We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Museum Inn

Hostel | 27 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London, England WC1B 5BH

85.8% Overall Rating

551 out of 633 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/05/2015)

Sophie Elliott thinks…

"Staff were super fun friendly and helpful and great facilities, common room (lots of movies) and kitchen, good wifi all around the hostel, great location. Really easy to meet other travellers, let us…"

Read all Astor Museum Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.08

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

• Free cancelation up to 24 hours before day of arrival • Check-in - Anytime after 2pm. Check-out – Anytime before 10am • Payment accepted in Cash or Debit/Credit Card • 24-hour reception, anything you need come and ask at Reception! • VALID government issued ID required to stay with us, and ALL guests must be between 18-35 YEARS Please Note: if you do not give notice to cancel, the first night will be charged to the credit card used to make the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
147.26 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Smart Russell Square
13.88 USD

Hostel 78.1% 1752 reviews
St Athans Hotel
41.33 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Generator London
26.21 USD

Hostel 89.7% 4188 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
27.76 USD

Hostel 87.4% 478 reviews
Fairway Hotel
48.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.1% 4 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
43.69 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 28 reviews
Clink261
21.59 USD

Hostel 83.4% 967 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.8%

Overall Rating

551 out of 633 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Museum Inn'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
82.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 376 of 482 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claudia Schmid

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2010 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness, friendly staff

Disliked: Claudia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Dong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

03 September 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean, staff was superb!

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

AZZA CHAMKHI

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2010 AZZA would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is great ! Amazing staff, great people, ideal location, many activities organised by the hostel, huge breakfast (cheese and ham, cookies, cereals, honey, jelly, coffee, milk, tea).. I would definitely go back there next time I go to London.

Disliked: The ONLY little inconvenience was that there was a problem with gas and so we had to either take cold showers or go to another building, 2 minutes away from the main one.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location. Big room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

22 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and free internet access

Disliked: gas was off for 2 of the night we were there so cooking facilities were not available- warning would have been appreciated.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, an hour of free Internet, perfect location. The tube is so expensive that I just walked everywhere from the hostel. i might take an hour to some of the more distant locales, but it's possible. Free luggage storage and hearty breakfast everyday- i would stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

lucy luo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

13 July 2010 lucy would recommend this property

Liked: the location is fantastic. right next to the british museum

Disliked: dustiness and bad floors

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean and location is superb!

Disliked: Not much.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brandy Groff

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2010 Brandy would recommend this property

Liked: The helpful staff and information posted around the building, the location, the breakfast, and the availability of a locker room.

Disliked: The kitchen room was a bit difficult to maneuver around when there were several people down for breakfast. There are only 2 available computers to use for what seems like a lot of guests, but there is free wifi!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Cortez Rohr

21 June 2010 Cortez would recommend this property

Liked: Above average location; very friendly staff. My only aggravation is that it is nearly impossible to to find coming FROM Stanstead. Better directions from Stanstead Airport please. Aside from that, I was pleased.

Disliked: Cortez left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: generally a pretty good place; only 40 minutes worth of internet for the full time you're there; good free breakfast for a hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We only stayed for one night, but it was a clean, good place to stay. We stayed in the annex, which is a building about two blocks from the main building, which would have probably been a little annoying if we were staying there for a long time. The wi-fi is only free for the first 40 minutes, and you can only use it in the reception area and kitchen. It's in a very nice and safe neighborhood, with only a five minute walk to the Russell Square tube station. Overall, nice place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

03 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good and the hostel is very clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simon Girard

13 May 2010 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. Staff was helpful and very friendly. I do recommand without any hesitations.

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast all together in the morning, that's cool

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

19 April 2010

Liked: The staff was friendly and it was very easy to meet new people. The atmosphere was fun and breakfast was included, which was a nice way to save a little cash. The showers were pretty gross though. My biggest complaint was the security. We got in around midnight and after we checked in we asked for locks for the lockers but they had run out. Luckily they had small safes downstairs where we could keep our passports and small valuables but the safe was very small. This was uncomfortable though because we were sharing a room with 5 other strangers. We stayed at a different hostel the following two nights.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgi Belinski

11 April 2010 Georgi would recommend this property

Liked: its a great place, just across the street of the british museum. staff is extremely friendly!

Disliked: Georgi left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xavier Zambrano Aragundy

07 April 2010 Xavier would recommend this property

Liked: ALL OK

Disliked: Xavier left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Francois DE LA TASTE

05 April 2010 Francois would recommend this property

Liked: awesome location (bristish museum), very friendly & multilingual staff, great ooportunities (pub crawl, guestlists, etc...)

Disliked: Francois left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Wrobel Borys

20 March 2010

Liked: The place was dirty and the staff unpleasant. If you enjoy eating your 'free breakfast' with no place to sit and being supervised by a guy in his underpants perched on a stool as if he was a slave master, Astor Inn is your place!

Disliked: Wrobel left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Hollie White

18 March 2010 Hollie would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in an 8 bed mixed dorm, and it was really spacious and clean. The other people in our dorm were friendly which was good. It was a bit noisy in the night, with people walking up and down the corridors singing. I didn't try the breakfast but my friend did and she said there was a good selection but she would have liked there to have been fruit juices instead of just tea. I would definitely use this hostel again because it's in a prime location for sight seeing and the price was really good.

Disliked: Hollie left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Patricia Puente

16 March 2010 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: Totalmente recomendable! Muy limpio, seguro y muy buen ambiente.

Disliked: Patricia left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

George D'Angelo

11 March 2010

Liked: Kitchen was nice, breakfast was decent. However, the receptionist had no idea what she was doing - we had to switch rooms 3 times. When we arrived, we put our stuff in our beds, but then came back to find someone else sleeping in the beds. The staff gave us a new room, which was fine - until the next night. We were relaxing in our room when two girls unlocked the door and came in - apparently the receptionist had given out 4 keys to a two person room. Had we not been there, the "new" residents could have gone through our stuff. Be careful and make sure the receptionist has a clue what she is doing and that she doesn't hand multiple people keys to your private rooms.

Disliked: George left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's a wonderful place to stay!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels