HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Museum Inn

Hostel | 27 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London, England WC1B 5BH

84.3% Overall Rating

515 out of 592 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2014)

Fabian Backer thinks…

"The staff is really helpful, smile and nice. The location is amazing for London right across the street from the British Museum. The breakfast is ok and it is good that it is free."

Read all Astor Museum Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.36

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please Note: We cater only to backpackers between 18 and 35 years of age. Please also be aware that the first night's accommodation will be charged to the credit card provided to complete the booking. If you wish to cancel the booking, please give us 24hrs’ notice to receive a refund for that first night’s charge. We regret that we do not take group bookings of more than 8 people through this website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
59.59 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Smart Russell Square
15.09 USD

Hostel 72.9% 1689 reviews
Staunton Hotel
91.49 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
St Athans Hotel
38.61 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Generator London
17.63 USD

Hostel 87.0% 4095 reviews
Stay In Holborn Guest House
49.81 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 15 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
30.22 USD

Hostel 86.3% 454 reviews
Fairway Hotel
48.26 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

515 out of 592 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Museum Inn'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
87.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 356 of 441 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Wrobel Borys

20 March 2010

Liked: The place was dirty and the staff unpleasant. If you enjoy eating your 'free breakfast' with no place to sit and being supervised by a guy in his underpants perched on a stool as if he was a slave master, Astor Inn is your place!

Disliked: Wrobel left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Hollie White

18 March 2010 Hollie would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in an 8 bed mixed dorm, and it was really spacious and clean. The other people in our dorm were friendly which was good. It was a bit noisy in the night, with people walking up and down the corridors singing. I didn't try the breakfast but my friend did and she said there was a good selection but she would have liked there to have been fruit juices instead of just tea. I would definitely use this hostel again because it's in a prime location for sight seeing and the price was really good.

Disliked: Hollie left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Patricia Puente

16 March 2010 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: Totalmente recomendable! Muy limpio, seguro y muy buen ambiente.

Disliked: Patricia left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

George D'Angelo

11 March 2010

Liked: Kitchen was nice, breakfast was decent. However, the receptionist had no idea what she was doing - we had to switch rooms 3 times. When we arrived, we put our stuff in our beds, but then came back to find someone else sleeping in the beds. The staff gave us a new room, which was fine - until the next night. We were relaxing in our room when two girls unlocked the door and came in - apparently the receptionist had given out 4 keys to a two person room. Had we not been there, the "new" residents could have gone through our stuff. Be careful and make sure the receptionist has a clue what she is doing and that she doesn't hand multiple people keys to your private rooms.

Disliked: George left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's a wonderful place to stay!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, funny and nice place. Perfect for young travellers who wants to mix culture with new friends. Best hostel I've ever been in London.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Heather Milbourn

21 February 2010 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were al very friendly and helpful. There was great access to subway and shops and walking distance from british museum, been great if we had known lol. Bedrooms were rele good even tho lots of ppl in them. Good place to go in london.

Disliked: Heather left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central location, friendly and helpful staff, breakfast included

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In particular, staff was very kind when I checked in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent breakfast for a hostel, possibility to make grilled sandwiches and a lot of coffee to start the day. The TV-room is also a nice place to hang out. Moreover, the cheerful, superfriendly and helpful girls that staff this hostel are among the best hostel staff I've ever encountered!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

12 February 2010

Liked: Very little - we arrived quite late at night and were supposed to be staying in an 8 bed dorm. We arrived and there were more people than beds in the dorm, and no blankets on the bed that had been kept for us (2 people) - we had to share the bed and cover ourselves in our coats to keep warm. The room was a mess and there was literally no room to put our bags anywhere. After a very bad nights sleep we checked out the next morning (we were supposed to stay for 4 nights) - we got a refund for the remaining three nights. I would recommend staying at Meininger hostel near Kensington -- much cleaner, more guest-friendly and all at an equivalent cost!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

gloria garcia

12 February 2010 gloria would recommend this property

Liked: The whole atmosphere. It felt warm and cosy. It is colorful and with lots of tips and useful information hung all over. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: gloria left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy place - perfect location - really nice staff - full breakfast included!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Heidi Kauffer

01 February 2010 Heidi would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, only 5min walk to Russell Square station, the room was big, the bed was comfy, there were big lockers under each bunk bed, the bathrooms were clean, the staff was helpful, the breakfast was good, plus it's cheap !! What more can you ask for ?!! Really enjoyed my stay there !

Disliked: Heidi left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

31 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel in London! Large clean rooms, good free breakfast, plenty of showers & clean. 100% rating.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: well, the best breakfast I ever had in a hostel, with lots of ham, cheese and so on, enough for everybody, very clean, very good staff, good heating, and they don t pack everybody to the same room if they have one free as in some hostels (I have a dorm for me for 2 days). Perfct location! Really recommend it!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tin Kadoic

14 November 2009 Tin would recommend this property

Liked: We're a young couple, visiting this hostel for the second time. It's a wonderful place, the private room is just what we need, and the location offers so much. Will definitely come again.

Disliked: Tin left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bojan Kovic

12 October 2009 Bojan would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent breakfast (ham, cheese) and location - quiet street near British museum. Good beds and hot showers. I would like to recommended this hostel

Disliked: Bojan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hugo Benedikt

12 October 2009 Hugo would recommend this property

Liked: Close to nightlife centre, very good value for money, friendly staff.

Disliked: Hugo left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Ajda Miklavcic

27 September 2009 Ajda would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere in the hostel is very good, everyone is so kind and always willing to help.

Disliked: Ajda left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, within walking distance of most of London's sights. Breakfast ok. Decent beds that don't creak everytime somebody movesMy criticisms would be that there are few power sockets in the rooms so its difficult to charge phones and iPods. Also the bathrooms are kinda small and basic, but not the worst I've seen. Always found hot water anyway.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

09 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of staff! Very kind and helpful. Location was within walking distance to Tube stops. The hostel was clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

05 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really nice.....and the location was really really goodThere was no fun in the hostel bun the atmosphere was very friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Cabral Hugo

23 June 2009 Cabral would recommend this property

Liked: Friendlyness and helpfulness of the staff.

Disliked: Cabral left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels