We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Museum Inn

Hostel | 27 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London, England WC1B 5BH

85.8% Overall Rating

551 out of 633 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/05/2015)

Sophie Elliott thinks…

"Staff were super fun friendly and helpful and great facilities, common room (lots of movies) and kitchen, good wifi all around the hostel, great location. Really easy to meet other travellers, let us…"

Read all Astor Museum Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

• Free cancelation up to 24 hours before day of arrival • Check-in - Anytime after 2pm. Check-out – Anytime before 10am • Payment accepted in Cash or Debit/Credit Card • 24-hour reception, anything you need come and ask at Reception! • VALID government issued ID required to stay with us, and ALL guests must be between 18-35 YEARS Please Note: if you do not give notice to cancel, the first night will be charged to the credit card used to make the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
146.36 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Smart Russell Square Hostel
13.79 USD

Hostel 78.1% 1752 reviews
St Athans Hotel
41.07 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Generator London
26.05 USD

Hostel 89.7% 4188 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
27.59 USD

Hostel 87.4% 478 reviews
Fairway Hotel
48.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.1% 4 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
33.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 28 reviews
Clink261
21.46 USD

Hostel 84.1% 968 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.8%

Overall Rating

551 out of 633 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Museum Inn'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
82.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 376 of 482 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was right next to British Museum, which I found a very good location. On the night I've arrived they organised a pub crowl, which must have been cool, I couldn't join as I was travelling two days long and wanted to sleep. Very nice staff, breakfast was great, I did not have hunger for couple of hours, and I was not eating much. In the room there were 6 beds with huge space for the luggage and getting around too.

Disliked: The windows of my room were quite durty, however I did not mind it as the room was ok. I found no handwash next to the toilettes. (Maybe you have to go to your room for washing your hands? But there as no soap...)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Helen Shaw

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2011 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the Buildings need a code to enter - and that each bed had a massive cage to lock up your belongings - big enuf for a suitcase

Disliked: The shower I had access to smelt a bit weird. And that you had to pay for wifi after 40mins worth of use.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff. Really chilled out atmosphere.

Disliked: Bit of a bad smell in the toilet is all...constantly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was amazing- right next to the British museum and close to most of the main attractions. The breakfast was also much better than any other hostel I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: I was on the 4th floor and getting my suitcase up all those stairs, particularly the tight ones at the top, without help was very tricky! It was also really hot in the room. I think because we were so high up

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything, particularly the atmosphere and staff, we really had a great stay.

Disliked: nothing, everything was great

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Large rooms with big lockers to store things. Breakfast included in the price.

Disliked: Not much of a communal area/lounge but not a problem if you have cool roomates (like we had) you can easily chat with them in your room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Louise Bartram

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: the staff where very friendly and very welcoming. lovely people

Disliked: there wasnt anything i disliked i dont think.. except there wasnt any plugs in the rooms but that waas fine as there was downstairs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Graziella SOUCHET

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 Graziella would recommend this property

Liked: 10 minutes walks to Theatre land. 15 minutes walk to Soho. Bike hire in front of the door.

Disliked: kitchen too small !! Room small we have to be carefull with door!! Some noise on the 1st floor we can hear on the 4th floor !

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marcio Martins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Marcio would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean, nice staff, good breakfast, good location, valuable.

Disliked: The lockers could be better. They're just a drawer under the bunkbeds, and you have to lock them with huge padlocks (the usual ones don't fit). They could either provide the padlocks or install normal lockers with keys (for free). And, come on, free towels wouldn't increase that much the price!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Tien Jen Chang

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa

12 June 2011 Tien Jen would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Please do not tell me to change my room just on the moving day. If you can tell me that earlier, it will be appreciated.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Manon Kassenberg

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

10 June 2011 Manon would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the centre! Just a short walk, perfect! Kind staff en cool people.

Disliked: Snoring people haha! Not enough showers, especially during breakfast time. Also the breakfast was a bit poor.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, cheap and it was next to the british Museum

Disliked: The directions given were not clear enough to find it easily.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, very affordable, most excellent staff. About five minutes' walk from either Russell Square station or Holborn, both of which can get you to tourist hotspots such as Piccadilly Circus and big railway stations like King's Cross.

Disliked: N/A.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manuel Baruzzi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 May 2011 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: THE STAFF ! THE STAFF ! THE STAFF !

Disliked: NOTHING ! NOTHING ! NOTHING !

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THE GREAT STAFF !

Disliked: NOTHING !

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011

Liked: good location

Disliked: the showers are quite bad- shower room is cramped in general with very little space to change and get dressed after shower etc. also there should be a rack to put toiletries cos what I do is i just lay out my soap shampoo bottles on the shower floor which is non hygienic. also the soap dispenser in the rooms AND the bathroom are almost all the time- empty. which is not good when you just had a day out or just came out from the toilets and you want to clean your hands!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

28 March 2011

Liked: It was inexpensive and on the Piccadilly line-convenient for the airport. Staff was reasonably nice and breakfast was pretty good.

Disliked: Rooms, bathroom and shower were absolutely filthy. I felt like I was showering at a campground-the shower curtain had something that looked like birdpoop on it? And there is no ventilation, so it reeks of mildew. Stained mattresses. Even after a shower I felt gross.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, great price!

Disliked: Lots of stairs to climb to my room, difficult with lots of luggage.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very central. Litterally 2 min from the British Museum. Close to the tube as well. Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast more tham correct.

Disliked: a bit too old and very noisy. I barely slept for 2 days. But it was more due to some inacceptable behaviours from than anything else. Perhaps some controls should be in place. not enough seats in the kitchen for breakfast - I had to stand while eating.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yana Shevchenko

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2011 Yana would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed at the Astor Museum Inn Hostel for 8 nights in January. Location is very convenient- just in front of the British Museum, really close to tube (~5 mins)., and within the walking distance from Oxford Street (~ 10-15 mins). Although the hostel is quite shabby and old, everything is at working condition. Beds are comfy, linen is impeccably clean. Breakfast is nice as for hostels and consists of: cereals + milk + tea/coffee + toasts + ham + cheese + butter + jam + peanut butter. Liked that there is a fully-equipped kitchen at the hostel and free tea/coffee all day! Overall I've got a very warm opinion of my stay at this hostel, I met so many wonderful people there and I may say I spent one of my best days in my life there! For the price, there's nothing more to expect, really. If I'm in London again ever, I know where I'm staying ;)

Disliked: The only issue is that toilets and showers DO need to be cleaned more often than once in a several days (as it seemed).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, clean, good breakfast, nice staff, internet, nice lounge room

Disliked: Bread could have been more fresh.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

17 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location8

Disliked: Small rooms, the noise coused by doors.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 November 2010

Liked: location, breakfast

Disliked: not clean, unkept building

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Srdan Maric

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping

15 October 2010 Srdan would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staff

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My room was really nice and big. The floor to ceiling windows were great ventilation.

Disliked: nothing


See all London hostels
See all London hotels