We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Hyde Park Inn

Hostel | 48-50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England W2 3JA

72.7% Overall Rating

1095 out of 1680 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/04/2015)

"They've got a pool table close to th reception where we played a lot. Sometimes also some staff members joined in and it was quite fun."

Read all Smart Hyde Park Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.98
  • Towel USD 7.42

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

***Please ensure that you have a photo ID when checking in*** Bookings of 10 or more people are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with hostelbookers.com Group Bookings to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per hostelbookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 12% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Astor Queensway
32.73 USD

Hostel 86.7% 613 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
29.75 USD

Hostel 70.5% 41 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
32.24 USD

Apartment 70.2% 9 reviews
Hyde Park Economy Apartments
40.91 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hyde Park Hostel
17.84 USD

Hostel 60.0% 1376 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
13.39 USD

Hostel 65.4% 1841 reviews
New dawn hotel
31.24 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.6% 26 reviews
Royal Hyde Park Hotel
44.26 USD

Hotel 3 star 73.8% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.7%

Overall Rating

1095 out of 1680 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Hyde Park Inn'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
78.4%
Value
71.2%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 909 of 1079 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guray Tezcan

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Guray would recommend this property

Liked: location, friendliness, breakfast, internet, comfortable rooms, staff, neighborhood that never dies and close to sainsburys-mcdonalds etc

Disliked: nothing nothing nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good.

Disliked: Toilet.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really close to everything, you have keys to get into your room, so it feels safe there. Also the area around is really nice. The staff are really helpful, if you need directions or want to extend your stay, like i did and they arranged it for me to stay in the same bed hich was really good. There is lots of toilets and showers so you dont have to wait in line. Also the free internet and cereal and toast for breakfast saves you money which is good too. Decent beds.

Disliked: some of the showers are a bit poor, you have to press the button every 30 seconds, and the lights go off so you have to stick your arm out and wave it around to activae the light, but there are plenty of other showers without this problem!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zoltan Sallai

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

20 July 2011 Zoltan would recommend this property

Liked: great location, easy to find even if you are first time in town- you can literally see it from the metro exit. cause checking in is possibleas early as 13:00, it really gives you the chance to rest- day or night- the beds all have curtain, so noone will disturb you. pretty simple setup, but everithing you might need is there.

Disliked: it was all right

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything, especially the cleanliness, friendly staff and the location.

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was great.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and secure and beds had blinds to block away the rest of the world when needed!

Disliked: No lifts and the staircases were a nightmare. I always saw little kids running around the place for some weird reason, too...

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Maria Jimena Cobo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: 1. The odour, it's smelly and there's no ventilation 2. It was DIRTY and we never saw anybody cleaning. 3. There's no lift and our room was on the "2nd floor" but it was more like a 4th floor. 4. The showers were awful. Dirty, uncomfortably small and few for so many people. And most the time they didn't even work. 5. The toilets were disgustingly dirty and messy. 6. The plugs didn't work and there were only 2 for 12 people. 7. The rooms were really crowded and there was no room to open your suitcase. 8. The wifi connection didn't work. 9. There's nothing for you to cook in the kitchen and you have to pay a deposit and ask for the kitchen utensils at the reception if you want to cook but they never have what you need. We asked for 4 forks and 4 knives and we got 1 fork, 1 knife and 3 spoons. Forget about asking for cups or glasses. 10. There were insects in our 12-beds room and we couldn't open the only window. 11.There were lots of rubbish, lost objects and forgotten clothes piling up behind the beds that nobody from the hostel bothered to clean or thow away.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Lise Holen Bakke

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2011 Lise Holen would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderfull, helpfull people. Great location.

Disliked: Bathrooms should be cleaned more often!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's the location, location, location... And the price!

Disliked: Nothing really...

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011

Liked: clean linen

Disliked: Everything! It's a huge hostel with a lot of rooms with a lot of beds. The rooms are too small.There are only 3 showers outside the dorms and like 100 people staying in, and they are dirty and smell. The showes and bath are mixed, they don't have 1 for female and 1 for male. They charge you for the lockers and the wifi socks, it dosn't work.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Henar Torinos de la Torre

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 July 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Too noisy, a bit dirty, ensuite restroom used by people from other rooms

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast. very close to the tube.

Disliked: pretty cramped rooms, dark corridors, could hear the underground as i was on groundfloor

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is the best!!!! no matter how tired u are, u still manage to get back to the hostel. It is less then 1 minute walk! I will miss this one... cos no matter what time i travel, as long the Circle and Districk Line still available, i can go back to hostel. There also hv a bus stop just infront of the hostel but i never use it. Is it for bus Number 70, Invernes Terrace station.

Disliked: not for ppl who love silent environment or dont like to climb. One of the room i stay need to climb until 3 level bed....

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gustavo Domingues

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Gustavo would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff and location

Disliked: Nothing in special

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionists were very cool about coming home at any hour! They organised a night out on Saturday that gave us a great insight into a proper night out in London...and even though you had to pay for a lot(towels, lockers, safes, etc.) everything still turned out to be very cheap.

Disliked: The room was quite cramped and there was only one mirror for 8 girls!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is perfect, could walk everywhere

Disliked: it was quite hot and there was not much air left at night as i was sleeping in a third-level bed, so the sleep wasn't excellent

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

30 June 2011

Liked: The location is good.

Disliked: It was dirty, there is to many people in the room, it is small and confined.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Kristlín Dís Ólafsdóttir

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011

Liked: location and the price was good

Disliked: everything else

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Business / conference
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly helpful staff, great rates for central london

Disliked: We chose a 15-bed dorm and the room was tiny. In effect you had 5 bunk beds stacked 3 high each with a tiny walkway, barely the width of a bunk bed, down the middle of the room between the bunks. It was smelly, stuffy and with people's suitcases, it was very crowded. Also, while we got 2 clean sheets and a pillow case, the duvet covers aren't changed with each new guest.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011

Liked: good location

Disliked: Cleanliness - blanket cases are not changed after guest leaves, instead they give you two bed sheets - one to cover the mattress and one to put between you and the blanket.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Doreen Chia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2011 Doreen would recommend this property

Liked: the location is really awesome, its a good base to get around london. curtains around each bed is also a great idea for privacy and to make changing clothes easier :p also, the common areas are pretty big and there is a television showing movies every night. that gave me something to look forward to =D

Disliked: i booked a 21-bed dorm and ended up in a 16-bed dorm. lockers are 1.5 pounds per day so that really adds up. i didnt get a locker and altho nothing untoward happened, it didn't feel very safe at all. also the room is really small so if anyone is really untidy then life is difficult for everyone else. toilet facilities were alright, not terrible but not great either. for the price and the location, the facilities were alright.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jeffrey Bohn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2011 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Had to pay for lockers, rooms were packed with little place to put any of your stuff. Place was a bit dirty, i would stay somewhere else next time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I come here twice a year from 2004, I love it.

Disliked: -------------

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Keith Lin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Keith would recommend this property

Liked: It provides free wifi & entertainment for free. There is this wide screen TV in the living room where you could watch movies and chill out with your friends after a long day. It was pretty cool.

Disliked: The beds in the room was pretty cramp and dirty. Trashes left over by other travelers were not clean. The blanket and pillow cases were not changed either. You are only offered both a bed linen and a pillow case to use.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet location friendly staff free wifi

Disliked: not enough space for luggage in rooms somewhat far from city centre


See all London hostels
See all London hotels