We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Hyde Park Inn

Hostel | 48-50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England W2 3JA

72.7% Overall Rating

1095 out of 1680 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/04/2015)

"They've got a pool table close to th reception where we played a lot. Sometimes also some staff members joined in and it was quite fun."

Read all Smart Hyde Park Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.04
  • Towel USD 7.58

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

***Please ensure that you have a photo ID when checking in*** Bookings of 10 or more people are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with hostelbookers.com Group Bookings to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per hostelbookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 12% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Astor Queensway
33.40 USD

Hostel 86.7% 613 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
30.37 USD

Hostel 71.4% 42 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
60.23 USD

Apartment 70.2% 9 reviews
Hyde Park Economy Apartments
45.25 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hyde Park Hostel
18.21 USD

Hostel 59.5% 1386 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
13.67 USD

Hostel 63.5% 1844 reviews
New dawn hotel
45.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.6% 26 reviews
Royal Hyde Park Hotel
48.97 USD

Hotel 3 star 73.8% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.7%

Overall Rating

1095 out of 1680 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Hyde Park Inn'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
78.4%
Value
71.2%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 909 of 1079 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

16 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: curtains on beds

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The reception staff were incredibly friendly and helpful; a great welcome and departure. Very much appreciated!

Disliked: Shower doors did not lock

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Work / volunteering

07 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location near hyde park and tube, street with shops

Disliked: place sometimes too crowded

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012

Liked: The location was convenient and the staff was helpful.

Disliked: That shit was dirty as hell. The room smelled like feet and there was blood on my travel companion's bed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Many rooms for everything. Location very good. People always doing the cleaning. Automation of everything, at the expense to have to pay extra for everything. Good manners to save water with push fossets. Bunkbeds are quite stable and no noise; nice curtains in the beds; the closest thing you will be to a coffin for a few years to come. Reminds me to Japanese hotels, but for 1/10th of the price. This is a very futuristic hostel place. The problem is that it lost the "hostel spirit" that you find in lots of places. Visitors are just items in the "production line"; nothing wrong with it as long as you like that; others dont.

Disliked: People at the reception desk are cold; they are as automated as the machines. The facility actually has many bathrooms and showers, but staff has not labeled and do not have a map. One can not avoid meeting noisy and unconsiderate people, so expect to see many in the big dorms. Lots of noice outside from Italians and Spanish (I'm Spanish) until early in the morning; comeon people, get a life! there's people that want to rest at 2am!. Internet DID NOT work for most of the time I was there; asked the reception and they said "tomorrow". I do not even think they reset the switch.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hanspeter Liechti

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 October 2012

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Small place in the rooms. Dirty.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are comfortable. It's pretty cheap and the location is good. It was good to see that the owner payed a visit one of the days we were there to correct some of the flaws you will read about below...

Disliked: It's untidy. The wifi was an absolute nightmare to connect too. WAY OVERCROWDED! You can't take a step in the dorm without running into someone else's stuff... And it's pointless to try and sit down to a nice cooked meal. You won't get a turn in the kitchen and you won't find a seat. The people there were not friendly at all. Didn't hold a conversation with anyone. Staff were eh... Couldn't be bothered talking to them on account of being so uncomfortable in the hostel. If your looking for a quick cheap bed, stay here if you can deal with the negatives. If your looking to relax and feel comfortable, pay the extra money for somewhere else...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fariba moghanlou

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

11 October 2012 fariba would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheep and clean.

Disliked: I didn't found nothing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Amir Adja

Alone

Relaxation/spa

09 October 2012 Amir would recommend this property

Liked: thé price and northern blonde girls

Disliked: old peuple who get Baker

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, staff is good but not all of them are experienced. Beds have a tent that gives you some privacy. Many bathrooms to use.

Disliked: The smell at the least in my room wasn't so good. The rooms or at the least mine was too small for the number of the ppl in it.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really cheap hostel, so don't expect too much from it, but it's good for staying there for a couple of nights. The location is good and you can meet a lot of young people there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2012

Liked: close to metro, cheap, recommended if u only needs a bed for a night

Disliked: dirty toilet and shower room, horrible roommates

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

22 September 2012

Liked: Hay cortina en cada cama con lo que tienes más intimidad y no te molesta la gente al entrar y salir.

Disliked: baños muy cutres y sucios

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2012

Liked: not much

Disliked: Its just filled with weird old people that walk around in their jocks, and who wake up and are really loud at 6am and some of the staff are quite rude and one harrassed my friend "as a joke".. wasnt funny.. there is no cutlery or bowls, well unless you count a fuckload of plastic spoons, the internet hardly works, and there are heaps of thieves

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012

Liked: The only thing that really makes this hostel acceptable and able to get away with the poor cleanliness, cramped noisy rooms etc is the price but just pay more and go somewhere better! (Seriously struggled to think of good points)!!! The beds were comfortable and allowed privacy due to the curtains. The showers were hot but gave nowhere to keep your stuff dry, the ventilation was limited as well so it became unbearably stuffy. Good location.

Disliked: Why hasn't this place been shut down? Why is hostel bookers advising this horrid place? Phoned and asked whether they supply hair dryers, was told yes but in fact no they don't, thankfully we took our own anyway. I imagine they'd want a deposit even though they did not think to give that information over the phone. Helpful. Arrived (group of 3girls, 1boy - sleeping 2&2 in separate rooms) and only 3 of 4 had beds!!! Received abuse from another person staying when we were looking for free beds. The all-male reception were VERY unhelpful!! Joked that we could "stay at theirs" if no beds could be found. Found us beds by removing DIRTY LINEN. Ripped back other persons curtain and demanded proof that he was supposed to be staying. Told us if he "touches [us] or does anything again to come [down to us again]". AGAIN? Once should have been enough!?! Safe to say just how unsafe we felt as 3 girls aged 20-22! Went to make our beds and discovered we were given DIRTY LINEN. Not to mention that you are not given a duvet cover only the duvet, just the way to spread bed bugs, we received two pillow cases (for one pillow) and two sheets (one below and one above you although i'm certain most wouldn't bother and just use the duvet). We went for a drink after the situation was resolved and upon returning to our rooms discovered that 2 of our 4 beds had been taken!!! Once again we went to reception, one of the girls who had taken our bed had actually been staying for days and had her stuff moved by the receptionist. Beds were found. Additionally the shower and toilet facilities were filthy as only cleaned once a day. The lights would turn off whilst showering meaning you're stood their waving your arms around with shampoo in your eyes! The dining area was disgustingly dirty, the floor looked like it hadn't been swept in weeks! The whole hostel was cramped with no place to put bags. The bunk beds where 3 up, i nearly had an accident climbing up, thankfully i wasn't groggy & going for a 3am toilet-trip!! You have to pay for everything including forks and knives?? The alternative is plastic plates, cups etc like children. The hot water tap for the coffee was broken, the breakfast was cheap white only bread with cheap jam and butter and/or cornflakes. Like the dirty linen, left behind or forgotten items were not cleaned out. DO NOT STAY.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: low price

Disliked: limited space

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to find, plus the room was cheap - i paid 10 pounds for a night and i think that was just the right price.

Disliked: The toilets could have been cleaned a little more often - in general they were okay but when i arrived at midnight the first night there was toilet roll everywhere... although i know sometimes that can't be helped

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: looks old

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

susan rush

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 September 2012 susan would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: the kitchen the rooms could be better ventilated ie fresh air.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are curtains on the beds

Disliked: Noisy

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lewis Hockley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2012

Liked: Was a very good location

Disliked: Awful showers and toilets!didn't like the 3 teir bunkbeds either and overall the hostel didn't have a very fun or frriendly atmosphere.but for the price its fine if you just need a bed for the night

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good price. and there is a place were people can watch movies in the evening.

Disliked: The room was quite small for 18 people. There was barely any space to put your luggages besides the lockers you had to rent if you wanted to use one. Furthermore, it can be quite noisy in a room with 18 people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frigyes Szabo

Alone

Business / conference

06 September 2012 Frigyes would recommend this property

Liked: Very reasonable prices

Disliked: Frigyes left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ankur Garg

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 September 2012 Ankur would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is good here , excellent value for money

Disliked: Wifi did not work inspite of paying for it should be copletely free

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Esther Speirs

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

06 September 2012 Esther would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and really great value, loved the set up, felt safe! Will definitly stay at this hostel again.

Disliked: Hate to say it but....bed bugs!


See all London hostels
See all London hotels