We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Museum Inn

Hostel | 27 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London, England WC1B 5BH

85.9% Overall Rating

527 out of 607 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

Anna Nørgaard Sørensen thinks…

"I really did like a lot: 1. No bed bugs - win! 2. Nobody being rude - plus the location is superb"

Read all Astor Museum Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please Note: We cater only to backpackers between 18 and 35 years of age. Please also be aware that the first night's accommodation will be charged to the credit card provided to complete the booking. If you wish to cancel the booking, please give us 24hrs’ notice to receive a refund for that first night’s charge. We regret that we do not take group bookings of more than 8 people through this website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
154.98 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Smart Russell Square
14.61 USD

Hostel 76.9% 1728 reviews
St Athans Hotel
38.95 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Generator London
24.34 USD

Hostel 89.0% 4143 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
24.34 USD

Hostel 88.0% 467 reviews
Fairway Hotel
40.57 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Elmwood Hotel
43.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 24 reviews
Clink261
19.47 USD

Hostel 79.3% 952 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

527 out of 607 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Museum Inn'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 365 of 456 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, cheap and it was next to the british Museum

Disliked: The directions given were not clear enough to find it easily.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, very affordable, most excellent staff. About five minutes' walk from either Russell Square station or Holborn, both of which can get you to tourist hotspots such as Piccadilly Circus and big railway stations like King's Cross.

Disliked: N/A.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manuel Baruzzi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 May 2011 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: THE STAFF ! THE STAFF ! THE STAFF !

Disliked: NOTHING ! NOTHING ! NOTHING !

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THE GREAT STAFF !

Disliked: NOTHING !

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011

Liked: good location

Disliked: the showers are quite bad- shower room is cramped in general with very little space to change and get dressed after shower etc. also there should be a rack to put toiletries cos what I do is i just lay out my soap shampoo bottles on the shower floor which is non hygienic. also the soap dispenser in the rooms AND the bathroom are almost all the time- empty. which is not good when you just had a day out or just came out from the toilets and you want to clean your hands!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

28 March 2011

Liked: It was inexpensive and on the Piccadilly line-convenient for the airport. Staff was reasonably nice and breakfast was pretty good.

Disliked: Rooms, bathroom and shower were absolutely filthy. I felt like I was showering at a campground-the shower curtain had something that looked like birdpoop on it? And there is no ventilation, so it reeks of mildew. Stained mattresses. Even after a shower I felt gross.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, great price!

Disliked: Lots of stairs to climb to my room, difficult with lots of luggage.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very central. Litterally 2 min from the British Museum. Close to the tube as well. Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast more tham correct.

Disliked: a bit too old and very noisy. I barely slept for 2 days. But it was more due to some inacceptable behaviours from than anything else. Perhaps some controls should be in place. not enough seats in the kitchen for breakfast - I had to stand while eating.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yana Shevchenko

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2011 Yana would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed at the Astor Museum Inn Hostel for 8 nights in January. Location is very convenient- just in front of the British Museum, really close to tube (~5 mins)., and within the walking distance from Oxford Street (~ 10-15 mins). Although the hostel is quite shabby and old, everything is at working condition. Beds are comfy, linen is impeccably clean. Breakfast is nice as for hostels and consists of: cereals + milk + tea/coffee + toasts + ham + cheese + butter + jam + peanut butter. Liked that there is a fully-equipped kitchen at the hostel and free tea/coffee all day! Overall I've got a very warm opinion of my stay at this hostel, I met so many wonderful people there and I may say I spent one of my best days in my life there! For the price, there's nothing more to expect, really. If I'm in London again ever, I know where I'm staying ;)

Disliked: The only issue is that toilets and showers DO need to be cleaned more often than once in a several days (as it seemed).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, clean, good breakfast, nice staff, internet, nice lounge room

Disliked: Bread could have been more fresh.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

17 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location8

Disliked: Small rooms, the noise coused by doors.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 November 2010

Liked: location, breakfast

Disliked: not clean, unkept building

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Srdan Maric

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping

15 October 2010 Srdan would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staff

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My room was really nice and big. The floor to ceiling windows were great ventilation.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claudia Schmid

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2010 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness, friendly staff

Disliked: Claudia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Dong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

03 September 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean, staff was superb!

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

AZZA CHAMKHI

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2010 AZZA would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is great ! Amazing staff, great people, ideal location, many activities organised by the hostel, huge breakfast (cheese and ham, cookies, cereals, honey, jelly, coffee, milk, tea).. I would definitely go back there next time I go to London.

Disliked: The ONLY little inconvenience was that there was a problem with gas and so we had to either take cold showers or go to another building, 2 minutes away from the main one.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location. Big room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

22 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and free internet access

Disliked: gas was off for 2 of the night we were there so cooking facilities were not available- warning would have been appreciated.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, an hour of free Internet, perfect location. The tube is so expensive that I just walked everywhere from the hostel. i might take an hour to some of the more distant locales, but it's possible. Free luggage storage and hearty breakfast everyday- i would stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

lucy luo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

13 July 2010 lucy would recommend this property

Liked: the location is fantastic. right next to the british museum

Disliked: dustiness and bad floors

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean and location is superb!

Disliked: Not much.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brandy Groff

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2010 Brandy would recommend this property

Liked: The helpful staff and information posted around the building, the location, the breakfast, and the availability of a locker room.

Disliked: The kitchen room was a bit difficult to maneuver around when there were several people down for breakfast. There are only 2 available computers to use for what seems like a lot of guests, but there is free wifi!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Cortez Rohr

21 June 2010 Cortez would recommend this property

Liked: Above average location; very friendly staff. My only aggravation is that it is nearly impossible to to find coming FROM Stanstead. Better directions from Stanstead Airport please. Aside from that, I was pleased.

Disliked: Cortez left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: generally a pretty good place; only 40 minutes worth of internet for the full time you're there; good free breakfast for a hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels