HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Smart Camden Inn Hostel London Hostel

55/57 Bayham Street, Camden, London, England

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 62%

Location 91%

Safety 74%

Staff 78%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.60USD
  • Towel 6.49USD

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: We do not accept bookings for longer than 14 nights or a booking for more than 10 people. In the case of such a booking the booking will be cancelled without a refund of your deposit.
In the case of wanting to book more than 10 people please contact: groups@hostelbookers.com.

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 62%

Location 91%

Safety 74%

Staff 78%

Value 74%

Showing 11-20 of 43 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Small but nice kitchen/backyard area for sitting, and the shower/toilet in the room we stayed in was clean and was in good order - he shower worked very well.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location and breakfast is very good. Some staff friendly. Rooms and bathroom small but enough storage space and hooks available. Also nice little terrace in back of hostel.

Disliked: Some of the reception staff very rude and rather watches movies on the phone than helping with simple questions and directions. Duvet cover didn't seemed to be changed, was very smelly with hairs on it. Room was very hot and noisy as ventilation system from communal shower next to room was on all night.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The property is in zone 2 and surrounding by shop, restaurant and others local amenities

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: location is good.

Disliked: small rooms...

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Public places are kept clean

Disliked: The 6-bed dorm is very crowded. The utilities in the bathroom (such as the showers and water taps) do not work very well (the water flow is not enough).

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Three house keepers keep the place very clean, they are very pleasant and people need to talk to them more. The included breakfast is a bonus.

Disliked: Very little. The toilets do not flush well and the showers are small, but hey, it is a hostel and reasonably priced.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The breakfast was good, outdoor area is nice & having a big tv in the common room which everyone can see was also good. Curtains around bunks is great, but the top bunks in my room didn't have them. An ok hostel, but nothing special - if I'd just been there a couple of nights I think I would have been fine, but a week was too long.

Disliked: The 6 bed dorm was two triple bunks - the bottom 'bunk' had a mattress only centimetres off the floor. The bathroom light worked on a motion sensor so when having a shower, I had to keep sticking my arm outside the curtain to wave at the sensor to get the light back on - not ideal! The room was really hot so we left the window part open all the time, but we were just above the front door so whenever someone smoked outside, the smell came straight in - yuck.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very clean throughout. Provide en-suite dorm rooms. Hairdryer, iron etc available. kitchen always clean. Management dealt well with the problem that we had.

Disliked: One abusive, threatening young man in our room. Room temp 28C plus and he wanted the window closed. When we said we were warm and wanted it open he threatened to knife us all!! I suspect this is more of a problem with the area than with the hostel itself though.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, thank you for your feedback and positive comments about our hostel, they are warmly received. We are very pleased you found our staff attentive and receptive to the issues you raised reagarding another guest during your stay. We take the safety, well being and comfort of our valued guests very seriously. In addition to our 24 hour reception, we also have 24 hour CCTV and night security available every night. You are welcome anytime!

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Not far away from Underground Camden Town and from the Camden Market.Short way to shops.

Disliked: Only 1 bathroom for the whole floor (Toilet + shower in 1 room, so it was usually occupied).Bathroom was very dirty. No water came out of the shower -> No possibility to shower. Toilet was blocked. Common room and kitchen were in a bad state and also dirty. Bedrooms looked as if they were not cleaned in the past 20 years. Mattress and bed linen were blurry (also the fresh linen that should have been cleaned).In the middle of one night (3 am) the fire alarm started without reason and kept on ringing for several hours -> No sleep was possible.Result: disgusting, bad atmosphere, we were glad to leave.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: It's in Camden Town.

Disliked: The hostel isn't very nice.


The property's response is

Hello and thanks for your feedback. We are really pleased you enjoyed our central London location. We regret there were aspects of your stay you did not enjoy. We regularly review our performance to improve our standards of service. Please contact us at customercare@smarthostels.com to provide further information to help better our services. We hope if you come back you will notice the improvements we have made.

Check Availability