We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Camden Inn

Hostel | 55-57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England NW1 0AA

67.4% Overall Rating

652 out of 1091 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

"Very central, no curfew, secure lockers (with fee). Not bad for a short stay but 2 nights was all we could take."

Read all Smart Camden Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.25
  • Towel USD 8.10

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: We do not accept bookings for longer than 14 nights or a booking for more than 10 people. In the case of such a booking the booking will be cancelled without a refund of your deposit. In the case of wanting to book more than 10 people please contact: groups@hostelbookers.com.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Camden
20.95 USD

Hostel 80.0% 245 reviews
Access Camden
47.09 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Goldsmiths House
59.60 USD

Hostel 78.6% 248 reviews
Access Euston
40.60 USD

Apartment 81.3% 18 reviews
Stay in Camden
43.03 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
New Market House
48.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.6% 3 reviews
YHA London Central
27.61 USD

Hostel 88.5% 875 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
25.98 USD

Hostel 88.3% 465 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.4%

Overall Rating

652 out of 1091 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Camden Inn'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
56.8%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
71.2%
Value
67.2%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 595 of 696 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was pretty good. Everything was a short metro away and the Camden area is super nice if you want to stay close. Just a little hint: they charge a fortune for the towels, but the receptionist just gave us extra sheets which worked beautifully!

Disliked: Very cramped and the room became extremely warm at night. Also, they charge a 10 pound security deposit which they give you back when you leave. So if you are leaving England right after you wont be able to use it.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bunks in my dorm were only 2 tier. There was enough space in my dorm for luggage. Camden Town location was interesting. Staff member carried my case up the stairs. I was given a dorm with smaller number of beds than the one I booked.

Disliked: Had to pay 1.50 for luggage storage. Bread at breakfast wasn't fresh.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, nice room with ensuite.

Disliked: The dodgie guy we had staying in our room

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the bathroom in the room was rather nice, although tiny, and the room was for just 4 people.

Disliked: it is a little bit claustrophobic (narrow corridors, small bathroom etc.) and it is not the best place to get a good night's sleep as other guests go there to party, clearly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gregory Martin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location. Really close to an underground station and easy to find. Beds are nice enough.

Disliked: The bathroom was so tiny it was impossible to turn around in it. Shower was either scalding or freezing (if you got any pressure).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah George

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 April 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful and friendly reception staff, good location.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

sascha Jendrzok

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 April 2012

Liked: The location is perfect for a night out in Camden or for visiting the camden market.

Disliked: We booked 5 beds in a 6 bed dorm. After we checked in we found out that we got 5 beds in a 8 bed dorm. We complained and asked for the room that we originally booked (2 month in advance ! ). The answer was: " Sorry, we are fully booked. I should have tell you that your room is not available when you checked in... But of course you can try to find another hostel that suits you better and can cancel free of charge." Well-knowing that every single bed in London Camden was occupied ! We stayed in the hostel because we did not want to waste anymore time and got an discount of 10 GBP. Which is a joke if you have paid 150 GBP for 5 beds. Additionally was the room very very tiny. I would not reccomend the hostel because the accomodation that I have booked is at least what I can expect when I arrive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jenna allsworth

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 April 2012 jenna would recommend this property

Liked: 8 of us stayed here for the weekend, could not say a bad thing about it, staff were lovely facilities were good, you get exactly what you pay for. Would stay here again and definitely recommend to friends! Had a great time!

Disliked: jenna left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap & convenient, comfortable bed & clean bathroom.

Disliked: Minor niggle only - warm weather but not being able to turn off the un-thermostatted radiator in the bedroom made it a bit too warm for a really good nights sleep. Saved by how comfortable the bed was though!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

31 March 2012

Liked: its location only

Disliked: late building work until 9.45 at night time ( 2nd floor), duvet cover not changed facilities extremly poor!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel had a very friendly atmosphere. The staff were very nice. There was a little of construction going on in the building, but that didn't disrupt anything that was happening. The location is excellent, being in the middle of Camden Town. The beds are very old but are comfortable. Understandable since it is a hostel. I've been to other hostels that had noisy, uncomfortable bed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Dawkins

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

27 February 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable and very cheap with only a very short walk into Camden.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Salah Idabderrahim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 Salah would recommend this property

Liked: very quiet and nice place, near Camden market

Disliked: Salah left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, Clean & Good Location! Everyone we met were super friendly including the staff (Ollie) who took us down the road to the store when we were slightly intoxicated to buy munchies.

Disliked: No power points in the rooms but apart from that everything was Amazing !

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Gareth Hughes

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 February 2012 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Great value and location.

Disliked: Was a bit cramped and didn't like the £10 deposit although it is returned.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Buena relación calidad-precio. Ubicación excelente, sin ruidos de la calle

Disliked: Zonas comunes y habitaciones muy pequeñas

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, very easy access to everything and vey very nice prices.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sašo Gorjanc

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2012 Sašo would recommend this property

Liked: the price and location

Disliked: Rooms are boiling hot (and I was staying there in the middle of January)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

13 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Couldnt have got a better location or a better price. Perfect for budget traveller needs.

Disliked: Rather compact and had to stand on the street to smoke.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

YUK FAI CHUNG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012

Liked: there are some restaurants in nearby are quite nice.

Disliked: the shower room and washroom are not clean.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

04 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff

Disliked: A bit dirty due to reconstruction

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sieglinde Bauer

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2011 Sieglinde would recommend this property

Liked: Very basic hostel which does the job for the money. It's in a more quiet area of Camden but not too far away. Perfect for shopping/nightlife and you still can get some rest.

Disliked: No sockets in rooms, tricky to dry your hair. There's one hairdryer on the way down to the kitchen which I saw too late.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

PAUL MELLETT

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 October 2011 PAUL would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and free wifi

Disliked: breakfast and communal areas too small and more toilets needed

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing in particular

Disliked: nothing in particular


See all London hostels
See all London hotels