nicely. had shower in my room, which i didnt expect for 8-person dorm.

Disliked: shower was hot but tiny and shower head fell off. aside from that, everything else was fine.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Slept really well – quite a bit of traffic noise outside, but somehow it lulled me to sleep. Bed was comfortable. Hot shower. Lockable cages under beds for luggage. Bag storage room for before/after check-in/out. Microwave and kettle in chill-out room. Great location for us, but location in London is dependent on what you plan on doing – for a gig in Alexandra Palace and a late night clubbing in Angel, it suited us nicely as it's about a 5 minute walk to Camden tube and night buses stop really close. Some lovely street food places in Camden Lock market – try the Brazilian churros! Would stay again as it's cheap.

Disliked: Bedsheets a bit worn, and my bed had sand in it on arrival, weird! Breakfast minimal, not comparable to places like Flying Pig in Amsterdam - just bread, jam, cornflakes and tea/coffee. No kitchen. Hostel generally fairly run-down and needing a lick of paint. Basic dorms, no reading lights by beds. Chill-out area small, Belushi’s fairly empty at night and breakfast tables all separate, so socialising difficult. (Unless you’re Australian..!) Allegedly free wifi, but no signal in the dorm.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2012

Liked: The free wifi is good.

Disliked: The atendents are not very loveable, the showers are really complicated to take a shower because there is not enough space to put anything you want, and the flush stops working at night. The breakfast is free witch is good, but it`s a really bad breakfast.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sabryna Arabella Te'o

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 May 2012 Sabryna Arabella would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great & really fun & youthful atmosphere :)

Disliked: Sabryna Arabella left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Matthew Doyle

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 April 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful. It was in a great location with my activities nearby and close to the tube and buses

Disliked: Staying right above the bar/restaurant made sleeping difficult with the subs shaking the beds but if you are just there partying and get nice and drunk its no problem

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: mainly the zone, candem

Disliked: Luckily I got into the room on arrival at 00:30 am, but I did not get keys then and hence I was forced to stay inside the room until the other day in the morning.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel surpassed my expectations.

Disliked: In my last night I was moved to another room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very nice as you are in the middle of Camden and Camden Market is quite close. Staff was friendly.

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and the friendly atomosphere of staff and other travellers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels