We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Museum Inn

Hostel | 27 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London, England WC1B 5BH

89.4% Overall Rating

565 out of 647 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/07/2015)

"Awesome staff, very helpful. Great location! Right next to the British Museum. The bed was comfy."

Read all Astor Museum Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

• Free cancelation up to 24 hours before day of arrival • Check-in - Anytime after 2pm. Check-out – Anytime before 10am • Payment accepted in Cash or Debit/Credit Card • 24-hour reception, anything you need come and ask at Reception! • VALID government issued ID required to stay with us, and ALL guests must be between 18-35 YEARS Please Note: if you do not give notice to cancel, the first night will be charged to the credit card used to make the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
149.03 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Smart Russell Square Hostel
21.83 USD

Hostel 78.4% 1765 reviews
St Athans Hotel
41.82 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Generator London
39.01 USD

Hostel 89.9% 4194 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
38.62 USD

Hostel 87.4% 478 reviews
Fairway Hotel
56.96 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.1% 4 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
52.01 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.1% 29 reviews
Clink261
20.29 USD

Hostel 84.8% 971 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

565 out of 647 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Museum Inn'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
96.0%
Value
85.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 384 of 496 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool atmosphere, super-nice staff, great location!

Disliked: Smelled kind of funny, not too clean and lots of people who did not book a bed, but however decided to sleep either in the lounge or on the floor of dorm-rooms that they either used to stay in or friends of theirs stayed in.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Santiago Barreiro

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, beds ok.

Disliked: No free wi-fi, breakfast ok but they NEED a bigger coffee machine, a domestic one is lame for a hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Firstly good value for money. Secondly, the location was also quite good: Just next to the British Museum, and in walking distance to the major sights (plus there was a nearby tube station: Holborn). Breakfast was unlimited cereals, milk, coffee, bread, jams and peanut butter. Nothing special, but if you're into quantity rather than quality, that's the breakfast you want. Overall, I highly recommend this place.

Disliked: The toilets and showers could have been a little bit more spacious. But considering the fact that the facilities were clean and the hostel was not that expensive, I can't really complain.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very good location. You can walk to Covent garden... Area around the hostel is nice...

Disliked: I am 196 cm tall and the beds in the hostel are only about 180 cm. 6 dorms are not in the main building - try to stay in the main building. It is just more fun.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La ubicación es excelente, el personal amable y unas camas muy cómodas

Disliked: Si hubiera que decir algo malo, las cortinas dejaban pasar la claridad

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, friendly staff.

Disliked: No commom areas (only a small room for internet computers and a big sofa with tv). Poor breackfast.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a quite clean hostel and the breakfast is good. Very young staff.

Disliked: Some rooms are out of the main building. There is no free internet access and if you pay, the Wi-fi signal is not so good in the bedrooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vorapak Arunsaengroj

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2011 Vorapak would recommend this property

Liked: - location. Near tube station, Teso Express. - big, clean room. nice bunk bed, comfy. Clean shower. - age restriction, so, no very young school kids / very old backpackers (sorry). So, that made hostel's atmosphere looks right :)

Disliked: - Sometimes some people played music so loud in the kitchen. - Wifi is free only for 40 minutes.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was right next to British Museum, which I found a very good location. On the night I've arrived they organised a pub crowl, which must have been cool, I couldn't join as I was travelling two days long and wanted to sleep. Very nice staff, breakfast was great, I did not have hunger for couple of hours, and I was not eating much. In the room there were 6 beds with huge space for the luggage and getting around too.

Disliked: The windows of my room were quite durty, however I did not mind it as the room was ok. I found no handwash next to the toilettes. (Maybe you have to go to your room for washing your hands? But there as no soap...)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Helen Shaw

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2011 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the Buildings need a code to enter - and that each bed had a massive cage to lock up your belongings - big enuf for a suitcase

Disliked: The shower I had access to smelt a bit weird. And that you had to pay for wifi after 40mins worth of use.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff. Really chilled out atmosphere.

Disliked: Bit of a bad smell in the toilet is all...constantly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was amazing- right next to the British museum and close to most of the main attractions. The breakfast was also much better than any other hostel I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: I was on the 4th floor and getting my suitcase up all those stairs, particularly the tight ones at the top, without help was very tricky! It was also really hot in the room. I think because we were so high up

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything, particularly the atmosphere and staff, we really had a great stay.

Disliked: nothing, everything was great

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Large rooms with big lockers to store things. Breakfast included in the price.

Disliked: Not much of a communal area/lounge but not a problem if you have cool roomates (like we had) you can easily chat with them in your room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Louise Bartram

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: the staff where very friendly and very welcoming. lovely people

Disliked: there wasnt anything i disliked i dont think.. except there wasnt any plugs in the rooms but that waas fine as there was downstairs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Graziella SOUCHET

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 Graziella would recommend this property

Liked: 10 minutes walks to Theatre land. 15 minutes walk to Soho. Bike hire in front of the door.

Disliked: kitchen too small !! Room small we have to be carefull with door!! Some noise on the 1st floor we can hear on the 4th floor !

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marcio Martins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Marcio would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean, nice staff, good breakfast, good location, valuable.

Disliked: The lockers could be better. They're just a drawer under the bunkbeds, and you have to lock them with huge padlocks (the usual ones don't fit). They could either provide the padlocks or install normal lockers with keys (for free). And, come on, free towels wouldn't increase that much the price!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Tien Jen Chang

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa

12 June 2011 Tien Jen would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Please do not tell me to change my room just on the moving day. If you can tell me that earlier, it will be appreciated.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Manon Kassenberg

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

10 June 2011 Manon would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the centre! Just a short walk, perfect! Kind staff en cool people.

Disliked: Snoring people haha! Not enough showers, especially during breakfast time. Also the breakfast was a bit poor.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, cheap and it was next to the british Museum

Disliked: The directions given were not clear enough to find it easily.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, very affordable, most excellent staff. About five minutes' walk from either Russell Square station or Holborn, both of which can get you to tourist hotspots such as Piccadilly Circus and big railway stations like King's Cross.

Disliked: N/A.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manuel Baruzzi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 May 2011 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: THE STAFF ! THE STAFF ! THE STAFF !

Disliked: NOTHING ! NOTHING ! NOTHING !

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THE GREAT STAFF !

Disliked: NOTHING !

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011

Liked: good location

Disliked: the showers are quite bad- shower room is cramped in general with very little space to change and get dressed after shower etc. also there should be a rack to put toiletries cos what I do is i just lay out my soap shampoo bottles on the shower floor which is non hygienic. also the soap dispenser in the rooms AND the bathroom are almost all the time- empty. which is not good when you just had a day out or just came out from the toilets and you want to clean your hands!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

28 March 2011

Liked: It was inexpensive and on the Piccadilly line-convenient for the airport. Staff was reasonably nice and breakfast was pretty good.

Disliked: Rooms, bathroom and shower were absolutely filthy. I felt like I was showering at a campground-the shower curtain had something that looked like birdpoop on it? And there is no ventilation, so it reeks of mildew. Stained mattresses. Even after a shower I felt gross.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels