HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Clink261 London Hostel

261-265 Grays Inn Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 75%

Location 88%

Safety 80%

Staff 78%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.54USD

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card required upon check-in.
Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm. A luggage room is available for them to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am.
Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl dorm is booked.
Guests that wish to bring their children under 16 years of age must book whole dorms or private rooms.
Bookings cannot be accepted from any underage person unless they are accompanied by an adult over 18. They will be refused check-in.
When booking dorm beds in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that you will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if you don't want your clients to be split.
If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email at reservations78@clinkhostels.com 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014 ). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges.
Groups (+15 people)
You will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit of the 1st night a week after booking is made. The balance will be required 3 weeks before arrival.
One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules.
If your group is arriving by coach, make sure to contact us for information on where to stop and park.
If you do not inform us by email on when booking we cannot guarantee for your group to be in the same rooms and depending on availability your booking might be cancelled.

All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 75%

Location 88%

Safety 80%

Staff 78%

Value 80%

Showing 11-20 of 54 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Very small room

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a comment. We are glad that you liked our free breakfast services. I am sorry to hear that you found our rooms too small. We are small hostel but doing our best to provide the best services for our guests. Kind Regards, Asta

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Pretty solid generally, decent price for London and Kings Cross is one of the best stations connections-wise. Not the most exciting area to live but also pretty safe so can't complain. Breakfast was great, particularly impressed with fresh orange juice given the watery concentrate stuff that usually gets dished out at hostels. Nice one!

Disliked: The 18 bed dorm has a huge skylight which is nice, but it lets in way too much light early in the morning and also there are some street lamps above it which mean that the room is always pretty bright. Wouldn't take much to dampen it a bit with some frosting or sheets. Guy's toilet is pretty cramped, it's either brush your teeth next to a urinal or wake everyone up in the dorm with a sink awkwardly in the middle of the room.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for appreciating the breakfast, staff and location.
Remember that reception works 24 hours just for you, we will do our best to help you out with any enquiry.
I hope you have a nice day!
Kind regards,
Federica

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Staff really friendly and helpful.Very clean throughout.Had few sockets per bed so had lots of sockets to charge everything up! plus reading light :)

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your amazing review, you made my day :)
I am happy to read that you had a great stay with us and I hope to see you in Clink back soon.
Enjoy your future travels.
Kind regards,
Federica

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Ideally close to Kings Cross (5min walk) and Euston (10/15min walk). Nice and clean, helpful staff, all you need from a hostel really!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
you literally drawn a smile on my face for such a great review.
I'm really glad to read that you had a great stay with us and I really hope to see you again in your future travels .
I hope you have a good day and safe travels.
Kind regards,
Radu

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: room and toilet is generally clean, location

Disliked: wifi doesn't work at most times in areas other than the ground floor and even when you are in the reception area it was very slow.there were only 5 lockers in the 10 bed dorm only 2 showers shared among all on the floor


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
thanks for taking the time to leave us your comments and for appreciating cleanliness and location
Free WiFi works well in common areas, but when is very slow just pop in at reception and let us know, we are more than happy to help you out with any kind of issue
Regarding the lockers instead, remember that besides the ones in the room you also are free to use the one in reception area
For showers instead feel free to use them on the other floors
Have a nice day
kindly
Federica

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good bedrooms, individual lights, great kitchen, nice staff, very clean, great location!

Disliked: The bedroom was a little small and people were a little bored. But I guess this part isn't the hostels fault.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest thanks for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Clink and that you appreciate staff,facilities and services.About the small room we suggest you to try a private room or bigger dormitory on your next stay.
Also,remember that our sister Hostel, Clink 78, has a great bar, Clash Bar, where you can have a good time and not feel bored at all :) Enjoy your future travels and hope to see you soon.
Kind regards,
Radu

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was perfect - very close to many things

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a great review.
I am really happy to read that you had a nice stay in Clink and I hope to see you here back soon.
Enjoy your future travels.
Kind regards,
Federica

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: clean and comfortable, considering the amount of people in the hostel (i travelled during summer).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
thank you for your feedback and the time leaving us a review.
I am really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you here back soon.
Have a great day!
Kind regards,
Federica
Reception Supervisor

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This could be one of the cheapest hostels in London, but it doesn't feel cheap. Sure the beds aren't supremely comfortable and the 18 bunk dorm is pretty squishy but it's very close to the action (5 mins walk from Kings Cross) and the breakfasts are excellent.

Disliked: Not a hugely communal atmosphere - people generally just kept to themselves. WiFi is a bit off and on at times.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
thank you for your nice words and for appreciating our hostel and breakfast.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.
On your next stay I suggest you to have a look to our sister hostel Clink78, which is provided of several common areas, such as Tv Room, Lounge Area and Communal kitchen :)
About the wifi, did you report this to Reception? Remember that we are always there to help!
Enjoy your future travels.
Kind Regards,
Federica

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good location and room layout. easy to find and get around london from this location..

Disliked: wifi couldnt be reached from my room, this wasnt a major disadvantage but it was a dislike

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Darcy,
thank you very much for your review and the time leaving us your comments.
I'm happy to read that you liked the hostel.
Regarding the wi-fi, as we just started extending it to the whole building this may not reach all the rooms, but works well in common areas as Reception and Kitchen.
I hope to see you here back soon.
Kind regards,
Federica

Check Availability