HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Hyde Park Inn

Hostel | 48-50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England W2 3JA

68.0% Overall Rating

1079 out of 1660 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

Grahame Weston thinks…

"The location of the hostel was good for the 2 main parks in that area(Hyde park and Kensington park). Local shops were near-by and it took only 30 minutes to walk to Oxford street from the hostel."

Read all Smart Hyde Park Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.38
  • Towel USD 8.43

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

***Please ensure that you have a photo ID when checking in*** Bookings of 10 or more people are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with hostelbookers.com Group Bookings to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per hostelbookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 12% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Astor Queensway
35.48 USD

Hostel 82.9% 609 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
33.79 USD

Hostel 69.6% 28 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
62.93 USD

Apartment 75.0% 8 reviews
Hyde Park Economy Apartments
58.29 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hyde Park Hostel
20.26 USD

Hostel 59.4% 1306 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
24.50 USD

Hostel 70.3% 1801 reviews
New dawn hotel
32.52 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.9% 25 reviews
Whiteleaf Hotel
25.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.2% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.0%

Overall Rating

1079 out of 1660 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Hyde Park Inn'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
56.8%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
71.2%
Value
72.8%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 894 of 1060 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 35 | 36   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Mike Jenkins

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2013

Liked: wifi worked but only in the lobby and basement. Tv and movies were nice

Disliked: No airconditioning nor fans, high price, staff stretched and had difficuly understanding and speaking english bathrooms 100 degrees farenheight bathrooms and showers are dual gender and very cramped place was over populated... wonder if it meets the firecode. lobby seats about 6 people when the place packs about 100. no or very little air circulation

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2013

Liked: ????

Disliked: The Staff!!!!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's has a really great location. Free WiFi. That's about the only things that was great about this place.

Disliked: The rooms are quite small and the backpacks has to stand in the middle of the room because there's no room for them elsewhere which makes it difficult to walk around in the room. You have to walk to an other place to get breakfast and there's only white toast and cornflakes. The staff wasn't smiling once (except one guy) which could have had the experience to be mush better. The toilets and showers is really small and smelly (no air circulation) and sometimes there almost wasn't any water coming out of the shower. You have to pay more for the luggage room, safety box and such things.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013

Liked: Very close to the metro and food store.

Disliked: No ventilation, 16-bed room with only one small window, we woke up every morning bathing in our own sweat. Toilets and showers were not clean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ruth watkin

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 July 2013 ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Hyde Park Love curtains round bed, bit of privacy!!

Disliked: Nothing!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located and very inexpensive for such a locale

Disliked: Long lines at the desk and the cramped, crowded dorms. Maybe limit how much stuff folks can pile up on the floor!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2013

Liked: Good location for transport. Nice neighborhood. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Overcrowded 15 bed dorm, stacked three high without enough space for the luggage of 15 people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valerija Christensen

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 June 2013 Valerija would recommend this property

Liked: Central, convenient, friendly and helpful staff. Totally value for money!!

Disliked: Valerija left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Frances Dawson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2013 Frances would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel was a great value for money!! For what you pay for it was a great place to stay. A nice area, lots of restraunts, right next to Hyde park, and only a walk to Oxford street. We stayed in a 12 person dorm and although it was a little cramped and smelly I couldn't complain, we only stayed at the hostel for sleeping anyway. Hot showers were available and the breakfast was basic but nice. I would definitely reccomend to someone who doesn't mind staying somewhere not so luxurious!

Disliked: We were 3 18 yeah old girls but our dorm was mainly older men which was different to what we are used to.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: DONT STAY HERE. Security is non-existent! While I was staying here a male snuck into the FEMALE ONLY showers and I caught him crouched in the shower cubicle next to me watching me shower. The reception was useless and still hasn't refunded my money, as I requested to cancel the rest of my stay at this hostel following this incident. The management did nothing to comfort me despite my obvious distress. They did not offer any reimbursement, I had to demand a refund. The management responded by saying that the man who entered the female showers may not have been a resident of the hostel which makes it even worse. I REPEAT, SECURITY AT THIS HOSTEL IS ABYSMAL AND THIS HOSTEL IS UNSAFE. Additionally, the kitchen was tiny and you had to go to reception and leave your room key as a deposit every time you needed to use a cooking utensil, then wait while someone opened the locked kitchen cupboard to retrieve what you requested. It was an inconvenience to say the least. Breakfast was woeful, jam on bread. That is all. Don't stay here and ease spread the word to your friends to avoid this hostel too.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dane Mccolgan

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 June 2013 Dane would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that each bunk had its own safe.

Disliked: .....

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: value

Disliked: too small cabins

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Torsten Terhorst

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: It wasn't clean, but it is what you pay for. The most bad thing was that the safety box costs extra, that I wasn't prepared for, but otherwise it was good for what we paid for. No bugs, clean sheets and great staff! But otherwise the areas aren't clean, but if you just plan on sleeping in the motel and nothing more it's ok and definitely worth the money, because of the great location. Although the breakfast is bad, white toast and cereal, but as it's a motel it's good even that they do have free breakfast!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Did as wanted. All my items safe. Left lots on bed except money nothing touched bag of toiletries of 21,items. Useful for temp work to stay. Cheap. Also see London sights if wish

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Très bon rapport qualité prix. Really good value for money. Bien placé, personnel très agréable. Good location and nice staff. Idéal pour séjour court entre copains. Very well for short stay with friends.

Disliked: Selon les autres occupants de l'hôtel, cela peut être bruyant à toute heure et il peut y avoir la queue aux sanitaires communs. Depending on the other clients, it can be noisy anytime and waiting time at the sanitary. Le petit déjeuner (loin du "english breakfast" présente peu de choix mais est à volonté. The breakfast is not english one but you can serve as much as you want. Plusieurs options sont payantes : exemple les tiroirs sous les lits pour ranger les affaires, ou le dépôts des bagages une fois la chambre rendue. Some facilities have to be paied, like drawers under the bed for your stuff or leaving the luggages after returning the room.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the staff was very helpful!

Disliked: It wasn't clean, but it is what you pay for. The most bad thing was that the safety box costs extra, that I wasn't prepared for, but otherwise it was good for what we paid for. No bugs, clean sheets and great staff! But otherwise the areas aren't clean, but if you just plan on sleeping in the motel and nothing more it's ok and definitely worth the money, because of the great location. Although the breakfast is bad, white toast and cereal, but as it's a motel it's good even that they do have free breakfast!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds style.

Disliked: Bathroom without hot water (just warm) and not too clean.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jessica Collins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2013

Liked: Location was good, good kitchen facilities, wifi

Disliked: Felt dirty and not very safe. Very loud, next time I wouldnt stay in a large mixed dorm...but it was already pretty expensive for the quality....so really, I would just not stay there again. I would give up the location for a nicer place. Bathrooms were far, busy, dirty...toilets didnt always flush... Oh and LOTS of kids here..sport teams, I think, so they are loud and everywhere!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Arnaud Christian

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 April 2013 Arnaud would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly and welcoming Le staff est gentil et accueillant the price is a bit expensive for a group but still very accessible for London Le prix est un peu cher pour un groupe mais reste très accessible pour Londres A bit far from the city center so you have to take the tube Un peu loin du centre cille et il faut donc prendre le métro The area is great and well frequented Le quartier est très bien et bien frequenté Simple but adequate breakfast Petit déjeuner simple mais correct Maybe a bit of orange juice will be welcome and especially chocolate powder for children Peut être un peu de jus d'orange serait le beinvenu et surtout du chocolat en poudre pour les enfants Very good for a group Très bien pour un groupe

Disliked: This is not a real hotel but fine for a smart hostel Ce n'est pas un vrai hôtel mais très bien pour une auberge de jeunesse

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Miroslav Dimitrov

Alone

Romantic getaway

19 April 2013

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: Conditions in kitchen tools for cook giving

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ann Söderberg

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2013 Ann would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms ok, the toilets/showers rather clean. Location fine, nearest underground Bayswater, cirlce or Queensway (Central). Nice food around the area for students, backpackers. Easy access to everything

Disliked: Construction workers, mould in the buildning (smell), the size within the common areas

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nikola Celbová

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

09 April 2013 Nikola would recommend this property

Liked: I seriously like the way of the life in the hostel at all, it's friendly, feels like family as the visitor as the staff, it's really nice here to stay and i'm definatly coming back in august again. Nice place, near all the monuments, really lovely.

Disliked: I don't think that there's anything. Even when i saw the staff talking and solving situation with others, everything was fair and lovely!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Edwards

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed at in terms of atmosphere and helpfulness of staff - really enjoyed my stay here. Location is excellent - less than 1 minute walk to Bayswater underground and Kensington Palace Gardens (which you can then reach Hyde Park). Also, the rooms that I stayed in were clean, there was paid access to lockers for all guests and WIFI access in the common room/bedrooms. Would definitely recommend to others :)

Disliked: Nothing really - only thing I did notice was that some of the toilets/shower rooms could do with a little decorating but that's really it

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Francisco Bagulho

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Francisco would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and good staff. Situation in the city. Good commerce in the area.

Disliked: Refrigerator very bad and the kitchen not prepared for such an ammount of customers... Not flexibility when custommers has some needs.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gillian Angliss

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

25 March 2013 Gillian would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: Gillian left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels