HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Camden Inn

Hostel | 55-57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England NW1 0AA

67.5% Overall Rating

643 out of 1077 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/03/2014)

Rhodri Curran thinks…

"In all honesty, there wasn't much we liked. Have stayed in 3 hostels in London in last week and about 10 in Italy and France over last 5 weeks and this one was the worst we stayed in. The location…"

Read all Smart Camden Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.36
  • Towel USD 8.38

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: We do not accept bookings for longer than 14 nights or a booking for more than 10 people. In the case of such a booking the booking will be cancelled without a refund of your deposit. In the case of wanting to book more than 10 people please contact: groups@hostelbookers.com.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Camden
31.73 USD

Hostel 79.0% 242 reviews
Access Camden
48.69 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Goldsmiths House
41.97 USD

Hostel 79.0% 235 reviews
Access Euston
41.97 USD

Apartment 81.3% 18 reviews
Stay in Camden
44.49 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Camden Town Hotel
53.73 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
New Market House
41.97 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.6% 3 reviews
YHA London Central
25.18 USD

Hostel 89.8% 845 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.5%

Overall Rating

643 out of 1077 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Camden Inn'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
69.6%
Value
68.8%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 587 of 683 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Vikki Bodkin

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Vikki would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, met lots of weird and wonderful people at this hostel who were all very welcoming I would definatley recommend this place.

Disliked: Vikki left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Maria Greene

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

24 September 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, only a short walk to Camden Lock. Very handy for a weekend away with friends.

Disliked: The rooms were too small for the amount of beds, but the beds were comfortable. Good value for money if you're not too fussy though :)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the stuff, peacefulness, comfortable beds!

Disliked: floors could be better cleaned..

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect.

Disliked: Showers and lockers are bad.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

08 July 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: dirty and the lockers werent safe at all

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and safety, bathroom was always clean.

Disliked: A bit noisy at times but that was to be expected. Only 1 hour or free wi-fi every 24 hours.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

01 July 2012

Liked: La situation

Disliked: Très sale Très bruyant Très très petit

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The communal areas and facilities although a small shelf in toilet/shower en suite would be useful,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 June 2012

Liked: Nulla

Disliked: Non c'è nessun controllo per quanto riguarda cibi in camera (Il tuo vicino di letto che mangia pollo fritto alle 2 di notte sveglierebbe chiunque).. I materassi e le coperte sono tappezzati di macchie e buchi. Va bene che forniscono le lenzuola ma il solo pensare di essere in contatto con quei ricettacoli di batteri lascia ben poca voglia di farsi una bella dormita dopo una giornata stancante.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

GILMAR COUTINHO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 GILMAR would recommend this property

Liked: Localização.

Disliked: Atendimento.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff good guests nice location.

Disliked: Not much, though there was a lack of powerpoints

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

09 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: There is no soap in the toilet or bathroom; people who live there are not only travellers

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012

Liked: Beds are comfortable. Location is good.

Disliked: Common area is not welcomiing, breakfast is poor. The stairs are narrow and steep- hard to carry the laggage. No security lockers. Nosy from the street and from the ocupiers.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people, cheap

Disliked: Rooms conditions, perfect for young people to not spend a lot of money but not recommended if you want something more calm and private

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Josephine Rosman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2012 Josephine would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the lockers

Disliked: the small bathroom

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was pretty good. Everything was a short metro away and the Camden area is super nice if you want to stay close. Just a little hint: they charge a fortune for the towels, but the receptionist just gave us extra sheets which worked beautifully!

Disliked: Very cramped and the room became extremely warm at night. Also, they charge a 10 pound security deposit which they give you back when you leave. So if you are leaving England right after you wont be able to use it.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bunks in my dorm were only 2 tier. There was enough space in my dorm for luggage. Camden Town location was interesting. Staff member carried my case up the stairs. I was given a dorm with smaller number of beds than the one I booked.

Disliked: Had to pay 1.50 for luggage storage. Bread at breakfast wasn't fresh.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, nice room with ensuite.

Disliked: The dodgie guy we had staying in our room

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the bathroom in the room was rather nice, although tiny, and the room was for just 4 people.

Disliked: it is a little bit claustrophobic (narrow corridors, small bathroom etc.) and it is not the best place to get a good night's sleep as other guests go there to party, clearly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gregory Martin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location. Really close to an underground station and easy to find. Beds are nice enough.

Disliked: The bathroom was so tiny it was impossible to turn around in it. Shower was either scalding or freezing (if you got any pressure).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah George

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 April 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful and friendly reception staff, good location.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

sascha Jendrzok

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 April 2012

Liked: The location is perfect for a night out in Camden or for visiting the camden market.

Disliked: We booked 5 beds in a 6 bed dorm. After we checked in we found out that we got 5 beds in a 8 bed dorm. We complained and asked for the room that we originally booked (2 month in advance ! ). The answer was: " Sorry, we are fully booked. I should have tell you that your room is not available when you checked in... But of course you can try to find another hostel that suits you better and can cancel free of charge." Well-knowing that every single bed in London Camden was occupied ! We stayed in the hostel because we did not want to waste anymore time and got an discount of 10 GBP. Which is a joke if you have paid 150 GBP for 5 beds. Additionally was the room very very tiny. I would not reccomend the hostel because the accomodation that I have booked is at least what I can expect when I arrive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jenna allsworth

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 April 2012 jenna would recommend this property

Liked: 8 of us stayed here for the weekend, could not say a bad thing about it, staff were lovely facilities were good, you get exactly what you pay for. Would stay here again and definitely recommend to friends! Had a great time!

Disliked: jenna left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap & convenient, comfortable bed & clean bathroom.

Disliked: Minor niggle only - warm weather but not being able to turn off the un-thermostatted radiator in the bedroom made it a bit too warm for a really good nights sleep. Saved by how comfortable the bed was though!


See all London hostels
See all London hotels