We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Queensway

Hostel | 45 Queensborough Terrace, Bayswater, London, England W23SY

83.3% Overall Rating

517 out of 611 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/06/2014)

Sarah Julie Saabye Nielsen thinks…

"You were actually able to open the windows!!! And the rooms were bigger than other hostels (I was in a room for 8 people). The staff were amazing!!! So kind and helpfull. It was like meeting…"

Read all Astor Queensway reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

As we are a youth hostel, we do have to enforce our age policy of 18-35 years. Please, also be aware that the first nights accommodation will be charged to the credit card provided as a deposit. We do not accept group bookings of over 8 people so please contact the groups department if you are booking a group!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Hyde Park Hostel
16.21 USD

Hostel 51.4% 1328 reviews
Hyde Park Economy Apartments
60.45 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Smart Hyde Park Inn
16.21 USD

Hostel 69.4% 1670 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
14.59 USD

Hostel 74.1% 1810 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
32.46 USD

Hostel 71.7% 31 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
72.22 USD

Apartment 70.2% 9 reviews
Whiteleaf Hotel
29.49 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.8% 12 reviews
New dawn hotel
36.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.9% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.3%

Overall Rating

517 out of 611 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Queensway'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
80.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 368 of 466 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The basic facilities are ok, helpful staff and clean environment. The location is quite good where the streets nearby is full of shops and restaurant.

Disliked: 6 bed ensuite is little bit crowded, beds are too short. Bathing area is small that can barely turn around!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location! Very friendly staff. Very positive experience. yummy breakfast.

Disliked: I can't think of anything I didn't like!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was an old buliding but really nice, good location, easy to get anywhere in london. Staff were really helpfull and friendly.

Disliked: nothing really, would have been nice to have locks provided.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shantelle Kerwin

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 July 2011 Shantelle would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly and helpful staff. Loved it!

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shantelle Kerwin

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 July 2011 Shantelle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the location is amazing! Walked from the hostel through Hyde Park to most of our sight-seeing destinations - saved heaps on public transport!

Disliked: N/A

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011

Liked: It was close to the tube station. Our favourite receptionist was super helpful.

Disliked: We were in a four-bed dorm with two guys we didn't know (we're two girls), and although there was a shower in the room, there was only a shower curtain separating us and the strange, snoring men with whom we were sharing. There was no toilet on our floor, and the one on the floor below didn't even have a sink in it. The staircases were very narrow and steep. The beds, although a lot more comfortable than sleeping in Trafalgar Square (which we did for two nights ;)) were still not very comfortable, and whenever someone moved, the whole bunk bed moved. It didn't seem particularly clean (not that it was super unclean either). For that much money a night you could find somewhere better.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2011

Liked: good location

Disliked: Some of the staff were really rude and not at all helpful when I check in and asked questions. They acted like it was an inconveinence that I was there talking to them. The atmosphere is not one of openness and fun, not one of the better hostels I've stayed at.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011

Liked: this hostel has a fantastic location just walking distance from Kensington gardens, two tube stations, and a street full of stores and restaurants.

Disliked: they put us in the worst room I've ever stayed in. There were four people crammed into the smallest possible space on the sixth floor without an elevator. Additionally, the room was suffocatingly hot and a staff member admitted it was the "smallest and hottest room in the building.". Yet, there was n fan provided or help trying to keep the room cool. The windows were even restricted from opening very far so it was near impossible to get cold air.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great for Hyde park, the building was also great a bit of character about it.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun & Friendly atmosphere, close to metro, liked the common /tv area aswell

Disliked: No air conditioning in rooms which became very hot, £5 to hire a towel is abit expensive, no lift so alot of stairs if ur on one of the top levels

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andres Alvarez

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Andres would recommend this property

Liked: staff was great

Disliked: five stories, no elevator

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good place to meet people, everyone really friendly and chatty. Kitchen facilities a great plus, as well as the comfy common room. Would definitely recommend this place to people looking for a great youth hostel experience, I was sorry to leave!

Disliked: It get's quite hot in the rooms, but all that means is that you have to wear shorts and a t-shirt... no big deal.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Roderick Vasconcelos Filho

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 Roderick would recommend this property

Liked: Te hostel is good, very clean, the staff is nice, and very helpfull.

Disliked: Some informations should be at the homepage: - "If you have you own notebook, good! We have the connection, but, if you stay up to the 3th floor, so sorry, the wifi connection goes till to the 3th floor." - "By the way, the astor quest has a lot of bedrooms, but, the build has 06 floors, so, if you are unluck, you will need to climb some stairs..." - "The breakfast is nice, you just need to be there at 08h00 sharp, otherwise, you will eat just bread, without cheese and ham..."

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice area, quiet, nice staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

monique pistre

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 June 2011 monique would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location , close to metro, and close to a Big Bus tour stop (easiest way to visit main monuments of london in one day for 27 Pounds. in the auberge good and thick carpet everywhere on the floor -> no noise coming from surrounding stairs and room, comfortable beds, 40 min of internet access offered-> might be practical. you should be aged of 18-35 only (was not written on the website when we booked it (finally accepted)

Disliked: ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: localizacion,

Disliked: nothing.... it`s very good hostel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people were awesome!

Disliked: If I were to say anything bad, I would say that the rooms were to warm?

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Aldana Tamborero

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 June 2011

Liked: I liked the location as it was at the end of the hythe park. You can walk and be in london center in 15 or 20 min.

Disliked: I didnt like the staff. I been in many hostels before and i never have any problems with staff. This time they werent very helpful. I asked for towels and they didnt have enough the first day, the second day i asked early in the morning and they didnt have either. That tells me they dont have enough towels for any one. Then I went to ask to the Manager if my boyfriend could move to my room with me and he said "wait a minute" im watching a football match! Clean???? no one seem to clean in that hostel, is very dirty! Breakfast, bread with fungi!!!!!!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Muy buen lugar. el barrio en donde esta es muy trankilo y estas bastante cerca de todo. Tiene bano en cada habitacion y aparte uno en cada piso, el del basement con ducha!! saquen la oster card para viajar mas barato!!! muy buen lugar, comodo y amigable!! desde Argentina, Leonel!! Saludos y aguante la academia y los redondos!!!!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: Nada significante

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a quiet neighborhood and near a tube stop. It was clean and had a good breakfast. The staff was friendly.

Disliked: There was only one bathroom for twelve people and located on another floor. Towels and locks cost 5 pounds extra. It is kind of far from the main attractions of the city.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: there were only 40 minutes free

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Russell Callaghan

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 May 2011 Russell would recommend this property

Liked: Ensuite toilets, clean sheets, comfortable beds.

Disliked: Hearing people use the ensuite! Many many stairs. . 'continental breakfast' was just toast a!nd coffee, but I guess that is pretty normal!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bathroom in the room

Disliked: no individual light near each bed

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Vedran Mijolovic

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2011 Vedran would recommend this property

Liked: at the great place near hyde park, safe, near 2 metro stops and bus lines, near to a lot of shops, restaurants

Disliked: it was really hot in the room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price

Disliked: There is not nightlife near the state


See all London hostels
See all London hotels