HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Camden Inn

Hostel | 55-57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England NW1 0AA

72.3% Overall Rating

649 out of 1085 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/07/2014)

Asztalos Éva thinks…

"Közel van a piac, a metró, a busz. A városrész lenyűgöző.Az emberek fantasztikusak. A személyzet jópofa, segítőkész. A hely tiszta, a reggeli jó, a hangulat jó. A szobák és ágyak elviselhetőek."

Read all Smart Camden Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.41
  • Towel USD 8.51

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: We do not accept bookings for longer than 14 nights or a booking for more than 10 people. In the case of such a booking the booking will be cancelled without a refund of your deposit. In the case of wanting to book more than 10 people please contact: groups@hostelbookers.com.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Camden
30.53 USD

Hostel 79.0% 244 reviews
Access Camden
49.45 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Goldsmiths House
62.59 USD

Hostel 78.4% 244 reviews
Access Euston
42.63 USD

Apartment 81.3% 18 reviews
Stay in Camden
45.19 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
New Market House
42.63 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.6% 3 reviews
YHA London Central
40.93 USD

Hostel 93.3% 863 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
44.34 USD

Hostel 88.7% 464 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.3%

Overall Rating

649 out of 1085 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Camden Inn'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
78.4%
Value
72.8%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 592 of 691 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, great location, helpful staff

Disliked: charge for locker-only 2 electrical sockets in room-no elevator to third floor-charge for wifi in room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Asztalos Éva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

11 July 2014 Asztalos would recommend this property

Liked: Közel van a piac, a metró, a busz. A városrész lenyűgöző.Az emberek fantasztikusak. A személyzet jópofa, segítőkész. A hely tiszta, a reggeli jó, a hangulat jó. A szobák és ágyak elviselhetőek.

Disliked: A szobához tartozó zuhanyzóban meleg vizet csiholni egy élmény volt, mivel addigra már sokkot kaptam a hidegtől.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Fayaz Nazir Srambikal

Alone

Business / conference

09 June 2014 Fayaz would recommend this property

Liked: clean toilets

Disliked: kitchen aint that great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Helpful staff. Surprisingly quiet considering its location. Good, central location. Comfortable. A good place to relax and sleep after a busy day.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gayatri Kelford

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 May 2014 Gayatri would recommend this property

Liked: It was so close to Camden lock it was unreal, there's a really friendly atmosphere, excellent value for money.

Disliked: Not applicable

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rich Marshall

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

14 April 2014 Rich would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No toilet in room but this was expected and only a minor inconvenience.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014

Liked: It's location near the Camden Town tube stop.

Disliked: Receptionist, beds, extremely tight space (could barely move around each other), and the environment overall was horrible.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Rhodri Curran

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

29 March 2014

Liked: In all honesty, there wasn't much we liked. Have stayed in 3 hostels in London in last week and about 10 in Italy and France over last 5 weeks and this one was the worst we stayed in. The location was good and the hostel was secure but aside from that there wasn't much to like.

Disliked: Everything is mega cramped. Stayed in a 14 bed room, there is no storage so everyone's stuff is everywhere. And I mean everywhere, including our beds so we had to go and double check we were in right room. Worlds smallest toilets and showers. When your not in your room there's not enough space to accommodate the amount of people there. It honestly feels like the owners have crammed as many beds in as little space as possible to maximise money.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

29 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Camden town, the kitchen cooking facilities were very good, bathroom was clean, free wifi, the beds were comfortable and I don't think there was a curfew so you can come back late and easily go straight up to your room and perish after a night out!

Disliked: Even though the kitchen's facilities were good it was a very crowded room as there was a dining table in there too. Not enough plates and cutlery - early bird gets the worm! :)

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2014

Liked: You can check in at very late hours.

Disliked: The smell, the kitchen, the horrible breakfast, the plastics in the bathroom, the windows, the thin walls and constant noice.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Darta Kaleja

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

23 February 2014 Darta would recommend this property

Liked: You get what you pay for. The location is great but the facilities are average.

Disliked: You had to pay extra for everything.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Kaitlin Cheetham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

20 February 2014 Kaitlin would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere because most of the other travellers are very kind. You meet some pretty interesting people. The staff there were wonderful! Very helpful and kind. It is right in Camden so it is a great location, but it isnt close enough to be a bother when you sleep.

Disliked: The downstairs bedrooms and bathroom wasnt that great. Couches were uncomfortable.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 January 2014

Liked: Nothing at all, totally disappointed. We were thinking to change a hostelin a last minute

Disliked: We were staying in 4ppl bedroom. From the moment we arrived the receptionist was extremely rude, was shouting and didn't explain anything. He did not even let our girlfriend to come with us to the room to help us to bring our bags. When we entered the room it was so tiny and ugly with broken lockers-nothing like the pictures!! We were so afraid to leave our stuff there because there are soapy strange and dodgy people working in the hostel, almost homeless, they all have keys from rooms and that is so unsafe ! Well bathroom and toilet we didn't almost use, had to step in plastic bags inside. So unclean.. The night was a nightmare. The room faces the main road, wind was blowing thru the windows and there were always so many Arabic people next the window so we could hear every single word they were shouting and laughing. I think I had an hour of sleep that night Max. But got a full day headache thanks to it. Everything was letting us down.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013

Liked: Location in Camden, shower on room

Disliked: bed sheets, was noisy at the weekend at night, early breakfast

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Emil Swat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2013

Liked: Good location and good price

Disliked: small rooms,no atmosphere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abdullatif Barkoumi

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

27 November 2013 Abdullatif would recommend this property

Liked: location,friendliness and helpfulness at the reception,cleanliness,value for money.

Disliked: Abdullatif left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2013

Liked: it's clean

Disliked: the water of the showers is hot!!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the price is one of the cheapest in London, toilets and shower better than in most dormitories in London

Disliked: the price still high compared to the quality. Beds are uncomfortable, the radiator didn't work, the room was moisture and cold if we kept the window open, if not, then the air was really bad. The breakfast not even worth mentioning..

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Sarah Buck

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 October 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Camden smart inn is very good value for money, relaxed, safe and confortable. You can get a good nights sleep and access a cosy kitchen, tv room and garden. There is also washing machine access for longer stays. The location is excellent, in between Mornington Cresent and Camden Town.

Disliked: The staff were friendly and helpful but I did have to go back to ask where the showers and kitchen were and what to do with the bedding. There is little signage around and there is no lift access, so be prepared to climb 5 flights up and down for breakfast! There are not many showers but I did not have to wait too long to use one. I would have liked to see soya milk at breakfast for my cereal and hot drinks as a vegan and for those with lactose intolerance! :)

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

25 September 2013

Liked: Location is very central in camden. It was just about ok for a place to crash.

Disliked: Cramped room and beds, grotty bathroom, continental breakfast was very cheap bread and jam. Not value for money . Grumpy staff.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Randi Seim

As a family with children

City break

17 September 2013

Liked: Nice comfy beds and friendly staff.

Disliked: Small private bathroom, almost like beeing on a ship. Just jam to put on the bread for breakfast.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 September 2013

Liked: Good location near the underground. Kitchen looked good but we didn't use it.

Disliked: The rooms are super cramped, 6 bed dorm should only be a 4 bed. They get super stuffy at night. You have to pay £2 a day for a locker.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 July 2013

Liked: Location only, nothing else.

Disliked: Cleanliness is not great. Int the shower you can't choose the temperature and it depends of the time you take it. The beds are not very large, there is no curtains to get personnal space. Breakfast is the worst ever : just a kitchen when you have a few things display to take, but tasted awful! Finally staff is completely unfriendly.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere friendly and close to places to go....

Disliked: variety in breakfast


See all London hostels
See all London hotels