We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Camden Inn Hostel

Hostel | 55-57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England NW1 0AA

69.4% Overall Rating

656 out of 1098 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/01/2015)

"Not far away from Underground Camden Town and from the Camden Market. Short way to shops."

Read all Smart Camden Inn Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.12
  • Towel USD 7.79

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: We do not accept bookings for longer than 14 nights or a booking for more than 10 people. In the case of such a booking the booking will be cancelled without a refund of your deposit. In the case of wanting to book more than 10 people please contact: groups@hostelbookers.com.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Camden
21.69 USD

Hostel 84.2% 257 reviews
Access Camden
50.33 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Goldsmiths House
39.01 USD

Hostel 78.6% 248 reviews
PubLove @ The Exmouth Arms, Euston
26.51 USD

Hostel 83.1% 13 reviews
Access Euston
39.20 USD

Apartment 81.3% 18 reviews
Stay in Camden
41.35 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
New Market House
39.01 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.6% 3 reviews
YHA London Central
38.58 USD

Hostel 86.6% 889 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.4%

Overall Rating

656 out of 1098 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Camden Inn Hostel'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
74.4%
Value
67.2%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 598 of 703 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Michael Oliveira

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 February 2015

Liked: It's in Camden Town.

Disliked: The hostel isn't very nice.

The property's response is...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2015

Liked: Not far away from Underground Camden Town and from the Camden Market. Short way to shops.

Disliked: Only 1 bathroom for the whole floor (Toilet + shower in 1 room, so it was usually occupied). Bathroom was very dirty. No water came out of the shower -> No possibility to shower. Toilet was blocked. Common room and kitchen were in a bad state and also dirty. Bedrooms looked as if they were not cleaned in the past 20 years. Mattress and bed linen were blurry (also the fresh linen that should have been cleaned). In the middle of one night (3 am) the fire alarm started without reason and kept on ringing for several hours -> No sleep was possible. Result: disgusting, bad atmosphere, we were glad to leave.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lorraine Watson

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 January 2015 Lorraine would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean throughout. Provide en-suite dorm rooms. Hairdryer, iron etc available. kitchen always clean. Management dealt well with the problem that we had.

Disliked: One abusive, threatening young man in our room. Room temp 28C plus and he wanted the window closed. When we said we were warm and wanted it open he threatened to knife us all!! I suspect this is more of a problem with the area than with the hostel itself though.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

ROSLIM BIN CHE IBRAHIM

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2014 ROSLIM would recommend this property

Liked: average but locate at easy excess

Disliked: the owner should no enter the room when we sleep , no personal security

The property's response is...

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Peter Tempfli

Alone

City break

19 August 2014

Liked: It's dirty, and staff are ignorant. AVOID !!!

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2014

Liked: nothing

Disliked: stinky, dirty, noisy

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014

Liked: Very central, no curfew, secure lockers (with fee). Not bad for a short stay but 2 nights was all we could take.

Disliked: Surprise 10 pounds each deposite when we arrived. Very loud, not good showers, unhelpful staff, busy street, plasters and bugs in room, nasty toilets.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, great location, helpful staff

Disliked: charge for locker-only 2 electrical sockets in room-no elevator to third floor-charge for wifi in room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Asztalos Éva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

11 July 2014 Asztalos would recommend this property

Liked: Közel van a piac, a metró, a busz. A városrész lenyűgöző.Az emberek fantasztikusak. A személyzet jópofa, segítőkész. A hely tiszta, a reggeli jó, a hangulat jó. A szobák és ágyak elviselhetőek.

Disliked: A szobához tartozó zuhanyzóban meleg vizet csiholni egy élmény volt, mivel addigra már sokkot kaptam a hidegtől.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Fayaz Nazir Srambikal

Alone

Business / conference

09 June 2014 Fayaz would recommend this property

Liked: clean toilets

Disliked: kitchen aint that great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Helpful staff. Surprisingly quiet considering its location. Good, central location. Comfortable. A good place to relax and sleep after a busy day.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gayatri Kelford

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 May 2014 Gayatri would recommend this property

Liked: It was so close to Camden lock it was unreal, there's a really friendly atmosphere, excellent value for money.

Disliked: Not applicable

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rich Marshall

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

14 April 2014 Rich would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No toilet in room but this was expected and only a minor inconvenience.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014

Liked: It's location near the Camden Town tube stop.

Disliked: Receptionist, beds, extremely tight space (could barely move around each other), and the environment overall was horrible.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Rhodri Curran

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

29 March 2014

Liked: In all honesty, there wasn't much we liked. Have stayed in 3 hostels in London in last week and about 10 in Italy and France over last 5 weeks and this one was the worst we stayed in. The location was good and the hostel was secure but aside from that there wasn't much to like.

Disliked: Everything is mega cramped. Stayed in a 14 bed room, there is no storage so everyone's stuff is everywhere. And I mean everywhere, including our beds so we had to go and double check we were in right room. Worlds smallest toilets and showers. When your not in your room there's not enough space to accommodate the amount of people there. It honestly feels like the owners have crammed as many beds in as little space as possible to maximise money.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

29 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Camden town, the kitchen cooking facilities were very good, bathroom was clean, free wifi, the beds were comfortable and I don't think there was a curfew so you can come back late and easily go straight up to your room and perish after a night out!

Disliked: Even though the kitchen's facilities were good it was a very crowded room as there was a dining table in there too. Not enough plates and cutlery - early bird gets the worm! :)

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2014

Liked: You can check in at very late hours.

Disliked: The smell, the kitchen, the horrible breakfast, the plastics in the bathroom, the windows, the thin walls and constant noice.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Darta Kaleja

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

23 February 2014 Darta would recommend this property

Liked: You get what you pay for. The location is great but the facilities are average.

Disliked: You had to pay extra for everything.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Kaitlin Cheetham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

20 February 2014 Kaitlin would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere because most of the other travellers are very kind. You meet some pretty interesting people. The staff there were wonderful! Very helpful and kind. It is right in Camden so it is a great location, but it isnt close enough to be a bother when you sleep.

Disliked: The downstairs bedrooms and bathroom wasnt that great. Couches were uncomfortable.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 January 2014

Liked: Nothing at all, totally disappointed. We were thinking to change a hostelin a last minute

Disliked: We were staying in 4ppl bedroom. From the moment we arrived the receptionist was extremely rude, was shouting and didn't explain anything. He did not even let our girlfriend to come with us to the room to help us to bring our bags. When we entered the room it was so tiny and ugly with broken lockers-nothing like the pictures!! We were so afraid to leave our stuff there because there are soapy strange and dodgy people working in the hostel, almost homeless, they all have keys from rooms and that is so unsafe ! Well bathroom and toilet we didn't almost use, had to step in plastic bags inside. So unclean.. The night was a nightmare. The room faces the main road, wind was blowing thru the windows and there were always so many Arabic people next the window so we could hear every single word they were shouting and laughing. I think I had an hour of sleep that night Max. But got a full day headache thanks to it. Everything was letting us down.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013

Liked: Location in Camden, shower on room

Disliked: bed sheets, was noisy at the weekend at night, early breakfast

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Emil Swat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2013

Liked: Good location and good price

Disliked: small rooms,no atmosphere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abdullatif Barkoumi

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

27 November 2013 Abdullatif would recommend this property

Liked: location,friendliness and helpfulness at the reception,cleanliness,value for money.

Disliked: Abdullatif left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2013

Liked: it's clean

Disliked: the water of the showers is hot!!


See all London hostels
See all London hotels