We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Clink261

Hostel | 261-265 Gray's Inn Road, King's Cross, London, England WC1X 8QT

79.3% Overall Rating

790 out of 952 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2014)

"I really enjoyed the people. The employees were overall very helpful and nice, and the other people staying in the hostel were friendly and it was easy to meet people. The hostel was kept clean and orderly, which I…"

Read all Clink261 reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

? Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card required upon check-in. ? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm. A luggage room is available for them to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl dorm is booked. ? Guests that wish to bring their children under 16 years of age must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any underage person unless they are accompanied by an adult over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking dorm beds in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that you will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if you don't want your clients to be split. ?If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email at reservations78@clinkhostels.com 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014 ). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges. Groups (+15 people) ? You will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit of the 1st night a week after booking is made. The balance will be required 3 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If your group is arriving by coach, make sure to contact us for information on where to stop and park. ? If you do not inform us by email on when booking we cannot guarantee for your group to be in the same rooms and depending on availability your booking might be cancelled. All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Elmwood Hotel
51.43 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.6% 23 reviews
Keystone Hostel
30.04 USD

Hostel 85.3% 37 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
22.72 USD

Hostel 65.7% 646 reviews
Kings Cross Apartment
78.43 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
53.59 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Dinwiddy House
76.58 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Clink78
21.11 USD

Hostel 84.5% 4000 reviews
Generator London
26.79 USD

Hostel 89.0% 4140 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.3%

Overall Rating

790 out of 952 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Clink261'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
76.8%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 656 of 743 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 26 | 27   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erik Lien Johnsen

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 February 2012 Erik Lien would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel for that price. Very friendly staff, and nice common area.

Disliked: Very small rooms (at least the one we got).

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common room, kitchen, location

Disliked: Bathrooms were not too clean, no individuals lights on each bed

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

kirsten saunders

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

06 February 2012 kirsten would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are genuine and helpful. The kitchen is fully equipped and huge. The tv room is cosie and a good place to relax and meet people if u want to.

Disliked: No free wifi, Fake fire place, a real one would be better. A snoking area is sort of there but u are not allowed to use it. A tad strange. But hanging out front to smoke was ok by me, just worried for the non.smokers having to walk thru it daily. Would be better to be more respectful.to both smokers and the non smokers and provide another are. REALLY need mirrors in female toilet and shower.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stuart Cocking

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

30 January 2012 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to Kings Cross/St Pancras is very convenient. Fairly clean, and free breakfast is good. Swipe card access is handy.

Disliked: The beds are too short. I'm not 5'11" and both my head and feet were hard pressed against the ends.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirsty Betts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2012 Kirsty would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast in the basement

Disliked: Nothing bad to say really

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was very good and the hostel is close to the King's Cross Station, so you can reach any place of the city from there.

Disliked: The bathrooms werent that clean. There are few WC.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location great staff

Disliked: So many old and disgusting people here if you are young do not stay here

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

david bruce

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

19 January 2012 david would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful throughout my stay, all of them spoke really good English and were more than happy to help at every stage. toThe room was of adequate size (16 bed dorm) The breakfast was good and not expected for the price I paid, so for this I was thankful. The hostel was only a 5 minute walk from Kings Cross and St. Pancras Station; It was on a major bus route also. Within the vacinity/area were numerous newsagents, stores, food outlets (subway only 2 minutes, Mcdonalds 5 and a fish and chip shop 3 minutes)

Disliked: Little fresh air in the large dorm/room, apart from this the hostel was great for the price I paid, infact it was great in general.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Candice Boucher

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

13 January 2012 Candice would recommend this property

Liked: staff were friendly and helpful with directions and transport arrangments

Disliked: the breakfast was a let down, we didnt even eat there.i saw the other clink for the same or cheaper had a better offering for breakfast.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nien Chi Hsu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012 Nien Chi would recommend this property

Liked: The staff there was very friendly. The room is not big but cozy for us. The location is great! It's near the river, metro station and supermarkets.

Disliked: Nien Chi left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sonja Langkun

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 January 2012 Sonja would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was really nice. Clean en nice beds. Staff is friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is good! Liked it a lot :)

Disliked: Just a little small thing: a light above the mirror in the room would be great! Also a mirror in the bathroom would be nice, but i know that you are doing some renovation work at the moment.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice facilities, good location.

Disliked: You gotta pay for wifi...

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012

Liked: nothing really expect free breakfast.

Disliked: the beds are awful also the sheets. rooms are WAY too tiny for 8 ppl. showers are small &unclean( they never probably clean those) toilets don't flush and no mirror in the toilet?? and ur room's mirror is also like 20cmx20cm small and the light is so bad u can't see anything AND no mirror is shower either.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 December 2011

Liked: Close to the tube

Disliked: Breakfast didn't start til later than advertised, the rooms are tiny and the showers are few and don't have adequate changing room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ivy Chan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2011 Ivy would recommend this property

Liked: Tidy, clean, good atmosphere Breakfast is well-prepared.

Disliked: I dunno it would close on 23/12 and I can't store my luggage on that day which really disappoints me because I book this hostel only because it's closed to King Cross (the station I am leaving on that day). I was quite unhappy about that. Also internet and wifi are not free.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and good value for money if you're looking for a place to crash after a night out. Clean (except the kitchen which was a mess but then it was 1am on a Sat), good breakfast and nice tv area. Free luggage room and staff were friendly

Disliked: Checkout was 10am which is quite early if you've had a late one! 10 bed dorm was small and stuffy - beds were crowded in and there were no lockers and nowhere to put anything. Everyone was putting their clothes on the lino floor or had them on their bed with them! I'm glad I didn't have anything valuable with me as I would have been nervous about leaving it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is really friendly and helpful! the location next to st pancras is really handy. the rooms towards the street are noisy at nightime. the windows are really poor to keep it quiet. but all in all it's good value for the money you pay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location.

Disliked: No free wifi access.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

konstantinos chalnaridis

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 December 2011 konstantinos would recommend this property

Liked: a very good chostel. very close to the underground, bus stops, shops. the atmosphere very good. nice passes your time, watching films, surfing the net, meet people from other countries, you become friends. is the best place to explore London. the rooms small but clean, the toilets do not smell and the bathrooms are clean.very good breakfast. the rooms are cozy and warm water. is the perfect choice for a cheap room in the center.

Disliked: The adapters should have are given free. all else was perfect

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2011

Liked: every day the staff clean the rooms . and friendly

Disliked: my roomates were so noisy.... they were talking again and again when i was sleeping. And wifi is not free..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dorothy Hunter

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 October 2011 Dorothy would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, nice vibrant atmosphere

Disliked: no privacy curtains on bed

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

03 October 2011

Liked: The staff, including the cleaners, all spoke several languages and were friendly. The Kitchen facilities and downstairs hangout, the feel with the wall paper, furniture, modern computers, the couchs, the taps and mirrors in each room..

Disliked: Non-free wifi. The bathrooms-the smell, the holes in the walls, the showers excessive heating, the pushtaps, the mould on the roof, the bad lighting etc. The ladders to the topbunk were fun, but harder to use than a regular ladder and a little unbalancing if your left-side orientated.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Szabolcs Fekete

Alone

Events / festivals

03 October 2011 Szabolcs would recommend this property

Liked: I'd like to say special thanks to Alessio - receptionist who printed out our Fabric tickets. I'd like to have him promoted in any possible ways. Thanks- Szabi

Disliked: no free wifi and not enough safety place for our valuable things. Of corse the staff took care of my belongings

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harry Wilding

Alone

Events / festivals

05 September 2011 Harry would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere, kept bags after checked out for free, comfortable beds

Disliked: Not enough lockers, beds not very private (no curtains)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Adelman

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

03 August 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: it was great, easy, and efficient

Disliked: no in room storage for your things.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels