HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel London Hostel

48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 62%

Location 83%

Safety 70%

Staff 78%

Value 66%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.81USD
  • Towel 7.01USD

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].


***Please ensure that you have a photo ID when checking in***
Bookings of 10 or more people are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with hostelbookers.com Group Bookings to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per hostelbookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 12% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 62%

Location 83%

Safety 70%

Staff 78%

Value 66%

Showing 51-60 of 92 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: location

Disliked: breakfast. too many people having breakfast in a small room

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The breakfast, the location, security was good and it was well run. The price.

Disliked: Mainly, if you are going to stay here make sure that you have good ear plugs. A lot of the door returns just slam if you don't consciously keep them from doing so. Also, I'm not sure exactly how responsible the place was for this, there were a lot of very loud guests staying there. Like a lot of young groups who clearly didn't care about anyone else there. This was consistent across the four days that I'd stayed there with more than one group.Also also, this place tends to nickel and dime you for stuff that should be included in the price, in my opinion. Like wifi is free in common areas but there is a charge to use it in your room. You have to pay to get a personal locker in your room. Stuff like that.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: good dining room with sky

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: easy to get too

Disliked: showers to small and nowhere to put your clothes

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The proximity to Hyde Park and two major tube stations was invaluable. Bayswater is also a super safe area, and I had no issue walking around at night. There's also grocery stores very close. The first night we were there it was just my friend and me in a 12 bed dorm which was a very nice treat! The temperature in the room was perfect, facilities clean. We also canceled one night for my friend, which they did no problem. We then requested that night again and again responded promptly and she was added back on without any issues or fees.

Disliked: Only one set of outlets in the room. The rooms were very small- this was fine for me as I can sleep with my backpack on my bunk, but I can see larger people struggling.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Its in the process of being renovated. Pretty good location and good price. Free wifi in common areas, and you can pay to get a code to use it in the room. Free breakfast in the morning. Tv room with something always on. Good offers for tourist stuff behind the desk. Privacy curtains on each bunk.

Disliked: The wifi in the room (which i payed for) did not work. There are not too many plugs available for use.

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break

Liked: The hostel was cheap and did have good wifi which is unfortunately used to find different accommodation to stay in after staying there for one night.

Disliked: The room was dirty, dingy and smelt. We stayed one night and after receiving no sleep and actually feeling in danger, we decided to book somewhere else for our next stay. We weren't given our money back but the cost was so low that we didn't really mind. The breakfast that is included is just cheap white bread toast or cornflakes.We were a group of girls who had arranged with a member of their staff that we would be in the same room however one member of our party was put into a large dorm on their own.The shared bathroom facilities were filthy and although there was a chart on the wall to show that they had been checked throughout the day, they had still not been cleaned.I really would not stay here again. Although on the rules they say it is "quiet time" between 11pm and 7 am, this is not enforced and the room was very very noisy. We obviously didn't expect a 5 star hotel and had reasonable expectations but sadly Hyde Park Inn didn't mean these and I would implore anyone not to stay there.

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The place is cheap and has good wifi but only in lobby. Some staff were friendly but not all.

Disliked: I thoroughly hated my stay and after one night, although having paid and booked two nights, I swiftly booked somewhere else to stay.The rooms are disgusting as well as the bathrooms facilities. The breakfast is cheap white bread or cornflakes.Having booked this cheap hostel, I of course didn't expect that much but it really was awful and I would not recommend it at all.Some staff were friendly and helpful but others were very rude. My friend asked if she could get her suitcase from the "luggage room" which the employee didn't understand, so she then said "luggage storage" to which he also didn't understand. He was rather aggressive and I would've thought both places she had said would be pretty self explanatory...

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was good. Bayswater station is only 2 minutes away.

Disliked: I stayed in a 20 bed dorm. There was no window, it was stuffy, smelly and dark.Although I booked a room together with my friends, we were put into different dorms. My friends also had some dirt on her mattress.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's cheap and in a convenient location.

Disliked: The staff members were unfriendly and the big dorms and bathrooms horrible.

Check Availability