HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of YHA London Thameside

Hostel | 20 Salter Road, Rotherhithe, London, England SE16 5PR

82.4% Overall Rating

125 out of 170 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/03/2014)

"The property was in a great location. I was there for a concert and it was only two stops from the O2. The staff were very helpful and eager to provide quality service. They offered a great breakfast in the morning and…"

Read all YHA London Thameside reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.38
  • Towel USD 6.71

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

*** Please note this hostel has a maximum stay of 5 days. Bookings longer than 5 days will not be refunded*** Please note - All bookings made via HostelBookers for more than 16 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Seacon Tower Apartment
83.93 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Times Square Apartment
83.93 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Qbic London City
49.52 USD

Hotel 3 star 95.2% 3 reviews
City View Hotel Bethnal Green
83.93 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Lanterns Court Apartment
66.73 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Discovery Dock Apartment
70.93 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
City Hotel
67.15 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.0% 5 reviews
City Reach Apartment
83.93 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.4%

Overall Rating

125 out of 170 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA London Thameside'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
83.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 110 of 129 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was in a great location. I was there for a concert and it was only two stops from the O2. The staff were very helpful and eager to provide quality service. They offered a great breakfast in the morning and had numerous facilities such as a bar, internet and restaurant. They also provided help in booking tickets for different attractions all over London and had vending machines handy. The rooms were very clean and the beds were not too uncomfortable.

Disliked: This property was great but did not have soap in the bathroom in our room and the toilet would not flush one right after another. If someone went before you, the toilet had to wait about 20 minutes to fill up with water again before it would flush.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Kunert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 February 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Very satisfied, esp. due to good price and accesible location nearby the Towerbridge.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andy Coleman

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

12 February 2014 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, rooms were warm and beds were comfortable

Disliked: Location, but was near a overground rail station, kitchen staff were a bit rude.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Sara Lonnroth

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 December 2013 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty quiet during night time. Felt secure. Easy access to the city (10min walk to the underground).

Disliked: Far away (=not walking distance) from the centre. The twin room with private bathroom was terrible. There was a big hole in the window, and the shower had almost no pressure; impossible to wash your hair, or anything else... I would have expected MUCH more for the money I paid.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was friendly and easy to find

Disliked: N/a

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's not far away from the city center. After taking underground to Canada Water, you can take bus to the hostel. Even walking through the back side of Thames is a good opportunity for the people who want to discover the new districts in London.

Disliked: Bathrooms can be more charming.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Miriam Douglas

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 July 2013 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were absolutely amazing, and the beds were extremely comfortable

Disliked: nothing to do inside the hostel apart from to chill

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break

04 June 2013

Liked: quiet and still central neighbourhood

Disliked: noisy filthy tea bags

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The size of the private room, the ensuite,the clean and very comfortable beds, the price, the calmness of the location with buses on the door step and close to supermarkets and tube stations. We will certainly stay there again.

Disliked: No self catering facilities, no table and chairs in room, the ensuite was abit old and the room windows didn't shut properly

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, tidy, safe

Disliked: No major dislikes

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: No Wifi in rooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that there was a cafeteria, bar, and computers available for use. They also have special deals on west end performances.

Disliked: It isn't very well labelled, so be careful not to walk past!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allyce Mattock

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 November 2012 Allyce would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were MOST helpful. Handy to Public Transport. Kitchen was great.

Disliked: I liked everything in this property. The only suggestion I'd like to make is that you advise people to travel by BUS from Victoria Station [think it was C20] as this stops outside the door. Travelling on the train with a big green port was a LOT terrifying on the escalators. I would never use the underground/overground again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alex blake

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 November 2012 alex would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great place to stay. Pretty standard hostel would stay again.

Disliked: Nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Georgina Smyth

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2012

Liked: The rooms themselves weren't bad. The beds were clean.

Disliked: This hostel is in the middle of nowhere. It takes a lifetime to get to. And it's a youth hostel so there's kids everywhere, and you're not allowed to drink anywhere in the building, which for backpackers is lame. You have to pay for internet which in 2012 is absurd. The staff took ages to do anything. And as I checked in the place had no hot water and customers were lined up at receptions complaining.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen and laundry room, comfortable rooms

Disliked: Children on school trips being loud and banging doors repeatedly

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Rabbitts

Alone

Events / festivals

13 October 2012 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a nice location, reasonably easy to get to (nearby Rotherhithe station). Access was secure, and it was clean. Most important of all, it was QUIET. Very important for me.

Disliked: very little really. The lockers were chargeable which is not normal for a YHA, but this is only a small thing, and it was of little relevance. My bags were secure, and this was the main thing!!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2012

Liked: The staff were pretty friendly and it seemed very safe.

Disliked: It was a pretty far walk from the overground station and not well described. There isn't much around it, its a pretty deserted area. We missed lunch and had to walk a mile to find only Burger King. Its not an easy trip from Heathrow.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

03 August 2012

Liked: It was only a 5 minute walk from a station to join the Overground line.

Disliked: The beds were too small and cramped for anyone over 6 feet tall. The extractor fan in the bathroom was very noisy, and remained switched on for a long time even after switching off the light. The kitchen did not open in the morning as had been promised. The desk staff seemed surly and uninterested. Gate security seemed inadequate. There was not a socket near my bed, and apparently only two in the whole room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, the staff were very friendly and helpful recommending activities and giving directions. Liked the bar too!

Disliked: We stayed in a twin room which had bunk beds - not quite what we were expecting. Basic room but value for money considering London prices this close to the Olympics starting.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Rosemary Carsberg

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012

Liked: It was a very typical YHA, in style so i knew what to expect. Very antiseptic and full of groups of noisy teenagers.

Disliked: I could not believe how money grabbing the YHA have become. I booked 3 night in total,. When i arrived i was told i was going to have to move rooms, i was fine with this. What i was not fine about was being told that i had to pay £3 to store my luggage between room changes. I tried to negotiate this and asked if i could just put my bag in my new room in the corner. I was told NO. I had to pay its their policy. I can not believe this, they were doing me a disservice by moving my room. Usually if some one asked you to move rooms they will grovel not charge you extra. By the way i don't mind paying to store my luggage after check out as this is an extra service.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ellie Wright

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

04 June 2012 Ellie would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to from central london, not too busy, beautiful walk along the river which would be worth mentioning to guests in the summer. helpful staff

Disliked: Maybe a lick of paint and the carpets could do with a good clean, but understandable given the amount of people that are in and out all the time

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a clean room with our own bathroom. The kitchen is good equipped. The staff is very friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best was the breakfast! Great value!

Disliked: The shower was really small, with no cupboard or wathever to put clothes on. The floor - especially in a shared room - isn't the best place for clean clothes. An advice : nowadays, practically anyone owns a cellphone. It would be great to have a wall power plug close to each bed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THE LOCATION

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels