HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Clink261 London

Hostel

261-265 Grays Inn Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 82%

Location 91%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 3.11USD

Important Information

Please note we do NOT accept group bookings - Please do not book for more than 8 people
? Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card required upon check-in.
? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm. A luggage room is available for them to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am.
? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl dorm is booked.
? Guests that wish to bring their children under 16 years of age must book whole dorms or private rooms.
? Bookings cannot be accepted from any underage person unless they are accompanied by an adult over 18. They will be refused check-in.
? When booking dorm beds in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that you will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if you don't want your clients to be split.
?If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email at reservations78@clinkhostels.com 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014 ). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges.
Groups (+15 people)
? You will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit of the 1st night a week after booking is made. The balance will be required 3 weeks before arrival.
? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules.
? If your group is arriving by coach, make sure to contact us for information on where to stop and park.
? If you do not inform us by email on when booking we cannot guarantee for your group to be in the same rooms and depending on availability your booking might be cancelled.

All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 82%

Location 91%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 86%

Showing 71-75 of 75 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff, location

Disliked: Unsafe

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks a lot for appreciating the location, cleanliness, staff and atmosphere. Please note we have CCTV on all floors, free valuables-size lockers in the Reception area, two entrance doors, and a keycards system where only guests can walk beyond Reception. Safe Travels and see you soon!

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, price, staff

Disliked: Feels unsafe and crowded

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the nice comments and perfect Location and Staff ratings! Please note a highly safe environment is one of our priorities, all floors have CCTV, Reception is 24 hours, and the doors can only be opened with individual keycards. Safe Travels and see you soon!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were great and the breakfast as well.

Disliked: More rules should be in place for other people respecting the need for sleep. I was in an 18 room dorm and people would be turning on the light all night long.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your nice review! We are happy that you liked the staff and the breakfast. Eye mask and ear plugs are the great solution for 18 bedded dorm, because we can't really control the light in the room, specially when somebody is checking in late :)

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: I loved the fact that the staff treat you like their friends and you never feel a stranger. People here are very helpfull and friendly.

Disliked: Constant Internet problems.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your nice words! We are always happy to help :) Sorry for the internet problems, they are all solved now and hopefully it won't happen again. See you soon!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: there was both green and white tea for breakfastthe shower cabins are great

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for the great ratings! Safe Travels!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: It's cosy and it is really easy to make new friends. The staff is simply awesome and really helpful. Everything is within easy reach: 5 tube lines, train station, pubs, and city centre, Tesco and Sainsbury's. This hostel is the perfect place to stay at if you arrive in London alone and don't know the city very much. It soon makes you feel home. The kitchen is perfect and very well equipped and the tv/common room is perfect to chill out especially on a rain day. I would recommend the 18 bed dorm because these are large and there is more space.

Disliked: I would love more pins in the showers.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the beautiful comments, we will look into the pins idea. Safe Travels and we hope to see you soon!

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Ok beds

Disliked: Lacks atmosphere without a bar.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks a lot for the nice ratings! Please note we are surrounded by amazing London bars; right opposite Clink261 there's the Water Rats Theatre Bar where Bob Dylan played on his first UK tour, Clink78 has the Clashbar five minutes away from us, the Lucas'Arms with great cheap pub food to the right, Big Chill Out, Scala,etc. Safe Travels

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: kitchen fabulous clean big a lot of utensil, living area cosy and atmosphere good, not too busy. there is space. its not like hoards of people crowded in reception area. it is a nice boutique hostel. breakfast good too. rooms are quite not a lot of noise. sink in room.

Disliked: rooms smell. i had to open the window. beds comfirtable but basic and if you are over 6 foot the bed will be too small to stretch in. no lockers in room. man in other bed complained his cigarettes were stolen. i slept well though. too expensive.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks a lot for appreciating the facilities and concept. Clink261 is in the process of changing all its mattresses for more comfortable ones! Safe Travels!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: kitchen and location

Disliked: noisy and showers were not clean

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the nice Atmosphere, Location, Cleanliness and Value ratings! All windows have recently been replaced to minimize street noise, if there's anybody being inconvenient in your dorm you're more than welcome to let Reception know and we'll deal with it. Regarding the showers, we just hired and extra housekeeper, so the next time you come for sure you'll have a better impression. Safe Travels!

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: good location to kings cross station

Disliked: 4 bed dorm was absolutely tiny. Couldnt even turn around with a backpack on. No where to put your things.


The property's response is

Hiya, thanks a lot for appreciating the location! Please note we also have a luggage room available 24/7 where you can store your bags, and free valuables-size lockers in the Reception Area. Safe Travels!

Check Availability