We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Museum Inn

Hostel | 27 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London, England WC1B 5BH

88.5% Overall Rating

566 out of 648 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/07/2015)

"Awesome staff, very helpful. Great location! Right next to the British Museum. The bed was comfy."

Read all Astor Museum Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

• Free cancelation up to 24 hours before day of arrival • Check-in - Anytime after 2pm. Check-out – Anytime before 10am • Payment accepted in Cash or Debit/Credit Card • 24-hour reception, anything you need come and ask at Reception! • VALID government issued ID required to stay with us, and ALL guests must be between 18-35 YEARS Please Note: if you do not give notice to cancel, the first night will be charged to the credit card used to make the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
148.59 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Smart Russell Square Hostel
21.77 USD

Hostel 79.8% 1766 reviews
St Athans Hotel
41.70 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Generator London
29.56 USD

Hostel 89.8% 4195 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
38.51 USD

Hostel 87.4% 478 reviews
Fairway Hotel
56.79 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.1% 4 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
57.06 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.1% 29 reviews
Clink261
20.23 USD

Hostel 84.8% 971 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

566 out of 648 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Museum Inn'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
96.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 384 of 497 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lani Stewart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Lani would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent, right near a tube station. The staff were lovely and helpful. It's definitely an old building like they say but despite appearing a little run down it is very clean. I'd definitely recommend for backpackers on a budget.

Disliked: It looks a little dodgy when you first walk in given the age of the building, but this is common amongst accommodation in London.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mike Bruijns

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms and facilities were clean.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Montanna Vaccari

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

29 May 2013 Montanna would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to assist us if we had any questions. The hostel is a 2 minute walk from the tube which takes you anywhere. The rooms are pretty spacious and the breakfast was great.

Disliked: Sometimes the toilets were not cleaned, although it is not always the hostels fault. Its hard to maintain clean toilets because people use them all the time.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: Staff was below average

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good, the staff is nice, the hostel is overall very good.

Disliked: The pillows could have been better

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice place, well located and with a good service for the money you pay. I recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tomas Vysniauskas

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, friendly staff

Disliked: It looked like the towel was dirty, but in fact they smelled fresh

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fuss Aurélien

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Fuss would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff & cheap price

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, the staff is always nice and helpful, the atmosphere is relaxed and young, it is clean and well organized.

Disliked: the music was sometimes too loud at dinner time

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Simon Dyball

Alone

City break

07 May 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Near to the Night Life.

Disliked: You Have to be 18-30 to sleep at this Hostel, Did not See it, When i Book the Hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jedrzej Kulach

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Jedrzej would recommend this property

Liked: Was fine!

Disliked: Jedrzej left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ana Costa

Alone

Business / conference

02 May 2013 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very available and friendly. The services were very good also, the breakfast was in the kitchen and coocked by ourselves, but it doesn´t lack anything. The environment was great.

Disliked: Despite of the cleanliness was very good, the bathrooms and showers were few for some many rooms. I was lucky because the hostel was too empty, otherwise it would be complicated.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a short walk away from Soho, Covent Garden and the West End, not to mention it is literally right next door to the British Museum. Great for sight seeing or if you're in London to see a show in the West End. The free breakfast was a nice extra!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is as good as it gets. Some of the staff were fantastic (props to the young Danish guy).

Disliked: Not well situated for meeting people. Some of the staff were the opposite of fantastic (not helpful at all).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Agnieszka Kowalczyk

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Agnieszka would recommend this property

Liked: The area where the hostel is located is very nice-quite and not to far from Oxford street where is real night life. What is important is that you can leave your luggage for as long as you need and it s free of charge.

Disliked: Lack of market in the nearest area of hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is awesome. Right next to British museum. To london eye and westminster just took 30minutes on walk. On the way to there soho.picadilly.trafalga and so on. You may not have to use subway for travel the centre. Hot showers are availabe all day Shower rooms.toilet and dining room was cleaned in the morning by staff. And its clean. Also you can have free breakfast in 8am to 10am. Its pretty decent. No curfew thing was great also.

Disliked: I stayed room next to enterance door. In night it could be noisy because people go and out. And sometimes wifi disconnected in the room. Nothing eles.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff in reception are very helpful...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place nice staff free food

Disliked: not much really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Boechat Machado

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2013 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, lockers in the bedroom, wifi included, breakfast included, very safe, good showers.

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Dixon

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 February 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the breakfast provided; the best I've ever had out of the 25 hostels I've previously stayed at. The bed was amazing; I couldn't leave it once I arrived on the Saturday night. The shower facilities were perfect - if only I had a shower like that at home! Staff were really nice, especially the females working at reception and at the breakfast bar on the Sunday morning. They asked questions about me, were chatty and kind, and made me feel at home.

Disliked: I felt the staff who greeted me on the Saturday night could have talked more about the facilities available, as in where they were. All I knew was that my room was on the top floor. Also, their lack of conversation at the reception desk made me feel awkward while waiting for the room key,

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013

Liked: I liked the location, it was within walking distance of a lot of awesome stuff in London so that was nice. The showers were also good and the beds comfortable.

Disliked: The first problem I encountered here was the staff, I don't mind a laid back easy going staff as long as they retain a little professionalism, these people did not. I went to check in at 1:45 (check-in at 2) and was told to come back (fair enough). I came back at 2:20 and there was no-one at reception, I rang the bell and waited 5 minutes, rang it again, and ended up ringing it 6 times before a guy who looked pretty stoned stumbled out of a back room and walked past me before realizing I needed to check in. The hallways are so narrow I could hardly get up the stairs with a 70L pack. The rooms are a decent size if not a bit small but the lockers are pathetic and useless.They are like a small cage underneath the bed with spaces so bit between the locker and the bed you can just reach in so it's pretty false security. They have a luggage room which they say is secure which it would be, as it has a big padlock on it, but they leave the key 2 feet away hanging on the stairs.And for most of my stay the door to the room was wide open. Also don't go if you are offended by sexually explicit material, when I checked in there was a picture of a penis taped to the wall, not like a funny drawing, just a picture of some guys penis.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location! it's very central and within easy reach of subway station.

Disliked: It can get a bit loud and there are no lights over your beds, so if you come late at night, be ready to unpack in the dark or (if you're mean) wake up fellow backpackers. Also I think it's a bit weird that breakfast (which was nice btw!) is served only from 8.00 am, which is quite late, if someone has to catch a morning flight! Upon request, they allowed me to have it earlier but the way the recpetnist behaved was bizzarre....Firts of all her English was not terribly good and she was rather grumpy, so when I asked, if I could get breakfast earlier than 8 am, I didn't get a clear positive or negative answer but just a mumbled 'maybe'. So I was like: 'whaaaaaat??? I need to plan things so I need an answer now', so she goes (still very grumpy) 'oooooookaaaaaaay, you can come at 7.00'. But when I came at 7.00 it was not ready, so I had to ask again, and the recpetionist couldn't stop herself from expressing her clear resentment :P anyway, she opened the kitchen and let me have my breakfast. So on the whole, it's nice that I could have it earlier but the way she behaved was outrageous I think! I'd prefer her to say 'no, sorry, it's impossible, we serve it only from 8.00 am onwards' and spare me all her unhappy grunting, mumbling and grumpy face expression!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gina Dainty

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

03 December 2012 Gina would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING! Ive stayed at quite a few hostels in London and Astor is by far my favourite of them all. The atmosphere is really good fun and I met tons of really great people during my stay, Free breakfast was great too A big thank you to the staff: Liz, Ines, JJ, Alex,Borja, James, Chris, Bea, Becky and Nick who went above and beyond to accomodate for everything i needed, showed me a great time and gave me a lot of laughs :) If you stay in London and don't stay here, you are definitely missing out big time

Disliked: nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is awesome, great prizes, great stuff...

Disliked: It can be cleaner.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is ideal, and free towels are always a plus.

Disliked: There was only one power point in a room of 12 people--everyone has at least a phone and probably a laptop that needs to be charged every night, so there should really be more plugs available.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels