HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Clink261 London Hostel

261-265 Grays Inn Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 85%

Location 94%

Safety 87%

Staff 85%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.81USD

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card required upon check-in.
Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm. A luggage room is available for them to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am.
Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl dorm is booked.
Guests that wish to bring their children under 16 years of age must book whole dorms or private rooms.
Bookings cannot be accepted from any underage person unless they are accompanied by an adult over 18. They will be refused check-in.
When booking dorm beds in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that you will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if you don't want your clients to be split.
If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email at reservations78@clinkhostels.com 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014 ). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges.
Groups (+15 people)
You will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit of the 1st night a week after booking is made. The balance will be required 3 weeks before arrival.
One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules.
If your group is arriving by coach, make sure to contact us for information on where to stop and park.
If you do not inform us by email on when booking we cannot guarantee for your group to be in the same rooms and depending on availability your booking might be cancelled.

All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 85%

Location 94%

Safety 87%

Staff 85%

Value 85%

Showing 71-66 of 66 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was very good. A very nice stay for the price.

Disliked: Mattresses a little old.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks a lot for the nice ratings and appreciating the value. We are in the process of changing all of our mattresses, next time you come they will be much more comfortable. All the best and Safe Travels!

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: cheap and close to the main rail station

Disliked: lack of socket (only 2 available for 10 person-dome unfortunately one in my room was broken)very noisy all night both in the room and outsidetoilet and bathroom were so dirty


The property's response is

Thanks for appreciating the rates and location! Please note there are more sockets in the common areas (Reception Lobby, Kitchen, Dining Area, TV Room and Computer room), and that you're always welcome to leave whichever device you would like to charge behind the Reception desk 24/7. Safe Travels and we hope to see you soon!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is perfect, close to underground, buses, shops.. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfy. The staff is great!:)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for the great comments and ratings! Hope to see you soon, safe travels!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff, location

Disliked: Unsafe

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks a lot for appreciating the location, cleanliness, staff and atmosphere. Please note we have CCTV on all floors, free valuables-size lockers in the Reception area, two entrance doors, and a keycards system where only guests can walk beyond Reception. Safe Travels and see you soon!

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, price, staff

Disliked: Feels unsafe and crowded

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the nice comments and perfect Location and Staff ratings! Please note a highly safe environment is one of our priorities, all floors have CCTV, Reception is 24 hours, and the doors can only be opened with individual keycards. Safe Travels and see you soon!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were great and the breakfast as well.

Disliked: More rules should be in place for other people respecting the need for sleep. I was in an 18 room dorm and people would be turning on the light all night long.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your nice review! We are happy that you liked the staff and the breakfast. Eye mask and ear plugs are the great solution for 18 bedded dorm, because we can't really control the light in the room, specially when somebody is checking in late :)

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: I loved the fact that the staff treat you like their friends and you never feel a stranger. People here are very helpfull and friendly.

Disliked: Constant Internet problems.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your nice words! We are always happy to help :) Sorry for the internet problems, they are all solved now and hopefully it won't happen again. See you soon!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: there was both green and white tea for breakfastthe shower cabins are great

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for the great ratings! Safe Travels!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: It's cosy and it is really easy to make new friends. The staff is simply awesome and really helpful. Everything is within easy reach: 5 tube lines, train station, pubs, and city centre, Tesco and Sainsbury's. This hostel is the perfect place to stay at if you arrive in London alone and don't know the city very much. It soon makes you feel home. The kitchen is perfect and very well equipped and the tv/common room is perfect to chill out especially on a rain day. I would recommend the 18 bed dorm because these are large and there is more space.

Disliked: I would love more pins in the showers.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the beautiful comments, we will look into the pins idea. Safe Travels and we hope to see you soon!

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Ok beds

Disliked: Lacks atmosphere without a bar.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks a lot for the nice ratings! Please note we are surrounded by amazing London bars; right opposite Clink261 there's the Water Rats Theatre Bar where Bob Dylan played on his first UK tour, Clink78 has the Clashbar five minutes away from us, the Lucas'Arms with great cheap pub food to the right, Big Chill Out, Scala,etc. Safe Travels

Check Availability