HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Hyde Park Inn

Hostel | 48-50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England W2 3JA

69.4% Overall Rating

1086 out of 1670 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"Free wifi in my room, curtains over the bed for extra privacy, staff was friendly, good location, free breakfast"

Read all Smart Hyde Park Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.25
  • Towel USD 8.10

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

***Please ensure that you have a photo ID when checking in*** Bookings of 10 or more people are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with hostelbookers.com Group Bookings to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per hostelbookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 12% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Astor Queensway
32.46 USD

Hostel 83.3% 611 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
32.46 USD

Hostel 69.7% 33 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
60.86 USD

Apartment 70.2% 9 reviews
Hyde Park Economy Apartments
41.87 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hyde Park Hostel
16.21 USD

Hostel 51.8% 1331 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
14.59 USD

Hostel 74.1% 1810 reviews
New dawn hotel
28.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.6% 26 reviews
Whiteleaf Hotel
17.85 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.8% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.4%

Overall Rating

1086 out of 1670 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Hyde Park Inn'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
68.8%
Value
72.0%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 900 of 1069 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 35 | 36   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi in my room, curtains over the bed for extra privacy, staff was friendly, good location, free breakfast

Disliked: Beds pretty small but they do the job, not much space in room for luggage, check out at 10am

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2014

Liked: just nothing. I am backpacking for 8 years now, I have been to India, Nepal, USA, Canada, West Europe And most Of east Europe- I have to say this was the worst place I've been at the last 8 years, 7 years ago i was in London and had a great place that is closed around Bayswater. my advice- go elsewhere.

Disliked: just everything. I am backpacking for 8 years now, I have been to India, Nepal, USA, Canada, West Europe And most Of east Europe- I have to say this was the worst place I've been at the last 8 years, 7 years ago i was in London and had a great place that is closed around Bayswater. my advice- go elsewhere.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mya Lannefors

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Mya would recommend this property

Liked: Close to park and Metro. Good neighborhood.

Disliked: More welcoming staff that gives you a brief of Both hostel and What to see and do nearby.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2014

Liked: The location! Shops and bars are around! It´s just a few minute walk to Notting Hill, Portobello Road, Kensington Gardens etc.

Disliked: The bathrooms were unclean (there was a cleaning-lady, don´t get me wrong, but the bathrooms would need some istruction-works) and the kitchen organisation (you had to borrow every dish and cuttler piece for 1 pound).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Scott

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 August 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, comfortable bunk bed with curtains for privacy, ability to secure name to bed on arrival, secure locker beneath bed, free breakfast, friendly & helpful staff. Good fellow travellers! And very good rate!

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, quiet neighbourhood , many floors, good connections

Disliked: Rooms are a bit too small.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Dominika Koscieniewicz

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 July 2014 Dominika would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price, kinda friendly staff, free breakfast

Disliked: Uncomfortable beds, almost impossible to make and then climb the bed because of no space in the room, old furniture, dirty walls, dirty bathrooms, cold water in the showers and the doors didn't close well, little space in the common areas, bad WiFi, small amount of plugs to charge your mobile, payed lockers and not possible to leave the luggage after check out...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Grahame Weston

As a family with children

Family Holiday

15 July 2014 Grahame would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel was good for the 2 main parks in that area(Hyde park and Kensington park). Local shops were near-by and it took only 30 minutes to walk to Oxford street from the hostel.

Disliked: I did not like the way people were crammed into a shared room and no room for the luggage unless you paid for it and even then it was not garranteed you would get your bag in that draw. You could see that cheap materials were used to decorate the toilets and shoddy workmenship! Big gaps between the floors and walls in some places and a breeding ground for unwanted guests like cockroaches. We were told prior to coming via the internet that cheaking-in time was 10.00am, only to be told when we arrived that we can cheak-in at 11.00am.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marianne Traeger

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Marianne would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff very close to the main sights in London next to Hyde Park very clean

Disliked: sinks are so small that it is difficult to even brush your teeth Showers are spraying Lights go out while you take a shower breakfast room far too small for all the people

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Liz Crane

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 July 2014 Liz would recommend this property

Liked: perfect central location, clean and very reasonably priced

Disliked: got quite hot at night in 20 person dorm, toilets didn't have cold water or drinking water

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Wannamaker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast, the location, security was good and it was well run. The price.

Disliked: Mainly, if you are going to stay here make sure that you have good ear plugs. A lot of the door returns just slam if you don't consciously keep them from doing so. Also, I'm not sure exactly how responsible the place was for this, there were a lot of very loud guests staying there. Like a lot of young groups who clearly didn't care about anyone else there. This was consistent across the four days that I'd stayed there with more than one group. Also also, this place tends to nickel and dime you for stuff that should be included in the price, in my opinion. Like wifi is free in common areas but there is a charge to use it in your room. You have to pay to get a personal locker in your room. Stuff like that.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anthony Refalo

Alone

Events / festivals

22 June 2014 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: breakfast. too many people having breakfast in a small room

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 May 2014

Liked: easy to get too

Disliked: showers to small and nowhere to put your clothes

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The proximity to Hyde Park and two major tube stations was invaluable. Bayswater is also a super safe area, and I had no issue walking around at night. There's also grocery stores very close. The first night we were there it was just my friend and me in a 12 bed dorm which was a very nice treat! The temperature in the room was perfect, facilities clean. We also canceled one night for my friend, which they did no problem. We then requested that night again and again responded promptly and she was added back on without any issues or fees.

Disliked: Only one set of outlets in the room. The rooms were very small- this was fine for me as I can sleep with my backpack on my bunk, but I can see larger people struggling.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good dining room with sky

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is cheap and has good wifi but only in lobby. Some staff were friendly but not all.

Disliked: I thoroughly hated my stay and after one night, although having paid and booked two nights, I swiftly booked somewhere else to stay. The rooms are disgusting as well as the bathrooms facilities. The breakfast is cheap white bread or cornflakes. Having booked this cheap hostel, I of course didn't expect that much but it really was awful and I would not recommend it at all. Some staff were friendly and helpful but others were very rude. My friend asked if she could get her suitcase from the "luggage room" which the employee didn't understand, so she then said "luggage storage" to which he also didn't understand. He was rather aggressive and I would've thought both places she had said would be pretty self explanatory...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break

13 May 2014

Liked: The hostel was cheap and did have good wifi which is unfortunately used to find different accommodation to stay in after staying there for one night.

Disliked: The room was dirty, dingy and smelt. We stayed one night and after receiving no sleep and actually feeling in danger, we decided to book somewhere else for our next stay. We weren't given our money back but the cost was so low that we didn't really mind. The breakfast that is included is just cheap white bread toast or cornflakes. We were a group of girls who had arranged with a member of their staff that we would be in the same room however one member of our party was put into a large dorm on their own. The shared bathroom facilities were filthy and although there was a chart on the wall to show that they had been checked throughout the day, they had still not been cleaned. I really would not stay here again. Although on the rules they say it is "quiet time" between 11pm and 7 am, this is not enforced and the room was very very noisy. We obviously didn't expect a 5 star hotel and had reasonable expectations but sadly Hyde Park Inn didn't mean these and I would implore anyone not to stay there.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014

Liked: The location was good. Bayswater station is only 2 minutes away.

Disliked: I stayed in a 20 bed dorm. There was no window, it was stuffy, smelly and dark. Although I booked a room together with my friends, we were put into different dorms. My friends also had some dirt on her mattress.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Baylie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Its in the process of being renovated. Pretty good location and good price. Free wifi in common areas, and you can pay to get a code to use it in the room. Free breakfast in the morning. Tv room with something always on. Good offers for tourist stuff behind the desk. Privacy curtains on each bunk.

Disliked: The wifi in the room (which i payed for) did not work. There are not too many plugs available for use.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014

Liked: It's cheap and in a convenient location.

Disliked: The staff members were unfriendly and the big dorms and bathrooms horrible.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Vasyl Ieremeiev

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2014 Vasyl would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Not strong Wi-Fi signal

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near the hide park place breakfast

Disliked: little shover bad Duvet

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anthony Smales

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Good location not far from Oxford Street. Bayswater itself is worth a look. Like the curtains across the bunks, but lights in there to read by would be a good idea.

Disliked: Pretty basic facilities, but you get what you pay for.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place is very clean, bedding clean, the breakfast is simple but tasty, the place is very well located

Disliked: the night staff could be a little more friendly and the rooms have more sockets available

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Birgitte Boysen

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

15 April 2014

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything


See all London hostels
See all London hotels