HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Camden Inn

Hostel | 55-57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England NW1 0AA

71.4% Overall Rating

650 out of 1086 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/07/2014)

Asztalos Éva thinks…

"Közel van a piac, a metró, a busz. A városrész lenyűgöző.Az emberek fantasztikusak. A személyzet jópofa, segítőkész. A hely tiszta, a reggeli jó, a hangulat jó. A szobák és ágyak elviselhetőek."

Read all Smart Camden Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.40
  • Towel USD 8.49

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: We do not accept bookings for longer than 14 nights or a booking for more than 10 people. In the case of such a booking the booking will be cancelled without a refund of your deposit. In the case of wanting to book more than 10 people please contact: groups@hostelbookers.com.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Camden
33.86 USD

Hostel 79.0% 244 reviews
Access Camden
49.34 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Goldsmiths House
62.44 USD

Hostel 78.4% 244 reviews
Access Euston
42.53 USD

Apartment 81.3% 18 reviews
Stay in Camden
45.08 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
New Market House
42.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.6% 3 reviews
YHA London Central
40.83 USD

Hostel 93.3% 863 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
44.23 USD

Hostel 88.7% 464 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.4%

Overall Rating

650 out of 1086 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Camden Inn'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
77.6%
Value
72.0%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 592 of 692 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Linda de Bruijn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 August 2011 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: That we could chose for a female room. And the room was very clean.

Disliked: There was no electricity near the mirrors and there was no airconditioning. The toilet didnt flush and the beds werent comfortable. We had to pay for the lockers as well, wich i think is unfair, cause you already pay for the room. And there were no doors at the showers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Rawlinson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 August 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Location - 3 minute walk from worlds end pub / Decent clean room / Free tea & coffee facilities / Having a door card so you can come and go as needed

Disliked: 'Free Continental Breakfast' turned out to be bread & toaster

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael Schulz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap Price and Fantastic location! Nothing fancy at all, very very simple but a great location and ok place to lay your head down at night. I am coming back, not because its a great hostel but because its in a good location and the price is right. There are only 2 hostels in Camden I found and this one is cheapest.

Disliked: Its really just a place to lay your head down at night, nothing more. Very simple, also if you want your stuff locked up it cost 1,50 per day because you can not use a padlock and have to buy there locker key. Its a bit run down and the beds are flimsy but it worked. Also there is no fan on the top floor and gets really hot in the summer sometimes.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are pretty good for the price. The floors are made of Lino, easy to clean. Bunk beds in the room I had were comfy enough. The hostel provides you with sheets and a disposable pillow case for those concious of head lice. My roomates were very considerate and chatty. The man at the front desk printed me off a google map when I was venturing to the other side of town, very nice.

Disliked: Doors are noisy when they close. Showers are a little annoying. Basically you have to push a button every minute for the water to keep going. Not a huge problem really. No elevator but only 3 floors.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and extremely helpful staff!

Disliked: Breakfast was limited: only toast, jam, margarine, cereals, coffee/tea available. Cleaning could be better. Room was quite hot and noisy (because we need to keep window open in the nights).

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011

Liked: Location, location, location. Could not be better placed.

Disliked: The staff was unfriendly and different members would tell you different rules/instructions. Expect charges not listed on the website.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: OK for situation

Disliked: one shower for one floor is clearly too few...!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011

Liked: relatively inexpensive, pretty good location

Disliked: poorly maintained

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

18 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and staff

Disliked: 6-bed room incredibly small. not even enough room for our luggage on the floor surface. building quite old, poorly kept. poor breakfast. but I'd still recommend the location if you only need a cheap place for sleeping. very good location in camden, 5minutes from/to tube station. I'd go there again if I should need it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tracey Ball

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

10 May 2011 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect, you get what you pay for too. Basic but it is all you need for a short stay in London.

Disliked: Sockets in my room did not work so could not straighten my hair, minor inconvenience as there was a mirror and working socket in the hall but would have preferred to not have felt a nuisance standing in a small hallway messing around with my hair.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in Camden

Disliked: Reception not friendly

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 May 2011

Liked: somewhere to sleep for a few hours

Disliked: pretty much everything

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is cheap and has good brekafast

Disliked: showers and toilets are untidy and not working properly

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very cheap hostel and perfectly located close to the tube. safe place to stay with some nice music venues around. rooms are small but tidy. showers are okay for a couple of days. toilets are distgusting though... stayed there on my own for 2 days and that's okay.

Disliked: toilets are a mess...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011

Liked: No comment

Disliked: No comment

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2011

Liked: The location is good for young people. Near the subway.

Disliked: The beds are short for me (1,86 m) the batroom was in another floor, so was the showers and they could be a bit cleaner. the breakfast could be a bit better. Sometimes the staff could be more welcoming. I didn´t have an outlet in my room because it was right behind somebodyelses bed, so it was useless, so I had to use the receptions outlet. A bit far to try to walk to the major places. So you spend a lot of money on transport.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011

Liked: staff is nice and helpfull

Disliked: filthy, broken taps, broken heatings, smelly blankets and pillows

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Marcel Pinger

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2011 Marcel would recommend this property

Liked: particularly the polite and helpful staff, cleanliness was okay for a hostel, 24h opening times and 24h staff at the counter, brilliant location in the middle of Camden - great!

Disliked: the toilet next to our room (40) didn't flush properly, I wouldn't recommend using that one... that's why I ticked the box between 'average' and 'bad' on cleanliness. Otherwise nothing negative to say! Remember it's a hoStel, not a hotel.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s equitable and neer to the market and easy to go to by bus and tube for to go to other places.

Disliked: It was to noisy from other visitors I´m strongly recommended ear blocks if you want to sleep.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Carlos Barrachina

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Really small bedrooms Toilets and shower separate to your room.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

14 March 2011

Liked: not alot

Disliked: alot

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Rebecca Blatherwick

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Was on the bottom floor next to kitchen, was EXTREMELY loud.. Could hear all the footsteps from the room above .. Didn't get much sleep.. Sheets had holes and marks Very basic.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

28 January 2011

Liked: It is a good time and fun place to meet people with an excellent location.

Disliked: The cleanliness is terrible, the doors are always sticky. The kitchen is disgusting and full of ants, good luck finding some clean dishes. Also the staff will shut down the common rooms if to many people start having fun and having a few drinks.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Christopher Bartlett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: we only arrived at midnight and left at 6am but the place was easy to find, reasonable clean. Great that they had 24 hour reception.

Disliked: It was very loud with people in the hallways all night/morning.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels