HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Camden Inn

Hostel | 55-57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England NW1 0AA

68.6% Overall Rating

643 out of 1076 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/03/2014)

Rhodri Curran thinks…

"In all honesty, there wasn't much we liked. Have stayed in 3 hostels in London in last week and about 10 in Italy and France over last 5 weeks and this one was the worst we stayed in. The location…"

Read all Smart Camden Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.36
  • Towel USD 8.39

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: We do not accept bookings for longer than 14 nights or a booking for more than 10 people. In the case of such a booking the booking will be cancelled without a refund of your deposit. In the case of wanting to book more than 10 people please contact: groups@hostelbookers.com.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Camden
20.01 USD

Hostel 80.3% 241 reviews
Access Camden
48.76 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Goldsmiths House
42.03 USD

Hostel 79.0% 235 reviews
Access Euston
42.03 USD

Apartment 81.3% 18 reviews
Stay in Camden
44.55 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Camden Town Hotel
50.44 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
New Market House
39.22 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.6% 3 reviews
YHA London Central
28.58 USD

Hostel 90.5% 842 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.6%

Overall Rating

643 out of 1076 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Camden Inn'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
69.6%
Value
70.4%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 587 of 682 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

19 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and convenient-good stop off for one night

Disliked: could have been a bit cleaner- breakfast not too appealing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean, quite and have all facilites.

Disliked: Spaces are small, rooms, showers, toilets and kitchen.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

29 November 2010

Liked: proper heating

Disliked: it was noisy and unconfortable, I couldn't get a proper sleep and even have been charged 2 pounds more than my balance was

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 November 2010

Liked: the location

Disliked: the reception area smelled of smoke as the staff were smoking at reception our rooms door was funny in that you had to totally slam it shut. was a little worried in leaving our stuff there while we ate out. the room was tiny for £40 a night you couldn't swing a cat in it the shared toilet was filthy we couldn't pay by credit card it had to be cash, by the time we arrived we just wanted some food and to go to sleep not to have to go back out to find cash - this should be made clear to future guests.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Petra Proj

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping

28 November 2010 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: nice location if you wanna party

Disliked: Petra left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 November 2010

Liked: warm showers, beds alright even tough make horrible noise

Disliked: wasn't that clean, rooms are tiny

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 November 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: Dirty, no atmosphere, bad place to meet people, rude, unhelpful and miserable staff

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

19 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find. Nice and Clean.

Disliked: Got a bit hot at night!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2010

Liked: Very cheap

Disliked: Everything is really small, window couldn't close, beds aren't comfortable

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Camden market !!!

Disliked: Toilet queue !!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

08 November 2010

Liked: LOCATION

Disliked: NOISY STAFF USELESS GOT STOLEN MY FOOD IN THE FRIDGE SLOW/NONEXISTANT INTERNET IN ROOM

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

07 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its cheap and good, very nice cost x benefit, good staff and very clean rooms.. very good administered and near all the fun..watch out with Soho...

Disliked: the breakfast is not so good (shit) could be better and the toilets are really small i couldnt even wank myself properly but it was very clean, in the back garden you cant smoke joints or cigarettes... whatever.. neither drink ion the rooms ..only in kitchen... should be more flexible.. you have to give 10 pounds deposity and go away until 10 am.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olidaisy Rizo

Alone

Work / volunteering
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

07 November 2010 Olidaisy would recommend this property

Liked: i think its a very clean place,excelent in all way.

Disliked: all is great

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: I was told the prices given on hostel bookers did not includes the taxes, which meant a +20 pounds unexpected fee for the time I spent there

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money, no problems to sleep peacefully, friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: it was very warm and it wasnt mentioned on the website that the deposit and payment had to be in cash or it would have a 5% charge it was mentioned there was a continental breakfast where there was only toast and cornflakes.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

27 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: TAX MUST BE PAID EXTRA UPON ARRIVAL. Basic and simple setup and quite noisy in the morning (from 7am). This hostel was perfect for what my friends and I were looking for i.e. a cheap bed! It's in a great location in Camden, near buses, tube and shops. Perfect for a short stay but the hostel is very basic yet clean. Includes breakfast but I didn't eat it so can't comment.

Disliked: NOISE in the morning. TAX on top of initial charge - READ THE FINE PRINT!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean safe, friendly and well located

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good service, better that what I expected

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Mountford

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2010 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast was surprisingly good, with as much toast and cereal as you want. Staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: dormitory noise on some nights, but then this problem is universal to all hostels.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was brilliant, pretty much over the road from the tube stop.

Disliked: The bathrooms were something to be desired. The first toilet I went in was unusable, but I did see a cleaner in there the next morning.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Low price.

Disliked: A little damp. The breakfast was not good and the kitchen badly equipped.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anouk Perey

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 October 2010 Anouk would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice place to stay and to meet people. The staff was very nice. Breakfast was also nice.

Disliked: The toilets weren´t that clean, but the showers were okay!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maike Ebeling

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

12 October 2010 Maike would recommend this property

Liked: Everthing was really cool, really clean, friendly and helpfull stuff. The location is okay, it takes a little while to get into the city but I thinl that's normal in London. You spent sometime in the busses eitherway. The rooms were big enough. We had a great time there.

Disliked: The only thing that wasn't so funny that we had to change the room which we didn't knew first and it was a bt stressful in the morning. It would have been great to know that before.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels