HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Museum Inn

Hostel | 27 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London, England WC1B 5BH

83.7% Overall Rating

516 out of 593 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

Denise Skurnik thinks…

"Everything was fine. Staff was really nice and they did everythig to make us feeling confortable. We recomend the hostel to the next travellers."

Read all Astor Museum Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.36

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please Note: We cater only to backpackers between 18 and 35 years of age. Please also be aware that the first night's accommodation will be charged to the credit card provided to complete the booking. If you wish to cancel the booking, please give us 24hrs’ notice to receive a refund for that first night’s charge. We regret that we do not take group bookings of more than 8 people through this website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
69.74 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Smart Russell Square
15.11 USD

Hostel 72.9% 1689 reviews
Staunton Hotel
91.58 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
St Athans Hotel
38.65 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Generator London
28.57 USD

Hostel 86.3% 4099 reviews
Stay In Holborn Guest House
49.86 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 15 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
33.61 USD

Hostel 86.3% 454 reviews
Fairway Hotel
43.69 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.7%

Overall Rating

516 out of 593 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Museum Inn'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
87.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 357 of 442 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yana Shevchenko

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2011 Yana would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed at the Astor Museum Inn Hostel for 8 nights in January. Location is very convenient- just in front of the British Museum, really close to tube (~5 mins)., and within the walking distance from Oxford Street (~ 10-15 mins). Although the hostel is quite shabby and old, everything is at working condition. Beds are comfy, linen is impeccably clean. Breakfast is nice as for hostels and consists of: cereals + milk + tea/coffee + toasts + ham + cheese + butter + jam + peanut butter. Liked that there is a fully-equipped kitchen at the hostel and free tea/coffee all day! Overall I've got a very warm opinion of my stay at this hostel, I met so many wonderful people there and I may say I spent one of my best days in my life there! For the price, there's nothing more to expect, really. If I'm in London again ever, I know where I'm staying ;)

Disliked: The only issue is that toilets and showers DO need to be cleaned more often than once in a several days (as it seemed).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, clean, good breakfast, nice staff, internet, nice lounge room

Disliked: Bread could have been more fresh.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

17 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location8

Disliked: Small rooms, the noise coused by doors.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 November 2010

Liked: location, breakfast

Disliked: not clean, unkept building

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Srdan Maric

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping

15 October 2010 Srdan would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staff

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My room was really nice and big. The floor to ceiling windows were great ventilation.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claudia Schmid

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2010 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness, friendly staff

Disliked: Claudia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Dong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

03 September 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean, staff was superb!

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

AZZA CHAMKHI

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2010 AZZA would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is great ! Amazing staff, great people, ideal location, many activities organised by the hostel, huge breakfast (cheese and ham, cookies, cereals, honey, jelly, coffee, milk, tea).. I would definitely go back there next time I go to London.

Disliked: The ONLY little inconvenience was that there was a problem with gas and so we had to either take cold showers or go to another building, 2 minutes away from the main one.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location. Big room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

22 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and free internet access

Disliked: gas was off for 2 of the night we were there so cooking facilities were not available- warning would have been appreciated.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, an hour of free Internet, perfect location. The tube is so expensive that I just walked everywhere from the hostel. i might take an hour to some of the more distant locales, but it's possible. Free luggage storage and hearty breakfast everyday- i would stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

lucy luo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

13 July 2010 lucy would recommend this property

Liked: the location is fantastic. right next to the british museum

Disliked: dustiness and bad floors

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean and location is superb!

Disliked: Not much.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brandy Groff

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2010 Brandy would recommend this property

Liked: The helpful staff and information posted around the building, the location, the breakfast, and the availability of a locker room.

Disliked: The kitchen room was a bit difficult to maneuver around when there were several people down for breakfast. There are only 2 available computers to use for what seems like a lot of guests, but there is free wifi!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Cortez Rohr

21 June 2010 Cortez would recommend this property

Liked: Above average location; very friendly staff. My only aggravation is that it is nearly impossible to to find coming FROM Stanstead. Better directions from Stanstead Airport please. Aside from that, I was pleased.

Disliked: Cortez left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: generally a pretty good place; only 40 minutes worth of internet for the full time you're there; good free breakfast for a hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We only stayed for one night, but it was a clean, good place to stay. We stayed in the annex, which is a building about two blocks from the main building, which would have probably been a little annoying if we were staying there for a long time. The wi-fi is only free for the first 40 minutes, and you can only use it in the reception area and kitchen. It's in a very nice and safe neighborhood, with only a five minute walk to the Russell Square tube station. Overall, nice place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

03 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good and the hostel is very clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simon Girard

13 May 2010 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. Staff was helpful and very friendly. I do recommand without any hesitations.

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast all together in the morning, that's cool

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

19 April 2010

Liked: The staff was friendly and it was very easy to meet new people. The atmosphere was fun and breakfast was included, which was a nice way to save a little cash. The showers were pretty gross though. My biggest complaint was the security. We got in around midnight and after we checked in we asked for locks for the lockers but they had run out. Luckily they had small safes downstairs where we could keep our passports and small valuables but the safe was very small. This was uncomfortable though because we were sharing a room with 5 other strangers. We stayed at a different hostel the following two nights.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgi Belinski

11 April 2010 Georgi would recommend this property

Liked: its a great place, just across the street of the british museum. staff is extremely friendly!

Disliked: Georgi left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xavier Zambrano Aragundy

07 April 2010 Xavier would recommend this property

Liked: ALL OK

Disliked: Xavier left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels