HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Clink261 London Hostel

261-265 Grays Inn Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 85%

Location 94%

Safety 87%

Staff 85%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.81USD

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card required upon check-in.
Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm. A luggage room is available for them to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am.
Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl dorm is booked.
Guests that wish to bring their children under 16 years of age must book whole dorms or private rooms.
Bookings cannot be accepted from any underage person unless they are accompanied by an adult over 18. They will be refused check-in.
When booking dorm beds in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that you will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if you don't want your clients to be split.
If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email at reservations78@clinkhostels.com 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014 ). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges.
Groups (+15 people)
You will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit of the 1st night a week after booking is made. The balance will be required 3 weeks before arrival.
One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules.
If your group is arriving by coach, make sure to contact us for information on where to stop and park.
If you do not inform us by email on when booking we cannot guarantee for your group to be in the same rooms and depending on availability your booking might be cancelled.

All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 85%

Location 94%

Safety 87%

Staff 85%

Value 85%

Showing 181-66 of 66 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff were very helpful throughout my stay, all of them spoke really good English and were more than happy to help at every stage. toThe room was of adequate size (16 bed dorm) The breakfast was good and not expected for the price I paid, so for this I was thankful. The hostel was only a 5 minute walk from Kings Cross and St. Pancras Station; It was on a major bus route also.Within the vacinity/area were numerous newsagents, stores, food outlets (subway only 2 minutes, Mcdonalds 5 and a fish and chip shop 3 minutes)

Disliked: Little fresh air in the large dorm/room, apart from this the hostel was great for the price I paid, infact it was great in general.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear David,
we are really delighted by your review and nice comments about our hostel.
Thank you for appreciating our customer service and facilities.
We aim to provide our guests with the best backpacking and hostel experience possible, therefore we are always pleased by such good feedbacks!
Looking forward to seeing you in the future,

Many thanks once again and Best Regards from Clink261 Staff

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The breakfast was very good and the hostel is close to the King's Cross Station, so you can reach any place of the city from there.

Disliked: The bathrooms werent that clean. There are few WC.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking time reviewing our venue.
we are grateful for the good feedback and for the fact you liked our breakfast and handy location in London!
As far as the bathrooms are concerned, our housekeeping staff are always trying their best to keep the hostel clean and tidy all the time, depite of the fact that our toilets and showers are shared amongst all of our guests.
We hope to see you again for another stay in London!

Cordially,

Clink261 Staff

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location great staff

Disliked: So many old and disgusting people here if you are young do not stay here

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
our gratefulness for the time spent writing this review and the appreciation for our staff and location.
Clink261 has no age limits, hence, despite of the fact that it is usually full of young travellers and backpackers, people of every age are welcome to stay with us, in respect and tolerance ef each other.
We hope to see you again in Clink261!

Best Regards,

Clink261 Staff

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The hostel was really nice. Clean en nice beds. Staff is friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is good! Liked it a lot :)

Disliked: Just a little small thing: a light above the mirror in the room would be great! Also a mirror in the bathroom would be nice, but i know that you are doing some renovation work at the moment.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Sonjia,
thank you for your nice rewiew for your stay at Clink261!
As you mentioned, we are just coming out from an important refurbishment, that made our facilities even handier and more confortable!
Looking forward to seeing you again in the future,

Faithfully,

Clink261 Staff

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice facilities, good location.

Disliked: You gotta pay for wifi...

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for the good review given to Clink261!
We are glad to hear you enjoyed our facilities and location.
Even though we do charge for wi-fi service, we can just remind you that we have a special deal for weekly usage, that happens to be convenient for people who are staying for few nights.
Many thanks again for the time spent reviewing us!

Best Regards,

Clink261 Staff

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nothing really expect free breakfast.

Disliked: the beds are awful also the sheets. rooms are WAY too tiny for 8 ppl. showers are small &unclean( they never probably clean those)toilets don't flush and no mirror in the toilet?? and ur room's mirror is also like 20cmx20cm small and the light is so bad u can't see anything AND no mirror is shower either.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Close to the tube

Disliked: Breakfast didn't start til later than advertised, the rooms are tiny and the showers are few and don't have adequate changing room

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Tidy, clean, good atmosphereBreakfast is well-prepared.

Disliked: I dunno it would close on 23/12 and I can't store my luggage on that day which really disappoints me because I book this hostel only because it's closed to King Cross (the station I am leaving on that day). I was quite unhappy about that. Also internet and wifi are not free.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Central location and good value for money if you're looking for a place to crash after a night out. Clean (except the kitchen which was a mess but then it was 1am on a Sat), good breakfast and nice tv area. Free luggage room and staff were friendly

Disliked: Checkout was 10am which is quite early if you've had a late one! 10 bed dorm was small and stuffy - beds were crowded in and there were no lockers and nowhere to put anything. Everyone was putting their clothes on the lino floor or had them on their bed with them! I'm glad I didn't have anything valuable with me as I would have been nervous about leaving it.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: staff were friendly and helpful with directions and transport arrangments

Disliked: the breakfast was a let down, we didnt even eat there.i saw the other clink for the same or cheaper had a better offering for breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Candice,
thank you very much for the nice review of our venue.
Our 24/7 Reception is always happy to help our guests for any kind of query.
We will definitely take in consideration your comment for improving our free continental breakfast.
We will be very happy if you choose us for another stay in London!

Best Regards,

Clink261 Staff

Check Availability