HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Museum Inn

Hostel | 27 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London, England WC1B 5BH

85.9% Overall Rating

527 out of 607 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

Anna Nørgaard Sørensen thinks…

"I really did like a lot: 1. No bed bugs - win! 2. Nobody being rude - plus the location is superb"

Read all Astor Museum Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please Note: We cater only to backpackers between 18 and 35 years of age. Please also be aware that the first night's accommodation will be charged to the credit card provided to complete the booking. If you wish to cancel the booking, please give us 24hrs’ notice to receive a refund for that first night’s charge. We regret that we do not take group bookings of more than 8 people through this website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
154.98 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Smart Russell Square
14.61 USD

Hostel 74.3% 1725 reviews
St Athans Hotel
38.95 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Generator London
37.33 USD

Hostel 89.0% 4143 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
6.09 USD

Hostel 88.3% 465 reviews
Fairway Hotel
60.86 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Elmwood Hotel
51.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 24 reviews
Clink261
36.51 USD

Hostel 79.3% 952 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

527 out of 607 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Museum Inn'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 365 of 456 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Dixon

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 February 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the breakfast provided; the best I've ever had out of the 25 hostels I've previously stayed at. The bed was amazing; I couldn't leave it once I arrived on the Saturday night. The shower facilities were perfect - if only I had a shower like that at home! Staff were really nice, especially the females working at reception and at the breakfast bar on the Sunday morning. They asked questions about me, were chatty and kind, and made me feel at home.

Disliked: I felt the staff who greeted me on the Saturday night could have talked more about the facilities available, as in where they were. All I knew was that my room was on the top floor. Also, their lack of conversation at the reception desk made me feel awkward while waiting for the room key,

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013

Liked: I liked the location, it was within walking distance of a lot of awesome stuff in London so that was nice. The showers were also good and the beds comfortable.

Disliked: The first problem I encountered here was the staff, I don't mind a laid back easy going staff as long as they retain a little professionalism, these people did not. I went to check in at 1:45 (check-in at 2) and was told to come back (fair enough). I came back at 2:20 and there was no-one at reception, I rang the bell and waited 5 minutes, rang it again, and ended up ringing it 6 times before a guy who looked pretty stoned stumbled out of a back room and walked past me before realizing I needed to check in. The hallways are so narrow I could hardly get up the stairs with a 70L pack. The rooms are a decent size if not a bit small but the lockers are pathetic and useless.They are like a small cage underneath the bed with spaces so bit between the locker and the bed you can just reach in so it's pretty false security. They have a luggage room which they say is secure which it would be, as it has a big padlock on it, but they leave the key 2 feet away hanging on the stairs.And for most of my stay the door to the room was wide open. Also don't go if you are offended by sexually explicit material, when I checked in there was a picture of a penis taped to the wall, not like a funny drawing, just a picture of some guys penis.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location! it's very central and within easy reach of subway station.

Disliked: It can get a bit loud and there are no lights over your beds, so if you come late at night, be ready to unpack in the dark or (if you're mean) wake up fellow backpackers. Also I think it's a bit weird that breakfast (which was nice btw!) is served only from 8.00 am, which is quite late, if someone has to catch a morning flight! Upon request, they allowed me to have it earlier but the way the recpetnist behaved was bizzarre....Firts of all her English was not terribly good and she was rather grumpy, so when I asked, if I could get breakfast earlier than 8 am, I didn't get a clear positive or negative answer but just a mumbled 'maybe'. So I was like: 'whaaaaaat??? I need to plan things so I need an answer now', so she goes (still very grumpy) 'oooooookaaaaaaay, you can come at 7.00'. But when I came at 7.00 it was not ready, so I had to ask again, and the recpetionist couldn't stop herself from expressing her clear resentment :P anyway, she opened the kitchen and let me have my breakfast. So on the whole, it's nice that I could have it earlier but the way she behaved was outrageous I think! I'd prefer her to say 'no, sorry, it's impossible, we serve it only from 8.00 am onwards' and spare me all her unhappy grunting, mumbling and grumpy face expression!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gina Dainty

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

03 December 2012 Gina would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING! Ive stayed at quite a few hostels in London and Astor is by far my favourite of them all. The atmosphere is really good fun and I met tons of really great people during my stay, Free breakfast was great too A big thank you to the staff: Liz, Ines, JJ, Alex,Borja, James, Chris, Bea, Becky and Nick who went above and beyond to accomodate for everything i needed, showed me a great time and gave me a lot of laughs :) If you stay in London and don't stay here, you are definitely missing out big time

Disliked: nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is awesome, great prizes, great stuff...

Disliked: It can be cleaner.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is ideal, and free towels are always a plus.

Disliked: There was only one power point in a room of 12 people--everyone has at least a phone and probably a laptop that needs to be charged every night, so there should really be more plugs available.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mihael Stefanac

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

07 November 2012 Mihael would recommend this property

Liked: the best hostel location in London, British Museum Building is the first neighbor ;) I was in 10beds room, it was big room, lot of space, extremely clean hostel, pretty silent, Russel Square underground station is 5min walking distance, same as the Oxford street! there is a kitchen and PC room where you can use it, first 40min of internet is for free, next 40min is £1. Clean linen is included, clean and NO bed bugs :D! Great location and big rooms, not expensive-stay here!

Disliked: it's not a place where you gonna meet some friends, most of ppl are in the groups, staying short...but the same situation like in most of other London hostels where I stayed!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Boram Lee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2012 Boram would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION the best ever! center of the center :D you can go everywhere on foot

Disliked: under construction around hostel. so it is a bit noisy :( but it would be finished soon i think. :)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Somewhat central location, freiindly staff

Disliked: It was somewhat disorganised and a bit dirty.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap but good value

Disliked: Didn't know had to produce passport and £10 deposit on arrival

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

laetitia tang

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 laetitia would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location and the cleanliness of the beds.

Disliked: There are not enought showers and toilets.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Shannon Knox

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: Central location. Bathrooms clean. Linens and towels clean. Staff friendly.

Disliked: Bedrooms were dirty. Although staff do vacuum, they don't do a thorough job. Faint odour of sour garbage in room. Lockers under the beds weren't all functioning properly, making it necessary to struggle in order to lock them. There were a lot of flies in my dorm. Website says wifi available, but it is at a cost. This should be made more clear, as other hostels I've stayed at have offered wifi included in the cost. Very important for me. I also originally booked a 4 person dorm and was bumped to an 8 person dorm. Although I paid less per person, I think I should have received a larger discount since I didn't actually get what I requested.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great. Close to lots of bars and pubs in Soho and Covent Garden.

Disliked: Showers are a bit claustrophobic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roger Shaw

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

30 July 2012 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it had two shower rooms and a seperate toilet on each of the floors. My room was close to the shower room and toilet. The rooms looked nice and there was everything you needed. On the ground floor you could use a washing machine, fridge freezer, kettle etc and there was even a luggage lock up room so you could lock your suitcases and things you dont need for the stay into the luggage room. I was pleased that they also had a safe for your small personal items. The property is close to the main shopping centres and Oxford Street. I found it easy to make my way to Hyde Park from here. And if you dont fancy walking anywhere then ride a bike. When i came out of the building there was a row of bicycles parked across the street. I could hire a bike for the day. Finally, after arriving from the noisy inner city late evening it would be rather quiet walking into the Street to the Hostel, in which i thought was a good thing, a bit of piece and quiet.

Disliked: Roger left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, the "all you can eat breakfast" is quite tasteful and saves you some money and so does the decently equipped kitchen. The staff is very friendly.

Disliked: If there was anything I disliked, the beds creaked quite loudly. Also, as a tall guy I prefer beds without framework which disables me to stretch completely. The staff is friendly, but could have more knowledge about the tourist information.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and a cool place to stay. Great atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2012

Liked: cool stuff, perfectly for a party night

Disliked: building was under construction, dirty, full of dust, even after complaining still dirty, sometimes stuff little bit incompetent

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the staff were very friendly.

Disliked: There was only one socket in the room. There was always hot water but I had to hold shower head in shower as it didn't stay upright on the wall.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gabriel Seah

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2012 Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Half the toilets were clogged

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Therese Schembri

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012 Therese would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent, hostel was super clean, showers were clean and hot. Already recommended it to others!!

Disliked: Therese left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Lacey

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2012 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Good and clean place to sleep. Can't complain

Disliked: One thing I would add is that they are slightly misleading when saying internet is free. They may have computers that have free internet (not sure) but wifi was a pound for 60 minutes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

My Sirenius

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 My would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place! The staff, the atmosphere, the guests were all great! I really recommend this hostel and I know were I'll be going next time I visit London.

Disliked: My left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Yutriz Pernia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2012 Yutriz would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, walking distance from the underground station, pubs, theaters and several touristic attractions. The staff is very friendly, young people with a very good vibe. The atmosphere of the hostel is good and fun. And they include breakfast which is always a plus :)

Disliked: I think the building is a bit old, the doors sound a lot and the bathrooms could be better. But for me location, atmosphere and staff is more important, so I would stay here again :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ADRIANA BAUSELLS

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

02 January 2012 ADRIANA would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, within walking distance of many attractions and well connected by tube. It was much cleaner than other places I've stayed at and the beds were quite comfortable... I shared a room with other 7 people and there was still space to move around, so it's not like sleeping in a matchbox! I guess smaller rooms might be even better. Overall I think it is a really great place to stay, especially if you only have a couple of days to see the city.

Disliked: There's only one shower per floor, so it can get a little busy in the mornings... And a bigger sign at the front door would help find the place, especially when you're looking for it in the London rain :)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2011

Liked: very close to the British Museum

Disliked: no individual light in room, very few sockets, clog up the shower room, not so good breakfast


See all London hostels
See all London hotels