HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Clink261

Hostel | 261-265 Gray's Inn Road, King's Cross, London, England WC1X 8QT

79.9% Overall Rating

783 out of 945 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/07/2014)

"Had a nice quiet and relaxed atmosphere. The breakfast was nothing special but seems to be standard for most hostels. The staff were helpful and friendly. Also, the location was extremely central for transport and…"

Read all Clink261 reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

? Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card required upon check-in. ? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm. A luggage room is available for them to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl dorm is booked. ? Guests that wish to bring their children under 16 years of age must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any underage person unless they are accompanied by an adult over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking dorm beds in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that you will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if you don't want your clients to be split. ?If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email at reservations78@clinkhostels.com 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014 ). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges. Groups (+15 people) ? You will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit of the 1st night a week after booking is made. The balance will be required 3 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If your group is arriving by coach, make sure to contact us for information on where to stop and park. ? If you do not inform us by email on when booking we cannot guarantee for your group to be in the same rooms and depending on availability your booking might be cancelled. All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Elmwood Hotel
62.81 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.2% 22 reviews
Keystone Hostel
49.67 USD

Hostel 84.2% 31 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
35.95 USD

Hostel 75.4% 624 reviews
Kings Cross Apartment
88.90 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
56.53 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Dinwiddy House
80.78 USD

Hostel 71.4% 4 reviews
Clink78
28.26 USD

Hostel 86.9% 3946 reviews
Generator London
58.24 USD

Hostel 86.1% 4123 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 11/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 11/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.9%

Overall Rating

783 out of 945 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Clink261'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 649 of 736 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

david bruce

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

19 January 2012 david would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful throughout my stay, all of them spoke really good English and were more than happy to help at every stage. toThe room was of adequate size (16 bed dorm) The breakfast was good and not expected for the price I paid, so for this I was thankful. The hostel was only a 5 minute walk from Kings Cross and St. Pancras Station; It was on a major bus route also. Within the vacinity/area were numerous newsagents, stores, food outlets (subway only 2 minutes, Mcdonalds 5 and a fish and chip shop 3 minutes)

Disliked: Little fresh air in the large dorm/room, apart from this the hostel was great for the price I paid, infact it was great in general.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Candice Boucher

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

13 January 2012 Candice would recommend this property

Liked: staff were friendly and helpful with directions and transport arrangments

Disliked: the breakfast was a let down, we didnt even eat there.i saw the other clink for the same or cheaper had a better offering for breakfast.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nien Chi Hsu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012 Nien Chi would recommend this property

Liked: The staff there was very friendly. The room is not big but cozy for us. The location is great! It's near the river, metro station and supermarkets.

Disliked: Nien Chi left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sonja Langkun

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 January 2012 Sonja would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was really nice. Clean en nice beds. Staff is friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is good! Liked it a lot :)

Disliked: Just a little small thing: a light above the mirror in the room would be great! Also a mirror in the bathroom would be nice, but i know that you are doing some renovation work at the moment.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice facilities, good location.

Disliked: You gotta pay for wifi...

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012

Liked: nothing really expect free breakfast.

Disliked: the beds are awful also the sheets. rooms are WAY too tiny for 8 ppl. showers are small &unclean( they never probably clean those) toilets don't flush and no mirror in the toilet?? and ur room's mirror is also like 20cmx20cm small and the light is so bad u can't see anything AND no mirror is shower either.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 December 2011

Liked: Close to the tube

Disliked: Breakfast didn't start til later than advertised, the rooms are tiny and the showers are few and don't have adequate changing room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ivy Chan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2011 Ivy would recommend this property

Liked: Tidy, clean, good atmosphere Breakfast is well-prepared.

Disliked: I dunno it would close on 23/12 and I can't store my luggage on that day which really disappoints me because I book this hostel only because it's closed to King Cross (the station I am leaving on that day). I was quite unhappy about that. Also internet and wifi are not free.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and good value for money if you're looking for a place to crash after a night out. Clean (except the kitchen which was a mess but then it was 1am on a Sat), good breakfast and nice tv area. Free luggage room and staff were friendly

Disliked: Checkout was 10am which is quite early if you've had a late one! 10 bed dorm was small and stuffy - beds were crowded in and there were no lockers and nowhere to put anything. Everyone was putting their clothes on the lino floor or had them on their bed with them! I'm glad I didn't have anything valuable with me as I would have been nervous about leaving it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is really friendly and helpful! the location next to st pancras is really handy. the rooms towards the street are noisy at nightime. the windows are really poor to keep it quiet. but all in all it's good value for the money you pay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location.

Disliked: No free wifi access.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

konstantinos chalnaridis

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 December 2011 konstantinos would recommend this property

Liked: a very good chostel. very close to the underground, bus stops, shops. the atmosphere very good. nice passes your time, watching films, surfing the net, meet people from other countries, you become friends. is the best place to explore London. the rooms small but clean, the toilets do not smell and the bathrooms are clean.very good breakfast. the rooms are cozy and warm water. is the perfect choice for a cheap room in the center.

Disliked: The adapters should have are given free. all else was perfect

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2011

Liked: every day the staff clean the rooms . and friendly

Disliked: my roomates were so noisy.... they were talking again and again when i was sleeping. And wifi is not free..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dorothy Hunter

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 October 2011 Dorothy would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, nice vibrant atmosphere

Disliked: no privacy curtains on bed

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

03 October 2011

Liked: The staff, including the cleaners, all spoke several languages and were friendly. The Kitchen facilities and downstairs hangout, the feel with the wall paper, furniture, modern computers, the couchs, the taps and mirrors in each room..

Disliked: Non-free wifi. The bathrooms-the smell, the holes in the walls, the showers excessive heating, the pushtaps, the mould on the roof, the bad lighting etc. The ladders to the topbunk were fun, but harder to use than a regular ladder and a little unbalancing if your left-side orientated.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Szabolcs Fekete

Alone

Events / festivals

03 October 2011 Szabolcs would recommend this property

Liked: I'd like to say special thanks to Alessio - receptionist who printed out our Fabric tickets. I'd like to have him promoted in any possible ways. Thanks- Szabi

Disliked: no free wifi and not enough safety place for our valuable things. Of corse the staff took care of my belongings

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harry Wilding

Alone

Events / festivals

05 September 2011 Harry would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere, kept bags after checked out for free, comfortable beds

Disliked: Not enough lockers, beds not very private (no curtains)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Adelman

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

03 August 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: it was great, easy, and efficient

Disliked: no in room storage for your things.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Security

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were good with the privacy screens and our lockers on top on the beds. The bar was good and it is close to the train station. The staff were nice and friendly and fit us in last minute.

Disliked: There were kids and families staying there which was kind of weird

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

albie higgins

Alone

City break

19 July 2011 albie would recommend this property

Liked: it was quite compact so everyone talks to each other much more than in the big hostels

Disliked: you cant control the temperature of the showers so its typically very hot..

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: City center. Close to major attraction & transport.

Disliked: The shower is scaling hot & no knob to adjust it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location of hostel, friendliness of staff and also they were really helpful

Disliked: the bathrooms need renovation

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Joe Hall

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Visiting friends or family

03 July 2011 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - only 5 minutes walk from Kings Cross station. Free luggage storage during the day was also really useful.

Disliked: Bathrooms are a little worn.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011

Liked: The Staff was extremely nice and helpful, those girls deserve a medal for their work. We also met some nice people in the hostel.

Disliked: The fact that we shared a room with a really stinky guy. The bathrooms weren't that clean either, the showers were extremely hot and the breakfast was petty.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels