We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Astor Museum Inn

Hostel | 27 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London, England WC1B 5BH

87.2% Overall Rating

534 out of 614 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/02/2015)

"Cheap and neat to Euston. Also disability friendly, first hostel I have had that was willing to reserve a lower bunk due to my arthritis"

Read all Astor Museum Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.09

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

• Free cancelation up to 24 hours before day of arrival • Check-in - Anytime after 2pm. Check-out – Anytime before 10am • Payment accepted in Cash or Debit/Credit Card • 24-hour reception, anything you need come and ask at Reception! • VALID government issued ID required to stay with us, and ALL guests must be between 18-35 YEARS Please Note: if you do not give notice to cancel, the first night will be charged to the credit card used to make the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
147.33 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Smart Russell Square
13.88 USD

Hostel 73.8% 1735 reviews
St Athans Hotel
41.35 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Generator London
26.23 USD

Hostel 89.8% 4162 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
24.68 USD

Hostel 86.5% 472 reviews
Fairway Hotel
46.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.6% 3 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
43.71 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.1% 27 reviews
Clink261
20.06 USD

Hostel 84.1% 959 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

534 out of 614 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astor Museum Inn'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 369 of 463 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, just across the street is the British Museum and a lot of other things are in the vicinity (including few tube stops). Also the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There is no elevator and the kitchen is a little bit small.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Haejin Kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2013 Haejin would recommend this property

Liked: location - close from hot spots like British museum (less than 5 min), soho, picadelly circus, covent garden. Many supermarkets near by. Nice atmosphere, like partying in the kitchen

Disliked: Rooms and kitchen are separated. It's not in the same building. Toilett and shower room are not quite good compare to other hostels, but considering that it's in London, it's okay....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Lardner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2013 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, easy walk to Leicester Square, Covent Garden, Oxford St and really helpful staff if you have any questions.

Disliked: We had a room on the 4th floor and in a week of high temperatures it was a hot box why made sleeping difficult. A fan was provided which helped somewhat. When the temperature cooled however it was fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kendra Walker

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 August 2013 Kendra would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere! Great staff! I felt very comfortable there. You can hang out and watch movies in the living room area or chill in the basement kitchen with some beers and other hostelers. They provide breakfast in the morning. Overall a great place! The bedspreads are all kept clean.

Disliked: The bathrooms could be a little cleaner, but they def were probably about as good as it gets for sharing with other stayers. I wish there were more full length mirrors.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gabriele Giacomi

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 Gabriele would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the center, sight on british museum! Also the transports are very easy and soon te get (nearly 5 minutes walking for the nearest tube station). The street where is located is very calm and safe even if it is in centre of the city. Umbelievable.

Disliked: The room are not big enough to keep that beds..but it's london so u have to adapt yourself if u want to save money. Also we booked for 2 beds and we hoped that they gave us a bunk-bed; but when we arrived in the room there was another girl who had occupied one our bed. We complained with the staff but it takes 2 days for going the girl away.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christina Pold

Alone

City break

19 August 2013 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: very central and cheap

Disliked: a bit small and old with stairs all the way up to 4th floor...but I guess that just creates the cosy atmosphere, so no worries :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ainslie Gerritsen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2013 Ainslie would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel was fantastic. It was great for what I needed...a cheap place to stay with breakfast included!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ryan Chang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Good solid group of travelers and staff. Easy to meet people in the kitchen. Staff is a mix from different parts of the world. Wifi is great. Reaches all floors.

Disliked: Toilets are small. Go upstairs for more spacious showers and toilets.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Meagher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: There was constantly loud music that could be heard from the main areas of the hostel. It was generated by a crowd that did nothing but smoke and sit near the kitchen. Granted, it could not be heard from the rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice kitchen.

Disliked: Yet small.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013

Liked: good location

Disliked: long stairs,, not so clean so noisy in the night so cant sleep well

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Veronica Augusto

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: The people in the reception were very kind, from the very beginning were very good at giving explanations and helping me with everything I needed. The location is excellent. It is a very nice place to stay

Disliked: It was a bit hot in the rooms at night, we had a fan though. I guess London is not hot, but I stayed the four hottest days of all!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, private rooms were quiet

Disliked: Wi-Fi unreliable - cut out for an entire day

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kee Ann Chng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013

Liked: The kitchen was newly renovated and pretty spacious. Free breakfast was served every morning. There is also a TV room which features alot of movies from which u can choose from.

Disliked: Since the staff r all youngsters and party-goers, the kitchen was always booming LOUDLY with music. I happen to stay in room 1 which is the only room at the basement near the kitchen. So u can hear the music all the way till 12am. After which the people will start chatting at the corridors, running ard, laughing after all the alcohols. So it was pretty much hard to sleep until 2am. Get urself a pair of ear plugs.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was really good and i liked breakfast

Disliked: My second story bed was little noisy when I moved or the other moved.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kaiwen Sun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013 Kaiwen would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how the staff organizes pub crawls from time to time, and how it is easy to meet other travellers in the common space.

Disliked: It's in a building that's a little older, but nothing with too much problems.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 July 2013

Liked: Easy to access

Disliked: A bit shabby

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and good location

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Abigai Brizelda Gordo Cuevas

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Abigai Brizelda would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen, you have everything to cook and you can save money with this.

Disliked: The first night were a lot of drunk people. The staff share the nights with the guests and it sn't bad but there's a point do you can hear all the screams.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy bed, clean linen, clean toilets. Reminded me of my boarding school days. We stayed in a twin room in the annex (separate building) which was spacious, had a large window, sink, shelves, lamp and tea & coffee making facilities. Check in was quick and easy, and the girl on reception was friendly.

Disliked: Walls are paper thin so you can hear everything. Shower could do with a bit of a revamp...one of the shower rooms only had a very dim purple light to light up the room which I thought was a bit odd. Breakfast was sufficient but slightly crowded and hectic!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Staff and Perfect Location.

Disliked: Cleanliness wasn't always present.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

cici xu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 cici would recommend this property

Liked: very good

Disliked: cici left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Complimentary coffee, tea & toast.

Disliked: Staff was not approachable. I felt that it was inconsistent between them, it could have been better.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything very good without being exceptional

Disliked: No bar, location good but not great

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good atmosphere and location

Disliked: Stayed in room 1 - same level as kitchen which has no curfew and can hear people going in and out of front door above


See all London hostels
See all London hotels