We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Hyde Park Inn

Hostel | 48-50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England W2 3JA

74.5% Overall Rating

1093 out of 1678 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/01/2015)

Magdalena Rudnik thinks…

"The location is wonderful - picturesque views, closeness to every place in London. People out there are nice and friendly. What's more, they're also very diverse. It's cool to meet such a variety of…"

Read all Smart Hyde Park Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.25
  • Towel USD 8.10

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

***Please ensure that you have a photo ID when checking in*** Bookings of 10 or more people are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with hostelbookers.com Group Bookings to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per hostelbookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 12% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Astor Queensway
35.70 USD

Hostel 83.3% 611 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
32.46 USD

Hostel 68.6% 35 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
42.73 USD

Apartment 70.2% 9 reviews
Hyde Park Economy Apartments
36.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hyde Park Hostel
14.59 USD

Hostel 53.4% 1347 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
12.97 USD

Hostel 71.9% 1822 reviews
New dawn hotel
34.08 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.6% 26 reviews
Royal Hyde Park Hotel
40.17 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 51 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.5%

Overall Rating

1093 out of 1678 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Hyde Park Inn'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
75.2%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 908 of 1077 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was fairly clean and functional and a great location. breakfast included was a big plus considering the cheap price

Disliked: the air and smell was very damp. small kitchen and few toilets

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 December 2013

Liked: The location

Disliked: It was just a total dump. It smelled bad. People coming in and out all night switching the lights on so no chance of sleep. Beds crammed in tight with little light and ventilation. A Hogarthian experience.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Neil Robinson

Alone

Business / conference

21 November 2013 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location: Zone 1, Hyde Park close plus all services and amenities close by. Cosmopolitan clientele make it interesting and the staff are very helpful. Only real drawback is it is a bit grubby but they are working on renovations.

Disliked: Neil left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kim Konings

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 November 2013 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the beds were sturdy and did not squeak and that there were curtains around each bed (I was in the 20 bed dorm). An improvement from last time is that there was an extension lead in the room allowing for more plug points.

Disliked: Breakfast is a bit feeble compared to other hostels. Tiny bowls of cereal, very thin white bread and plastic utensils.I don't like drinking coffee from a small plastic cup.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money if you book early enough, friendly stuff

Disliked: There was renovation during my stay so there were signs "wet paint", workers going up and down... Small rooms (if you don't pay extra for locker in a room, there is not enough space for luggage), too hot (one window in a room for 12, I was waking up sweaty), not enough chicken equipment (no can opener, plastic forks and spoons, only one small microwave)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Andrew Nicholson

Alone

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The room, I would advise not to stay in the 16 bed dorm unless you like to party, I was running the Royal Parks Half Marathon the next day and from the hours of 22:00-05:00 others were coming back to shouting and singing. Also 2 people decided to get in on in the bed opposite me. Also I may be wrong but in room 80 I didn't even see a window in there and if there would be a fire, I couldn't see a emergency exit.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tadeja Šuštar

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 October 2013 Tadeja would recommend this property

Liked: I really like location as it is in the Zone 1 of London. It is very close to underground station Bayswater and Queensway. I like it is not expensive and staff is very friendly and helpful. It is good you can use public computers and you can charge batteries and computers by reception. There is safe place, as anytime is there somebody.

Disliked: I was in room with 20 beds and there is just one window. Air was not very fresh.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Shower cramped

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness low, narrow space inside the room. Bad environment. Full of noise.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Justin Begley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2013

Liked: N/A

Disliked: I've stayed at many hostels and this was by far the worst. Spend the extra money and go somewhere else.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013

Liked: Curtain for privacy

Disliked: Poor Kitchen equipment

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Praticia Chandra

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Praticia would recommend this property

Liked: The location and its proximity to Paddington

Disliked: The hygiene was so poor.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good space management, neat, decent bathroom and very good location: near 2 Tube stations (Bayswater: District and Circle Lines | Queensway: Central Line) - Agencement très ergonomique de l'espace, propre, sanitaires tout à fait corrects et situé à un jet de pierre de deux stations de métro (Bayswater: District et Circle Lines | Queensway: Central Line)

Disliked: Can be noisy if you have a room at street level and I strongly recommend to avoid having breakfast there if you can, it's one of the worst I've had in a hostel. - Peut être bruyant si vous avez une chambre qui donne sur la rue, et je vous conseille de prendre le petit-déjeuner ailleurs, parce que celui-là est vraiment en-dessous de tout.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was ok.

Disliked: N.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Mike Jenkins

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2013

Liked: wifi worked but only in the lobby and basement. Tv and movies were nice

Disliked: No airconditioning nor fans, high price, staff stretched and had difficuly understanding and speaking english bathrooms 100 degrees farenheight bathrooms and showers are dual gender and very cramped place was over populated... wonder if it meets the firecode. lobby seats about 6 people when the place packs about 100. no or very little air circulation

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2013

Liked: ????

Disliked: The Staff!!!!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's has a really great location. Free WiFi. That's about the only things that was great about this place.

Disliked: The rooms are quite small and the backpacks has to stand in the middle of the room because there's no room for them elsewhere which makes it difficult to walk around in the room. You have to walk to an other place to get breakfast and there's only white toast and cornflakes. The staff wasn't smiling once (except one guy) which could have had the experience to be mush better. The toilets and showers is really small and smelly (no air circulation) and sometimes there almost wasn't any water coming out of the shower. You have to pay more for the luggage room, safety box and such things.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013

Liked: Very close to the metro and food store.

Disliked: No ventilation, 16-bed room with only one small window, we woke up every morning bathing in our own sweat. Toilets and showers were not clean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ruth watkin

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 July 2013 ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Hyde Park Love curtains round bed, bit of privacy!!

Disliked: Nothing!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located and very inexpensive for such a locale

Disliked: Long lines at the desk and the cramped, crowded dorms. Maybe limit how much stuff folks can pile up on the floor!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2013

Liked: Good location for transport. Nice neighborhood. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Overcrowded 15 bed dorm, stacked three high without enough space for the luggage of 15 people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valerija Christensen

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 June 2013 Valerija would recommend this property

Liked: Central, convenient, friendly and helpful staff. Totally value for money!!

Disliked: Valerija left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Frances Dawson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2013 Frances would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel was a great value for money!! For what you pay for it was a great place to stay. A nice area, lots of restraunts, right next to Hyde park, and only a walk to Oxford street. We stayed in a 12 person dorm and although it was a little cramped and smelly I couldn't complain, we only stayed at the hostel for sleeping anyway. Hot showers were available and the breakfast was basic but nice. I would definitely reccomend to someone who doesn't mind staying somewhere not so luxurious!

Disliked: We were 3 18 yeah old girls but our dorm was mainly older men which was different to what we are used to.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: DONT STAY HERE. Security is non-existent! While I was staying here a male snuck into the FEMALE ONLY showers and I caught him crouched in the shower cubicle next to me watching me shower. The reception was useless and still hasn't refunded my money, as I requested to cancel the rest of my stay at this hostel following this incident. The management did nothing to comfort me despite my obvious distress. They did not offer any reimbursement, I had to demand a refund. The management responded by saying that the man who entered the female showers may not have been a resident of the hostel which makes it even worse. I REPEAT, SECURITY AT THIS HOSTEL IS ABYSMAL AND THIS HOSTEL IS UNSAFE. Additionally, the kitchen was tiny and you had to go to reception and leave your room key as a deposit every time you needed to use a cooking utensil, then wait while someone opened the locked kitchen cupboard to retrieve what you requested. It was an inconvenience to say the least. Breakfast was woeful, jam on bread. That is all. Don't stay here and ease spread the word to your friends to avoid this hostel too.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dane Mccolgan

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 June 2013 Dane would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that each bunk had its own safe.

Disliked: .....


See all London hostels
See all London hotels