HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Clink261

Hostel | 261-265 Gray's Inn Road, King's Cross, London, England WC1X 8QT

78.9% Overall Rating

784 out of 946 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

Rebecca Herzog thinks…

"we had everything we need and the breakfast was not that much but enough and it was included. If we had a question the service helped us. And at the last day we left our luggage in the luggage room…"

Read all Clink261 reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.40

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

? Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card required upon check-in. ? Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm. A luggage room is available for them to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am. ? Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl dorm is booked. ? Guests that wish to bring their children under 16 years of age must book whole dorms or private rooms. ? Bookings cannot be accepted from any underage person unless they are accompanied by an adult over 18. They will be refused check-in. ? When booking dorm beds in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that you will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if you don't want your clients to be split. ?If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email at reservations78@clinkhostels.com 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014 ). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges. Groups (+15 people) ? You will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit of the 1st night a week after booking is made. The balance will be required 3 weeks before arrival. ? One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules. ? If your group is arriving by coach, make sure to contact us for information on where to stop and park. ? If you do not inform us by email on when booking we cannot guarantee for your group to be in the same rooms and depending on availability your booking might be cancelled. All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Elmwood Hotel
49.80 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.2% 22 reviews
Keystone Hostel
30.57 USD

Hostel 84.3% 32 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
23.76 USD

Hostel 69.5% 637 reviews
Kings Cross Apartment
88.13 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
57.73 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Dinwiddy House
80.08 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Clink78
22.08 USD

Hostel 83.3% 3963 reviews
Generator London
39.90 USD

Hostel 87.1% 4127 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.9%

Overall Rating

784 out of 946 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Clink261'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
77.6%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 650 of 737 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Holly Drysdale

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2013

Liked: good location to kings cross station

Disliked: 4 bed dorm was absolutely tiny. Couldnt even turn around with a backpack on. No where to put your things.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Andrea Chong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 January 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good. The rooms were clean, nice and warm for winter.

Disliked: Shower room was bait filthy.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sheri Connolly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

17 December 2012 Sheri would recommend this property

Liked: Well located to King's Cross tube station. Near internet cafes, shops, restraunts. Good enough mattresses, key card entry, useful, friendly staff, isolating hangout lounge in the basement. Showers always had hot water when I washed. Book a bed in a room with lots of beds and ask to be upgraded upon arrival. Same price, less people!

Disliked: Slight institutional feel/vibe. Ladies toilets not on third floor. Showers could benefit from additional hooks, shelves.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast, near king's cross - suitable for long-distance travellers

Disliked: quite far to the ciitty centre if you want to walk

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holly Dunn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2012 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, clean, quiet and really close to King's Cross, so super easy to get into the central city on the Tube. Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Holly left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tyler brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2012 tyler would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: tyler left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mauricio Ferreyra

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Mauricio would recommend this property

Liked: the location and accomodations.

Disliked: the cleanning on the rooms is not so good.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train and subway station. Free breakfast. Low price.

Disliked: Shared toilets and baths among same floor.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location isn't bed. Close to major train stations and the tube, and doesn't take long to get into the city.

Disliked: You had to pay to use wifi (three pounds), and the wifi was REALLY BAD. Bad reception (only worked in common areas and the stairwell), you had to log in each time tried to use the internet. Didn't even have a girls bathroom on my level so had to go one or two floors down in the middle of the night just to use the toilet. Staff were nice, but not particularly helpful. Some staff had big issues trying to understand customers trying to talk to them in English, which led to a lot of frustration on both ends (and the staff being rude).

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 October 2012

Liked: The staff was very friendly and useful.

Disliked: The doors were slamming all night in our corrido making impossible to sleep. Our room didn't have proper ventilation and the smell of alcohol filled the space making it very unpleasant.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Esther Ting

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 October 2012 Esther would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a 4 bed dorm for females only. It was rather small with not much walking space. Otherwise, it was really clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good. The kitchen and communal area was really presentable and clean. I would recommend it to others.

Disliked: Esther left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: shower was cold

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very good!

Disliked: The space is not so intimate. Not possible to meet a lot of people. Also rooms are very small.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a great location for visiting London. The rooms are small, but had fresh air and it was very clean. The price for such a central hostel is great, and breakfast included is just perfect

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cj Miller

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Cj would recommend this property

Liked: This place was great! Wifi was cheap, but you did have to pay. Towels also cost but it wasn't much. I loved the location. Right off King's cross and the markets and shops close by closed pretty late for Britain so it was a great save if you were a day napper like me. The staff was super helpful and always helped if you asked questions. I stayed in a four person cabin and everyone was respectful and easy to get along with. I would definently stay here again.

Disliked: it was a small walk from kings cross. but compared to its other location, it was the closer of both.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, free breakfast was lovely and well managed by the staff

Disliked: dorm rooms v small and no lockers to put valuables in. Other guests incredibly loud (not helped by the fact that sound travels v v easily as hardly any soft furnishing around)

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location , Clean and Modern.

Disliked: The same dorms worldwide - expect some night time noise - late arrivals / early morning departures.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location near king' cross station and the breakfast

Disliked: rooms are too small

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

John Wallace

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: This really is a great little hostel. 1)Great location, right next to Kings Cross, but tucked round the corner so not on an overly busy street. 2)Really friendly, helpful staff 3)Full kitchen facilities; microwaves, oven hobs, fridge and cupboards space. 4) Washing machines and ironing boards etc Alltogether a great place to stay.

Disliked: It got unbearably hot in the room, with 10 people sharing quite a small space. This might just be an issue in summer or a particularly hot day, so best to have that in mind. Would not be an issue at other times of the year.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chi-Yu Chen

Alone

Events / festivals

08 September 2012 Chi-Yu would recommend this property

Liked: It's my first time to stay in a 10-people room, though there're only 5 guys in the room. The position's really good, the bed and shower area were aceptable, and staff's nice and helpful. Thanks to the guy behind the counter in the next morning, I could get my Tissot back (I left on the bed, like an idiot!) I think it's a great deal for me who only want a cheap place to stay for one night. Only 15 pounds including breakfast, I'm satisfied.

Disliked: Nothing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There were a lot of bathrooms and they were always clean. I also think the setup of the big dorm (where I stayed) was smart... most beds are stacked sortof like cubbies, so just your feet are out in the open. This affords a little privacy and darkness, even if you decide to turn in for the night before the other 12 folks in the room.

Disliked: The location is convenient because its close to King's Cross, but other than that, I think it's not that great (the area right around the hostel is residential, and a little closer to the station its just a bunch of convenience stores and places where you can gamble.) That being said, the neighborhood did not seem unsafe. There were a couple big lockers in my room (all being used to stack people's stuff on), but the main lockers were small compartments at the head of every bed, and mine was broken. That left me with no place to stash my valuables, and little confidence in the lockers anyway.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Considering its size the stuff took a big amount of time for my inquiries and small talk; a very well practicable map was freely available; beds had a small built-in reading light as well as an overhead safety box (to be used with your own padlock!). Breakfast is easy going and quite nice (in the cellar though). For a big hostel it was surprisingly quiet at night!

Disliked: I didn't mind to stay in a 16-bed dorm, yet I was surprised that the beds where placed with the long sides (directly!) at each other, allowing access only from the short end! So space to store your belongings (i.e. under the bunk beds) was excessively limited, as well as privacy (although curtains where provided). Toilet facilities (not per room, but on the corridor) were always dirty when I used them. A big place like that should afford more current cleaning, as in general I didn't had the impression that people were messy overall in that place :((

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sreejith Pillai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Sreejith would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay, basic but well kept.

Disliked: At times it can get crowded , showers are very cramped must have couple of more toilets.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stacey Everton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was organised, and well supplied!! Atmosphere of the whole building was great, and everyone was friendly! Shower and bathroom facilities were large

Disliked: The beds were very crammed together in small rooms

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels