We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Clink261

Hostel | 261-265 Gray's Inn Road, King's Cross, London, England WC1X 8QT

83.1% Overall Rating

795 out of 958 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/01/2015)

Sabine Bellstedt thinks…

"Communal areas were all very spacious, kitchen facilities were fantastic. The beds were comfortable and private (even though the top bunks were a bit of a challenge to get into!)"

Read all Clink261 reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.09

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note we do NOT accept group bookings - Please do not book for more than 8 people ? Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card required upon check-in. ? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm. A luggage room is available for them to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl dorm is booked. ? Guests that wish to bring their children under 16 years of age must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any underage person unless they are accompanied by an adult over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking dorm beds in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that you will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if you don't want your clients to be split. ?If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email at reservations78@clinkhostels.com 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014 ). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges. Groups (+15 people) ? You will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit of the 1st night a week after booking is made. The balance will be required 3 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If your group is arriving by coach, make sure to contact us for information on where to stop and park. ? If you do not inform us by email on when booking we cannot guarantee for your group to be in the same rooms and depending on availability your booking might be cancelled. All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Elmwood Hotel
43.71 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.1% 27 reviews
Keystone Hostel
26.15 USD

Hostel 83.5% 45 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
18.50 USD

Hostel 69.6% 656 reviews
Kings Cross Apartment
69.42 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
46.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.6% 3 reviews
Dinwiddy House
72.76 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Clink78
20.06 USD

Hostel 84.3% 4041 reviews
Generator London
26.23 USD

Hostel 89.9% 4161 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

795 out of 958 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Clink261'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
87.2%
Value
79.2%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 660 of 749 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 26 | 27   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cj Miller

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Cj would recommend this property

Liked: This place was great! Wifi was cheap, but you did have to pay. Towels also cost but it wasn't much. I loved the location. Right off King's cross and the markets and shops close by closed pretty late for Britain so it was a great save if you were a day napper like me. The staff was super helpful and always helped if you asked questions. I stayed in a four person cabin and everyone was respectful and easy to get along with. I would definently stay here again.

Disliked: it was a small walk from kings cross. but compared to its other location, it was the closer of both.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, free breakfast was lovely and well managed by the staff

Disliked: dorm rooms v small and no lockers to put valuables in. Other guests incredibly loud (not helped by the fact that sound travels v v easily as hardly any soft furnishing around)

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location , Clean and Modern.

Disliked: The same dorms worldwide - expect some night time noise - late arrivals / early morning departures.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location near king' cross station and the breakfast

Disliked: rooms are too small

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

John Wallace

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: This really is a great little hostel. 1)Great location, right next to Kings Cross, but tucked round the corner so not on an overly busy street. 2)Really friendly, helpful staff 3)Full kitchen facilities; microwaves, oven hobs, fridge and cupboards space. 4) Washing machines and ironing boards etc Alltogether a great place to stay.

Disliked: It got unbearably hot in the room, with 10 people sharing quite a small space. This might just be an issue in summer or a particularly hot day, so best to have that in mind. Would not be an issue at other times of the year.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chi-Yu Chen

Alone

Events / festivals

08 September 2012 Chi-Yu would recommend this property

Liked: It's my first time to stay in a 10-people room, though there're only 5 guys in the room. The position's really good, the bed and shower area were aceptable, and staff's nice and helpful. Thanks to the guy behind the counter in the next morning, I could get my Tissot back (I left on the bed, like an idiot!) I think it's a great deal for me who only want a cheap place to stay for one night. Only 15 pounds including breakfast, I'm satisfied.

Disliked: Nothing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There were a lot of bathrooms and they were always clean. I also think the setup of the big dorm (where I stayed) was smart... most beds are stacked sortof like cubbies, so just your feet are out in the open. This affords a little privacy and darkness, even if you decide to turn in for the night before the other 12 folks in the room.

Disliked: The location is convenient because its close to King's Cross, but other than that, I think it's not that great (the area right around the hostel is residential, and a little closer to the station its just a bunch of convenience stores and places where you can gamble.) That being said, the neighborhood did not seem unsafe. There were a couple big lockers in my room (all being used to stack people's stuff on), but the main lockers were small compartments at the head of every bed, and mine was broken. That left me with no place to stash my valuables, and little confidence in the lockers anyway.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Considering its size the stuff took a big amount of time for my inquiries and small talk; a very well practicable map was freely available; beds had a small built-in reading light as well as an overhead safety box (to be used with your own padlock!). Breakfast is easy going and quite nice (in the cellar though). For a big hostel it was surprisingly quiet at night!

Disliked: I didn't mind to stay in a 16-bed dorm, yet I was surprised that the beds where placed with the long sides (directly!) at each other, allowing access only from the short end! So space to store your belongings (i.e. under the bunk beds) was excessively limited, as well as privacy (although curtains where provided). Toilet facilities (not per room, but on the corridor) were always dirty when I used them. A big place like that should afford more current cleaning, as in general I didn't had the impression that people were messy overall in that place :((

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sreejith Pillai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Sreejith would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay, basic but well kept.

Disliked: At times it can get crowded , showers are very cramped must have couple of more toilets.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stacey Everton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was organised, and well supplied!! Atmosphere of the whole building was great, and everyone was friendly! Shower and bathroom facilities were large

Disliked: The beds were very crammed together in small rooms

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful

Disliked: Hot water for t or coffe but no t or coffe.u could put a box in that peaple could drop some cash in if use the t or coffe

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Gibby

Alone

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

02 August 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Has everything you need but still feels small and unique.

Disliked: It's on the main road which is a bit noisy.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sophie O'Shea

Alone

City break

25 July 2012

Liked: I loved the funky colours of the communal and kitchen areas, if only the bathrooms and bedrooms could have been the same!

Disliked: How dark the corridors and bedrooms were

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

21 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. Really nice staff! Clean and comfortable!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Brown

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2012 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Very well-run and organized. Helpful and friendly staff and welcoming atmosphere.

Disliked: Nathan left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Fredrik Hoffman

Alone

Partying / nightlife

17 July 2012 Fredrik would recommend this property

Liked: Needed a bed in London and in a ok area. Like King´s Cross since before and it just gets better everytime I´m there. Was just what I aked for not more. Not particulare good but alright for the price.

Disliked: No free Wi-Fi, a bit to simple compare the price, no electric contacts by my bed, just one for all in the room. Could be better privacy in the rooms.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Megan Glynne-Jones

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 July 2012 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy bedding, great location

Disliked: bit short on showers and could do with a lick of paint!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

15 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was funky and stylish indeed - common rooms with a cool design, modern and comfy equipments in kitchen/bathroom/lobby, functioning properly and almost giving a sense of being at a charming boutique hotel. (Of course I mean common areas, not the rooms). Magnetic card system and free lockers (if you bring your own padlock so be smart and bring your own!:) Extremely friendly staff that allow you to leave your luggage at hostel even if before/after checking in and out. They are also happy to give you extensive info on anything. Breakfast was also satisfying. Overall, it has a really good vibe and stylish athmosphere with some useful extras (like hairdryer in the girls' bathroom, thumbs up).

Disliked: The rooms themselves are pretty small, with not so much space to pack your stuff. On the other hand, the bunk beds are really comfy, they give you linen etc, and it seemed generally clean. (Note: a small shelf for the people on the upper bed would def. be useful in the future!)

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Miriam Terzich

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: The reception staff were helpful and the hostel is in a great location, only a few minutes walk from Kings Cross Station. So if you don't mind seriously compromising on space, it's a good place to stay.

Disliked: There is not enough space in the rooms for all the people they try to fit in and their luggage. I had to go out in the hall to pack my suitcase! There aren't enough lockers for everyone - there were none available during my stay. In any case, the lockers are tiny and are located at reception, so access is not convenient, especially considering that I was on the 3rd floor. There was no internet access during my stay (it was broken).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Todd Bullen

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

14 July 2012 Todd would recommend this property

Liked: The bottom beds of the bunk become like a cave heaps good for sleeping

Disliked: Nothing really was pritty good the light wouldn't work in one of the showers

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barbara Sanchez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2012 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Very close from the metro, has many plugs that you can use to charge your phone at the lobby, they have a lock room only for bags that is very helpful and they have hair dryer on the bathdroom wich is a big plus for me.

Disliked: Barbara left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice interior decor. Good ambiance.

Disliked: The hostel could do with a better exterior/a bigger sign or something so we can spot it from the side of the building. As it is, you will only know it's Clink261 if you walk right up to it. WiFi was hard to get. Beds were too close together (this isn't bad, just a little uncomfortable at imes). Breakfast area was also small.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and easy to access.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bathrooms were clean. People seemed nice. Breakfast was included. You could pay with credit cards.

Disliked: Too crowded in the rooms. Too loud, there seemed to be some sort of bar right above the rooms and they kept the windows open.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luis Alfonso Monterrosa Valadez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Luis Alfonso would recommend this property

Liked: Su tranquilidad, sus áreas y su diseño. Muy bonito en verdad.

Disliked: Te venden los artefactos para conectar cosas, en lugar de prestártelos como en otros lugares. Asimismo el Internet te lo cobran. Si es wifi resulta un poco más "barato" (media hora una libra).


See all London hostels
See all London hotels