We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Museum Inn

Hostel | 27 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London, England WC1B 5BH

85.9% Overall Rating

527 out of 607 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

Anna Nørgaard Sørensen thinks…

"I really did like a lot: 1. No bed bugs - win! 2. Nobody being rude - plus the location is superb"

Read all Astor Museum Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please Note: We cater only to backpackers between 18 and 35 years of age. Please also be aware that the first night's accommodation will be charged to the credit card provided to complete the booking. If you wish to cancel the booking, please give us 24hrs’ notice to receive a refund for that first night’s charge. We regret that we do not take group bookings of more than 8 people through this website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
154.98 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Smart Russell Square
14.61 USD

Hostel 76.9% 1728 reviews
St Athans Hotel
38.95 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Generator London
23.53 USD

Hostel 89.0% 4143 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
32.46 USD

Hostel 87.5% 466 reviews
Fairway Hotel
41.79 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Elmwood Hotel
40.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 24 reviews
Clink261
21.10 USD

Hostel 79.3% 952 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

527 out of 607 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Museum Inn'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 365 of 456 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We only stayed for one night, but it was a clean, good place to stay. We stayed in the annex, which is a building about two blocks from the main building, which would have probably been a little annoying if we were staying there for a long time. The wi-fi is only free for the first 40 minutes, and you can only use it in the reception area and kitchen. It's in a very nice and safe neighborhood, with only a five minute walk to the Russell Square tube station. Overall, nice place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

03 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good and the hostel is very clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simon Girard

13 May 2010 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. Staff was helpful and very friendly. I do recommand without any hesitations.

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast all together in the morning, that's cool

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

19 April 2010

Liked: The staff was friendly and it was very easy to meet new people. The atmosphere was fun and breakfast was included, which was a nice way to save a little cash. The showers were pretty gross though. My biggest complaint was the security. We got in around midnight and after we checked in we asked for locks for the lockers but they had run out. Luckily they had small safes downstairs where we could keep our passports and small valuables but the safe was very small. This was uncomfortable though because we were sharing a room with 5 other strangers. We stayed at a different hostel the following two nights.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgi Belinski

11 April 2010 Georgi would recommend this property

Liked: its a great place, just across the street of the british museum. staff is extremely friendly!

Disliked: Georgi left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xavier Zambrano Aragundy

07 April 2010 Xavier would recommend this property

Liked: ALL OK

Disliked: Xavier left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Francois DE LA TASTE

05 April 2010 Francois would recommend this property

Liked: awesome location (bristish museum), very friendly & multilingual staff, great ooportunities (pub crawl, guestlists, etc...)

Disliked: Francois left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Wrobel Borys

20 March 2010

Liked: The place was dirty and the staff unpleasant. If you enjoy eating your 'free breakfast' with no place to sit and being supervised by a guy in his underpants perched on a stool as if he was a slave master, Astor Inn is your place!

Disliked: Wrobel left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Hollie White

18 March 2010 Hollie would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in an 8 bed mixed dorm, and it was really spacious and clean. The other people in our dorm were friendly which was good. It was a bit noisy in the night, with people walking up and down the corridors singing. I didn't try the breakfast but my friend did and she said there was a good selection but she would have liked there to have been fruit juices instead of just tea. I would definitely use this hostel again because it's in a prime location for sight seeing and the price was really good.

Disliked: Hollie left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Patricia Puente

16 March 2010 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: Totalmente recomendable! Muy limpio, seguro y muy buen ambiente.

Disliked: Patricia left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

George D'Angelo

11 March 2010

Liked: Kitchen was nice, breakfast was decent. However, the receptionist had no idea what she was doing - we had to switch rooms 3 times. When we arrived, we put our stuff in our beds, but then came back to find someone else sleeping in the beds. The staff gave us a new room, which was fine - until the next night. We were relaxing in our room when two girls unlocked the door and came in - apparently the receptionist had given out 4 keys to a two person room. Had we not been there, the "new" residents could have gone through our stuff. Be careful and make sure the receptionist has a clue what she is doing and that she doesn't hand multiple people keys to your private rooms.

Disliked: George left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's a wonderful place to stay!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, funny and nice place. Perfect for young travellers who wants to mix culture with new friends. Best hostel I've ever been in London.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Heather Milbourn

21 February 2010 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were al very friendly and helpful. There was great access to subway and shops and walking distance from british museum, been great if we had known lol. Bedrooms were rele good even tho lots of ppl in them. Good place to go in london.

Disliked: Heather left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central location, friendly and helpful staff, breakfast included

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In particular, staff was very kind when I checked in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent breakfast for a hostel, possibility to make grilled sandwiches and a lot of coffee to start the day. The TV-room is also a nice place to hang out. Moreover, the cheerful, superfriendly and helpful girls that staff this hostel are among the best hostel staff I've ever encountered!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

12 February 2010

Liked: Very little - we arrived quite late at night and were supposed to be staying in an 8 bed dorm. We arrived and there were more people than beds in the dorm, and no blankets on the bed that had been kept for us (2 people) - we had to share the bed and cover ourselves in our coats to keep warm. The room was a mess and there was literally no room to put our bags anywhere. After a very bad nights sleep we checked out the next morning (we were supposed to stay for 4 nights) - we got a refund for the remaining three nights. I would recommend staying at Meininger hostel near Kensington -- much cleaner, more guest-friendly and all at an equivalent cost!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

gloria garcia

12 February 2010 gloria would recommend this property

Liked: The whole atmosphere. It felt warm and cosy. It is colorful and with lots of tips and useful information hung all over. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: gloria left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy place - perfect location - really nice staff - full breakfast included!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Heidi Kauffer

01 February 2010 Heidi would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, only 5min walk to Russell Square station, the room was big, the bed was comfy, there were big lockers under each bunk bed, the bathrooms were clean, the staff was helpful, the breakfast was good, plus it's cheap !! What more can you ask for ?!! Really enjoyed my stay there !

Disliked: Heidi left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

31 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel in London! Large clean rooms, good free breakfast, plenty of showers & clean. 100% rating.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: well, the best breakfast I ever had in a hostel, with lots of ham, cheese and so on, enough for everybody, very clean, very good staff, good heating, and they don t pack everybody to the same room if they have one free as in some hostels (I have a dorm for me for 2 days). Perfct location! Really recommend it!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels