We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Generator London

Hostel | Compton Place, off 37 Tavistock Place, London, England WC1H 9SE

90.6% Overall Rating

3404 out of 4175 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2015)

"Really cool building, welcoming atmosphere, great facilities, tasty food, comfortable bed, plenty of secure storage, one of the best hostels I've stayed in"

Read all Generator London reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 8.97
  • Breakfast USD 6.73
  • Towel USD 5.23

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

The remaining 90% payment for your entire stay will be collected on arrival. Please note, if you cancel your reservation within 24hours of arrival or you do not show up on the arrival date, the first night of your booking will be charged to your card. You must cancel before 24 hours in advance to avoid a one nights charge. Hostel cannot accept guest under 18 years of age. Hostel cannot accept large group bookings made directly online, please use the hostelbookers group booking facility.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St Athans Hotel
40.08 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
42.62 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.1% 4 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
26.92 USD

Hostel 86.5% 472 reviews
Smart Russell Square
13.46 USD

Hostel 73.3% 1747 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
39.88 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 28 reviews
Clink261
19.44 USD

Hostel 84.9% 962 reviews
Keystone Hostel
24.67 USD

Hostel 81.5% 50 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
142.81 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.6%

Overall Rating

3404 out of 4175 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator London'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 2411 of 3030 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 96 | 97   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool building, welcoming atmosphere, great facilities, tasty food, comfortable bed, plenty of secure storage, one of the best hostels I've stayed in

Disliked: Could do with plugs alongside the beds but it's a very minor quibble in the context of a brilliant hostel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Franciele Fedrizzi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2015 Franciele would recommend this property

Liked: yES, i LIKE VERY MUCH.

Disliked: Franciele left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When I told family and friends that my family (consisting of two adults and three kids aged 8, 6 and 3 years) were staying in a hostel for our London break; they honestly looked at me as if I had gone mad. However, our experience has been wonderful. The staff have been friendly, the rooms funky and clean and we were not the only ones staying with kids in toe. Surprisingly quiet, fantastic location, I can't rate it highly enough. Already planning our next visit.

Disliked: I would have like to gave somewhere to prepare food. There is a rule about making no crumbs in the bedrooms and when we asked if we could prepare food ie sandwiches for lunch there was no place to do this. When you are holidaying on a shoe string for five people, homemade packed lunches and breakfastsare sometimes the only way to go.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday

01 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel was good for exploring on foot or via the underground, and the amenities were excellent, a great vibe.

Disliked: Nothing really.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: modern

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stuart Tancred

Alone

City break

02 March 2015 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities. Excellent location.

Disliked: Stuart left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kind and helpful staff.

Disliked: No self-catering facitilities

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

daniel blanc

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 February 2015 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed there 4nights. It is a really nice hostel, close to a small tesco supetmarket and a tube Station. It is a really clean hostel and has lockeres for every bed. Another plus is that they have a nice and big Lounch area and a movie room in which are two movies played a day.

Disliked: They only thing that definitly did not like was that there is no Kitchen for the travellers to Cook!! I've definitly never been to a hostel without a Kitchen. Indeed they have a inbuild Restaurant but i think thst London is already expensive enough in spite of dine out.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful. So far it is the best hostel in London.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHEE WEE LIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2015 CHEE WEE would recommend this property

Liked: Overall ambience and cleanliness.

Disliked: No computer station like the one I found in Generator Copenhagen.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

02 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Few things like modern settings

Disliked: Too crowded and maybe little bit noisy

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Zaheeruddin mirza

Alone

Events / festivals

01 January 2015 Zaheeruddin would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Heating is poor

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eunbin Jang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2014 Eunbin would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fine to me. Staffs were so kind and rooms was bigger than i thoght ( 4bed dorm) And breakfast was good. The location was so great, So i could walk from hostel to Coventgarden, Trafalgarsquare,Britishmuseum,Nationalgallery,Soho

Disliked: Shower facility was little uncomfortable

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anna Garber

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and friendliness. Everything except what you can find below! 4 to of 5 with no doubts for this hostel :)

Disliked: 13 bedrooms instead of 8 as it was booked in one room. The receptionist explained it as 8 bedroom means large bedroom and number of the beds is not limited. However, when I booked was clearly stated 8 bedroom. 2 outlets for 1 people is not enough! Was impossible to charge the phone because someone always unplugged it.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Markus Eirund

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 November 2014 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: some may say the rooms are small, i call them cosy. everything was very clean. the staff was very friendly incl. the security.

Disliked: i don't really dislike something but it would be cool if you could buy a new set of balls for the billiard table :)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rene Serenil

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 October 2014 Rene would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone who worked there were always positive and seemed to enjoy working for this establishment. This was my first experience in a Hostel. I highly recommend Generator London!

Disliked: No qualms.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, good storage for backpacks under bed, close to train stations!

Disliked: Bathrooms were very small, had a shower at night and the lights turned off!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: range of onsite facilities i.e bar,food

Disliked: room size was small

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So nice and kind staff close to st.pancrass station.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Haywood

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Hamish Paap

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

14 September 2014 Hamish would recommend this property

Liked: The lockers in the room under the bed were good

Disliked: Showers were all broken, floors were disgusting , toilets didn't work properly

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean, very friendly and skilled staff and the place is beautifully decorated. The food (if you go for the Generator Burgers) takes a very long time to prepare, but is delicious. The bar serves very professional cocktails and the security is top notch.

Disliked: We had a private 4 person room, which was extremely small when compared to the price we paid. The toilets in the girls room of our floor were continually clogged and it's not a good place for smokers: the "smoking area" is an alley out back, out in the open.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, comfortable surroundings

Disliked: Pricier for a hostel stay

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar and lobby area

Disliked: Closest tube station was 10 minute walk

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The security guards at night, are really nice and funny. And they help you to the pavement/up and down the stairs, if your heels are being a little tricky.

Disliked: You have to be veeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrryyyyyyyyyyyyyy quite in your room ! If you are louder than average speech after 23:00 at night, security will knock on your door and ask you to quite down... It's a hostel for families and people who like to sleep.

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels