HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Clink261 London Hostel

261-265 Grays Inn Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 84%

Location 94%

Safety 86%

Staff 84%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free city tour
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.60USD

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card required upon check-in.
Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm. A luggage room is available for them to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am.
Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl dorm is booked.
Guests that wish to bring their children under 16 years of age must book whole dorms or private rooms.
Bookings cannot be accepted from any underage person unless they are accompanied by an adult over 18. They will be refused check-in.
When booking dorm beds in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that you will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if you don't want your clients to be split.
If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email at reservations78@clinkhostels.com 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014 ). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges.
Groups (+15 people)
You will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit of the 1st night a week after booking is made. The balance will be required 3 weeks before arrival.
One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules.
If your group is arriving by coach, make sure to contact us for information on where to stop and park.
If you do not inform us by email on when booking we cannot guarantee for your group to be in the same rooms and depending on availability your booking might be cancelled.

All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 84%

Location 94%

Safety 86%

Staff 84%

Value 85%

Showing 1-10 of 59 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: +location, breakfast,

Disliked: and odd ball place, full of longer stayers or first nighters.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Great location and staff, breakfast option and door security. Good amount of showers and lockers available.

Disliked: Not enough sinks and the one in the bedroom was weird. Not enough lockable storage space in rooms for each person.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Generally a good hostel in London, good location, though it does lack character

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Location is really good

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nice hostel, nice kitchen and free breakfast.

Disliked: Showers could do with a revamp but not too bad.no real sitting room/lounge.not ebough lockers in dorms but I nitpick.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a feedback. We are glad that you liked our kitchen and free breakfast services. We do have a small lounge area downstairs next by the kitchen. If it is not enough room, you welcome to use our sister hostel's Clink 78 facilities as well (they do have bar as well). Also if there are not enough lockers in the room just remember that we do have spare ones in the reception area as well. Hope see you very soon. Kind Regards, Asta

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to King's Cross, clean and comfortable, friendly staff and fellow travellers, free wifi, free breakfast!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear customer, Thank you so much for leaving us such a positive feedback. We are doing all our best to make your stay as convenient as possible. We hope to see you very soon. Kind Regards, Asta

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I stayed here for 9 nights to enjoy the whole of the EFG Jazz Festival. It was a nice stay, the hostel comfortable and clean. And this was my 2nd stay, free continental breakfast and location are my top 2 reasons for coming back. It's on the bus route to Victoria and also the Oxford St and easy to get around. I'll be back!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are really glad that you choose to stay with us. Thank you for your nice words. We are hoping to see you back very soon. Or maybe we will be able to see you at EFG jazz festival as well. Hope you enjoyed it as much as I did it this year. Kind Regards, Asta

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Very small room

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a comment. We are glad that you liked our free breakfast services. I am sorry to hear that you found our rooms too small. We are small hostel but doing our best to provide the best services for our guests. Kind Regards, Asta

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Pretty solid generally, decent price for London and Kings Cross is one of the best stations connections-wise. Not the most exciting area to live but also pretty safe so can't complain. Breakfast was great, particularly impressed with fresh orange juice given the watery concentrate stuff that usually gets dished out at hostels. Nice one!

Disliked: The 18 bed dorm has a huge skylight which is nice, but it lets in way too much light early in the morning and also there are some street lamps above it which mean that the room is always pretty bright. Wouldn't take much to dampen it a bit with some frosting or sheets. Guy's toilet is pretty cramped, it's either brush your teeth next to a urinal or wake everyone up in the dorm with a sink awkwardly in the middle of the room.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for appreciating the breakfast, staff and location.
Remember that reception works 24 hours just for you, we will do our best to help you out with any enquiry.
I hope you have a nice day!
Kind regards,
Federica

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Staff really friendly and helpful.Very clean throughout.Had few sockets per bed so had lots of sockets to charge everything up! plus reading light :)

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your amazing review, you made my day :)
I am happy to read that you had a great stay with us and I hope to see you in Clink back soon.
Enjoy your future travels.
Kind regards,
Federica

Check Availability