HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Hyde Park Inn

Hostel | 48-50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England W2 3JA

68.0% Overall Rating

1079 out of 1660 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

Grahame Weston thinks…

"The location of the hostel was good for the 2 main parks in that area(Hyde park and Kensington park). Local shops were near-by and it took only 30 minutes to walk to Oxford street from the hostel."

Read all Smart Hyde Park Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.38
  • Towel USD 8.43

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

***Please ensure that you have a photo ID when checking in*** Bookings of 10 or more people are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with hostelbookers.com Group Bookings to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per hostelbookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 12% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Astor Queensway
35.48 USD

Hostel 82.9% 609 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
33.79 USD

Hostel 69.6% 28 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
62.93 USD

Apartment 75.0% 8 reviews
Hyde Park Economy Apartments
58.29 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hyde Park Hostel
20.26 USD

Hostel 59.4% 1306 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
24.50 USD

Hostel 70.3% 1801 reviews
New dawn hotel
32.52 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.9% 25 reviews
Whiteleaf Hotel
25.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.2% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.0%

Overall Rating

1079 out of 1660 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Hyde Park Inn'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
56.8%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
71.2%
Value
72.8%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 894 of 1060 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 35 | 36   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Sarah Power

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012

Liked: There are loads of outlets in comman areas to charge your stuff, that's all I can think of!

Disliked: Pretty much everything! The kitchen is very dirty, unwashed dishes in the cupboards, fridges are rotting and one is broken, the staff were not helpful at all, when asking a question they are rude in return. The bathrooms are shared for up to 18 people which is fine except they are only cleaned in the morning hours, by evening they are very dirty. This hostel is cheap but there is a charge for everything from Internet to luggage storage, even using utensils to cook with! Pay a little more an stay somewhere else

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jirat Saengsakunkan

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Jirat would recommend this property

Liked: The location is quite near from the Tube and surrounds by many shops such as Tesco and Saintbury. That makes travelers very easy to find the hostel and get some foods. The staff is fine. I was in 16 beds mixed room and bathroom which are quite clean. I think, the overall is great and I would recommend this hostel to all budget travelers.

Disliked: Although there are many toilets provided for us, their sizes are quite small and there seems to be only hot water (not adaptable) for all showers which is, sometimes, too hot for me but it is acceptable because of the prices. There is no electric sockets near my bed I slept in. I had to recharge my laptop and mobile in the living room on the groud floor that seems to me not convenient. Moreover, the wifi internet, which is free one hour a day, cannot be used while I was staying.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Kaisu Reinikainen

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Kaisu would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was always really nice and helpful. You were allowed to come and go as you wished, which was great. The sheets were clean and the beds comfortable.

Disliked: The breakfast wasn't really versitile. One of the showers was quite dirty and the other was hard to use.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are very comfortable, quite wide and it is great having the curtains for privacy so you don't get disturbed when the lights are turned on and off. The location is superb. The reception staff are very helpful. The showers and toilets are a lot better here than at comparable nearby hostels.

Disliked: The rooms are quite varied in size. The 16 bed dorm has quite a bit of room and bunks are all 2 high but the 20 bed has triple bunks and no space for luggage at all. £2 a day for the lockers is a bit of a con.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Jeremy PREVEL

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012

Liked: Rien de particulier à signaler.

Disliked: L'auberge de jeunesse était assez facile à trouver. Le personnel est pas surtout courtois, du moins, j'ai eu l'impression qu'il se foutait de notre gueule. De plus, ils ont cherché à nous embobiner avec la caution. Bref, séjour agréable mais pas grâce à l'auberge !

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find close to station and had everything you need

Disliked: I didn't realise I needed a deposit for the linen luckily I had it on me otherwise I would have had to go out for a cash point after a long tiring day

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Curtained bed units

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Georgia McCartney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

06 May 2012 Georgia would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was so easy to find, and in a great location-close to hyde park and easy to connect with all other tube lines.

Disliked: travelling alone, i felt it was very difficult to meet others, as there were no activities or social side to this hostel. The kitchen/breakfast set up was a little disorientating, and the staff not very helpful.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nicklas Backman

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

03 May 2012 Nicklas would recommend this property

Liked: The wifi-room and the tv room!

Disliked: Cold and tiny showers

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was really close to bayswater tube station so made it really convenient to get to places of interest. Although I didn't have breakfast as I don't eat that early it all looked nice. Plenty of showers and places to socialise.

Disliked: I wasn't shown to my room, explained how to use the key card, and wasn't shown where the kitchen wifi room etc was, I also wasn't told what time breakfast was on at or where. I think the showers were ok but no where to safely put your things and keep them dry while in them, so means In a mix sex bathroom you were coming out in a towel not idea for less confident users

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: everything else

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ok for one night stay, near tube and shops. Beds had curtains. Breakfast was ok - toast and cereal. Cheap

Disliked: Toilets and showers were gross. Expect to hover.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location at least it was clean and worth the price!!

Disliked: 24 people shared one bathroom and one toilet, and the toilet was out of order, resulting in going to other toilets on other floors. Noisy because we were sleeping in the basement and our room was next to the kitchen and dining room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

eddy farnworth

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

12 February 2012 eddy would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHINGGGGGGGGGGGGG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: on top of our initial payment there was obviously going to be a room deposit. but they failed to tell us this until on the day and it cost us an extra 60 pounds. if they had told us earlier it would have been easier to sort out but apart from that it was fine

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is good, close to oxford street and hyde park is just a couple of minutes away

Disliked: it's not very clean and the bed linen smells really bad... the showers are pretty much horrible. and they have rooms in the basement, so it's kind of dodgy anyway...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Andrea Guillen

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 February 2012 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, you have the underground very close.

Disliked: Organization in the reception.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping

30 January 2012

Liked: Cheap and near from the city centre :)

Disliked: U have to make your bed on your own.U have to give them 10 pund for that okay you give that back but u need cash -.- It was really dirrty and the breakfast was a joke. Just bread, butter and one jam in a glass. I have no idea wich type i didn´t eat anything. Just a glass of milk.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. Free wifi and good place to meet people.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elinor Lloyd

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

25 January 2012 Elinor would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and the hostel was easy to find.

Disliked: I booked to stay in a 5 bed girls' room but when I checked in the room actually had space for 9 people - as the room was not full this wasn't really an issue and did not affect my enjoyment of the property.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Chih-Min Lin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2012 Chih-Min would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: Chih-Min left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012

Liked: The location. The fact that it was on sale and so cheap was the only reason I stayed there, I would NEVER pay what they usually charge. The beds have curtains around them (but no lights which is stupid)

Disliked: Everything else. Its absolutely disgusting, dirt everywhere. The decor is dingy and horrible. The internet only works in a tiny cramped room that is always full. There's no heating in the dorms. The breakfast is really poor and the hygiene standards are extremely low. The bathrooms are filthy and there aren't enough of them, and no space or places to hang anything in them. Half the showers don't work. The staff are unhelpful, chatting on the phone with people and not even acknowlegding you. There are hardly any powerpoints in the rooms and there's also hardly any space. It feels incredibly seedy too. For some reason a much larger than usualpeprcentage of the other people staying had terrible manners too-things like turning on the lights when they come in at 2AM etc.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 January 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Everything but the location...we left and stayed somewhere else it was that bad

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 December 2011

Liked: The location is convenient.

Disliked: The service provided is unsatisfactory.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Pau Corretge

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 December 2011

Liked: Good location

Disliked: small rooms, lots oof problems in showers and toilettes.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Martina Michalkova

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2011 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: great location, shops, tube buses near, relatively good price

Disliked: showers and toiletes were not good


See all London hostels
See all London hotels