We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Clink261

Hostel | 261-265 Gray's Inn Road, King's Cross, London, England WC1X 8QT

83.4% Overall Rating

803 out of 967 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/05/2015)

"Friendly staff...especially that spanish girl Good location near KingsCross, with a lot of cheaper restaurants around. Breakfast was good"

Read all Clink261 reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note we do NOT accept group bookings - Please do not book for more than 8 people ? Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card required upon check-in. ? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm. A luggage room is available for them to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl dorm is booked. ? Guests that wish to bring their children under 16 years of age must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any underage person unless they are accompanied by an adult over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking dorm beds in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that you will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if you don't want your clients to be split. ?If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email at reservations78@clinkhostels.com 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014 ). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges. Groups (+15 people) ? You will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit of the 1st night a week after booking is made. The balance will be required 3 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If your group is arriving by coach, make sure to contact us for information on where to stop and park. ? If you do not inform us by email on when booking we cannot guarantee for your group to be in the same rooms and depending on availability your booking might be cancelled. All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Elmwood Hotel
41.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 28 reviews
Keystone Hostel
24.77 USD

Hostel 76.5% 57 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
20.11 USD

Hostel 77.0% 666 reviews
Fairway Hotel
48.76 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.1% 4 reviews
Dinwiddy House
73.00 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Clink78
21.67 USD

Hostel 87.0% 4094 reviews
Generator London
26.32 USD

Hostel 91.8% 4186 reviews
Smart Russell Square
13.93 USD

Hostel 78.1% 1752 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.4%

Overall Rating

803 out of 967 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Clink261'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 667 of 758 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 26 | 27   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff...especially that spanish girl Good location near KingsCross, with a lot of cheaper restaurants around. Breakfast was good

Disliked: Showers were not really clean Can be loud during the night as it is located in a busy area. No real lockers, instead a big cage under the bed with a lock. Not really suited to use since the rooms are small and very inconvinient. I slept with my stuff on the bed next to me.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christopher Santus-Woodall

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 May 2015 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location close to transport links, staff very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast included for the price.

Disliked: Noise from road outside - however little can done about that

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Casey Sobool

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2015

Liked: It had a very spacious kitchen/hang out area/

Disliked: The rooms felt like military dorms. The beds were side to side and had dividers to separate them. I had just arrived from Canada and was feeling homesick and no one was talking so I had a pretty bad time there.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Clare Jorgensen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2015 Clare would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the sense of community with the close proximity to other guests. I liked the basement with the food and sitting areas. I also liked that a bar was offered to meet other people.

Disliked: The sizes of the rooms were very small, and it was not shown very well on the website. Also the WiFi did not function very well in the rooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michaelena Edwards

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2015 Michaelena would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent price for a great location (about two minutes' walk from King's Cross Station). Great kitchen facilities. All beds have built-in charging outlets and lights. The hostel has a funky, young vibe. Also, the duvets were nice and thick.

Disliked: The pillows were super-thin. Other than that, no real issues.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -Hyvä sijainti. Matkustaminen Oyster kortilla (matkakortti) edullisempaa keskustassa, koska zonejen ylitys maksaa enemmän, jos tulee kauempaa. -Netti toimii yllättävän hyvin puhelimella. -Hostellilta lähtee klo 10 opastettu kävelykierros, joka oli hyvä. -Location was good. -Wifi connection works. -Walking tour was good.

Disliked: -6 hengen huone oli pieni. Oikea koko olisi neljälle hengelle. -Lukollisia kaappeja ei ollut kaikille. Kaapit oli sängyn alla. -6 person room was small. Right size should be 4.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

01 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good beds and breakfast, friendly staff and nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Quite noisy of a night time

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sabine Bellstedt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2015 Sabine would recommend this property

Liked: Communal areas were all very spacious, kitchen facilities were fantastic. The beds were comfortable and private (even though the top bunks were a bit of a challenge to get into!)

Disliked: The dorm that I was in (room 2) didn't have any powerpoints, so charging devices was a real issue. However, this is apparently not the case for all the rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved everything! staff is welcoming and knowledgeable, free breakfast is def a plus. toilets and shower always clean. Cool backpackers atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Ciara Hennessy

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 December 2014

Liked: My suitcase was stolen from locked storage by a targeted thief who was watching me and proceeded to steal my suitcase two minutes after I had left. Clink 261 have no security or safety equipment in place and let a man who was not staying in the hostel have the key and therefore access to the locked storage room. My laptop and passport among other valuables was stolen.

Disliked: The horrific safety levels there is no security and it is targeted by thieves.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location near King's Cross. Good price for facilities available

Disliked: Noisy with window open in warm weather so remember earplugs

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the people. The employees were overall very helpful and nice, and the other people staying in the hostel were friendly and it was easy to meet people. The hostel was kept clean and orderly, which I appreciated. The kitchen facilities were more than expected, and the location was fantastic since it was so close to King's Cross. Also appreciated the showers, which always had hot water.

Disliked: The washer and dryer did not work, so don't waste your money by trying to do laundry on site. It doesn't wash or dry. I also disliked th fact that in my room of 16 people, there were only 5 outlets on the wall. Everyone had to vie for the outlet space because it was such a precious commodity. Also, the kitchen, although ample looking, did not have a lot of cupboard space for food items, and some of the burners on the over did not work.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the beds, the bathroom, free breakfast, free wifi, how the hostel looked, the 24 hour reception and the location.

Disliked: It would have been good if there have been somewhere to lock in your things in the 18 bed dorm room and the room also where quite cold.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melissa Bain

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, only 5 mins from kings cross at pancras for all trains/tube links, nearby tesco and fast food. Rooms were clean and not too small, with lockers underneath (bring own lock) and with own socket/reading light. Free breakfast was good, standard tea/coffee with cereal/toast, and bathrooms were clean. Friendly helpful staff.

Disliked: Wifi is only is the shared area which can mean it gets a little crowded.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Spears

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2014 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the staff, chilled out atmosphere and the fellow travellers.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff, good breakfast, good location.

Disliked: Not enough lockers for everyone in the room

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rebecca Herzog

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: we had everything we need and the breakfast was not that much but enough and it was included. If we had a question the service helped us. And at the last day we left our luggage in the luggage room that was really good

Disliked: the bathrooms are to small. there is only one basin in every bathroom and no frame or no hook to leave the own things like a towel the clothes or something else. We had to lay our things at the floor

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a nice quiet and relaxed atmosphere. The breakfast was nothing special but seems to be standard for most hostels. The staff were helpful and friendly. Also, the location was extremely central for transport and getting around the city! I would definitely stay here if I came to London again!

Disliked: The hostel is on a very busy road and seems to be near an ambulance depot which means that sirens and traffic were very loud during the night. The room also got quite hot but since the traffic was so loud you couldn't open the windows at night.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sona Urbanovska

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 June 2014 Sona would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location of the hostel, its very close to the tube, bus stop etc.

Disliked: I am a tall girl and I found the beds too short

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

sheree ho

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 sheree would recommend this property

Liked: The location and decor.

Disliked: A bit dusty as I kept on sneezing while being in the hostel.. The wifi isn't stable in the rooms

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Own key cards, fully equipped kitchen

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

katelyn mahoney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2014 katelyn would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious and comfortable.

Disliked: Allowing late might check ins of school children at 1045pm on one night despite enforcing 'noise restrictions after 10pm' the primary school children also invaded the showers during peak times.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2014

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Everything

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels