We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Camden Inn Hostel

Hostel | 55-57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England NW1 0AA

72.3% Overall Rating

657 out of 1100 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2015)

Nigel Marriott thinks…

"Three house keepers keep the place very clean, they are very pleasant and people need to talk to them more. The included breakfast is a bonus."

Read all Smart Camden Inn Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.08
  • Towel USD 7.68

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: We do not accept bookings for longer than 14 nights or a booking for more than 10 people. In the case of such a booking the booking will be cancelled without a refund of your deposit. In the case of wanting to book more than 10 people please contact: groups@hostelbookers.com. Hostelbookers Sale Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Camden
19.85 USD

Hostel 86.2% 258 reviews
Access Camden
51.24 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Goldsmiths House
38.47 USD

Hostel 78.6% 248 reviews
PubLove @ The Exmouth Arms, Euston
19.99 USD

Hostel 82.5% 17 reviews
Access Euston
44.88 USD

Apartment 81.3% 18 reviews
Stay in Camden
40.78 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
New Market House
38.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.6% 3 reviews
YHA London Central
23.77 USD

Hostel 86.1% 892 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.3%

Overall Rating

657 out of 1100 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Camden Inn Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
76.8%
Value
70.4%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 600 of 705 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

08 November 2010

Liked: LOCATION

Disliked: NOISY STAFF USELESS GOT STOLEN MY FOOD IN THE FRIDGE SLOW/NONEXISTANT INTERNET IN ROOM

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

07 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its cheap and good, very nice cost x benefit, good staff and very clean rooms.. very good administered and near all the fun..watch out with Soho...

Disliked: the breakfast is not so good (shit) could be better and the toilets are really small i couldnt even wank myself properly but it was very clean, in the back garden you cant smoke joints or cigarettes... whatever.. neither drink ion the rooms ..only in kitchen... should be more flexible.. you have to give 10 pounds deposity and go away until 10 am.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olidaisy Rizo

Alone

Work / volunteering
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

07 November 2010 Olidaisy would recommend this property

Liked: i think its a very clean place,excelent in all way.

Disliked: all is great

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: I was told the prices given on hostel bookers did not includes the taxes, which meant a +20 pounds unexpected fee for the time I spent there

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money, no problems to sleep peacefully, friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: it was very warm and it wasnt mentioned on the website that the deposit and payment had to be in cash or it would have a 5% charge it was mentioned there was a continental breakfast where there was only toast and cornflakes.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

27 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: TAX MUST BE PAID EXTRA UPON ARRIVAL. Basic and simple setup and quite noisy in the morning (from 7am). This hostel was perfect for what my friends and I were looking for i.e. a cheap bed! It's in a great location in Camden, near buses, tube and shops. Perfect for a short stay but the hostel is very basic yet clean. Includes breakfast but I didn't eat it so can't comment.

Disliked: NOISE in the morning. TAX on top of initial charge - READ THE FINE PRINT!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean safe, friendly and well located

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good service, better that what I expected

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Mountford

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2010 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast was surprisingly good, with as much toast and cereal as you want. Staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: dormitory noise on some nights, but then this problem is universal to all hostels.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was brilliant, pretty much over the road from the tube stop.

Disliked: The bathrooms were something to be desired. The first toilet I went in was unusable, but I did see a cleaner in there the next morning.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Low price.

Disliked: A little damp. The breakfast was not good and the kitchen badly equipped.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anouk Perey

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 October 2010 Anouk would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice place to stay and to meet people. The staff was very nice. Breakfast was also nice.

Disliked: The toilets weren´t that clean, but the showers were okay!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maike Ebeling

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

12 October 2010 Maike would recommend this property

Liked: Everthing was really cool, really clean, friendly and helpfull stuff. The location is okay, it takes a little while to get into the city but I thinl that's normal in London. You spent sometime in the busses eitherway. The rooms were big enough. We had a great time there.

Disliked: The only thing that wasn't so funny that we had to change the room which we didn't knew first and it was a bt stressful in the morning. It would have been great to know that before.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

12 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, close to Camden Market and a large Sainsburys. Several buses to central London stop right in front of the hostel. Staff is nice and helpful. Cleanliness is all right I guess. However, this goes out to some fellas: please stop moaning. It's a budget hostel in zone 2 (!!), you really can't expect a 3-star breakfast (it's toast, one flavour of jam, cornflakes, milk and tea) and golden toilet seats for that price and this location in one of the most expensive cities on this very planet! My room mates were lovely people from Poland and the Netherlands, had lots of fun, even went out for some pints! Cable tv and free wifi was also available.

Disliked: One shower was out of service for my entire stay. However, didn't consider this a huge issue as there were no queues of people waiting to take a shower.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

10 October 2010

Liked: Nothing to like about the place. Horrible. Will never go back.

Disliked: Mixed dorms intimidating. Was the only female in a room shared with 5 men. Awful! Stairway and dorms are cramped. Whole place needs a face-lift.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

celine pasquier

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping

07 October 2010

Liked: Very well located.

Disliked: Mixed rooms Room too small for 4 people.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robin Wiksander

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

06 October 2010 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: Great service from the guy with the curls! close to everything and both linnen and breakfast included.

Disliked: Great with cleaning every day but could be a bit anoying as we had a whole room by ourselves. maybe a bit more variation at the breakfast and less sugar and white bread, would be worth an aditional pund.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

05 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap and the location couldnt be better

Disliked: The only things I didnt like was that the floors what a little dirty and there could have been few more toilets.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rachael Foden

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

04 October 2010 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: Very well-located and friendly staff

Disliked: Bathroom facilities were a bit sub-par

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about the Hostel is the location. Also it was clean and very cheap and the staff was friendly and obliging. There are lockers in the rooms, which cost 1,50 a night but as you can put two suitcases in it, it seems like a fair price to me. Also there is a luggage room, where you can put your luggage after checking out in the morning. It costs 1,50 per piece.The showers were hot, wich is not for granted in cheap hostels.There was a hairdryer in the corridor.And there was a living room with a tv, that's cool when you come to the hostel after a hard day in london and don't want to do anything.Also the kitchen was cool, for it had everything you needed to cook something (except for an oven, but there was a microwave)All in all it was an ok hostel. It's not a great 5 star hotel and it maybe can't hold to german hostel standards too, but for what i heard about english hostels it maybe was pretty good. Especially for that price.

Disliked: There could be more toilets maybe, but it is a very small hostel, so i never had to wait very long. The room was a little bit smelly, but that's maybe normal in such a small 6 dorm. The window didn't close airtightly so maybe it could get cold at night for the people who had to sleep next to the window. But also that seemed typical for this part of the town. The breakfast was only toast with bitter and jam, cornflakes and instant coffee. But in my experience it's the typical "hostel breakfast": bread, which is typical for the country (in france it was baguette, in england it was toast) plus butter and jam. Very uncool was, that one of the housekeepers threw away some stuff of me (toothpaste and stuff). It lay on the floor in some plastic bags, and the housekeeper maybe thought they were empty and just threw it away with the other empty bags which lay on the floor. So don't let any of your stuff on the floor when leaving! All in all it was an ok hostel. It's not a great 5 star hotel and it maybe can't hold to german hostel standards too, but for what i heard about english hostels it maybe was pretty good. Especially for that price.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and the staff

Disliked: Bathrooms and cleanliness

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

22 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfest, price, location.

Disliked: I was asked more money than it was stated in my booking . And not only did I pay more, hostel also did not accept that I had already made pre-payment of 10%, so I had to pay the more. Tried to argue but was too tired for a fight.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping

12 September 2010

Liked: cheap, in the middle of Camden Town, good connections to public transport

Disliked: very small rooms, bathrooms, poor breakfast, kitchen was too small for all the guests, linnens were rather disgusting and smelled

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Georgia Siampani

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 September 2010

Liked: The location was convenient. Free wireless and free computers. Lockers and laundry facilities available.

Disliked: Dirty facilities, full of noise even all night, poor breakfast, dorms very small as well as the toilets (you could hardly stand in there).


See all London hostels
See all London hotels