HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Hyde Park Inn

Hostel | 48-50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England W2 3JA

66.1% Overall Rating

1062 out of 1638 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2014)

"the place is very clean, bedding clean, the breakfast is simple but tasty, the place is very well located"

Read all Smart Hyde Park Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.36
  • Towel USD 8.38

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

***Please ensure that you have a photo ID when checking in*** Bookings of 10 or more people are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with hostelbookers.com Group Bookings to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per hostelbookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 12% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The 23 Hostel
25.18 USD

Hostel 63.9% 14 reviews
Astor Queensway
35.25 USD

Hostel 81.3% 596 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
33.57 USD

Hostel 75.9% 14 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
50.36 USD

Apartment 75.0% 8 reviews
Hyde Park Economy Apartments
41.55 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hyde Park Hostel
15.11 USD

Hostel 52.5% 1240 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
15.09 USD

Hostel 62.3% 1782 reviews
New dawn hotel
35.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.9% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.1%

Overall Rating

1062 out of 1638 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Hyde Park Inn'

Atmosphere
58.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
52.8%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
70.4%
Value
66.4%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 877 of 1038 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 35 | 36   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place is very clean, bedding clean, the breakfast is simple but tasty, the place is very well located

Disliked: the night staff could be a little more friendly and the rooms have more sockets available

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Birgitte Boysen

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

15 April 2014

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Béatrice Savasta

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Béatrice would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the customers

Disliked: Two cockroaches in basement bedroom

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Fredrik Persson

Alone

City break

20 March 2014

Liked: The hostel has an okay location and a basic hostel breakfast is included in the price.

Disliked: I found the hostel a bit cramped and even the beds were too short for me. For safety reasons I prefer lockers where I can use my own padlock.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

gaynor pearson

Alone

Business / conference

10 March 2014 gaynor would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and close to centre

Disliked: nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

03 March 2014

Liked: the location only

Disliked: not enough dinning space for vast amount of people awful cold showers and gaps in mixed toilet doors rude cleaning staff

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff and good location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The cleanlinedd

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very nice and the facilities gave us everything we needed.

Disliked: We wanted to be in a group but all of our beds were separated and it was blamed on the cleaning services

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Work / volunteering

23 February 2014

Liked: I like the fact that us next to the centre and that it has breakfast

Disliked: I didn't like the way the staff threat us , because they weren't helpful and they threat us in a bad and rude way that they shouldn't do because they suppose to be nice and friendly for the people from the outside. Its for that reason that if i had a choice, i would go to my friends house rather than this hostel.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Kieran Jury

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014

Liked: Close to shops and hyde park, free breakfast.

Disliked: So many people crammed into one room it was disgusting and dangerous no where to put luggage in the room would pay extra money to stay somewhere better.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2014

Liked: Cleanlliness

Disliked: See above

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Tajuddin Nor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014

Liked: Location. Bayswater, a nice suburb, easy to find something to eat, not too crowded

Disliked: It's not really a backpacker hostel as it allows mature/old brits & other eastern european who is just arrive and finding work staying here. There are lots of long stayer who's working. Maze like, too crowded. I would not suggest for you to stay here.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

30 January 2014

Liked: Location. Curtains on beds. Washrooms + showers + kitchen seemed it was cleaned regularly. English girl at reception super sincere and accommodating.

Disliked: Rooms are way WAY to crammed. No room to store luggage. Every time you go back to your room your luggage is moved around to make room for others. Puddle of water leaking for corner everyday then gets to your stuff. You have to go up to reception to ask for key for kitchen equipment, kind of hassle, common rooms, dining also very crammed. Stuffy dorm air even in dead of winter. I cannot imagine how bad it is in the summer.!!! I would stay for 2 nights max if necessary.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like this place because it has many advantages like location and price offer. Also staff is really helpful and they answer all your questions in a patiant way.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014

Liked: Unbeatable location. Decent breakfast for this price!

Disliked: Smelly dorm mates and sleeping on the top bunk (3-bed bunks!) in a 20 person dorm meant there was some tricky climbing. Not recommended if you are not agile.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jeanette Quiroz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2013 Jeanette would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a very good location.

Disliked: There was way too many people in a small area. The kitchen seemed to always have problems

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 December 2013

Liked: the location was good and interessting area,.

Disliked: the room was really tiny for sooo many people.. so it was more an in and out.. rather than a nice stay..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. You can walk to all of the attractions in Zone 1 from this hostel (long walks). Breakfast it was good.

Disliked: Showers were a bit unkept and had an unpleasant smell.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was fairly clean and functional and a great location. breakfast included was a big plus considering the cheap price

Disliked: the air and smell was very damp. small kitchen and few toilets

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 December 2013

Liked: The location

Disliked: It was just a total dump. It smelled bad. People coming in and out all night switching the lights on so no chance of sleep. Beds crammed in tight with little light and ventilation. A Hogarthian experience.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Neil Robinson

Alone

Business / conference

21 November 2013 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location: Zone 1, Hyde Park close plus all services and amenities close by. Cosmopolitan clientele make it interesting and the staff are very helpful. Only real drawback is it is a bit grubby but they are working on renovations.

Disliked: Neil left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kim Konings

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 November 2013 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the beds were sturdy and did not squeak and that there were curtains around each bed (I was in the 20 bed dorm). An improvement from last time is that there was an extension lead in the room allowing for more plug points.

Disliked: Breakfast is a bit feeble compared to other hostels. Tiny bowls of cereal, very thin white bread and plastic utensils.I don't like drinking coffee from a small plastic cup.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money if you book early enough, friendly stuff

Disliked: There was renovation during my stay so there were signs "wet paint", workers going up and down... Small rooms (if you don't pay extra for locker in a room, there is not enough space for luggage), too hot (one window in a room for 12, I was waking up sweaty), not enough chicken equipment (no can opener, plastic forks and spoons, only one small microwave)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Andrew Nicholson

Alone

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The room, I would advise not to stay in the 16 bed dorm unless you like to party, I was running the Royal Parks Half Marathon the next day and from the hours of 22:00-05:00 others were coming back to shouting and singing. Also 2 people decided to get in on in the bed opposite me. Also I may be wrong but in room 80 I didn't even see a window in there and if there would be a fire, I couldn't see a emergency exit.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels