HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Clink261 London Hostel

261-265 Grays Inn Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 83%

Location 91%

Safety 88%

Staff 85%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 3.11USD

Important Information

Please note we do NOT accept group bookings - Please do not book for more than 8 people
? Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card required upon check-in.
? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm. A luggage room is available for them to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am.
? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl dorm is booked.
? Guests that wish to bring their children under 16 years of age must book whole dorms or private rooms.
? Bookings cannot be accepted from any underage person unless they are accompanied by an adult over 18. They will be refused check-in.
? When booking dorm beds in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that you will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if you don't want your clients to be split.
?If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email at reservations78@clinkhostels.com 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014 ). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges.
Groups (+15 people)
? You will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit of the 1st night a week after booking is made. The balance will be required 3 weeks before arrival.
? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules.
? If your group is arriving by coach, make sure to contact us for information on where to stop and park.
? If you do not inform us by email on when booking we cannot guarantee for your group to be in the same rooms and depending on availability your booking might be cancelled.

All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 83%

Location 91%

Safety 88%

Staff 85%

Value 85%

Showing 61-67 of 67 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: it had a bed for me to use

Disliked: there was no bar

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hiya Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave a review, as well as the high atmosphere, location, staff, cleanliness, and value ratings. Please note the Clashbar is less than 5 min away, across the street from Clink 261 there's the legendary Water Rats where Bob Dylan's first gig in the UK took place, to the right there's the Lucas' Arms with great cheap food, The Firebox and the Harrison with amazing live music for free, and many others. Safe Trips & see you soon!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Clean. Friendly staff.

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks a lot for great ratings! Safe Travels!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: breakfast, position (close to bus & train connections), cleanliness, friendliness, value for money

Disliked: more hooks, places to put things in the showers....a problem in most hostels....but were always hot with good pressure

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a great review. You're right about hooks, we will look into that. Safe Travels!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: When opening or closing the room door, it makes loud noise.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there! Thank you so much for the great ratings! We will look into getting better automatic closers. Safe Travels and see you soon!

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Small beds

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks a lot for appreciating the location! We are in the process of changing all mattresses for cozier ones, so when you come back they will be just perfect. Safe Travels!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location with amazing staff.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi There! Thanks so much for the perfect ratings! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Safe Travels!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cleanliness and friendly staff

Disliked: As July month was very warm, we need to leave the windows open. As a result, in the morning say from 5AM, we feel that we are sleeping on the pavement. I mean, it will be very noisy as the hostel is located in a busy area. It was quite annoying for me in the mornings.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks a lot for the great ratings! Please note in Central London you should expect some external noise, in the cold months(most of the year) with windows closed you won't hear a thing, a few weeks a year when the temperature is too high one can get earplugs. Reception sells them for £1 only. Safe Travels!

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location, Friendly staff

Disliked: the plugs in my rooms were not working

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for appreciating the Staff and Location! The sockets have a safety button where it can be turned on and off. There are also extra sockets in the common areas and you're always welcome to charge your devices behind the Reception desk. Safe Travels and see you soon!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was very good. A very nice stay for the price.

Disliked: Mattresses a little old.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks a lot for the nice ratings and appreciating the value. We are in the process of changing all of our mattresses, next time you come they will be much more comfortable. All the best and Safe Travels!

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: cheap and close to the main rail station

Disliked: lack of socket (only 2 available for 10 person-dome unfortunately one in my room was broken)very noisy all night both in the room and outsidetoilet and bathroom were so dirty


The property's response is

Thanks for appreciating the rates and location! Please note there are more sockets in the common areas (Reception Lobby, Kitchen, Dining Area, TV Room and Computer room), and that you're always welcome to leave whichever device you would like to charge behind the Reception desk 24/7. Safe Travels and we hope to see you soon!

Check Availability