We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Hyde Park Inn

Hostel | 48-50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England W2 3JA

76.2% Overall Rating

1099 out of 1684 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/04/2015)

"They've got a pool table close to th reception where we played a lot. Sometimes also some staff members joined in and it was quite fun."

Read all Smart Hyde Park Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.12
  • Towel USD 7.79

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

***Please ensure that you have a photo ID when checking in*** Bookings of 10 or more people are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with hostelbookers.com Group Bookings to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per hostelbookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 12% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Astor Queensway
34.34 USD

Hostel 88.3% 616 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
31.22 USD

Hostel 70.7% 43 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
64.52 USD

Apartment 70.2% 9 reviews
Hyde Park Economy Apartments
52.76 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hyde Park Hostel
17.16 USD

Hostel 63.0% 1404 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
14.05 USD

Hostel 66.1% 1846 reviews
New dawn hotel
32.78 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.6% 26 reviews
Royal Hyde Park Hotel
58.15 USD

Hotel 3 star 73.8% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.2%

Overall Rating

1099 out of 1684 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Hyde Park Inn'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
74.4%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 913 of 1083 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2013

Liked: Good location for transport. Nice neighborhood. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Overcrowded 15 bed dorm, stacked three high without enough space for the luggage of 15 people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valerija Christensen

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 June 2013 Valerija would recommend this property

Liked: Central, convenient, friendly and helpful staff. Totally value for money!!

Disliked: Valerija left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Frances Dawson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2013 Frances would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel was a great value for money!! For what you pay for it was a great place to stay. A nice area, lots of restraunts, right next to Hyde park, and only a walk to Oxford street. We stayed in a 12 person dorm and although it was a little cramped and smelly I couldn't complain, we only stayed at the hostel for sleeping anyway. Hot showers were available and the breakfast was basic but nice. I would definitely reccomend to someone who doesn't mind staying somewhere not so luxurious!

Disliked: We were 3 18 yeah old girls but our dorm was mainly older men which was different to what we are used to.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: DONT STAY HERE. Security is non-existent! While I was staying here a male snuck into the FEMALE ONLY showers and I caught him crouched in the shower cubicle next to me watching me shower. The reception was useless and still hasn't refunded my money, as I requested to cancel the rest of my stay at this hostel following this incident. The management did nothing to comfort me despite my obvious distress. They did not offer any reimbursement, I had to demand a refund. The management responded by saying that the man who entered the female showers may not have been a resident of the hostel which makes it even worse. I REPEAT, SECURITY AT THIS HOSTEL IS ABYSMAL AND THIS HOSTEL IS UNSAFE. Additionally, the kitchen was tiny and you had to go to reception and leave your room key as a deposit every time you needed to use a cooking utensil, then wait while someone opened the locked kitchen cupboard to retrieve what you requested. It was an inconvenience to say the least. Breakfast was woeful, jam on bread. That is all. Don't stay here and ease spread the word to your friends to avoid this hostel too.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dane Mccolgan

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 June 2013 Dane would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that each bunk had its own safe.

Disliked: .....

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: value

Disliked: too small cabins

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Torsten Terhorst

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: It wasn't clean, but it is what you pay for. The most bad thing was that the safety box costs extra, that I wasn't prepared for, but otherwise it was good for what we paid for. No bugs, clean sheets and great staff! But otherwise the areas aren't clean, but if you just plan on sleeping in the motel and nothing more it's ok and definitely worth the money, because of the great location. Although the breakfast is bad, white toast and cereal, but as it's a motel it's good even that they do have free breakfast!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Did as wanted. All my items safe. Left lots on bed except money nothing touched bag of toiletries of 21,items. Useful for temp work to stay. Cheap. Also see London sights if wish

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Très bon rapport qualité prix. Really good value for money. Bien placé, personnel très agréable. Good location and nice staff. Idéal pour séjour court entre copains. Very well for short stay with friends.

Disliked: Selon les autres occupants de l'hôtel, cela peut être bruyant à toute heure et il peut y avoir la queue aux sanitaires communs. Depending on the other clients, it can be noisy anytime and waiting time at the sanitary. Le petit déjeuner (loin du "english breakfast" présente peu de choix mais est à volonté. The breakfast is not english one but you can serve as much as you want. Plusieurs options sont payantes : exemple les tiroirs sous les lits pour ranger les affaires, ou le dépôts des bagages une fois la chambre rendue. Some facilities have to be paied, like drawers under the bed for your stuff or leaving the luggages after returning the room.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the staff was very helpful!

Disliked: It wasn't clean, but it is what you pay for. The most bad thing was that the safety box costs extra, that I wasn't prepared for, but otherwise it was good for what we paid for. No bugs, clean sheets and great staff! But otherwise the areas aren't clean, but if you just plan on sleeping in the motel and nothing more it's ok and definitely worth the money, because of the great location. Although the breakfast is bad, white toast and cereal, but as it's a motel it's good even that they do have free breakfast!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds style.

Disliked: Bathroom without hot water (just warm) and not too clean.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jessica Collins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2013

Liked: Location was good, good kitchen facilities, wifi

Disliked: Felt dirty and not very safe. Very loud, next time I wouldnt stay in a large mixed dorm...but it was already pretty expensive for the quality....so really, I would just not stay there again. I would give up the location for a nicer place. Bathrooms were far, busy, dirty...toilets didnt always flush... Oh and LOTS of kids here..sport teams, I think, so they are loud and everywhere!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Arnaud Christian

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 April 2013 Arnaud would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly and welcoming Le staff est gentil et accueillant the price is a bit expensive for a group but still very accessible for London Le prix est un peu cher pour un groupe mais reste très accessible pour Londres A bit far from the city center so you have to take the tube Un peu loin du centre cille et il faut donc prendre le métro The area is great and well frequented Le quartier est très bien et bien frequenté Simple but adequate breakfast Petit déjeuner simple mais correct Maybe a bit of orange juice will be welcome and especially chocolate powder for children Peut être un peu de jus d'orange serait le beinvenu et surtout du chocolat en poudre pour les enfants Very good for a group Très bien pour un groupe

Disliked: This is not a real hotel but fine for a smart hostel Ce n'est pas un vrai hôtel mais très bien pour une auberge de jeunesse

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Miroslav Dimitrov

Alone

Romantic getaway

19 April 2013

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: Conditions in kitchen tools for cook giving

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ann Söderberg

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2013 Ann would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms ok, the toilets/showers rather clean. Location fine, nearest underground Bayswater, cirlce or Queensway (Central). Nice food around the area for students, backpackers. Easy access to everything

Disliked: Construction workers, mould in the buildning (smell), the size within the common areas

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nikola Celbová

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

09 April 2013 Nikola would recommend this property

Liked: I seriously like the way of the life in the hostel at all, it's friendly, feels like family as the visitor as the staff, it's really nice here to stay and i'm definatly coming back in august again. Nice place, near all the monuments, really lovely.

Disliked: I don't think that there's anything. Even when i saw the staff talking and solving situation with others, everything was fair and lovely!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Edwards

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed at in terms of atmosphere and helpfulness of staff - really enjoyed my stay here. Location is excellent - less than 1 minute walk to Bayswater underground and Kensington Palace Gardens (which you can then reach Hyde Park). Also, the rooms that I stayed in were clean, there was paid access to lockers for all guests and WIFI access in the common room/bedrooms. Would definitely recommend to others :)

Disliked: Nothing really - only thing I did notice was that some of the toilets/shower rooms could do with a little decorating but that's really it

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Francisco Bagulho

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Francisco would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and good staff. Situation in the city. Good commerce in the area.

Disliked: Refrigerator very bad and the kitchen not prepared for such an ammount of customers... Not flexibility when custommers has some needs.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gillian Angliss

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

25 March 2013 Gillian would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: Gillian left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Ewa Szmytkowska

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: 1. Small rooms and toillets. 2. Kitchen space in basement dirty. I couldn't eat breakfast - this place is a pigsty! 3. Noisy nights.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very strategic to tourist spot

Disliked: the receptionists are all busy chatting to each other while doing their work. one of the receptionist were joining chatting to his colleagues while preparing for my room.,and i have to wait for half an hour for that

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 February 2013

Liked: Location, free breakfast, and free wifi.

Disliked: Awful, reduced my stay to go somewhere else. Very dirty - rooms, bathrooms, common rooms - all disgusting. The whole hostel needs to be cleaned. Poor kitchen facilities, and not enough tables and seats at meal times.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

GWUISEOP YOON

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2013 GWUISEOP would recommend this property

Liked: cool, I write in korean now 저렴한 가격에 괜찮은 시설입니다. 락커 사용비를 따로 지불해야하지만 전자식으로 되어 있어 안전하고 크기도 24인치 캐리어도 충분히 들어갑니다. 3층침대에 각각 커튼이 있어 괜찮고 최근 페인트칠과 시설 개보수를 진행하고 있어 현재는 어수선한감이 없지 않아 있지만 추후에 이용하시길 좋은 것같습니다. 그리고 서클라인이라 주요관광지와 인접하며 지하철역 바로 앞이라 호스텔 찾기도 쉽습니다.

Disliked: 화장실의 비좁음과 방음이 잘 안되어 도로가 차소리와 사람들의 소리가 잠을 방해하기도 합니다. 귀마개를 챙기는 센스가 있으셔야 할듯. 아침은 정말 간단하게 줍니다.. 무료라 좋지만 간단히 배만 채우실 생각하시는게 좋을 듯합니다. 와이파이가 무료로 제공된다지만 1층에서만이고 제대로 사용이 안될 수도 있습니다.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great people, comfortable rooms, everything great!

Disliked: uncomfortable sinks and showers

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Chee Keong Yap

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 February 2013 Chee Keong would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap and really value for money, plus free wifi and breakfast are included.

Disliked: A part of the hostel are not clean and the people doesn't seems friendly there.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels