HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel London

Hostel

48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 70%

Location 89%

Safety 78%

Staff 82%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 3.11USD
  • Towel 7.76USD

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].


***Please ensure that you have a photo ID when checking in***
Bookings of 10 or more people are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with hostelbookers.com Group Bookings to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per hostelbookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 12% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 70%

Location 89%

Safety 78%

Staff 82%

Value 74%

Showing 21-30 of 111 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good place to stay for a few days in London.

Disliked: The toilets are a bit small.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We have 38 rooms ( 21 of them en-suite) and we have 23 showers and 15 toilets in different size. You are free to use any of shared facility at any time. Hope to see you real soon!!

Best regards,

Smart Hyde Park Inn

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Sky Sports and other Sky channels on TV.

Disliked: No free computer terminals.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, Thanks for the awesome review! We loved having you stay with us. As you know we provide a free Wi-Fi service to all our valued guests in the rooms and the common areas. We will pass your suggestion ( free computer points) to the head office. Hope to see you real soon!!

Lots of love, Smart Hyde Park Inn

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Location, Attractive property

Disliked: the breakfast

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! I am sorry that you found the free breakfast, and organisation of it, unsatisfactory. We have taken on board the comments from our customers. We always are looking for ways to improve our continental breakfast. cheers and happy travels!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: There was a good enviroment, some people was nice and the staff was very attentive.

Disliked: The showers were poor in some cases. Breakfast was not so complete but is what you can expect. There is also not enough space for all the people to sit and have lunch and the wifi does not work properly sometimes.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Our reception is open 24/7, please inform us at any time whether the toilet/ shower. Our housekeeping team work tirelessly to ensure the hostel remains clean and hygienic! We have taken on board the comments from our customers. We have new common area and extra seats outside. Our wifi connection is strong throughout the whole building so if there is ever an issue just advise reception so we can reset the router. cheers and happy travels!

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: I got robbed within 30 min of checking in. Thieves stay in this hostel simply because they know that there is a lot to steal because you pay for the lockers. It's like cockroaches: they come if there is a lot of leftovers.Just avoid this place really. They stole me EVEN IF I HAD A LOCKER. The place is very unsafe.


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We have a very good security system such as oyster key cards let you to enter only your room, CCTV, 24 hours reception, patrolling the hostel in and out during the night. We recommend our guest to use the Lockers in the room or safes at the reception instead of leaving valuables on bed when you share the room.

Best regards and happy travels!
Smart Hostels Team

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Location, prices, staff

Disliked: Had problem of person on wrong bed

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, Thanks for the awesome review! We loved having you stay with us.

Our beds are not allocated, but we do issue bed tags to be placed on plastic sleeve hanged on bed to avoid any problem like this. We are happy the problem had been resolved. We hope to see you next time you're in London!

Thank you
Smart Hostels Team

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location.For few nights it will be good. Not recommended for long stays

Disliked: too many beds in a very small room..no enough space for backpack or luggage.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! , we have different types of dormitories available to suit different types of travelers, depending on their budget.

Thank you,
Smart Hostels Team

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: They've got a pool table close to th reception where we played a lot. Sometimes also some staff members joined in and it was quite fun.

Disliked: The dorm room had such a little window for 16 people sleeping in it, so the air was quite thick as well as some mould at the ceiling. For everyone taller than 1,80 m the beds are too small.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is wonderful - picturesque views, closeness to every place in London. People out there are nice and friendly. What's more, they're also very diverse. It's cool to meet such a variety of people! The staff is extremely nice too. And I like the breakfast there very much!

Disliked: It's a little bit cramped, some toilets are far too small. I think that tiny besides lamp would be cool (people get angry when you come back late and turn the lights on).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi and thanks for your review. We are very proud of our central locations and our diverse range of guests; it can lead to some interesting conversations and possibly the start of new friendships. Some of our rooms may be smaller than elsewhere but our rates are low for central London. The majority of our beds are complete with curtains for extra privacy and added comfort. We regularly review our performance to optimize our standards of service.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice, friendly and considerate staff. The location was also a bonus.

Disliked: Really dirty. The bathroom was full of limescale, dirt, grime and used condoms and tampons on the floor. I refused to shower at the hostel. I had to use the local gym in order to shower! The room size is very small, for the amount of people that they cram in each room. The bedrooms were also very dirty and I was very skeptical that the sheets on the quilt were clean. The most annoying thing about the stay was the type of client this hostel attracts. People come at unsociable times and turn the lights on whilst you're trying to sleep. Unfortunately, the top bunks do not have cover above to block the lights unlike the two beds below. Guests in my dorm also decided to have sex at 4am in the morning, waking me up!!I do not recommend this hostel! They're better hostels in London for the same price. Avoid!


The property's response is

Hello and thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and for rating our staff so high. Our reception is open 24/7; please inform us at any time whether the toilet/shower/room cleanliness is unsatisfactory. We have more than 23 showers, available for your use. We apologise you experienced issues with another guest, we hope it was reported to our front desk at the time of the incident. Thanks for choosing to stay with Smart Hostels, we hope to see you again.

Check Availability