HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Smart Camden Inn Hostel London

Hostel

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 64%

Location 91%

Safety 74%

Staff 78%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 3.10USD
  • Towel 7.76USD

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: We do not accept bookings for longer than 14 nights or a booking for more than 10 people. In the case of such a booking the booking will be cancelled without a refund of your deposit.
In the case of wanting to book more than 10 people please contact: groups@hostelbookers.com.

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 64%

Location 91%

Safety 74%

Staff 78%

Value 74%

Showing 11-20 of 55 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The breakfast was good, outdoor area is nice & having a big tv in the common room which everyone can see was also good. Curtains around bunks is great, but the top bunks in my room didn't have them. An ok hostel, but nothing special - if I'd just been there a couple of nights I think I would have been fine, but a week was too long.

Disliked: The 6 bed dorm was two triple bunks - the bottom 'bunk' had a mattress only centimetres off the floor. The bathroom light worked on a motion sensor so when having a shower, I had to keep sticking my arm outside the curtain to wave at the sensor to get the light back on - not ideal! The room was really hot so we left the window part open all the time, but we were just above the front door so whenever someone smoked outside, the smell came straight in - yuck.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very clean throughout. Provide en-suite dorm rooms. Hairdryer, iron etc available. kitchen always clean. Management dealt well with the problem that we had.

Disliked: One abusive, threatening young man in our room. Room temp 28C plus and he wanted the window closed. When we said we were warm and wanted it open he threatened to knife us all!! I suspect this is more of a problem with the area than with the hostel itself though.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, thank you for your feedback and positive comments about our hostel, they are warmly received. We are very pleased you found our staff attentive and receptive to the issues you raised reagarding another guest during your stay. We take the safety, well being and comfort of our valued guests very seriously. In addition to our 24 hour reception, we also have 24 hour CCTV and night security available every night. You are welcome anytime!

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Not far away from Underground Camden Town and from the Camden Market.Short way to shops.

Disliked: Only 1 bathroom for the whole floor (Toilet + shower in 1 room, so it was usually occupied).Bathroom was very dirty. No water came out of the shower -> No possibility to shower. Toilet was blocked. Common room and kitchen were in a bad state and also dirty. Bedrooms looked as if they were not cleaned in the past 20 years. Mattress and bed linen were blurry (also the fresh linen that should have been cleaned).In the middle of one night (3 am) the fire alarm started without reason and kept on ringing for several hours -> No sleep was possible.Result: disgusting, bad atmosphere, we were glad to leave.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: It's in Camden Town.

Disliked: The hostel isn't very nice.


The property's response is

Hello and thanks for your feedback. We are really pleased you enjoyed our central London location. We regret there were aspects of your stay you did not enjoy. We regularly review our performance to improve our standards of service. Please contact us at customercare@smarthostels.com to provide further information to help better our services. We hope if you come back you will notice the improvements we have made.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: average but locate at easy excess

Disliked: the owner should no enter the room when we sleep , no personal security

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi and thank you for your feedback. The safety, well being and comfort of all our valued guests are taken very seriously. In addition to our 24 hours reception, we also have 24 hour CCTV and night security every night who routinely carry out regular patrols to ensure everyone gets a good nights sleep. Thanks for choosing to stay with Smart Hostels we hope to see you again.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nothing

Disliked: stinky, dirty, noisy

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very central, no curfew, secure lockers (with fee). Not bad for a short stay but 2 nights was all we could take.

Disliked: Surprise 10 pounds each deposite when we arrived. Very loud, not good showers, unhelpful staff, busy street, plasters and bugs in room, nasty toilets.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: clean, great location, helpful staff

Disliked: charge for locker-only 2 electrical sockets in room-no elevator to third floor-charge for wifi in room

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Közel van a piac, a metró, a busz. A városrész lenyűgöző.Az emberek fantasztikusak. A személyzet jópofa, segítőkész. A hely tiszta, a reggeli jó, a hangulat jó. A szobák és ágyak elviselhetőek.

Disliked: A szobához tartozó zuhanyzóban meleg vizet csiholni egy élmény volt, mivel addigra már sokkot kaptam a hidegtől.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Clean. Helpful staff. Surprisingly quiet considering its location. Good, central location. Comfortable. A good place to relax and sleep after a busy day.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability