We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Generator London

Hostel | Compton Place, off 37 Tavistock Place, London, England WC1H 9SE

91.9% Overall Rating

3414 out of 4185 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/05/2015)

Kaitlin Flynn thinks…

"I loved it! I've stayed in many many hostels in London and this is by far my favorite. I made great friends and there was always something going on."

Read all Generator London reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 9.29
  • Breakfast USD 6.97
  • Towel USD 5.42

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

The remaining 90% payment for your entire stay will be collected on arrival. Please note, if you cancel your reservation within 24hours of arrival or you do not show up on the arrival date, the first night of your booking will be charged to your card. You must cancel before 24 hours in advance to avoid a one nights charge. Hostel cannot accept guest under 18 years of age. Hostel cannot accept large group bookings made directly online, please use the hostelbookers group booking facility.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St Athans Hotel
41.49 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
48.76 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.1% 4 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
27.86 USD

Hostel 87.4% 478 reviews
Smart Russell Square
13.93 USD

Hostel 78.1% 1752 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
41.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 28 reviews
Clink261
20.12 USD

Hostel 83.4% 967 reviews
Keystone Hostel
24.77 USD

Hostel 76.5% 57 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
147.83 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.9%

Overall Rating

3414 out of 4185 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator London'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 2417 of 3040 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 96 | 97   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kaitlin Flynn

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 May 2015 Kaitlin would recommend this property

Liked: I loved it! I've stayed in many many hostels in London and this is by far my favorite. I made great friends and there was always something going on.

Disliked: I loved everything!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tamara Heinz

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 May 2015 Tamara would recommend this property

Liked: Security at the entrance, cheap Café prices

Disliked: The smell and the noise

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

14 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms had good storage space with locks available. For the money it was the best place I could have imagined. There was a hilarious and charming doorman. Atmosphere was great.

Disliked: For some reason our room was overbooked so when we went to sleep a stranger was in a bed. Though they were nice and the matter was not disruptive to us, the member of staff who solved the problem was relatively rude to us and her.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlton Correia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2015 Charlton would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the social aspect of Generator. It's such an easy place to meet people and also just to hang out. Couldn't have chosen a better hostel for London.

Disliked: Charlton left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Klaus van den Kerkhoff

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 May 2015 Klaus would recommend this property

Liked: In my opinion this is the best hostel in London. Those guys know how to run a hostel! It's clean, spacious, the number of bathrooms is sufficient, the breakfast very good. etc.

Disliked: I had booked a 8-bed-dorm, but in this case it turned out to be a 13-bed-dorm. 13 is not the same as 8 (the atmosphere is different - more anonymous). Luckily enough most of the beds were vacant.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, cool atmosphere

Disliked: Noisy guests

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool building, welcoming atmosphere, great facilities, tasty food, comfortable bed, plenty of secure storage, one of the best hostels I've stayed in

Disliked: Could do with plugs alongside the beds but it's a very minor quibble in the context of a brilliant hostel

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Franciele Fedrizzi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2015 Franciele would recommend this property

Liked: yES, i LIKE VERY MUCH.

Disliked: Franciele left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When I told family and friends that my family (consisting of two adults and three kids aged 8, 6 and 3 years) were staying in a hostel for our London break; they honestly looked at me as if I had gone mad. However, our experience has been wonderful. The staff have been friendly, the rooms funky and clean and we were not the only ones staying with kids in toe. Surprisingly quiet, fantastic location, I can't rate it highly enough. Already planning our next visit.

Disliked: I would have like to gave somewhere to prepare food. There is a rule about making no crumbs in the bedrooms and when we asked if we could prepare food ie sandwiches for lunch there was no place to do this. When you are holidaying on a shoe string for five people, homemade packed lunches and breakfastsare sometimes the only way to go.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday

01 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel was good for exploring on foot or via the underground, and the amenities were excellent, a great vibe.

Disliked: Nothing really.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: modern

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stuart Tancred

Alone

City break

02 March 2015 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities. Excellent location.

Disliked: Stuart left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kind and helpful staff.

Disliked: No self-catering facitilities

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

daniel blanc

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 February 2015 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed there 4nights. It is a really nice hostel, close to a small tesco supetmarket and a tube Station. It is a really clean hostel and has lockeres for every bed. Another plus is that they have a nice and big Lounch area and a movie room in which are two movies played a day.

Disliked: They only thing that definitly did not like was that there is no Kitchen for the travellers to Cook!! I've definitly never been to a hostel without a Kitchen. Indeed they have a inbuild Restaurant but i think thst London is already expensive enough in spite of dine out.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful. So far it is the best hostel in London.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHEE WEE LIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2015 CHEE WEE would recommend this property

Liked: Overall ambience and cleanliness.

Disliked: No computer station like the one I found in Generator Copenhagen.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

02 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Few things like modern settings

Disliked: Too crowded and maybe little bit noisy

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Zaheeruddin mirza

Alone

Events / festivals

01 January 2015 Zaheeruddin would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Heating is poor

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eunbin Jang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2014 Eunbin would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fine to me. Staffs were so kind and rooms was bigger than i thoght ( 4bed dorm) And breakfast was good. The location was so great, So i could walk from hostel to Coventgarden, Trafalgarsquare,Britishmuseum,Nationalgallery,Soho

Disliked: Shower facility was little uncomfortable

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anna Garber

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and friendliness. Everything except what you can find below! 4 to of 5 with no doubts for this hostel :)

Disliked: 13 bedrooms instead of 8 as it was booked in one room. The receptionist explained it as 8 bedroom means large bedroom and number of the beds is not limited. However, when I booked was clearly stated 8 bedroom. 2 outlets for 1 people is not enough! Was impossible to charge the phone because someone always unplugged it.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Markus Eirund

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 November 2014 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: some may say the rooms are small, i call them cosy. everything was very clean. the staff was very friendly incl. the security.

Disliked: i don't really dislike something but it would be cool if you could buy a new set of balls for the billiard table :)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rene Serenil

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 October 2014 Rene would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone who worked there were always positive and seemed to enjoy working for this establishment. This was my first experience in a Hostel. I highly recommend Generator London!

Disliked: No qualms.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, good storage for backpacks under bed, close to train stations!

Disliked: Bathrooms were very small, had a shower at night and the lights turned off!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: range of onsite facilities i.e bar,food

Disliked: room size was small

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So nice and kind staff close to st.pancrass station.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels