HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Generator Hostel London London Hostel

Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1, London, England

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 78%

Location 88%

Safety 90%

Staff 85%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Nightclub
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.86USD
  • Luggage Room 7.81USD
  • Towel 4.55USD

Important Information

The remaining 90% payment for your entire stay will be collected on arrival. Please note, if you cancel your reservation within 24hours of arrival or you do not show up on the arrival date, the first night of your booking will be charged to your card. You must cancel before 24 hours in advance to avoid a one nights charge.
Hostel cannot accept guest under 18 years of age.
Hostel cannot accept large group bookings made directly online, please use the hostelbookers group booking facility.

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 78%

Location 88%

Safety 90%

Staff 85%

Value 78%

Showing 1-10 of 119 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The vibe and the facilities

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The Staff were accommodating and helpful when prompted.

Disliked: Firstly, cleanliness is not taken as seriously as they claim too. Several floors though out the hostel were sticky and bathrooms were constantly clogged. Secondly, the way the showers worked were disgusting. They all drained into one drain which means if someone next to you took a leak you would smell it and probably get a splash of it. Thirdly, for a "upscale" hostel the Generator sure likes to charge you for everything - 5 pounds for towel, no free luggage etc etc.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating


23 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: I can't think of a single thing.

Disliked: The bathrooms were absolutely disgusting and there was only 1 bathroom per floor with 4 toilets and 4 showers. Most of the showers are broken and the toilets as well. And INSANELY dirty.The rooms are freezing and too small. The linens all had stains on them. The staff is incredibly rude. I paid for a 8 bed dorm and got put in a 10. The hostel tried to double charge me. I got into London early and called to see if I could leave my bag, the man who answered said I could check in early. I took the 45 min train ride there to be very rudely told by the girl at he desk that she couldn't help me. I explained the situation and she made a very big deal of telling me how she GUESSES she will have to check me because I'm so upset? ( I wasn't even outwardly upset).


The property's response is

It's complete false advertising. This hostel is dirty, the staff is rude, everything is broken.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating


14 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Well located upscale hostel with good facilities. First hostel I have seen with bar food that resembles that from a bistro...

Disliked: Email or facebook details should not be required to use wifi.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location, friendly, good service.

Disliked: Stayed too far away from the smoking area! �

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! It is lovely to hear from you, very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have tried to keep our smoking area away from the front door for the comfort of all guests but do apologise that this was an inconvenience to you. All the best from the team at Generator London.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: Very good location, clean, safe and the staff is helpful. Breakfast is OK. Good value for money.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello! Thank you so much for writing your review after your stay with us at Generator London. It is super to hear from you and we really appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Nate – Events Coordinator

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the english style.

Disliked: It was very unclean, especially toilets.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Average breakfast, bathrooms could be cleaner

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello! Thank you so much for writing your review after your stay with us at Generator London. It is super to hear from you and we really appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Nate – Events Coordinator

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Work / volunteering

Liked: well-staffed , good layout and leisure facilities .

Disliked: basement rooms below the bar area are noisy until 2am.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello! Thank you so much for writing your review after your stay with us at Generator London. It is super to hear from you and we really appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Nate – Events Coordinator

Check Availability