HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Dover Castle Hostel and Bar London Hostel

6a Great Dover Street, London, England

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 55%

Facilities 58%

Location 82%

Safety 64%

Staff 70%

Value 68%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Pool Table
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Please note: We are a backpacker’s hostel and cater specifically for 18 to 35 year olds. If you are older than this, you are more than welcome to stay, but you should be aware that it is mainly younger people here.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 55%

Facilities 58%

Location 82%

Safety 64%

Staff 70%

Value 68%

Showing 1-10 of 113 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The location is perfect, friendly staff and good atmosphere. It worth the price!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Destination is everything. This is best and cheapest hostel in the middle of London. If I go back to London, I go there again,.

Disliked: When you wake up after 10 o'clock your shower would be cold.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Viele Steckdosen auf dem Zimmer. Gute Lage, direkt an der Tube. Coole Kneipe.

Disliked: Die Toiletten waren grenzwertig, Schimmel im Bad.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Price but if i knew how bad it is I would pay few more pounds for any other place.

Disliked: Staff dont really care what is happening! No one is cleaning! No warm wather! You will be happy if there is shower on your floor as they only got 2 for all guests! 3 floors!

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: close to tube station

Disliked: Some staff very UNHELPFUL is your belonging disappear. Some of them their attitude, you are just unlucky, and what do you want me to do about it !!This is not the 1st time

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Hostel is a 2 min walk from Borough Underground station and a few min by foot from London Bridge.

Disliked: Not enough showers or toilets on the floor i was staying

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The wi fi. The location. That it was cheapear , but that doessent mind dirty.

Disliked: Everything. At night the walls «moves» because of the music thats cames from the bar...its very difficult to sleep with a so loud music. And at the living room of the hostel there were always people sleeping..maybe homeless and drinking...there were so much rare people. They are one bathroom for 20 people in the first floor, and always dirtyThe staff were like irreponsables guest, they do everything that the posters prohibit..It was the worst hostel ever.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: very good fascilities, clean

Disliked: loud music up to mid night

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: ?????You could call it a nice bulilding from the outside....

Disliked: There are so many things going wrong at this place. Pelase understand my reviwe as a big red flashing warning sign. First of all: It is not clean. There is mould in every shower (well, there are just three for the whole house and one ist not working), the floors are filthy and I wasnt sure what kind of stains were on my sheets. Everything is more or less broken or in a bad state: showers, toilets, tiles, floors and the fridge. I wouldn't call it safe either. Outside the hostel is not the safest place in London at all. They have two locked doors, that's good. But the doors to the rooms don't look themselves. So if one roomate doesn't close it properly, it is open all night long. Why am I mentioning this? Well, that happened to me the first night: At about 3am a guy (probably drunk) came into the room, started shouting at one guy sleeping and try to pill him out of his bed. After some more shouting he succeeded and lied down in that bed. So the girl from reception came up and told him in a cute little voice that he has to leave in ten minutes. What happened next? More or less nothing. After a while another guy came, told him that he is sleeping in the wrong bed, but for the rest of the night he didn't move one inch. I have no idea where the real owner of that bed went this night. Creepy ans shocking!!!Last to mention is the staff: Some of them had problems to understand english, but that is not a big deal. Just don't expect a smile. What really made me angry, is this: I spent five nights in that hostel. When I came back from my last day out in London, all my private stuff was moved (don't know who it was) and someone else occupied my bed. A bit shocked I went to reception and they told me I was supposed to change the room for my last night. Nobody told me! I complaint about that they just moved all my private belongings (like towles, sleeping shirt, bag...) and the reception guy just said: "Well, we needed the bed and you weren't there." Of course not, I didn't go to London to stay all day long at the hostel staring at the dirty walls. The staff can't even organise the bookings correctly and I've got the feeling that guests stand a bit in there way. I talked to other guests and they also told me about weird room and bed changings out of nowhere.

Check Availability